We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
esher, surrey, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

For the third year in a row we came back to this hotel. We requested the same room as always as we like being at the far end of the beach and this was almost ready for us when we arrived very early in the morning. The BA flight arrived at 05.30am and we were at the hotel by 6.45. After checking us in and giving us croissants and coffee, our room was ready.

The greatest thing about Le Touessrok is the staff. Everybody has a genuine smile and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. On this occasion it was the hotel's 35th anniversary and as repeat guests we were invited to a special dinner along with about 150 other repeat guests. They served an amazing meal along with good champagne and wine and what was lovely to see was the table of staff who had been there for 35 years and the recognition that the hotel gave to them. The buffet style main restaurant is not everybody's cup of tea but if you break it up by going to Barlens or Saffrons then it works. Saffron is the most amazing Indian restaurant.

If you like a great beach, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere then give this hotel a try. I guarantee you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Touessrok, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Jacki-Dee
It was indeed an honour for the team to welcome you back to Le Touessrok and to celebrate the hotel's 35th anniversary.
We proud ourselves on the service that our staff strives to deliver day in day out and are happy to notice that you comment on this.
We do look forward welcoming you back in the near future and obviously will endeavour to allocate you your preferred room at the end of the beach.
Warm regards

Gregory
General Manager Le Touessrok
Group Director Operational Innovation Sun Resorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    173
    63
    30
    8
See reviews for
242
663
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stay quite a lot in hotels around the world and we have to say that this is the best hotel in the world. Born in Mauritius I would never expect this service on our beautiful island. Here are the best points:
- Food: Prepare to be blown away dinner and breakfast (we booked half board). The variety and quality is the best.
- Room - amazing
- View from room - paradise!
- Room service - anytime of the day you want
- Kids - plenty of activities
- Entertainment is simply great from 7pm every night.

One thing this hotel has is the islands around it. You have access to 2 superb islands as many times as you want and the beach is private and very tranquil and serene.

I would go there every year if I can with my kids and family :) (We are already planning our next trip)

Room Tip: Any room is great but get the junior suite if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Touessrok, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Ritej,

It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family back to Mauritius.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Le Touessrok and its private islands and that the team has managed to meet your expectations.
We do look forward welcoming you for your next vacation.
Warm regards

Gregory
General Manager Le Touessrok
Group Director Operational Innovation Sun Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here at Christmas 2013, this was our 2nd visit to this hotel.
It is such a beautiful location and the hotel does not disappoint. From the moment you arrive the staff are very welcoming.
We stayed in a junior suite & our teenage daughters in a deluxe double. I was pleasantly surprised how very nice their room was, very big with a beautiful view.
Breakfast is a wonderful buffet style with food to suite all taste, I recommend the freshly prepared juice bar & an omelette.
Lunches in the Sega Bar, Barlens or on your longer by the sea all brilliant.
Evening meals are a buffet style or in the Indian restaurant which is excellent with the Head Chef Ramesh, always there ready to cater to your every need. we took him freshly caught fish which he prepared for us. YUM!
Barlens' also do lovely evening meal, and your are virtually dinning on the beach :)
Great selection of activities available, stretch classes every morning & night, yoga, Pilates , box classes etc. the fitness staff are brilliant and great fun.
Can't wait to return!,,,,
The only down side was a big mix up on our final bill. We had been charged wrongly on numerous occasions mostly for bar bill. We were 2 families and wanted our bills split 50/50. Upon inspection they had charged both families the full 100% of bill. Took a very long time to sort out on our last day!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Touessrok, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Madam
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for having chosen Le Touessrok.
I also would like to apologise for the billing errors that took place and would like to assure you that we have taken good note to ensure these mistakes do not happen going forward.
I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that it was a lovely stay overall.
The team and I look forward welcoming you back to the resort soon.
Warm regards

Gregory

Gregory de Clerck
General Manager Le Touessrok
Group Director Operational Innovation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just spent our last 2 nights of a 10 night trip at Le Touessrok, what an absolute pleasure, this must surely be as close to paradise as one can get. Beautiful rooms opening on to a gorgeous beach, friendly staff only too willing to help, amazing blue seas around the resort, a blissful private island boasting swimming lovely beaches, and water sports of every description. The food and service in the main restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner and it was nice to see that people respected and adhered to the dress code. One can truly relax and distress at this resort and one thing is for sure, we will return. A very big thank you to Management and staff for making our short stay so memorable.

Room Tip: A Deluxe room in the Coral wing, it is quiet and has a lovely beach which we found no-one used, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Touessrok, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Liz
On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for your note of appreciation during your short stay.
We do look forward welcoming you back any time soon and that next time around you will be able to spend some more time with us.
Warm regards
Gregory

Gregory de Clerck
General Manager Le Touessrok
Group Director Operational Innovation Sun Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Any hotel in Mauritius is bound to be a good experience , but this beats those we have stayed at so far . An amazing banyan tree at the entrance , and incredible views of sea and sand as you walk in . The staff are a delight ( we have a butler - how cool is that ) and couples and families alike are effortlessly fed , cossetted and amused . The views from our Frangipani suite are from Robinson Crusoe ...we talk to the stars every night . My wife loves the spa and massages , the gym is modern , the pool fringed with swinging chairs and Jacuzzis , the beaches are stunning and varied including the private island reached by beach , the golf course more a garden of paradise ( actually quite difficult and the drinks are EXPENSIVE !!) five restaurants help dissipate a large clientele and there is live music every night . small niggles ///the wine is very expensive , the bacon disappointing and you only get one bottle of free water on the beach , but overall a delight with plenty to do and see ...Come and see for yourself !!

Room Tip: We love the sea views ...incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Touessrok, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to read that overall you have had a lovely stay at Le Touessrok and that you have managed to play some golf, spend time at the beach and your wife managed to relax at our Givenchy Spa.
I understand that the pricing policy of the beverages is perceived expensive. Indeed being located quiet a way back from Mainland Africa we are importing all food and beverages and the importation cost and importation taxation on alcohol is pretty high. We have reviewed our pricing and actually have reduced the prices of the most popular beverages, despite the cost increases that we have recently incurred.
We do look forward welcoming you back to Mauritius.
Warm regards
Gregory

Gregory de Clerck
General Manager Le Touessrok
Group Director Operational Innovation Sun Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Simply put, last visit till now already 1 year, I missed this hotel every now and then very much! feels like home with unbeatable sea views, tranquility and peace. The various international cuisines of breakfast and dinner are so far the best! GIVENCHY spa also offers you world class service. "Leading Hotels of the World", you deserve this honorable title. I will be back with families one day for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Touessrok, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Madam
I hope all is well and that you will be able to come and visit us soon again with your family.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your previous stay with us and we do look forward welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Gregory

Gregory de Clerck
General Manager Le Touessrok
Group Director Operational Innovation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Three words to describe this hotel "wow". World class service, lovely staffs, excellent facilities, beautiful but tough golf course. The room was exquisite, with all facilities. If you want to feel like royalty that's the place to be

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Touessrok, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Ashwin,
Sunny greetings from Mauritius.
Thank you for your custom. loyalty and your great comments.
We look forward welcoming you back soon at Le Touessrok.
Warm regards
Gregory

Gregory de Clerck
General Manager Le Touessrok
Group Director Operational Innovation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.