We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Save Saved
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited this hotel on a two day exchange with our hotel Sugar Beach . We were two martied couples with one baby. Because of the traffic we were late arriving at the resort. We arrived at 9 .40am approximately . We pulled up in the taxi to be greeted by lovely friendly concierges we explained the men were booked in to play golf at 10 .00am . We knew they had to get a boat to the golf course so they would be late for their Teeing off time as the boats only run every 20 mins and the boat would have already left .The concierge rang through to see if the boat had not already left to see if it could wait . It did. The staff were wonderful a golf cart was brought round to take our husbands to the boat . Us wives and the baby were looked after from the minute we arrived. We booked in and were shown to our rooms they were amazing. Our room looked over the bay . The bed faced the window so you could see the view even when lying in bed. The room was spacious with a comfortable small lounge area with tv .There were complimentary bottles of water,tea ,coffee ,sugar and milk. The bathing area was amazing with his and her sink and with complimentary Luxurious toiletries . The bath was freestanding big enough for two people. There was a separate toilet area and a separate small shower room.in the evening the room was cleaned and tidied with items replenished. The bed was turned down with complimentary slippers arranged at the side of the bed. We had a choice of fragrances of oils that were burned in a burner so your room smelt wonderful.We also had a chocolate each. The hotel grounds are amazing with beautiful gardens and pools with magnificent views. All The staff we came across were really friendly and the service was exceptional .There was plenty of choice of food of a very high standard in the main restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. On the beach we were well looked after . We were provided with sun loungers with comfortable mattresses with covers on them , and we had complimentary bottled water an ice cream and fruit kebab skewer. Thank you for such a wonderful experience. Thank you to all the Reception staff , the Concierges, Porters,Beach staff ,Bar staff ,Waiters, Waitresses, Grounds people ,Maintenance , Cleaners , Entertainers . My apologies if any one has been missed out.The only thing to consider is that there are many steps around the hotel which made it slightly awkward with the pushchair.

Room Tip: Over looking the bay . We had room 283
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    145
    50
    23
    2
See reviews for
212
532
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to visit Mauritius as a family during the low season (April to August) and chose the Le Touessrok as our hotel. Immediately the staff were incredibly friendly, all knowing our names and welcoming us to the hotel very nicely. The food was excellent, we dined in the main restaurant all nights apart from one when we dined in the Indian fine dining restaurant. This was fantastic and because it was my wife's birthday, the preparation of our table and free champagne and cake was so generous.

One of the things which was a highlight of the stay were the hotel rooms. As a family of four, we had 2 junior suites (connected) overlooking the beach. The room was spacious and the bathroom was amazing. And the butlers who made all this happen should be very proud of themselves.

The sporting facilities were excellent. We played tennis every night and the 4 synthetic courts they offer are fantastic. The staff there provide you with free water in a ice box and towels which they leave for you at the bench and are all round up for a chat and make Le Touessrok fantastic.

My son and I had a round of golf at the Le Touessrok Championship Course. Renowned for its challenging nature, we very much enjoyed this stunning golf course which was free to Le Touessrok guests (saving us £250!). The staff there were so friendly and giving us great advice for the challenging course.

The water sports on offer are FANTASTIC!! All water sports on the Ille de Cerfs at the Le Touessrok boat house are free. We had a go at most water sports on offer (sailing, kayak, pedalo etc.) and it was great! The instructors are all VERY friendly!!

We visited Casela Nature Park, where we Walked with the Lions and experienced exquisite safari from both safari truck and Segway. This is a MUST is you are visiting Mauritius as a family but this could have never had happened if it wasn't for the hotel concierge. She organised our trip working day and night to suit the trip to our liking.

Will definitely stay here again - fantastic.

