We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius .   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Amazing.What else to describe our Vacation.
After a 4 Hour flight we arrived in Mauritius @19-30.We were out of the Airport approx 15 minutes.We were then met by our Transfer Car and taken to the Hotel.The journey took us approx 55 mins.Tired as we were the Magic was about to the start.Belinda from reception welcomed us.after a quick signature and then escorted to Dinner..Tired as we were ,we enjoyed the eats and proceeded to our Room(Tropical Junior Suite).This is a huge suite that comes with an Outside Shower(Heaven)fully fitted bathroom with additional shower faclities.Adequate hanging space/bar size fridge/tea coffee facilty and safety box.Bedding was outstanding also comes with a TV.
Setting of this resort is done so well that a sense of privacy is of paramount importance.Each set of units has a swimming pool.For the sports minded ,there a Tennis Courts and the usual water sports and of come with a SPA.
We opted for the half board option (Breakfast and Dinner).We ate all our meals at the Oasis Restaurant which serves on a buffet basis.An outstanding selection that caters for all Dietary requirements.A specail mention to be made of Noorally(Chef)Jay and Balraj and staff that nothing was impossible.Thanks guys for our specail request you made it happen!!!!!. NO PROBLEM as they say in Mauritian style with a huge smile.
The resort has a great beach and comes with brochure type of sand.
This Hotel is part of a chain(8) and has a interchange policy subject to availibilty.
Meals can be interchanged as well.
Please note that the Hotel also offers an inclusive and inclusve plus option.Lunch/selcted drinks/ pizza/ice cream and every day top up of the Mini Bar.
Will we go back and be spoilt again-A RESOUNDING yes.

The saddest part of our vacation was to say good bye to our new found friends.

Room Tip: Tropical suites is half way between Beach and Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    127
    38
    16
    11
See reviews for
198
382
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mougins, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A wonderful hotel , fantastic beaches, excellent restaurants and unique staff thanks to Fatima , Xavier and special mention to Jerome who has organised an unforgettable dinner on the beach for my wife's birthday with fireworks, an incredible experience!!!!
I love to drink Margaritas as used in the U.S and Mexico. Unfortunatly they serve Margaritas the French way : a short drink with Tequila and Cointreau.It took me about 10 days the length of my stay at the Hotel to finally be able to put a Margarita together US style because they do not have the Mix like Jose Cuervo used in the U.S. So if anyone would like to taste at the Caravelle Bar pls. ask Davin or Stephan to prepare for you a Margarita" Edgar" style : long drink with Tequila , Cointreau , Grand Marinier and Amaretto di Saronno.
Will definitely back next year

Room Tip: suite along the beach fantastic location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at TAB for a week as a big '0' birthday celebration for my husband - they provided a complimentary cake for him, which was really nice. The hotel grounds and pools are beautiful and the accommodation is comfortable and spacious (massive bed!). The restaurants all serve really good food but our favourite was the Indian - the staff in there couldn't do enough for us and the food was absolutely delicious. The one thing that I think they could improve on is to offer complimentary water in the rooms - in a 5*, one would surely expect water to be included. The staff were all very courteous and helpful, especially Sophie who initially greeted us and looked after us during our stay.Overall, I would recommend the TAB for a relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with well trained staff. They have a long, beautiful beach and a few restaurants with really good food. We had a cottage with the sea view and a small pool, but if you want to enjoy the view you need to demand for the cushy sunbed mattresses which are currently only used at the beach, but not on your private balcony. What you get are the plastic loungers, so uncomfortable to rest on. Very odd but we are told the hotel is changing this policy.

They also have tennis courts but you need to buy your own balls.

The spa suffers from the common problem of poor massage technique. We tried several therapists but their massage is more ceremonial rubbing than what you might expect if you call for deeper and stronger massage. Apart from the male therapist with artsy beard, I forget his name, all others are lucky to have jobs at that hotel. Especially the hair stylist. If you are getting married here and are fussy about hair and make up, you better do your research and find proper stylists as they commonly resort to curling irons and tight buns.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can not say enough good things about this resort...from the restaurants, to the room, to the staff! The pictures on the hotel's website are exactly the paradise you will arrive to. All of the staff remembered us by name and were so pleasant...even so to give us our favorite papaya vanilla jelly to take home! The food was unbelievable...from buffet breakfast to lunch to dinner by piano music. A few staff members that stick out in our mind...Fatima, the hotel manager, went out of her way to say hello to us by name and take time out of her day to talk to us. Jerome and Vishnu...restaurant managers who were so friendly and even concocted a special Mauritian tanning lotion for us! Devon and Sanjeev...bartenders at La Caravelle...who became great friends and we will never forget! We felt like we knew them forever and wish to visit Trou Aux Biches just to spend time with 'our friends' there. Thanks to all who made our honeymoon perfect...from the United States to Mauritius...the 20 hour flight was well worth every minute we soaked up in the sand to our conversations with the Mauritians! The hotel was in the best location...10 days of sun and no rain!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room, however it was nice because we were close to our private pool and only s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our first time in Mauritius and our overall experience could be summed up as 'pleasing'.

