We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius .   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights for the second part of our honeymoon in August 2013. I can't rate this place highly enough everything was superb - the property, the room, the food, the service. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    200
    59
    23
    13
See reviews for
319
588
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went on our honeymoon to this wonderful destination April 8-19th 2014.
The hotel is beautifully designed on a great beach, west facing for some awesome sunsets.
We stayed in the tropical junior suite set back from the beach (actually a good thing as more private) but only a pleasant 2 minute walk to the beach through some immaculate gardens.
We arrived after a long journey and got a very pleasant check in as well as a complimentary bottle of champagne and spa massage voucher as it was our honeymoon. Sadly the promised gift voucher for the boutique never surfaced although it didn't bother us in the end. The suite is lovely and includes an outdoor shower (concealed from viewers of course!). Other reviewers are right in that there are a lot of families that stay there but not a problem for us. The complex is large enough for privacy and romance, especially if you do the right thing and venture out of the hotel for dinner.
Re the beach itself - It can be busy with boats and the occasional hawker flogging stuff but it doesn't spoil the experience. Plenty of loungers and good snorkeling just a few metres out (Moray eels and fish!)
We opted for the B&B option rather than half board or fully inclusive which was clearly the best way to go (see below). All the staff are very attentive and friendly and go out of their way to assist and the room is cleaned twice a day
Try the spa also if you can as it provides a lovely massage along with steam room and sauna
Breakfast buffet is plentiful with every option catered for.
Okay all good so far but some negatives -
Very expensive extra options. We wanted to SCUBA dive and did but used the local Dive Dreams centre in Trou Aux BIches rather than the onsite dive centre as it was so much cheaper; barely anyone was diving with them (probably as a consequence of this!). The same goes for the boutique, the taxi services and the meals.
We decided to dine one night at the hotel rather than in Trou Aux Biches so we opted for Blue Ginger. Had to book 2 days in advance as it was booked up but I have no idea why. The restaurant is wonderfully designed and laid out but the food is not up to scratch. Starter was 2 spoons of poorly flavoured Thai "salad" and a crab cake which was more like a chicken nugget. This was followed by a prawn & wonton soup ( with regulation 1 wonton, 1 prawn only!), an overcooked fish and 2 overcooked curries with about 2 sppons of rice Dessert capped things off with fruit salad which looked like breakfast leftovers. All this and 3 beers for Rs 5000 (£100)!! Trying so hard to be a London high end restaurant they actually forgot to flavour the food or provide enough of it. I left still hungry! The local restaurants are so much better and half the price. Even the local beach shacks offered tastier morsels (samosas, marlin baguettes etc) Suffice to say we did not eat on site again for dinner. A real shame as the hotel as so much else which is really well done.

In summary we gave it 5 stars for the hotel, staff, location etc
However make sure you go B&B and eat lunch and dinner out in Trou Aux Biches. tastier, cheaper and actually supporting the local businesses and community

Room Tip: Junior Tropical Suite room 427; far enough away from the beachfront and noisy restaurants but closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is very convenient and comfortable for families with children. Food is ok, Service is not bad, The rooms are large and clean with good housekeeping. Try the Italian restaurant which is the best among others. Thai is not really authentic, Open buffet is very good for the families. This is not a hotel for Romance but there is a fantastic sunset that you can enjoy on the beach. There is a sandy clean beach with sea whihc is not agressive far from big waves offering safer environment for kids. The only problem is the beach sellers will disturb you many times trying to sell you things. You cannot avoid it since the security guards of the Hotel seem not discouraging the trade at all. Finally, yes if you are looking some quite place and nice beach to go with kids this is the right one.

Room Tip: Chose upper floor for better stay, looking the West, avoid the ones near tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Check In
First off, the reception area is stunning. There is a water feature with trees, palms and you a direct view of the sea. The process was very relaxing which I always find very nice after a long exhausting flight. You will be seated and presented with a welcoming drink (some sort of lemongrass ice tea, a bit too sweet for me) and a cold towel. After that you will be taken to your suite/villa with a golf cart. We were lucky to be upgraded from a junior suite to a tropical junior suite.

