We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of my honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Spetacular service, Nice view, great room, private island, good restaurants. Everything was above our expectations. The hotel gives a lot of attention to little details, which is amazing. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    158
    53
    28
    6
See reviews for
232
596
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very simple. This place is quite simply heaven on earth and worth paying for. Sure it helped we were on the 2nd half of our honeymoon but we loved the place. Superb staff, great facilities, food and weather and the Mangenine private island is a real find. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros:
Service - We missed the amazing service of this hotel when we moved onto Lux Belle Mare
Beach service - you get a flag to say "Service" or "Do not Disturb"
Hotel Design - the design and architecture is superb, lots of bridges, romantic nooks and crannies
Frangipani Island - Beautiful for couples. Accomodation, Adults pool and Spa are here.
Adults only pool - essential for when you want to get away from splashing, screaming kids
Honeymoon Extras - they make you feel special - we had a lovely bath with oil and flowers
Star Power - Sunbathing with Noel Gallagher (!)
Food - Excellent Buffet...could not fault it - delicious
Value - surprisingly good value , ok drinks are pricey, but at least they dont rip you off at lunchtime like Lux Belle Mare.
Number of Guests - Thankfully they don't jam the guests into this hotel, it feels very exclusive.
Spa - the Spa is nice but not exceptional, a bit underwhelming.

Cons:
Frangipani Junior Suite decor - was not overawed, the room is designed very well space-wise, and there is a seperate side for each of you, two basins, two very large wardrobes, but the decor is brash, very bad paintings on the wall, cushions very tired and frayed. The bathrooms are very nice. The view was obscured by the pillars. The room was comfortable however, and this hotel still blew us away, so glad we picked it.

Room Tip: Hibiscus are on the beach Frangipani are on Frangipani Island Neither have a superior location - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked this holiday thru BA for our 25th anniversary in September 2012. It was not a cheap option but it looked idyllic. Well when we got there it was worth every penny. We were shown to a comfy sofa for check in with cool sorbet that was very welcome after the journey. We had our own butler who would have gladly unpacked our cases for us.

The only downside is that BA offered an upgrade to a suite where available. This was not available and no special instructions about it being our silver anniversary seemed to have been noted, which was disappointing.

After 5 nights we decided to speak to the manager about this. He was great and offered to see what they could do about an upgrade. As the junior suites were full up for second week we got a DOUBLE UPGRADE to a huge suite. They also laid on a special meal for us in the beach side restaurant with a personalised menu, a glass of bubbly and a yummy chocolate cake.

For a laid back holiday this is the place to be. We were able to thoroughly unwind but still took advantage of the free local bike ride, sailing, golfing and kayaking. Top tip if it not busy on the golf course ask for a tour in a golf buggy. Also if you eat in the golf restaurant you get to practice with 50 golf balls.

The food in the buffet restaurant is fantastic. I put on 3kgs!

The sports club were really helpful and rather bizarrely as we mentioned we were involved in a local environment group we ended up planting a bottle palm, with a plaque, in the name of our group. This was a lovely touch and probably means we will return in the future to see how the palm is doing. If you go there lookout for the bottle palm in the gardens near the sports club labelled 'Warfield Environment Group'. That's ours!

The Southern island tour is well worth doing as a change from being a beach bum.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite but all rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stunning place. Beautiful beaches which are all diverse and unique. A place you go to relax and unwind. The pools are lovely too. The perfect couples holiday. Not much nightlife but they have a great band who play regularly in the bar. Also a must is the star gazing at night with a local astronomer. The bathrooms and balconies are probably the best features of the room. the rest is fairly plain but nice all the same. I can't really think of anything bad too say!!! A joy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Le Touessrok is still a great hotel. I just returned January 16th 2013 and without question it is a super hotel to relax in. I last stayed when the hotel was owned by the One and Only group and since the hotel has been taken over by Sun resorts it has lost some of its sparkle. The main restaurant is a buffet and for me a buffet reduces a hotel to the lowest common denominator. Buffets don't work on any level. lining up for food, your party rarely at the table at the same time, can't relax as your table has a stream of people in perpetual motion moving around you. A 2 star hotel can do a buffet just as well apart from the quality of the food. Breakfast is fine but that apart I hate them. Saffron the Indian restuarant remains outstanding, this is a restaurant that people who don't like Indian food can eat in and fall in love with the food. Previously there was also an italian restaurant on site but that has now gone as has been replaced by an Asian fusion restuarant. I didn't try it, as despite considering myself to have a expansive pallet, I couldn't find a single dish that I would want to try. Service remains top notch throughout the hotel and you are made to feel very special. The golf couse has been made easier and changes were continuing to the course to make it easier. Apparently the French guests are most vociferous complainers about the difficulty of the course and object to the amount of balls they are losing. Obviously from the school who believe there is no point in improving your game, just make the course easier. All in all still a great hotel but its star doesn't quite shine as brightly as it once did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last year in June after getting married in Mauritius & were treated like Royalty.
From the candle lit dinners to the special baths, our stay was made so special by the professional hotel staff. We were going through our memorable pictures in Mauritius & I realised that I had not written a review so posting this review quite late.
The comforts of this resort along with the amazing English breakfast in the morning made it a delight to stay there - the shuttle service to Ile Aux Cers on a speed boat was amazing, there was so much to do everywhere we went but we did not feel rushed at any point.
The complimentary anti jet lag message kicks off the relaxation in style & it just keeps getting better from then on. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.