We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Save Saved
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Jaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here from 28th dec to 1st Jan 2012-13 and this was one of the best hotels ever seen.
The service quality is remarkable and so is the food.Very relaxing and beautiful place to be.
There are more than 4 beaches in the hotel and all at different side of the sea.
There is a beautiful gold course of the hotel on the other island.The staff is very courteous and helpful in every manner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    691
    144
    50
    23
    2
See reviews for
209
522
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I fully agree with Ptitmousse review previously.

The hotel promises the world but lacks the real wow factor.

We went at the end of November for 2 weeks for honeymoon. We travel to wonderful places and were very excited about Le Touessrok.

Whilst location is stunning, the staff very very friendly, the SAFRAN restaurant is outstanding, it wasn't what it once was in its hey day.

The resort lacked a bit of TLC and is looking a bit dated. Our room had mould in the bathroom and a broken toilet seat. But this is evident elsewhere too.

Where are the daily choccies by the bed and the petals on the bed? Where are the swan shaped towels? There are a distinct lack of 5 star touches you come to expect with this price tag. Even if you don't really want them.

Not even the shampoo was replenished, although there was a ton of shower gel. Even the towels were all a bit threadbear. Not nice and fluffy as you would expect for the prices they charge. It just seems that they cut corners.

Would I recommend it? Probably. But only due to Safran and the location. But if you want 5 star service then I'd look elsewhere where you get more for your money.

Lacked the wow factor for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Le Touessrok has a high reputation, and going there for the first time, our expectations were relatively high too. We are fans of another hotel in Mauritius (see other review) but still try other hotels. In a nutshell :
- location : nice location, especially the 2 islands. Otherwise, the hotel beaches and view are nothing special. Beach on Frangipani island feels very artificial. Very nice beach and view on Ilôt Mangénie. We were a bit disappointed by the arrival at the hotel : the entry of the hotel (where the taxi drops you) did not feel "wahouh" as we experienced in other hotels in Mauritius.
- Room : we had a junior suite on Frangipani island. The room itself was nice, but not outstanding. The bath tube in the middle of the bathroom is maybe trendy but not practical at all. Extremely windy balcony - impossible to stand outside to read for more than 15 minutes, no deck chair on the balcony, tired (i.e. dirty) cushions on the sofa in the room. Wet floor due to air conditioning, low pressure in the shower. If you are lucky to have a better oriented room without such wind, then it must feel much nicer.
- Restaurants: good quality of food in all restaurants. Very nice to have a restaurant on the Frangipani side (Le Barlen's). Safran restaurant is really outstanding. With the exception of the Le Safran, we were not impressed by the service (although we fundamentally do not care - we are happy to pour ourselves water and wine) but in comparison with other hotels, it felt below level. Ratio staff / guests seemed and felt lower. No plate for bread on the table... surprising for such a hotel.
- Wifi : poor wifi network. You have to stand in the reception area to get stronger network.
- Golf: we had already played on Ile aux Cerfs, and this is a really nice and challenging golf (at least for us). Take balls with you ! Getting to the golf course by boat makes it even more special.
- Atmosphere : we were fearing that Le Touessrok would be a very exclusive place, where you need to dress, but it was much less than expected, and actually not that different to Le Belle Mare Plage or Le Paradis. Which was fine with us as we do not want to dress much during our holidays.
- Service: we did not like the concept of butler. We do not need our room to be explained to us, nor do we need help to unpack or pack our suitcase nor do we need our sunglasses to be cleaned after the 5mn trip on the boat to Mangénie Island. This all felt a little too much and made us somehow uncomfortable. We appreciate that, on the contrary, some people value this type of service.
- Conciergerie: we did not ask much, but were very nicely informed by the ladies there.
- Reception : a little disappointment with reception. On the morning of departure, when we checked out, we told reception that we had a drink from our mini bar during the evening - to make sure it was on the bill. We told them twice. But we could not then check on the bill that they put it on (just because of the way the bill is drafted). So we paid our bill and waited in the lobby for our taxi. When taxi came and we left, a lady came after us to ask payment for our drink taken from the mini bar. Just as if we hadn't told... We felt bad about it and looking at all the extras we had during our stay, they could have also offered it.
In summary : very good hotel but not, according to us, at the level of its reputation, especially in comparison with other hotels. However, given the price, I would rate quality / price average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Ok, I wasn't expecting Such a Difference !! Having travelled the globe extensively for over 30 years mostly 4 or 5 star Accom with the occassional 3 star, I thought I had experienced some dam good hotels BUT THIS IS A STANDOUT !!!!! IE: they offered to setup breakfast on the grass infront of our room (under the palm trees) and about 5 metres from the white sandy beach and waters edge - i expected one person would come setup and go but no 3 waiters/butlers all hovered to please any request we may have had (without imposing on our privacy- ture professionalism !! ) see the photos - the Seafood Bufet included Lobster, Bugs, Ocean Trout and every world cuisine you could think of however mystically when you turned to walk back to the table, a butler/waiter would appear take your plate and glass and walk with you to the table - when you got up to go for a swim in one of the many spectacular pools a lady would appear a take your sunglasses and with white gloves spray and clean them for your return back out of the water - Feeling to sleepy to get off the sunbed to have a plung in the pool, don't worry she will be back to ask if you would like an atomised spay of cold water of your body and another complimentary bottle of chilled water. When the clean your room they sneak into your shoe robe and stuff crape paper in your shoes to ensure they keep their shape and I mean from your slippers to your runners. We arrived late at nite (about 10:30pm) and whilst we were signing in they prepare us a rather large supper (which we hadn't requested -complimentary) and had it delivered by butler to our room only 10 minutes after we moved in - it was then we reallised a couple of our bag missed the flight from Reunion Ist the Mauritius. so again the butler arrives with complementary shirts and beachwear from the Guest shop so we didn't have to worry about anthing the next morning.
This is the place ALL 5 Star Hotel and Resorts should send there managers to see just how good it can be done !!! CONGRATULATIONS !! This place is lightyears infont of the Park Lane snotty service that I have enjoyed previously but this is on a TOTALLY different Level.
Go .... you can't help but Enjoy it !

