We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, incredible customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, incredible customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just spent two weeks here, and it was incredible. Great room with a fabulous view (though all rooms have a view of the sea), we had a butler to look after us & prepare the room for bedtime!! Wonderful huge bath, great extras in the room, a wardrobe each - perfect! The beach & pools were fabulous, we were looked after incredibly well, fruit in the morning, sorbet in the afternoon, free water all day. My husband played golf four times & found the service at the golf club incredible too. Others have complained of struggling to get a tee-time but hubby got his 1st choice each time he played. I got the boat to meet him a couple of times & enjoyed some wonderful champagne cocktails with him whilst sat in a stunning setting. The restaurants were all wonderful, again 1st class service, stunning settings & wonderful food. It is worth trying them all.

It was one of the most relaxing stays we have ever had - often we would be on the beach for an hour before anyone else arrived. Bliss! A truly 1st class experience.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    173
    63
    30
    8
See reviews for
242
663
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I got married at Le Touessrok in May 2013 and cannot fault it. It is the best hotel I think I have ever stayed in. We stayed in a suite on Frangipani Island and were impressed by the views over the ocean and beach, the facilities in the room (Nespresso machine, free standing egg shaped bath, ipod dock etc etc). More than anything we were impressed by the service that we received, nothing was too much trouble and I think our room was serviced no less than 3 times a day by amazingly friendly and attentive staff. We loved the buffet restuarant which I was surprised about as these things can sometimes get a bit repetitive. One of our party had a birthday when we were there and the waiters brought over champagne for the whole table plus a birthday cake which was absolutely fantastic of them. The champagne breakfast every morning was also excellent. Our wedding planner Prithee was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. We had our reception at Barlen's restaurant which was closed for the evening for us and I was blown away by how outstanding the space had been made to look. I agree that the bar prices are steep but having moved on to another 5* property on the island which was all inclusive before we flew home to Sydney and having seen some disgusting cruise ship style binges with everyone trying to get their 'money's worth', I really would rather pay extra to keep those people away. We had lunch at Barlen's a few days and the food was excellent. The boat over to the islands was great too. Around 30 of our wedding party stayed at Le Touessrok and everyone had a fantastic time. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Franginpani Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We travelled again this year with Elegant Resorts an excellent company & value for money. Their Mauritius representative Linda was very knowledgeable on Mauritius & efficient in organising our shopping trip. This year because BA businees class was very pricy we decided to try Emirates flying from Heathrow via Dubai saving some £500. In hindsight I wish I had tried them earlier. The Heathrow/Dubai leg was on an A380 which was far superior to the BA aircraft, the Dubai/Mauritius leg was on a Boeing 777 which was somewhat noisier in the cabin from engine noise. The service onboard was excellent with very attentive cabin crew, good selection of drinks & well served & prepared food. The flat-bed seat were however not as comfortable as BA & required a mattress which was offerred by the cabin crew. A much better experience than BA, Emirates have a new customer where I can use them in future.
We have been staying at Le Touessrok for quite a few years & it is an excellent hotel, however this year there were a few signs of lack of attention by the management to detail. On arrival the normally efficient reception greeting was a bit slapdash, the serving of morning fuit canapes & afternoon sorbets on the Barlens beach was irregular & information on daily activities intermittant. These are only small things but noticeable when you have been a regular guest, it may be because the hotel was nearly fully booked for the last 2 weeks of April but in the past when full it never seemed stressed.
Small issues aside we were impressed as ever by the attentiveness & friendliness of the staff, some who have worked at the hotel for many years & it was nice to be welcomed back by them. The staff do make a large contribution to the overall experience received & that includes those behind the scene & maintaining the grounds. The junior suites on Frangipani island are starting to look a bit tired & will need a full refit before too long if the reputation & rating of the hotel is to be maintained but they are still comfortable for now. However because the hotel has been well rated over the last few years the are not so many accomodation discounts being offered & really full pricing needs to be reflected by top quality accomodation, A word of caution if in an uper floor room, be careful with condensation forming on the bathroom floor due to cold from the a/c unit below, can be very slippery. Keep the a/c running in the room to avoid humidity build up which allows the condensation to form on the floor.
The main restaurant 398 still produces an excellent buffet menu for breakfast with something to please everyone & we find that with a large breakfast we do not often need to eat at lunchtime. In the evenings we prefer not to have a buffet style meal which although seems to have a varied menu is not really a five star hotel dining experience. We alternated between Safran & Barlen's restaurants during our stay. Safran was as excellent as ever but slight issues with service a bit rushed sometimes, probably because Ramesh was on leave while we there, but the food experience was as good as any top London restaurant. Barlen's has improved the service this year with the staff much more attentive but the overall consistency of the food offering was not too good in our first week, a poor fish sweet & sour more like fish in tomatoe sauce, however Cher Kiran introduced a new menu just before we left which looks enticing. He knows he has to work on the consistency of the food quality with his staff but nevertheless the overall experience was still good but some way to go to catch up to Safran level.
There has been a lot of comment about drink pricing. Yes it is pricy, about £5 for a beer, £10 for a cocktail or spirit & mixer & about £60 for a reasonbly good wine with fine wine & champagne at least double that. However in context what do you pay in London in similar quality hotels & restaurants? Would be interesting to see if the management reduced the prices by a third if the overall cash profit margin increased by better take up.
At the end of our holiday we felt very refreshed & had enjoyed the ambiance of the resort which takes some beating. Once again there was a special offer on laundry at the end of our stay which meant we went home with a lot of the washing & ironing already compleated.
Still excellent but needs working on to maintain it so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Le Touessrok where we stayed in a junior suite on Frangipani island on a half board basis. The hotel is very well done in a beautiful location but the whole experience is marred by the frankly insane prices placed on everything. To put this into perspective we both live and work in central London so we're used to expensive, what we're not used to is paying £10 for a glass of wine (where in the UK the same brand would have cost £7 a bottle) or £20 for a prawn bhaiji starter. It left us both with a sour taste when we checked out as despite not going to town on drinks or food we were still clobbered with a sizeable bill as we left.

