We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuing to develop! Read on.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort to your Saves list
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Lancaster UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Continuing to develop! Read on.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife & I (well-travelled and an unassuming couple), stayed in this exclusive 5* residence for a period of 9 days (half board) on the recommendation of my trusted travel agent having included this stay as part of a 3 week holiday (South Africa plus safari and on to Mauritius).
Hotel architecture, rooms and ambience, were as anticipated given the rating; the staff were accommodating and were generally very eager to appear friendly, as we are ourselves. The deposit of a previously discarded apple core in or room upon arrival was certainly disappointing and was given back to Reception; interestingly it was ‘accepted’ without any apology offered.
The first evening meal, shortly after our (latish) arrival included in the menu, loin of lamb. “How would I wish this to be cooked” I was asked? “Well done and without blood” was the reply. The lamb duly arrived and at the first cut demonstrated running blood! This was immediately returned with obvious explanation and I awaited further additional heat to quell the haemorrhage. Unfortunately the 2nd attempt did nothing to stem the flow as the meat remained ‘rare’ and oozing with the ‘red stuff’. It was sent back to the chef with adequate explanation, at which point my appetite had been extinguished and no further meal was consumed. The explanation given was that to cook the meat to MY request would be to render the meat tough and dry; that I fully understood but as I (surprisingly for lamb) had been asked initially how I wished the meat to be cooked, I had thought that the least that would be served was a dish to MY preference.
That was only the start! So then further problems - we were asked if either of us had any dietary issues to divulge? “Yes”, an allergy to mussels was notified; “Not a problem” and this was understood by the restaurant staff; point made! Trying to engage with Mauritius and its culture we ‘booked’ a Mauritian meal (24 hours’ notice required). As the meal included a seafood ragout we re-iterated forcefully my wife’s mussel allergy and this element was duly noted, being heartily assured the matter was in hand. Surprise! Guess what was served as the first course? Despite the plate being put in front of my wife with the verbal statement “No mussels” by the server, there indeed was at least one large mussel. Red faces ++++. Needless to say, the dish was re-prepared, this time ‘sans moules’. Too late, the bubble had burst and the defective communication within the staff members was further exposed.
Needless to say, the not insubstantial ‘supplementary’ charges were waived and we received wine without charge in an attempt at reparations.
The following morning, I felt it obligatory to speak with the General Manager and give direct feedback concerning the events of the previous experience. I requested from Reception details of the said name and route of access and was given his card. Unsurprisingly the gentleman was already on the lookout for us and was eager to understand the detail of our plight. We chatted well and extensively in a thoroughly low key manner, pointing out our observations/feedback that whilst being friendly to guests, the staff seemed to miss the point of ordering food and precisely noting the detail of the order.
A robust meeting with the staff was held with the Manager (as we observed) and we assumed the ‘blip’ would become a historical matter and forgotten by us. Whoops; the following morning we were again presented with breakfast dishes that were not ‘as offered’ by the waiting on staff who although (mentally) noting our order, had not re-iterated the food order to confirm the appropriate detail. The meal did not live up to expectation therefore; disappointing given the (self-proclaimed) major status of the establishment.
We had further friendly rapport with the Manager (at his instigation) who was shocked and disappointed with the service we had received, especially after our previous dialogue.
I do not wish to labour the point but if staying at a 5* hotel (as we often do), there is an expectation of an appropriate level of service.
A further minor matter also comes to mind; a complimentary bottle of water was available only upon the day of our arrival and not further offered. A ‘standard procedure’ there, as we were informed!
I must complete the review by adding that our departure was enhanced by a (duly accepted) offer of an individual late afternoon Mauritian meal, prepared and served to us adjacent to the beach at an arranged timing of 4pm. This consisted of an exceptional array of Mauritian cuisine, completely superb with fantastic and individual service by ‘Avi’; probably the most outstanding (and young) staff member encountered during our stay.
So what more can I say? The ambience and surroundings are superb however the amenities of the sister hotel (just across the road, Casuarina Hotel) were not advertised at all but as we are gregarious, we found these for ourselves (including a shop) and enjoyed several nights of entertainment (live music, dancing and demonstrations of local custom) with the reduced prices for drinks an added bonus!
We are an innately positive couple and would not let the circumstances we experienced detract from our overall enjoyment of the stay but if this residence is to maintain its own advertised standards then attention to basic detail must be taken seriously.
The general lack of choice of Mauritian cuisine was glaringly overt within the menu, despite an ‘option’ to engage with 1 or maybe 2 local dishes on a nightly basis there was a requirement to book 24 hours in advance for a fully ‘local’ meal experience - disappointing.
The Manager advised us that many/most guests choose ‘haut cuisine’ dishes rather than local food and that is the reason for the limited local dishes. Note our own findings in this respect! What a shame - stay elsewhere other than this establishment if that is your preference; let the Mauritians celebrate their unique culture. NB take note from where the winner of UK ‘Masterchef’ originates from this year?!
Thank you for reading this honest appraisal, we are very likely to return to Mauritius but not necessarily stay in the same hotel - unless of course changes are evident to engage with Mauritian culture.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to benefit from sea views and are very well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, General Manager at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Doctor,
We wish to extend our deepest thanks to your good person for your general comments following your stay at our Five Star Resort and appreciate to have put us in high rating.