We had a family (two room) downstairs villa set back from the beach, but in close reach to one of the fantastic swimming pools. The villa was spacious and very modern. Housekeeping ensured that cleanliness was always maintained and they always were very friendly.

The beach is well renowned for being clean, safe and well maintained and didn't let us down. Sand was soft & white and there was an army of people 'combing' the sand at night ready for its use by guests the very next day. Hawkers (like other reviewers will testify), are such a nuisance. You are left with the feeling that the security who patrol the beach must get some kind of financial kick-back as they never seem to intervene.
Top Tip: If you really don't want to get bothered, I came up with this idea: Just write out a sign in bold "Ne me dérange pas!", leave it on the side beach table next to you - and you'll be left in peace.

We mainly found ourselves situated around the communal villa pool. This has the opposite problem - if you want any kind of service, you won't get anything around the pools. We found this to be strange as the margin this hotel makes on drinks can be classed by some to be astronomical, whilst others would class it as obscene. 4 glasses of coke cost me £20!
Be under no illusion - this is not because Mauritius is expensive - it's the hotel who has a captive audience.

Any 5* hotel must pride itself on good food and good service. Trou aux Biches is in this category.
The problem is that, once the mask slips for one moment, there is no other place to go than downwards, which equals customer dissatisfaction regardless of how trivial the issue is.

In the main, service was impeccable, staff were attentive and friendly, food was of good standard.
L'Oasis bar however, must be run by another consortium! Trying to get the attention of any waiter for a drink is near impossible, made more of a mystery since there seems to be so many of them - perhaps it's because they are more intrigued in each other's conversations which leads to them forgetting why they are there.
There are no signs suggesting what cocktails are on offer, or what the 'special' of the day is.
Indeed, you are hard pressed to see any bar menus. (In general, there's a lot of guess work at this hotel. You have to do a lot of guess work from the food that is on offer through to times of meals, and 'where DO those kids get those scooters from?').
Once you have the attention of a waiter, his main mission in life is to ensure that you are shown the bar menu in as little time as is possible, before whisking it away from you - obviously, as your only reason for attending the bar is to steal the menu!

One reviewer summed up the hotel as 'stiff' and I think this is a true and accurate description.
Don't get me wrong; some people/social groups do like formal/stiff.

However, most hotels you go to have a central 'watering hole' where people meet, relax and enjoy the entertainment. We humans have simple needs and sometimes, want to be part of a wider, collective social group.
The only place that this can happen is in L'Oasis bar.
Given the lack of information on offer, disinterested bar staff and over-priced bar menu, most people walk straight on bye the bar and decide to turn in for the night - every night.
Holidays shouldn't be like this....

Room Tip: Don't bother to book a beach front villa. Over-priced and over-looked. Try asking for a villa n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Trou aux Biches in May this year for a friend's wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect for them. It was all beautifully planned with both ceremony and reception taking place on the beach, the surrounding scenery was stunning! With regards our stay at the hotel, I can only say that it was excellent. The selection of restaurants and variety and quality of food was outstanding (although bar prices very expensive). Service everywhere in the hotel was to a very high standard.The beach was lovely too and most watersports are free which is a bonus, as was the gym and some classes. The only negative I will say however, is that Trou aux Biches is in a rather isolated area of the island and there's not much in the way of Mauritian culture to be viewed here. The area is obviously catered more for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Hotel
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Beachcomber Trou Aux Biches Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius .
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trou aux Biches, a legendary hotel for couples and honeymooners, is where guests experience the true tradition of Mauritius. Set in a palm-shaded grove, on the island’s North-west coast, Trou aux Biches has earned a reputation for true Mauritius hospitality, warmth, friendliness and the highest standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.