We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still special, but less so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Save Saved
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Still special, but less so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Le Touessrok is still a great hotel. I just returned January 16th 2013 and without question it is a super hotel to relax in. I last stayed when the hotel was owned by the One and Only group and since the hotel has been taken over by Sun resorts it has lost some of its sparkle. The main restaurant is a buffet and for me a buffet reduces a hotel to the lowest common denominator. Buffets don't work on any level. lining up for food, your party rarely at the table at the same time, can't relax as your table has a stream of people in perpetual motion moving around you. A 2 star hotel can do a buffet just as well apart from the quality of the food. Breakfast is fine but that apart I hate them. Saffron the Indian restuarant remains outstanding, this is a restaurant that people who don't like Indian food can eat in and fall in love with the food. Previously there was also an italian restaurant on site but that has now gone as has been replaced by an Asian fusion restuarant. I didn't try it, as despite considering myself to have a expansive pallet, I couldn't find a single dish that I would want to try. Service remains top notch throughout the hotel and you are made to feel very special. The golf couse has been made easier and changes were continuing to the course to make it easier. Apparently the French guests are most vociferous complainers about the difficulty of the course and object to the amount of balls they are losing. Obviously from the school who believe there is no point in improving your game, just make the course easier. All in all still a great hotel but its star doesn't quite shine as brightly as it once did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    146
    50
    23
    2
See reviews for
214
535
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last year in June after getting married in Mauritius & were treated like Royalty.
From the candle lit dinners to the special baths, our stay was made so special by the professional hotel staff. We were going through our memorable pictures in Mauritius & I realised that I had not written a review so posting this review quite late.
The comforts of this resort along with the amazing English breakfast in the morning made it a delight to stay there - the shuttle service to Ile Aux Cers on a speed boat was amazing, there was so much to do everywhere we went but we did not feel rushed at any point.
The complimentary anti jet lag message kicks off the relaxation in style & it just keeps getting better from then on. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Still one of the most beautiful places to stay in Mauritius, visit in December was our 6th. We stayed in a Frangipani suite, all of which have sea views either to Ilot Mangenie or over the beaches around the hotel. Well designed bathroom with basins and wardrobes set either side of the room, so no fighting over space, with a freestanding bath set in between, heaven. Staff are incredible and nothing is too much trouble. The food in Safran, the Indian restaurant, is beautiful - chef even gave us a short cooking demo one afternoon, and Barlans restaurant is lovely set down by the beach. We were a bit disappointed by the main restaurant, bit limited on choice, but we stayed at the beginning ofDecember and the hotel was quiet, so that may have been why. Hotel never feels too busy as guests can get boats to use Ilot Mangenie for quiet lunch and sunbathing, or busy Isle aux Cerfs for the water sports, and the golf course is spectacular - just take lots of golf balls, you'll need them!! We've only stayed as a couple, but there is a lovely pool by the main hotel for children and a quiet pool area on Frangipani. Something for everyone. We'll be back again very soon.

Room Tip: Frangipani is quieter part of hotel, rooms spacious with good views, and if you have a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at Le Touessrok a few times and it is definetly one of the best hotels in the world.
All the staff are attentive and make you feel really welcome. The doorman's face must have ached from all the smiling he did! He collected our golf clubs from our room and put them on the boat that takes you to the island golf course and boy were they heavy.
Superb room on Frangipan Island and the guy who looked after us even invited us to his wedding that took place a few days after we arrived.
The choice of food at the restaurant was superb and all the different chefs will cook you whatever you want. The Maitre De was super and made sure that any trip to the restaurant was tremendous.
The golf course and club house were excellent and the cold beers after a round were bliss.
I would recommend this hotel whether you want to lounge in the sun, play golf or just soak up the ambience. Great staff.

Room Tip: If you stay on Frangipani, I would recommend a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Mauritius was our first trip to the Southern Hemisphere and there was no shortage of great southern hospitality at Le Touessrok, a five-star resort on the east coast. October was a perfect month to visit this subtropical island; there were no insects, nor humidity or rain, and nighttime and daytime temperatures hovered between 20-22C. This was a golfing vacation and it was perfect golf weather. We took the boat daily across the calm, mangrove-lined, lagoon to the island (Ile Aux Cerfs) to golf. Black lava rock at some of the tee boxes reminded us of the volcanic origins of this century old island, while many other holes had picture-perfect ocean views. We also jettied over to the hotel's private island for a quiet lunch on the beach. Stepping off the pier we are greeted by two of the hotel's staff who quickly clean our sunglasses from the sea spray. It was a nice 5-star touch. Our jr. suite was a good size and located on the sheltered side of the building, protecting our balcony from the prevailing south easterly winds. The buffet's international cuisine was excellent. The chef at the pasta station customized my order on request changing the creamy sauce to a simpler oil and garlic and chili peppers. From day one, the staff greeted us as though they knew us, speaking in our preferred language (my husband also speaks French and staff are fluent in both.) We had a fruit bowl on arrival, nightly sweets at turndown, and swan-shaped towels were on our bed the last evening.

Room Tip: This resort is on the east coast and subject to prevailing winds. There are several beaches and buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here from 28th dec to 1st Jan 2012-13 and this was one of the best hotels ever seen.
The service quality is remarkable and so is the food.Very relaxing and beautiful place to be.
There are more than 4 beaches in the hotel and all at different side of the sea.
There is a beautiful gold course of the hotel on the other island.The staff is very courteous and helpful in every manner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I fully agree with Ptitmousse review previously.

The hotel promises the world but lacks the real wow factor.

We went at the end of November for 2 weeks for honeymoon. We travel to wonderful places and were very excited about Le Touessrok.

Whilst location is stunning, the staff very very friendly, the SAFRAN restaurant is outstanding, it wasn't what it once was in its hey day.

The resort lacked a bit of TLC and is looking a bit dated. Our room had mould in the bathroom and a broken toilet seat. But this is evident elsewhere too.

Where are the daily choccies by the bed and the petals on the bed? Where are the swan shaped towels? There are a distinct lack of 5 star touches you come to expect with this price tag. Even if you don't really want them.

Not even the shampoo was replenished, although there was a ton of shower gel. Even the towels were all a bit threadbear. Not nice and fluffy as you would expect for the prices they charge. It just seems that they cut corners.

Would I recommend it? Probably. But only due to Safran and the location. But if you want 5 star service then I'd look elsewhere where you get more for your money.

Lacked the wow factor for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.