We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Touessrok

Save Saved
You added Le Touessrok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Touessrok
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just back from a 10 night stay here & completely loved it. Food was amazing. Service perfect also! Couldn't have done more for you. Boys loved the golf. Our room was kept very clean and had an amazing view onto the beach.

Would love to go back! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    145
    50
    23
    2
See reviews for
212
532
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This is still a unique Hotel with an amazing setting, wonderful staff and great facilities. But remembering it from when it was a One and Only it has sadly lost some of it's magic. The food in the Main Restaurant is no longer fabulous but rather adequate and not befitting the 5 stars. Since our last visit in 2008 everything seems exactly the same except for a coat of paint rather carelessly applied,and here and there are signs of tiredness. The worst thing for us were the beds which are way to soft and gave us backache. So in a nutshell: please Sun Resorts invest a little more passion (and money) in this fabulous property and restore it to the glory it deserves.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Le Touesrok this October and had the most wonderful holiday. I was quite concerned about the weather before we left the UK as the forecast was so mixed but we had sun every day despite accu weathers predictions.

The staff and service at the hotel you could not fault, there are so many staff who cannot do enough for you, including your butler if you stay in one of the suites.

We stayed in a Frangnpain Island Junior Suite and had 2 double beds, my son could not believe his luck that he didn’t have to sleep in a roll away bed. The bathrooms in these suites are amazing with an egg shaped bath positioned looking out to sea.

The main restaurant offers an array of choice and you would find it hard not to find something you like. There are a couple of cooking stations where you choose your ingredients and they will cook your meal for you, the wok corner was a hit with our family. The quality of the food here was excellent. However we did quickly tire of this restaurant as we are not big buffet fans. There are two restaurants that you need to book, Safran which is the most amazing Indian restaurant in terms of decor, food and service. The other Barlens which is located next to the beach and serves asian food including Sushi. Again the service and quality was first class. In each of these restaurants you get a 1800 Rupees credit against your bill, which pretty much covers your food. This restaurant also has an adjoining bar which serves the beach during the day, a great spot for a drink at the end of the day.

There are 7 restaurants for lunch offering a wide selection of food including Indian, pizza and Sushi, the restaurants are more luxurious on the main island. The private island has a restaurant called Crusoes which is open for lunch and is set right on the beach under thatched canopy, with the most amazing view of the ocean.

If you order a cup of tea after 4pm on the main beach you get afternoon tea, we couldn’t believe our eyes the first time we ordered one and it turned up with 2 scones, jam, cream and 2 slices of cake. Delicious whilst you are looking at a perfect turquoise sea.

Il Aux Cerfs was beautiful with shallow perfect sea, however this is a public beach and does get very busy with people on boat trips. The water sports are also run off this beach, the staff there were so patient and very happy to teach and spend time with you water skiing / wake boarding / banana boat, these water sports are all included which is great if you have children.

The private island I must admit was a little disappointing when we visited the were moving sand around by lorry to build the beach up on one side of the island, so if you are going after November this should all be done.

I would recommend taking beach shoes with you as there is allot of coral on the shore line and in the sea as well as sea urchins. The only downside to the beach was the hawkers that came along trying to sell you things. They were very plesant and amusing and would leave you alone if you said you were not interested, but we were surprised to see them at a 5 star resort !

We went on a perfect 4 hour speed boat trip along the east coast of the Island and went snorkeling, visited a deserted island, a lighthouse and water fall. On the way back to the hotel we also saw dolphins. This was booked through Vikram who you can find near the library off the main hotel reception. We felt happy booking with him as he was based in the hotel, Billy the driver was great and very informative and had a great modern boat. There are a number of people on the main beach trying to sell boat trips for 1 or 2 hours but this really is not long enough, and some of the boats didn’t look great.

We didn’t use the kids club but it looked great, our 12 year old used the leisure club where there was table tennis, pool, air hockey, tennis courts etc.

My husband and son played golf on the course which they really enjoyed but the fairways are very narrow, you need to take lots of balls. They also played at Anahita at the Four Seasons which they said was great and more relaxing and enjoyable to play.

We would definately return.

Room Tip: Fragnipani Junior Suite, there are rooms with direct beach access if you request them, alternately y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Touessrok is really a great place if you are looking for and in between Luxury Hotel.
By "in between", i mean that this is not a big hotel with 500 rooms an a lot of people, neither it is a smal "private" boutique hotel / cocoon" where you could feel almost alone.
Mauritius is already famous for the sense of luxury service and his very gentle and discreet staff. Touessrok is definitely a reference.

The Site :
Facilities and activities are numerous, from SPA to diving & sailing center and a tremendous Golf Course.

SPA :
Branded to Givenchy, the SPA and the Fitness is fine, equipments are in good conditions and Staff is nice. We have not tested all massages, but they were, according to my wife, given by real professional.

Around :
Spending the day on the “private island” (Ilot Mangénie) and having lunch there is the best way to enjoy the beach & seaside. The Touessrok owns his fleet of private boat in order to drop you to the nautical Base, The Golf on the private island. (15 minutes trip every 45 minutes +/-)
In fact there are two islands a mile away in front of the hotel, linked by a small water channel where you could find a lot of touristic shops, and lot of people visiting the “Ile aux Cerfs”, go there once and avoid this place if you want calm and privacy, this particular spot is a must see for all tourists visiting Mauritius, and all hotels offers a day trip there, so it is kind of crowded :o)

The Rooms:
As the fact that we were upgraded to a Junior Suite (A very big “Merci” to the manager and staff), I could only speak about this level of accommodations on frangipani Island.
We were located on a small peninsula on the right of the hotel. Design is neutral according to Tropical Standard, and furniture’s are in good shape. Equipment is full and recent (Flat TV, DVD, Dock (for fruit company devices), WiFi, expresso machine…
The facilities in the Junior are Standard for a 5 Star, and there is no “Waouu” effect in the room; they should work on it in order to make the Touessrok more unique and exclusive.