That aside there are some wonderful merits to highlight from our trip. The private island Mangénie is amazing and Robinson and his team go out of their way to personalise your experience (for us they remembered on our first day we drank a lot of water so on our second visit they had an ice bucket full of bottled water ready for us on arrival) as well as livening things up with lots of fun and personality. The food also deserves a shout out, the prawns and palm heart salad were delicious!

Additionally the Indian a la carte restaurant is AMAZING. The hotel don't make enough of it, but the head chef is wonderful (he's worked with some of the best chefs in Dubai and London) and treated us to additional taster samples of some of his best dishes when he realised we were rather into our food. The naan bread warrants special shout out, we've never tasted naan like it, so light and fluffy and his innovative use of flavours (including blue cheese) are genius.

The room was also lovely with views directly over the ocean and a beach moments from our front door. The egg bath was a real treat with the luxurious toiletries that came in the room making you feel like you were in a spa.

Overall would I recommend the hotel, yes, but with the caution be prepared to ignore the silly prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a lovely time. The hotel is very well maintained stein beautiful grounds with lovely beaches. Our suite was n Frangipani Island, linked to the main hotel by a footbridge and a two minute walk. Exceptionally attentive staff who can't do enough to help, though this became a little OTT at times. The rooms are great with lots of space, free wifi, nice amenities, Nespresso machines, etc. the beaches and the sea are lovely and very safe. We took the free boat to Ille Margeritte where there is a private beach and a nice bar/restaurant under the trees - grilled prawns and lobster recommended!

The main restaurant, which is included in ones stay, is OK but gets a little repetitious after a week. It's self service from a umber of different areas, each serving different cuisines. There's plenty to eat and most was very good. It wasn't that busy, nothing was more than half full anywhere, and I guess it's because this is off season.

The Barlans restaurant and Safran Indian restaurant were also very good.

To echo others' comments, the drink prices are silly. £20 for a Kir Royal, £10-15 for a glass of wine and bottles from £45ish. We bought a few bottles duty free and chilled them n our mini bar and started each evening on our terrace with a couple of glasses and some nice music on the iPod dock.

The gym is well equipped and has a couple of free classes each day. My wife tells me that her massage was very good indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a two week stay at Le Tousserok and thought it was brilliant. From the moment we arrived we were treated superbly and the accommodation(junior suite) was spacial and well stocked. Beaches were beautiful and well kept and ample sun beds for all. Having read several reviews before departing I was slightly concerned regarding the food but this and the service was belong belief and how anyone can moan about it is crazy!! I have only two slight concerns, one being the price of drinks £10 for a beer on the private island, £70 for a average bottle of wine, £4 for a coke, this was way above what you would expect to pay and meant that most of the guests went outside the resort to buy at a local supermarkets and kept it in the mini bar and then drank in their rooms. They even charge for water at dinner when it is freely available throughout the day wherever you went. The other concern is regarding the availability of golf, which although it is a great course, it is really hard to book a tee time as they hold loads of corporate events on the course and guests are fitted in when a space is available. Overall though a brilliant holiday and I would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed at Frangipani Beach but from what I could see there would not be a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I can only add to what has been described by other reviewers of Le Touessrok, to say that it is quite possibly the most fabulous resort I have had the pleasure to stay at. We selected it from a long list of Mauritian hotels to celebrate our marriage with 85 of our (discerning) closest friends and family. We could only marvel at the exceptional service, quality of food, attention to detail and genuine and flexible attitude of hotel staff. From the doorman to housekeeping. It's more than just a well-run resort. The staff really take the time to get to know you, remember you and take care of you. It's an ideal destination for couples, families and groups. You can be in the thick of activity in the various restaurants and bars, participating in the large range of water and land sport activities and also find your slice of peaceful heaven within the hotel complex and among the islands that are at your disposal. Imagine getting off a boat, having your face sprayed with rose water, your sunglasses wiped down, handed a cold towel and gently guided towards a hammock. For evening entertainment, there's an incredible in-house band who brought the house down at our reception. The quality of the rooms is very high standard, with a great butler service for those who book a suite. Never intrusive, always helpful and available when you need them. Make sure to try the Indian restaurant Safran while you're there - a delight not to be missed. My recommendation would be to end your search for a dream Mauritian holiday right here. And trust me, I read weather forecasts daily for two weeks before the official marriage celebrations started and each day, the weather forecast was inaccurate. What was prescribed to be a rainy and blustery three days turned out to be sunny and calm. Magical.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.