We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic staff, clean hotel, paradise beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friday Attitude

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Friday Attitude to your Saves list
Friday Attitude
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Pelouse, La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius (Formerly Hotel Bougainville)   |  
Hotel amenities
East London, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magic staff, clean hotel, paradise beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Bougainville, as small family with a 15 months old baby. On arrival at 9pm, the staff was very accommodating taking our bags to the room, setting up the cot whilst we had a bite to eat at the restaurant. The staff are fluent in English and were very informative when asked what to do, where to go, arranging the transport etc etc. The private beach is magnificent and the snorkeling is great just 10m into the water. I also did some scuba diving at Belle Mare with perfect visibility and conditions and saw plenty fish and corals, I would certainly recommend using Ben Cadet's dive center.

A special thank you to Avinash for his personal attention at all times. Sunil who always made us feel welcomed at the restaurant. Sheikh for washing our baby's bottles, filling up the milk, warming up the milk time again and again and again!! And for Diya at the spa for the nice massage and for entertaining our baby! Fawaaz, the reception manager also made us feel at home and will sort out anything or anyone! Thank you to all the staff

We did come to Mauritius slightly out of season with the sea and pool temperature a bit on the chilly side ..................... please consider a heated pool !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Friday Attitude, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your family holidays at Bougainville.

Thank you also for your appreciations towards the staff, rest assured that this will be shared with all. They will be happy to know that you appreciated their service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again at Bougainville next time you visit our island.

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    169
    64
    18
    15
See reviews for
98
276
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me and my husband has such a lovely time here at Bougainville. The staff - from the hotel reception, the restuarant staff and the room service (cleaning staff) is amazing, the service is outstanding. Some of the staff that were absolutely amazing were Avinash, Fawaaz, Pinky, Florian, Cindy, Mary Ange - and others but these are the names we can remember :)

We are from South Africa in Cape Town we came here for our honeymoon, we were absolutely awed by the quality of service and the treatement was the same to each and every guest. Which for us was the number one quality.

We will definitely return to Mauritius in the future, the people in the villages are the friendliest ever.(we took nice stralls to the closest village and met the locals)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Friday Attitude, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

All the staff of Bougainville Hotel join me in thanking you for your very nice review of our hotel and the service provided by our personnel.

We were thrilled to have been able to make this very special stay one to remember.

We were also very grateful that you chose Bougainville for your honeymoon in Mauritius and it is with great pleasure that we read that you are planning on coming back.

We wish you all the best for the future,

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We staid here with a group of 5 adults and three children. As from the first second of arrival to the last moment we had a great time with all smiling and helpful staff, going an extra mile to fulfill all our wishes and especially the wishes of the children. We booked for 2 days and had long beach walks with beautiful views. We saw small crabs in the sand, fishes in the water. We played volleyball and enjoyed the football table at the reception. In the evening there was a real entertaining Sega dance show with dancers and musicians in beautiful costumes. The hotel is exactly as it is showing on the websites and everything is of a good standard.

Room Tip: As in July / August it can be windy, it is better to choose a room of which the balcony is more cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Friday Attitude, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sarita,

Thank you very much for your very positive review, we are very happy to read that you and your family have appreciated the service at Bougainville and that you have fully enjoyed your short stay with us.

Your review will be shared with all our team members and for sure, they will be most happy.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Bougainville for a longer stay in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. A family of 4 with boys 11 and 9 years old. It was very quiet when we arrived and had personal service. There weren't any English guests but we were happy chilling by our own pool and beach ! It then got slightly busier with some more English couples which we made friends with and had a great time. There is a pool table and a football table that use tokens. There is table tennis and French boules which are free. We used the pedaloes and canoes which are also free and great fun. My boys went snorkelling and saw some great fish. We booked a family room which consisted of 2 separate bedrooms and a bathroom. They are basically furnished and very naturally Mauritian. Don't expect a sparkly 5 star. This is much more authentic and relaxed. We went on the local bus which was an experience to the market in Flacq which was good. Our other trips we booked taxis through the hotel to the crocodile park and casela wildlife park. Both very good. We went out for one evening meal to the green island beach restaurant which was fantastic and the gave us a free bottle of vanilla dark rum which we drank before we left (8 adults !). The food at the hotel is very tasty and of a good standard. When it was quiet it was table d'hote but as it got busier with the locals it swapped to buffet which wasn't quite so varied. I can understand why they had to do it though. The staff are all very pleasant and eager to make your holiday special. Just ask if you want something different and they will aim to provide it. ie chips or ice cream for the children. Overall a fantastic holiday where u experience the real Mauritius in relaxed surroundings. Thank you to all the staff. The Davis family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Friday Attitude, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Family Davis,

All the Family Members join me in thanking you for your very positive review posted on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Mauritius whilst being with us and that you made the most of the facilities of Bougainville.

I am also happy to know that you took the opportunity to visit the island and mingle with the locals.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Bougainville in the future,

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A very friendly experience, all inclusive package deal that was worth very good value for money, especially coming from South Africa.
We also enjoyed the multi cultural diversity of all the people and locals as well.
The food was made for a very wide range of pallet.
Staff was absolutely friendly and helpfull with everything.
The area in which the hotel is situated is very suitable to see many excurtions in the Southern and western part of Mauritius.

Room Tip: All rooms are on one side of hotel, which is very private hotel and considered a boutique hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just finished a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Bougainville hotel resort. The staff are excellent and friendly and very helpful. Lots of little nice touches like making swans out of towels in your room and letting us stay in our room on our last day for free when we flew out late at night. Food and drinks also good and the snorkelling right by the hotels private beach is brilliant. Overall we loved it there did not want to leave and would highly recommend to anyone and was excellent value for money.

Matt and dawn

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Friday Attitude, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Matt and Dawn,

We thank you for your very positive review on our hotel and staff.

We are delighted to read that you had a “brilliant experience” at the Bougainville.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the food and drinks.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the Bougainville… for more snorkelling sessions in the crystalline lagoon right in front of our hotel.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port louis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

it was a nice and memorable experience at le Bougainville hotel. the excellent service and delicious food.

welcoming staffs (special mention to mr Avinash).
good and rapid service. nice swimming pool.
massage parlour was attractive and personnel higly skilled.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friday Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Attitude

Address: La Pelouse, La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius (Formerly Hotel Bougainville)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, Friday Attitude (ex Bougainville hotel) is a 3 star sup hotel, situated in Trou d'Eau Douce, along the east coast of Mauritius. Built along a very wide beach of fine white sand and a protected lagoon, the hotel is appreciated, among other things, for its genuineness, its cool atmosphere, its welcome and the availability of its Family Members. The 51 rooms, including newly designed family unit with a separate kids' room, are decorated in a contemporary and refined style. Guests are guaranteed total exotic new surroundings between the swaying branches of the filao trees, the elegant paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs on the horizon and the lagoon with its hues of blues and greens. Friday Attitude is totally adapted for beach holiday as a couple, a family or with friends. Sea activities lovers are spoilt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Friday Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bougainville
Bougainville Hotel Mauritius
Friday Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.