Food & Beverages:

Buffet :
The buffet is really good, good looking & well assorted at ANY TIME, even at the end of breakfast or dinner service. Which is very important, (my wife and I are kind of late breakfast & dinner in vacation), there is no such unpleasant thing than facing a ridiculous buffet looking destroyed where you have the feeling to eat the end of it without almost any left choice.

Safran :
The Indian restaurant (Safran) is really good, I am not personally found of Indian food, but the fact is, they have found a way to mix Indian and more International courses to bring a very delicious result.
The Wine List is fine and very international (which is interesting to discover new wines, but not exceptional (according to French standard ;o) . I do not know how difficult it is to import French wine in Mauritius, but there are no surprise, only some average “Crus Bourgeois”’ or “Grand Crus “. Of course wine list is not a big deal, but a 5 stars could be able to “surprise” a little bit more their customers.

Sega Bar :
Cocktails are well made, alcohol choice is great, ambiance is really nice and live music is really good (jazz especially)… what else could we demand :o)
N.B : Those 3 places are surrounding a plaza where some night shows takes place every evening.
Entertainment is good quality but very noisy and it is, according to my point of view, not really appropriate to be in this mood, when you are in a Lounge Bar or a Luxury Restaurant.

The Beach bar and restaurant are nice and good, but the must is having lunch in the Crusoe restaurant on the private island is really wonderful, and if you do not feel like moving from your beach, they will serve you there :o)

I regret somehow that the beach furniture are not comfy as you could find in some other luxury hotels.
It would be very appropriate to have some nice big tents with big “lounge beds” with the possibility of some privacy and full shadows…

If there is a “Waouuu” effect, it is definitely the golf course, it is a must play for any golfer.
18 Holes (72 – 7200 y) designed by German famous golfer B. Langer.
From back tee this course is very very very tricky. If you do not play consistent around 12-14 and do not drive with a real carry distance of 220 to 240 y, avoid the back tee. You do not mess with Germans :o)
Fairways are narrow, grass (Bermuda I think) is smooth. Green are small to medium, mostly uphill but pitch the ball fine. Speed is average. The course is in extremely wonderful shape, like prepared for a championship.
DO NOT go in the bushes to retrieve your balls, drop one…, if not you will surely like me, make a disappointing encounter with wasp big like B52s with a very approximate sense of humor and privacy….it hurts a lot and you can forget the rest of the course for almost 1 hour….
So do not forget to by a few balls at proshop :o) if not, do not worry, the carts that turn around the course a fully loaded with every possible thing you need, from gloves to cigars…
And the very must is……… bring your swim suite, many holes are just along beaches with crystal water, shiny sand and nobody around, so do not hesitate to make a pit stop and go swimming between two holes…. It is a strange and very pleasant sensation.

Regards.
(N.B : Sorry for any grammatical or vocabulary mistake, English is not my first language).

Alexandre.

Room Tip: Book on Frangipani island, it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely first class hotel - fantastic service and great facilities in a beautiful location. It's one of the few hotels I've been to where the website is actually what it's like - yes, the sea really is that colour!!

Room Tip: All have got a sea view which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a truly wonderful time at "Le T" on the end of September 2012.

Location: It's location and surroundings are very calm and peacefull!
Beach: very good beaches with opportunities to go snorkeling and diving near the 2 private islands.
Hotel: Excellent charming look and very good atmosphere, with live music every night. Free Wifi is available all over the Hotel.
Service: great, very friendly and helpfull staff. You have a buttler ready to please you.
Food: excellent! Varied and really excellent. European dishes / Seafood / Cheese's / Asian and Mauritian typical food. 2 pay restaurants with a stuning view.
Music: each night excellent jazz / pop music by real musicians for real music lovers!
Nightlife: besides the excellent music each night no significant nightlife.
Other: they have a relaxing beautiful non-talking pool and furthermore a givenchy SPA on location!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms near the Givengy Spa. It's the most calm area on the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I'm very late in writing this and that's mainly because everyone else has said it all and I wholeheartedly agree that this is truely a wonderful resort. From the moment you arrive you note the friendliness from the staff, relaxing atmosphere, excellent service, an abundance and the variety of food (oh to eat the buffet for supper this evening!). The beach, the room, the pools, the views. But above and beyond all this the most enjoyable part of our stay was most definitely the private island, which we only took time out from visiting for one day in the seven we where there (for lunch try the prawns and ask for a taster of the home-made coconut rum). My only complaint ..... having to catch the taxi back to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Touessrok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Touessrok

Address: Trou d'eau Douce, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#1 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Touessrok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Touessrok is one of the world's great romantic resorts. Sensuous and chic, it is the essence of cool, modern elegance basking in the cultural warmth of tropical Mauritius. The resort is set on a beautiful stretch of white-sand coastline overlooking the tranquil Trou d'Eau Douce bay. On the mainland are the suites and rooms, pools, restaurants and bars, Givenchy Spa, tennis and the kids club.Across the water are the resort's two islands - Ile aux Cerfs, with its spectacular championship golf course designed by Bernard Langer, and Ilot Mangenie, an island retreat exclusive to guests, both a short ride by private boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Touessrok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Touessrok Hotel Trou d`Eau Douce
Touessrok
Le Touessrok Resort
Le Touessrok Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Le Tousserok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Touessrok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.