We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the average category” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casuarina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casuarina Hotel to your Saves list
Casuarina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the average category”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We liked most of the stuff. We will just listen the negatives so that you can decide if these matters for you:

- you have to cross a car-road to reach the beach (2 min walk from the reception)
- the beach is nice but they should clean the corals/shells on the water front as other hotel do
- they should definitely build a toilet at the beach
- the frog's concert at night is sometime VERY loud


Small tip: to visit the island, do not use your tour operator's offers but simply walk to the small travel agency in Trou au Biches (in front of the police). You will end up paying 30-40% less for the same-same stuff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We thank you for your positive feedback and would like to point out the following:-

It does happen that, during rainy or full moon periods, we have frogs croaking in our fish pond with its fountains. Our team does its utmost so that guests are not disturbed by the noise; however nature tends to reassert itself as the hotel is situated within a lush tropical garden.

Our beach is found across a secondary road; our guests can access it through a pedestrian crossing in accordance with the current safety standards. Children use it without any problem up to date.

Our team from the Gardening Department starts cleaning the beach early every morning. Corals which are deposited by the high tides or during the cyclonic season are therefore removed regularly.

Some public beaches, such as the Mont-Choisy beach in the north, have public toilets.

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    370
    128
    49
    15
See reviews for
176
499
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

a great hotel in a wonderful position run very expertly
a road to cross to get to the beach is no big deal and gives you
a nice bit of excercise
the grounds of the hotel are wonderful and a get setting for taking
lots of photos and just walking around checking all the wildlife
i went on my own and nearly everybody else were couples and i felt very honoured
that all the staff gave me a little extra attention to make me feel at home
food was great and really well cooked and plenty of it and well trained staff
paradise yes with couple of problems one frogs making hugh noise during the night
and the very high cost of the laundery service

Room Tip: do not choosea room near the frog ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The inside is extremely beautiful, the hospitality is amazing.
The HUT rooms are amazing!
You get free coupons for glass bottom boat, snorkelling, and other sea games. which is a big plus point!

The beach is only a road cross away so when ever we feel we can just enjoy a walk or chat on the beach.
Or if we want a quick shower after a dip in the sea the hotel is just a road cross away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

bad bits first - bottled water not included in the all inclusive was very inconvenient and we had to carry water a long distance from the local supermarket. The filtered water that was availale tasted awful.

Good bits - The hotel was beautiful, very clean and well managed. The staff were very polite, hard working and always cheerful. The gardens were amazing and well maintained. We found the food excellent with great variety on a daily basis. Compliments to the chefs and the kitchen staff.

There was nightly entertainment which was of a very high standard in particular the sega dancers. We did two wonderful trips to the south and to an island. Would recommend booking through tour operaters in Trou aux Biches or Grande Baie.

We did not see any mosquitos anywhere in the hotel which had been of great concern prior to our trip. It appears that the hotel has a way of controlling these little beasts.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a chill out holiday and we will be back.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room near the ponds and the frogs. The view was amazing and the frogs although no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

As you can see I have given Casurina Hotel & Spa a top rating which they richly deserve, so let me get the very minor gripes out of the way first. After an hours drive from the airport - no welcome drink, no free tea & coffee in Mini Bar (we were all inclusive), that said we couldn't fault the hotel for its cleanliness, friendly staff, quality and quantity of a varied menu (Buffet Style), beach facilities, and the very pleasant garden and general ambience of the complex.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We thank you for your very positive feedback and would like to comment on the following:-

As per hotel service procedures, all our guests are offered a welcome drink as well as a refreshing towel upon arrival. The concerned Head of Department has been notified of your comment.

In general, your package is subject to a mutual agreement between the Hotel and the Tour Operator and being based on a defined budget.
Tea/coffee and mini bar are not included in your package. This is well mentioned in the document which was remitted to you upon check-in.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at our property.

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We Stayed at the Casuraina Hotel from 26/12/12 -11/01/13, all in all we had a very enjoyable stay, the rooms were great we were located on the 3rd floor room 142 and 141, large sized rooms with a fantastic sized shower!!!, check in was efficient, but we were not happy that allthough our AI package stated with the tour operator that mini bar was free, it wasn't, so check this with reception when you arrive. Cannot complain with food, being UK citizens it was great to try the variety of food on offer, and we stayed for 15 days and to be fair there was a variety of food in the Buffet, nice and hot if you got there at beginning of service but could get cold if you were later than 8pm eating, most guests except for a few couples and us spoke French, and I feel that at the Oasis Bar we to begin with tended to be ignored and other people were served before us, I did complain and it slightly improved then. Beach activites are a must as they are free and great, especially the Glass bottom boat which took you out to the reef, where you could snorkel aswell. The beach wasn't that great to begin with, but we had a Cyclone for 2days, and the sea seemed to have cleaned itself!!! it was lovely thereafter. Try not to book through the tour operators for excursions, we used Veejay who went round on the beach and offered the excursions for half the price!! We did go to Pamplemousses Botanical Garden, now we have been around the world and have seen a few Botanical gardens and this Botanical garden wasn't worth the trip there,to be fair, The Casuarina Hotel had more magnificent gardens and that's the truth. We also found that the taxi drivers and market holders were out to con the tourists, luckily we were on the ball with prices but they would con you at the first instance they got, they also tried to get you to go to the Factory shops!!!! boy what a con again, you could buy the absoulate genuine stuf i.e. Juicy Couture handbags in the UK for half the price they were asking in the factory shops, and they were not even genuine, for example a handbag I had bought from a genuine Juicy Couture shop in UK cost me £180, a badly made fake they were asking £500!!!!! regardles to say we bought nothing from the factory shops, but the taxi drivers must have some commission if they take you there and they are adamant they want to you to go there, I personally would advice you not to waste your time. The best place for souveniars is a supermarket and Grand Baie called Super U, brilliant, every souveniar you would want to buy are there for half the market prices and half of what they try and sell you on the beach, brilliant, and that's a good advice for you if you go there.
All in all a wonderful holiday, Most of the Staff at the Casuarina were helpful and willing to help at all times

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We thank you for your feedback which was overall positive and would like to comment on the following:-

In general, your package is subject to a mutual agreement between the Hotel and the Tour Operator and being based on a defined budget. Mini bar is not included in this package.

We cater to the needs of all our guests in the same way and provide them with the same quality of service. We have lots of guests around the Oasis bar especially at evening time for appetizers. You will surely agree that it is very difficult to serve all the guests at the same time.

The Casuarina beach was indeed affected by the cyclonic conditions prevailing at that time. Our team has acted diligently to clean the beach out so as to meet our guests’ satisfaction.

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 12 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though the beach is across the street it was not a problem at all. It is easy to cross over the street and there is the beautiful beach. It was clean. The spa facility is great also. Food was excellent as good a buffe can be. Evening cultural dance programs are great.

Room Tip: Rooms are secluded surrounded by a nice garden so in my opinion any room can be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casuarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casuarina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casuarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Hotel Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Mauritius
Casuarina Trou Aux Biches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casuarina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.