Room Tip: Frangipany suite facing beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our third trip here and I hope to repeat it again and again.
From the gate keepers, the check in (painless) and the permanent staff who never stop smiling, greet you as honoured guests and look after every whim you may have, ten days passed in unbridled luxury and delight.
The food is world class, the venue unsurpassable and the accomodation a delight.
The same room for our third visit, a junior suite in Hibiscus, a valet, butler and the sun bed two steps from the patio and the sea twenty metres from that. A view over the lagoon to the reef and wall to wall friendliness and affection.
How do they remember your name, your preferences for drinks in the bar and even your little pecadillos? I don't know, but they do.
We could visit a thousand hotels all over the world for the price, but we keep coming back and God and finances willing will continue to do so.
Our wedding anniversary dinner was just a delight and for the entertainers that evening and the restaurant staff to sing for us with our champagne and special gateau are memories to be treasured forever

Room Tip: We prefer the Hibiscus wing, but other guests speak just as highly of the Frangipani rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just back from a 10 stay at Le Touessrok. The resort is fantastic. We had a junior suite on the Frangipani side of the hotel (worth paying for the upgrade). This puts you close to the gym, spa and adults only pool. We spent the mornings at the beach then moved to the pool for the afternoon sun. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff. Caring, attentive and considerate to your every need. Seems like there is always 2/3 staff on hand to help you with whatever you need. Morning fruit sticks, bottled water, cold towels and the shades cleaning service are nice extra, plus, the afternoon sorbet treats hit the spot. The resort is kids friendly but also well spread out. You can get all the peace and quiet needed if you so desire. The buffet breakfast service is excellent with everything you could ever want. Sit inside if you find the birds a distraction. In the evenings we ate at the two restaurants as opposed to in the buffet. The buffet is perfectly fine and seemed popular with families but had a bit of school canteen feel. If you eat at the restaurants you get 1800 rupees each towards the food bill which covers any starter and most main courses bar the lobster (worth getting anyway). Preferred Saffron to Barlens but the food at both was fantastic. I couldn't understand why so many people seemed to prefer the buffet, each to their own. You have to try the Prawn Padoka and Chicken Kebabs in Saffron at least once. Alcohol is expensive as mentioned in other reviews, but, i didn't think any more so than other high end resorts (40/60£ starting price for wine). Highlight is the adults only pool which has the feel of a tropical lagoon. Definitely hit the golf course if you play only a 10 min ferry ride and worth the effort. Buy plenty of balls as your sure to lose some. If i had to pick a fault the rooms are a little tired and the resort could do with updating in places, but, this didn't distract from our stay. Overall amazing place to take in some winter sunshine and chill out. Not to mention sun bathing next to a modern day rock star god on the last day (dont look back in anger.... )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esher, surrey, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second time at Le Touessrok staying in a Junior Suite in the Hibiscus Wing. We requested the same room that we had last year and to our delight we were allocated it. It may not suit everybody as it is at the far end of the beach away from the main hotel facilities and means a 10 min walk up to the hotel for breakfast and dinner, but a ground floor room with 2 loungers in front of you on the beach is just idealic. The Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with huge bathrooms with walk in shower. The bathrooms could perhaps use a bit of a spruce up as our shower door didn't always stay shut and the loo flush was a bit temperamental but that's being super picky! The butler service you get is attentive yet discreet and all the staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful. There is an adults only pool over at the Frangipani side of the hotel or there is the main pool by the bar. Both are beautifully maintained. The main restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. The dinner option gets a bit samey and if you want a table on the terrace then you have to get there by 7.15 or after 8.30. There is however a great selection of food. There are 2 al la carte restaurants - Safran which is the most amazing Indian restaurant ever, and Barlans which is Asian. We found the food a bit hit and miss in the evenings at Barlans but the bar there is worth a visit. During the day there is also the option of going across to their private island Ilot Manganit where there is a fabulous beachside restaurant. Boats ferry you across every 20 mins and it takes about 10 mins to get there. Boats also go to Ile Aux Cerfs if you want water sports or the Touessrok golf course.
This hotel enables you to have as active a holiday as you want. If you don't want to do anything then the beach and pool are amazing. At both locations they bring you cold towels, water and fruit in the mornings, sorbet in the afternoons and nothing is too much trouble. If you want to join in the daily activities then there is plenty on offer. There is also the Givenchy Spa
This has been our November treat for the last two years and I'm pretty certain (funds permitting) that it will be for the foreseeable future. Can't recommend this highly enough if you are a busy couple who need an end of year chilled out holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.