We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Royale, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Trou aux Biches
Wilderness, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Clean spacious rooms at the right price! I did not expect a serviced bar fridge! The hotel is perfectly placed between great beaches.
A good hotel as a base to explore Mauritius in a rented car or Grand Baie surrounds with a scooter.
I do feel that more tourist info should be made available, unless I missed it. However driving around and talking to locals to find good restaurants, bars and clubs made the trip and stay well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    138
    53
    25
    5
See reviews for
69
150
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel offered good value for money. You are not getting Club Med quality but you are not paying Club Med prices! Food is very good. Location? Excellent - close enough to Grand Baie not to be in the hub bub of busy Grand Baie. Relatively small beach but sufficient for the number of beach users. Close to bus stop. Busses come past ever 5 minutes and the fare to GB is 22 rupees - the equivalent of half a Euro! Better than the 15 euros for the taxi service. Good water sports - glass boat, paddle skis, water skiing (free) and pedal boats are readily available. Beach towels are handed out without complaint. Entertainment is typically what you can expect from a family hotel of this kind. (Male entertainment officer a bit disorganised though.) Bar prices a little steep for South Africans and in retrospect, we should have gone for the full deal. Personalised service - byt the second day everyone knows your name and room number. Down side? Because we were 5 women travelling together, we had a double and a triple room - the double was fine but the triple was cramped with one small cupboard for 3 women. Tip - order coffee from the kitchen after dinner - the coffee from the bar area is gross and we sent it back three times.

Room Tip: Avoid a triple room or ask what the cupboard space and layout is. Some rooms at the back are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stay in Mount Choisy hotel, last February 2012. The place is very nice, very near (2 Km) to Grand Baie where you can go for shopping or in the w.e. nights for clubbing in place like Banana Club or Buddha Bar. During the week the bar are generally without people.
At 5 min. on feet from the hotel you can go in the wild Mont Choisy Public Beach or Trou aux Biches public beach. I prefer Trou aux biches beacuase is very beautiful and in some tract have service of umbrella, seats ecc.
The hotel is not luxury but is a very good accomodation for who don't have particular exigences.
The rooms are clean and have king size bed very very large.
The restaurant have a good veriety of meals for dinner and breakfast. For lunch have a limitated service.
You can rent cars directly for the hall of hotel.
The personals are very very friendly and that's one of the most beautiful thing of this hotel.
The night animation in good but not excellent.
Complexively, is a good hotel, far from luxury but a good accomodation for enjoy this beautiful island. The location is very strategic.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor plan rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Location: Excellently situated near Grand Bay which offers a host fantastic places to eat and shop! Beaches in the area are of the best!

Room: Perfectly adequate (remember this is a 3 star hotel). Comfortable bed, cheerful, clean and well maintained.

Food: Breakfast did the job just fine and we ate out for the rest of the time (go out and experience creole cuisine).

Activities: Went kayaking, played table tennis, boules, volleyball and had some excellent nightly entertainment. As for the rest of the island - go out and explore!

Service: Friendly and prompt.

Price: Inexpensive. In this regard I believe I got MORE than I paid for. Nothing is worse than paying huge money for a 5 star hotel and leaving with the feeling that your money has been wasted. Being a 3 star hotel perhaps my expectations were a little lower and I was therefore more than happy with the outlay.

Summary: Great hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Hotel Mont Choisy is the best value for money in Mauritius! You just can't beat the location, the sunsets are spectacular! Why on earth anyone would spend the money going to a 5 star hotel beats me, you really have it all at this small, happy resort! The food, ok, could do with a bit of jazzing up, but other than that, everything was great! The staff are wonderful especially Kersavan at reception, he couldn't do enough for me. The rooms are big and comfortable, and, like I have said, the position, well!! I will stay there again, and hope they don't change anything, it's perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I did a lot of research before i went on this holiday - and I believe it paid off.

Firstly some background - living in Cape Town, South Africa i wanted a holiday destination that myself and girlfriend could go to on a budget, plus that was convenient and had to be at least 9 days long.

I chose Mauritius island which i have been to before, but GF had not. It is an easy direct flight from Cape Town. Only 2 hours time zone over so no jet lag. Plus is pretty much paradise for a proper relaxing get away from work.

I chose the Mont Choisy hotel on a recommendation from a friend. What i wanted was a nice hotel, that offered half board on the right side of the island (West).

All i can say is that the hotel lived up to all my expectations. They offer a simple breakfast which is perfect (Bacon eggs cereal etc) and a good dinner every night. Bar prices are reasonable considering it is a hotel. Staff where friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and nice. Air-Con works well.

The important thing to remember with this hotel - its 3 stars and its cheap - i booked direct with the hotel and arranged flights myself - cheaper than at travel agent. Don't expect 5 star massive buffets and huge elaborate evening entertainment. if you want that go to a beachcomber hotel rather for triple the money.

Also - staff are friendly and helpful, if you need something ASK and they will surely sort you out. food a bit cold, ask to put it back on the grill for 2 seconds.

Bottom line this was a great hotel and a great price - i could go for 9 days rather than 7 which is important as flight times rob your first and last day. Also it has free skiing which is a massive bonus for me.

Heartily recommend it to anyone going on a budget. think of it as a really nice bed and breakfast rather than resort hotel and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

If you want to experience Mauritius at its best, you will find that at Mont Choisy. This was our second trip to Mauritius (our first stay was at a 5 star hotel and just didn’t compare to our stay at Mont Choisy) and was incredibly memorable, the staff are amazing and VERY accommodating, the food is fantastic, the accommodation is small but comfortable/clean (you only shower and sleep there anyway).

The town of Grand Baie is only a 10 minute bus trip away and there are small shops at a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. There is a small beach which is fantastic for the kids to play on.

Awesome awesome awesome holiday indeed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort

Address: Route Royale, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coralia Club Mont Choisy Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Coralia Hotel Mont Choisy
Coralia Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.