We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Aug 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Save Saved
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Aug 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Le Touessrok for a perfect honeymoon in Mauritius. WARNING - we are going to use the words 'amazing' and 'awesome' a lot in this review!

We were welcomed to the hotel with tea and a guided tour of the resort. This was a great beginning and let us know everything we needed to about the resort. This was followed by a greeting from our private butler (!!) who let us know how to make full use of the room.

We stayed in a junior suite in the Frangipani wing. This area was ideal for us as it was quite secluded from the rest of the resort but still close to the pool, spa, and right on the beach. The room was amazing; massive size, a big wardrobe each, a huge bath, a shower room with a waterfall shower with a bench, individual sinks, dressing table, lots of electricity access points with different sockets for different plugs. The bed was unbelievably comfortable with lots of pillow options. The options of various scented candles that they would have ready for the night whilst we were at dinner was an especially nice touch. We were on the ground floor and so had a terrace that was literally on the beach.

We wish we could give 6 stars for the service. We've never experienced anything like it. It felt like every single person went out of their way to make the holiday special for us, be it the cleaning staff, the waiters, the chefs, the people that run the activities, etc. They were all polite, friendly, always had a welcoming smile on their faces. Our friends had organised a private breakfast on the beach for us. Unfortunately it was quite windy. Without hesitation our waiter got an umbrella and sheltered us from the wind. Our room was always impecably clean and our private butler was readily available for even the smallest requests. Even when we'd left our dirty shoes outside, they'd kindly cleaned them and brought them in for us without us having to say anything. One day when we were having breakfast and had gone for more food, the waiter covered the food left on the table so that flies didn't get to it (not that there were many flies there!). These three examples stand out but there were countless others.

We had gone half board. Breakfast was always at 398. With dinner the options were either 398 for buffet or Rs1200/person at one of the a la carte restaurants (safran or barlen's). The majority of the time we chose the buffet restaurant as the food changed on a daily basis and had a lot a variety (chinese, salad, indian, italian, desserts, mediterranean), and tasted very good. We went to Safran once. It's good gourmet Indian food, but be prepared to pay much more than Rs1200/person. To be honest, it wasn't worth the money. Breakfast was just as varied (Indian, English fry-up, waffles, omelettes, pancakes, cakes, as well the usual cereals, fruits, breads, etc.) We are both vegetarian and my husband is allergic to egg. Despite this there was always so much food that we could eat. Most of the cakes had egg in them but the chef would always make sure there was an eggless dessert for my husband. They even made eggless pancakes for him.

There's so much to do at the hotel. We didn't make much use of the spa, pools of golf, but they all looked good. We did make use of the flood lit tennis courts and some of the activities, such as archery and table tennis. The private island (ilot mangenie) was paradise. You are greeted with a "refreshing" spray and then you are left to either laze in one of the hammocks or sunbeds or walk around the island. Ile aux cerfs is open to the public and therefore is more crowded. This is where the resort's watersports are, the majority of which are free. The staff are happy to try and teach you the activities. The indian restaurant (Masala) that opens for lunch is better than Safran. Free bottles of water and towels are available throughout the resort, including the islands.

The only downside of the location of the resort is that it's a bit far from the airport and the main sights of Mauritius. However the resort is so nice that we barely stepped out of Le Touessrok.

As honeymooners, we were treated to lots of free additional perks - free massage (awesome!), romantic bath (awesome!), romantic dinner on the beach (awesome!) and a free bottle of champagne (awesome!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    661
    137
    49
    23
    2
See reviews for
202
496
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff so ridiculously but genuinely so friendly. Gorgeous. Just come here. We came to escape the snow in England last minute thing - can't believe our luck we picked the best place we've ever stayed. Junior suite in the Frangipani section. We are a gay couple in our early 40's from London - normal, not twats - but we do have GOOD TASTE. On arrival they gave us these really freezing cold face towels to wake us up and a beer!!! Fantastic - then this lemon sorbet thing - whilst they took our checking in details. It's a no-brainier - book it now. Definitely coming back with all our straight mates and their babies....

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable hotel. Service is superb. Location is heaven. Food is excellent and resort and its maintance is just perfect. Our room had incredible view. The best hotel we have ever stayed at. Will definitely be back soon

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Spetacular service, Nice view, great room, private island, good restaurants. Everything was above our expectations. The hotel gives a lot of attention to little details, which is amazing. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very simple. This place is quite simply heaven on earth and worth paying for. Sure it helped we were on the 2nd half of our honeymoon but we loved the place. Superb staff, great facilities, food and weather and the Mangenine private island is a real find. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros:
Service - We missed the amazing service of this hotel when we moved onto Lux Belle Mare
Beach service - you get a flag to say "Service" or "Do not Disturb"
Hotel Design - the design and architecture is superb, lots of bridges, romantic nooks and crannies
Frangipani Island - Beautiful for couples. Accomodation, Adults pool and Spa are here.
Adults only pool - essential for when you want to get away from splashing, screaming kids
Honeymoon Extras - they make you feel special - we had a lovely bath with oil and flowers
Star Power - Sunbathing with Noel Gallagher (!)
Food - Excellent Buffet...could not fault it - delicious
Value - surprisingly good value , ok drinks are pricey, but at least they dont rip you off at lunchtime like Lux Belle Mare.
Number of Guests - Thankfully they don't jam the guests into this hotel, it feels very exclusive.
Spa - the Spa is nice but not exceptional, a bit underwhelming.

Cons:
Frangipani Junior Suite decor - was not overawed, the room is designed very well space-wise, and there is a seperate side for each of you, two basins, two very large wardrobes, but the decor is brash, very bad paintings on the wall, cushions very tired and frayed. The bathrooms are very nice. The view was obscured by the pillars. The room was comfortable however, and this hotel still blew us away, so glad we picked it.

Room Tip: Hibiscus are on the beach Frangipani are on Frangipani Island Neither have a superior location - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked this holiday thru BA for our 25th anniversary in September 2012. It was not a cheap option but it looked idyllic. Well when we got there it was worth every penny. We were shown to a comfy sofa for check in with cool sorbet that was very welcome after the journey. We had our own butler who would have gladly unpacked our cases for us.

The only downside is that BA offered an upgrade to a suite where available. This was not available and no special instructions about it being our silver anniversary seemed to have been noted, which was disappointing.

After 5 nights we decided to speak to the manager about this. He was great and offered to see what they could do about an upgrade. As the junior suites were full up for second week we got a DOUBLE UPGRADE to a huge suite. They also laid on a special meal for us in the beach side restaurant with a personalised menu, a glass of bubbly and a yummy chocolate cake.

For a laid back holiday this is the place to be. We were able to thoroughly unwind but still took advantage of the free local bike ride, sailing, golfing and kayaking. Top tip if it not busy on the golf course ask for a tour in a golf buggy. Also if you eat in the golf restaurant you get to practice with 50 golf balls.

The food in the buffet restaurant is fantastic. I put on 3kgs!

The sports club were really helpful and rather bizarrely as we mentioned we were involved in a local environment group we ended up planting a bottle palm, with a plaque, in the name of our group. This was a lovely touch and probably means we will return in the future to see how the palm is doing. If you go there lookout for the bottle palm in the gardens near the sports club labelled 'Warfield Environment Group'. That's ours!

The Southern island tour is well worth doing as a change from being a beach bum.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite but all rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.