Grounds
Simply stunning. You almost get the feeling of being in a rainforest or a zoo. So many different birds, little lizards and we even saw a fruitbat hanging in the huge tree in front of our room (632). The resort is very big and spread out but there are always golf carts if you do not feel like walking.
The grounds probably impressed us the most. It is just hard not to relax in such a nice environment.

Suite
We stayed in the Tropical Junior Suite number 632. This type of Suite gives you 70m2 of space, more than enough for the 2 of us. The suite comes with a king bed, tv (a bit slow and smallish), a huge bathroom with inside and outside rainshowers both of which offer excellent pressure and of course you also get a bathtub and dual sinks. Nothing to fault here. Our housekeeper kept the room spotlessly clean. At turn down you will also get a free bottle of water.

Pools
There are a total of 7 pools, 6 smaller pools and the big infinity pool near the reception area. All the pools are very well kept and offer plenty of sun loungers. Also the temperature was very pleasant.
Beach
From looking at pictures and Google maps etc. I thought that the beach might not be that good. Boy was I wrong. White sand, turquoise water and a view to die for. Also there were not that many beach hawkers. Boats also very mentioned as a problem in other reviews, sure there are boats but it really wasn’t that bad. I did not disturb me from relaxing.

Restaurants
There are 6 restaurants offering international, Indian, Thai, Italian, and seafood cuisine. We only visited the Buffet, Mahiya and Blue Ginger. The other menus did not really appeal to us. For the a la carts you will have to make reservations. We did that 1-2 days in advance and never had any problems. You can show up as you please as there is not a specific time tied to your reservation.

L’Oasis (Buffet)
L’Oasis is the main restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was superb, almost everything you could want or think of. And to my surprise, the bread was as good as in Switzerland which is rarely the case in beach resorts. Breakfast gets a 5/5 from my side.

Lunch however was a completely different story. The service was inexistent and the food was also not something to write home about. We ate there just twice in our two weeks.

I would rate the food quality at dinner as pretty good, however there were not enough choices for a 5* buffet. Service was better but also lacking attention when the restaurant was busy, which was the case in most of the second week of our stay. Also the menu repeats itself after a week.

Le Caravelle (International / Lunch)
Le Caravelle was our go to restaurant for lunch, service here was better than at L’Oasis but also lacking. The food however was pretty good and the setting is beautiful.

Mahiya (Indian)
Mahiya is the Indian restaurant. They have a set menu which changes every 3 days. You will get 3 different starters and 3-4 entrees one of which costs a little supplement (300 Rupees) as well as a little desert. The food and service is superb. As a matter of fact we liked this restaurant the most. Bottles of wine start at 1300 rupees and go all the way up to 3000 and 4500-6000 for champagne. That said, the wine is pretty good and when you are on full board, you will get a discount of 1200 rupees on every bottle.

Blue Ginger (Thai)
This is the Thai themed restaurant, the service is similar if not better than at Mahiya and the food is also very very good. Here you will also have a set menu with one course more (soup) than at Mahiya.

Service overall
Service was pretty good the first week we were there when the hotel was only about half full. It declined in the second week when the hotel seemed to be at almost full capacity. Sometimes you had to wait 10-15 minutes after being seated at lunch for someone to bring you the menu and something to drink. That is just not acceptable for a resort that claims to be 5*+, hell it is not even acceptable for a 4* resort.

Reception however was always very helpful and when we had a problem with our TV, 5 minutes later the technician was at our room and solved the problem (thank good otherwise I would have missed the champions league)

The car provided by the hotel is a BMW X5, which we never used so can’t comment on that but it was a newer model.

Bars
There are two bars, the Main bar right next to L’Oasis at the main pool and the bar at La Caravelle (International cuisine) which is located right next to the beach. The cocktails were somewhat strange, depending on the bar chef, some days they were very good and sometimes they were let’s say, improvable. However the staff was efficient so no complaints there.

Entertainment
Every night there is a DJ, a band or a dance/fire show. All of which were pretty good. We especially enjoyed the two brothers and their band. The younger one really should enter a music show like the voice. Amazing singer.

Fitness/Tennis
There is a big fitness room divided into 3 parts with up to date equipment, two table tennis tables and a badminton court.

