We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased we found this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1974, da Antonio e Giulia

1974, da Antonio e Giulia
Coastal Road, ex-Aquarium building, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius 00000
(+230) 2657400
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: SPECIALITIES: fresh seafood and fish from Mauritius ocean, traditional italian dishes and original "made in Italy" products prepared by an italian long experienced chef.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So pleased we found this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant food and service! We have eaten at most of the good restaurants in the north and have to say that 1974 is by far the best . It's a great location, we sat on the verandah, Guilia was charming and the food delicious. The menu is small but you certainly have enough choice and they are very incredibly helpful with selections. We didn't find it pricey given that we have been to many other restaurants charging similar prices for very average food. All the pasta is home made and the sauces are seasonal and could not be fresher. Our friends had the beef fillet which was cooked beautifully and apparently tasted wonderful. I had a home made ribbon pasta with fresh porcini and pancetta sauce. Yum.
If you like " chain food Italian " then you won't like this.

We can't wait to go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    50
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Still dreaming about the meal we had here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Yes, yes, yes - it's good. Very good. Not cheap but the food is so delicious, you won't regret it. No menu - but detailed explanation of choices. We had amazing appetizers - almost as pricey as the main courses but DON'T skip these starters - I'm terrible remembering what things are called, (my foodie relatives made the selection) so don't be put off by my unappetizing descriptions - we had some sort of fried cheese puffs, a salad with fish, fish balls in tomato sauce - All of them were Fantastic! For lunch, I had the dorado cannelloni in tomato sauce - I can't remember what everyone else at the table had because I was in a heavenly stupor. The tomato sauce alone would make anything taste good, but added to the light fresh fish filled cannelloni - what can I say, I'm still dreaming about it. I know someone at the table had the fish filet, but that's all I remember. We were all raving about our meals. Just go and see for yourself. BTW, it's across the street from the beach in front of a play area so my 5 year old twins were happy playing in view while we ate. We're definitely going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am very glad we went to this restaurant early on in our holiday as we returned many times. The food is incredible, and the chef and his wife are so friendly and helpful.

Honestly some of the best food I have eaten in my life. Fish, Mussels, in fact everything we ate was out of this world!

12/10

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service, despite the rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ate here about three weeks ago during our three week stay in Trou aux Biches.
There is no printed menu, on arrival the dishes of the day are carefully explained to you. However this means you have no idea of the cost of the dishes.
All our food was excellently cooked and very tasty and served by friendly, smiling staff.
The only downside, which was outside of the owners control, was the weather, the heavens opened just as our food was being served, but we were swiftly moved to a more protected table.
The pleasant surprise at the end was the bill, even including a good bottle of wine, it was not expensive.
They also arranged for a taxi for us to return to our accommodation.
We would have gone to eat there again, but they are closed on Sundays and Mondays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner shared with great friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I chose this restaurant for my last evening in Mauritius. It has great street appeal and the menu looked very interesting. What is fresh and local is what you get.
Our party of seven had a little fun with a re-marriage of our great friends and the dinner as the wedding reception. Flowers behind our ears, bouquets of flowers, renewing of vows and a wedding dinner. All the staff and fellow diners played along with our frivolity.
I wonder how good my Italian is - I chose pasta con gamberi & fiori di zucca, - pasta, prawns and zucchini flowers with a delicate sauce. Amazing flavors, beautifully presented. The rest of our group ordered fish cannelloni, fresh local fish in a tomato sauce with capers and olives, pasta with traditional pesto and burrata cheese and pasta with meatballs and ricotta cheese.
My choice for dessert - creme brulee. Just the right amount of crack, a creamy, melt in your mouth delight. The panna cotta was voted a very close second.
Loved this restaurant, could not fault anything. Excellent value for money, a good wine list at reasonable prices. It is a must if you are staying in or around Trou aux Biches. A seriously good restaurant. Thank you for a great evening. ( I asked the owner to write down in Italian what I had )

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1974, da Antonio e Giulia also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to 1974, da Antonio e Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1974, da Antonio e Giulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.