We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique and Oustanding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Victoria 1840, Victoria Road, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
+230 480 0220
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $78 - $100
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Unique Restaurant galerie d' Art situe dans l'ancienne usine de canne a sucre Victoria 1840 a Trou d'Eau Douce - abrite la Fondation Maniglier derniere eleve de Matisse - gastronomie francaise faisant belle part aux prodruits frais de l'ile tels que langoustes entieres , filet de bar ou de bourgeois, poissons en croute de sel ,coeurs de palmistes frais braises ou en tartare accompagnes de Gambas geants poeles au Sauvignon Blanc ou d'un carpaccio de Dorade Coriphene, Chateaubriand Black Angus d'Australie, confit de Canard de Madagascar ect sauces servies a part - A la carte et sur reservation a partir de 19 hr 30. Possibilite de dejeuner sur reservation 24 hr a l'avance. Nous sommes specialises dans l'organisation de soirees privees et evenementielles haut de gamme eg : General Electric, Thomson Reuters , Canal Plus ect . .. Soirees Jazz a la demande. Boen a vous, Jocelyn Gonzalez
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
“A Unique and Oustanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We will never ever forget Le Cafe des Arts. What a unique restaurant we have experienced there ! Dining around superb paintings, listening outstanding songs, savoring a fine cuisine and fine wines and enjoying a high standing service.
Thank you Jocelyn for this unique experience and for having hosted us.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We dined at Le Café des Arts for our anniversary and were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves! We were given a tour and some of the history, such an amazing, quirky place, in an old mill, filled with very contemporary art.

We sat in the ‘lounge’ area overlooking the pool for a pre-dinner drink, while choosing which meal we wanted from the giant, arty menu. We were then invited to our table, now overlooking the rest of the restaurant and lounge area for an amazing meal (of prawn, fillet steak and lamb)!

Quite expensive, but was a lovely treat on a very special occasion and would definitely recommend dining here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aughton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I were very much looking forward to eating at this restaurant. The restaurant itself is situated in an old mill, very quirky with lots of art all around. We went on a Saturday evening and were the only people there. Although the staff were very nice it is very off putting being the only table in the restaurant. The food was very expensive and really not that special. Last time we ate there were at least one other couple, the owner told us to book at a weekend next time as it was busier, perhaps if it was less expensive they would do better!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
1 review
“Great Le Cafe des Arts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

During a trip to Mauritius we visited Le Café des Arts Mautitius and were very pleased.
As my review you can read my letter to the owner of the restaurant:


"Dear Jocelyn!
It was very unexpectedly pleasantly to visit your restaurant!
From possible 10 points I would give everything 10: Great meeting of guests, the interior with ancient furniture and fantastic accessories, amazing pictures. We were pleasantly surprised by combination of high level of service and east hospitality. We felt that we were not in the restaurant and sit in a pleasant atmosphere at home. The meal was delicious and deserves an appreciation. Also I would like to note artfully selected music.
Our visit of your restaurant is one more occasion to return to Mauritius.
…"

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have never felt compelled to write a review on trip advisor but having enjoyed such a memorable evening at Le Cafe des Arts, I wanted to see what others had written.

Wow, I couldn't recommend enough. Wonderful food, wonderful staff, wonderful art and wonderful host. How lovely to meet such a charming man with so much love and pride in his mothers work, and quite rightly so.

This is a unique experience that is a must for all those who enjoy great food, excellent wine and are tired of their hotel restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.