Also there are 6 tennis courts all in good condition. Reserve in the morning and you will always get a court. It’s a Head Tennis Academy so you will get Head rackets. The tennis balls you will have to buy but they only cost you 500 Rupees.

We did not do any water sports activities, so can’t comment on that.

Spa
They spa area is located next to the sport facilities in the back of the resort. You get an instant feeling of serenity when you enter. Our treatments were pretty good and the spa pool is also a nice place to relax. You can only use these facilities at the day of your treatment.

Check out
We asked about the possibility for a late check out and they offered us the room for as long as we needed it and we also were able to eat lunch at no additional charge. The bill was 100% correct and we were checked out in about 2 minutes.

Points of improvement
Here are a few points I would like to address.

Breakfast should be till 11 not 10 in the morning
.
Service at lunch has to get better. I observed many people having to wait 10-15 minutes to even be recognized by a member of the staff.

Also drink services should be expanded to the little pools not only the main pool and the beach are.

Conclusion
A very nice resort with the most beautiful grounds and setting. If they can iron out the few points mentioned, especially the lunch service problem, we will definitely recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I'm the personal assistant of a very famous person in the world, so I traveled with her in the most beautiful hotel in the world ex: savoy of London, ritz of Paris, excelsior of Rome ecc. I stayed in the beach front senior suite with pool, it was very nice and clean. The beach was a little bit crowed but said that I stayed very well, and i think that if i can afford, I will come again with my girlfriend in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just come back from a lovely 9 days stay at this resort which has recently undergone a massive renovation so everything is very pleasant.

Accommodations were excellent, we had a 2 bedroom villa. Beds were very clean, comfortable, plenty of space with modern bathrooms. One of my favourite features is the outdoor showers. Don't worry if that's not your thing as there are indoor ones as well. We also had outdoor table, chairs and lounger which were perfect for al fresco breakfasts which overlooked beautifully kept gardens.

Beach is also great. Softest white sand. Clean clear and gently sea. Quite a lot of free beach activities for people wanting more activity, kayaks, snorkelling, paddle boarding etc.

Good selection of restaurants, fish, Italian, European, Thai, Indian as well as the general nightly buffet all of which can be used with half board/ full board meal plans. Some items are with additional supplements though but still plenty of choice. Food quality was generally very good. One thing that I would like to praise the resort staff on is the friendly attentive service. They've got this just about right, not too stuffy, not to lax but very personable, helpful and friendly.

One small annoyance though was the beach traders, so many of them. They were though not pushy, yes, they wanted to try to make a sale but were polite and leave if you said you weren't interested, just had to do this about 20 times a day. Grrrr!

Gym facilities were good, with tennis and coach if requires, table tennis and pool table near the gym.

Down points apart from beach traders is the drinks were expensive, works out about £10 for one cocktail. Now that's London high end price. Also the spa services were expensive but if it's a massage you want there is an excellent place just outside the resort opposite to the police station. Very clean and professional centre. My tip - go there ;). Also, don't be late for breakfast, they wrap up snarky at 10 am much to my sons annoyance.

All said and done. This resort is excellent, if we plan another Mauritius trip we would certainly return. I have no worries about recommending this place.

Room Tip: All are good, I liked my ground floor one as it's easy to get to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I are currently staying here and it's no exaggeration to say that it meets all of our expectations and surpasses some. I have no idea how anyone can give a bad review if this fabulous hotel and resort. The rooms are very well appointed and traditional - fantastic shower which is important to me!
The restaurants are all good and staff genuinely want to help you have a great holiday. Beautiful spa too!
Yesterday we took a boat trip from the beach to see dolphins - which we did but also managed to swim with them in open water - a wonderful experience!!!
If you fancy Mauritius choose this hotel - you'll love it.......... Unless you're nuts or someone who always looks for faults! Just relax ans have a fabulous time......

Room Tip: For a couple 227 (or 225/6/8) are great and close to main beach, restaurants and reception but quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius .
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trou aux Biches, a legendary hotel for couples and honeymooners, is where guests experience the true tradition of Mauritius. Set in a palm-shaded grove, on the island’s North-west coast, Trou aux Biches has earned a reputation for true Mauritius hospitality, warmth, friendliness and the highest standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Beachcomber Trou Aux Biches Resort & Spa Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.