Room Tip: We got 2 Junior suites as a family. If available a must!!!!!!! 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have great oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For a start, the drive from the airport to the hotel was fantastic due to the scenery and the sights. On arrival at the hotel "WOW" ,it was beautiful and the staff could not do more they were so friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic with such a varied choice.
One thing I would recommend though is to buy duty free at airport to take to the hotel as the drinks on offer are so expensive I could not justify spending all night in bar. The hotel room balcony with its view and calming noise of the sea was a pleasure to relax on after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curepipe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our first step in the hotel compound was welcomed by smiling and helpful staff members.
This was already a good point.The room was spacious with an equally spacious bathroom & a wonderful bathtub.We had a room overlooking the ocean.....that was really fantastic. We were offered a free basket of fruits which is quite rare in other hotels i have visited. The hotel is very well situated and the trips to Ile aux Cerfs and Ile aux Mangenie is absolutely fabulous with all types of aqua activities...
We were offered a very large quality of foods and deserts which were all delicious especially the chinese kitchen.....Same applies to the breakfast...Next morning, we were woken up with the rays of sunshine and a beautiful view of the rising sun...The service and the warm welcome will naturally draw us to Le Touessrok in the coming years as they really made us feel `special`......N a great thanks to all the staff members especially the beach boys.

Room Tip: The Givenchy Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A beautiful hotel, unique natural setting. A relaxing and calming ambiance that I particularly appreciated. Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was beach front and overlooked the bay.
We stayed at the hotel with my parents and my in-laws. We had 3 rooms. They were clean, very spacious with a large bathroom, comfortable bed, a private terrace/outdoor seating area.
It was a short walk to the main areas of the hotel. A nice bar that overlooks the attractive swimming pool and beautiful bay. Meals at the main restaurant were excellent, varied buffets to cater to everyone's liking. Service was very good.
I would stay there again and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for three days in June.
Hotel was good, excellent food, and has a great setting.
Staff at restraunts, reception and beach were all friendly. The hotel lacked entertainment this was a big negative, after dinner we wentr back to the room, it was only one night they has a band which were good.There were no shows or culture shows at night and unless you wanted to listen to jazz that was all they offered. We have previously stayed at the Residence and would return there next time.
Drinks were far too overpriced here as well and that was a big turn off.
We used the spa facilities which I should say were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We initially had some problems with this resort but ultimately ended up having a fantastic stay. We had booked a Deluxe room which when we arrived had a very bad damp odour and many of the soft furnishings were clearly very stained and old, and the room was not very clean. The resort was very full and we were shown another room in the same category that had the same problems. Our initial complaint to the lady managing the front desk was rather rudely met with a Gallic shrug until we escalated to the senior management who were much more efficient. The following morning we were given a double upgrade to an Ocean suite which was simply enormous, much more modern and with a sumptuous bathroom. This more than made up for the initial issues, though I think if we had had to stay in the original room we would have certainly moved resorts - the lesson to be learned is that the newer Frangipani part of the resort is the place to be as others have commented. From this moment on we were able to enjoy the fantastic services of the resort. The food in the buffet restaurant is very good in the evenings, with more choice than you could ever get bored of and different choices each night - we particularly thought the desserts were special. Breakfast was a little more restricted and more of a free-for-all. The Indian restaurant was amazing, really one of the finest Indian meals I've had, and not too expensive after they credit your account for not eating at the buffet (assuming you are staying HB/FB). Entertainment nightly in the Sega bar was enjoyable too. The highlight of the trip was the really great service from Vishal Saurah at the dive centre who was a fantastic instructor. We did a PADI certification course and it was a nice luxury to have a private instructor, boat and all the equipment to ourselves all located within the resort. Of the two beach islands, Ile Aux Cerfs is public and way too busy to be enjoyable unless you are going to the golf course (which was fabulous) or to the hotel's own watersports centre. There are also hawkers who don't make it clear they aren't from Le Touessrok and try to charge you for stuff the hotel provides for free. Mangenie was much nicer, great beach service and very tranquil with a good casual restaurant for lunch and good loungers, although we had to buy protective beach shoes as it was almost impossible to enter the water without treading on sea urchins. As I already mentioned the golf course was epic - very beautiful and very challenging (even a pro would lose a lot of balls here so take extra) but still enjoyable nonetheless. Overall I think the property is in need of a bit of a refurb in some areas, but I really enjoyed it there in the end and wouldn't hesitate to return so long as we were staying in a newer room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the deluxe category
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.