However, we wish to bring some complementary comments as follows:
1.Our Housekeeping team are very keen and devoted in the maintenance of a high standard of cleanliness in our room and public area, especially the “Turn Down” at 18.00 hours. The Executive Chef heartily apologized on behalf of the whole team for the left over piece of apple you found in the decorative bowl in your room –which was covered.
2. Our heartfelt apologies for the misunderstanding as regards to the mussels and the fact that your spouse is allergic to it, this was our mistake and we again apologise for this hiccup. As far as the lamb is concerned, you will subscribe with me that the “Loin of Lamb” cannot be well done right in the middle and in so doing, the same will be dark burnt .Still the chef has done his level best to satisfy you although he did explain the difficulty in cooking this tender meat, he had to cut it into two halves to ensure that it will be well done.

After my trip abroad and having taken cognizance of the problematic situation at the Cardinal Exclusive Resort. I made it a solemn duty to meet your good person in view of settling the matter.
We carried out a commercial gesture in your favour and that of your wife by offering you a dinner with drinks at the beach restaurant and lunch on your departure date followed by a late check out - all on a complimentary basis .

Our Executive Chef having very wide experience in the field is always attentive to the varied tastes and expectations of our guest and above all takes much pleasure to satisfy them all.

Our menu cards(both for lunch & dinner) is composed of a wide variety of meals(inclusive of mauritian dishes) to meet the expectations of guests of cosmopolitan origins. Please be assured that we took good note of your valuable comments to have a larger variety of Mauritian dishes in view of celebrating our unique culture.

As regards to the bottle of water, our policy is to offer a free bottle on the first day as welcoming gesture , but is for sale henceforth in your mini bar.

On your departure day, your spouse & yourself seemed very satisfied with your stay at our hotel.
We were particularly happy to note that you have enjoyed the ambiance of our sister hotel , you even mentioned to our team members at the reception , that you would write “Personally” to me the General Manager.
As good professionals, we thought that this matter has been solved to the satisfaction of both parties.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    10
    1
    6
    0
See reviews for
14
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tuebingen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a visit to Mauritius and we absolutely loved Le Cardinal. The service team (Vick, etc.) at Le Cardinal was exceptional and we really felt at home. The food was amazing. You will not find a better half board dinner program...additionally, the rooms are great and the towels are even scented (my wife loved this). Also, Le Cardinal only has 13 rooms, so if you are looking to avoid the large scale, mass tourism hotels, Le Cardinal is for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Le cardinal from 26/02 - 06/03. Our room was beautiful, spacious, clean, overlooking ocean and garden. The staff was great. Everyone was very friendly, polite and helpful. Food at the restaurant was delicious. A beach in front of the hotel is small, but nice, not many people there so you can relax and enjoy the sun :) We were lucky and had only one rainy day.
We would definitely recommend Le Cardinal and would love to come again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is an intimate hotel in that it only has 14 rooms. The decor is contemporary zen, very stylish. The location is wonderful, the swimming off the hotel great. Superb that included is skiing and the use of the glass bottomed boat x2 per day to go snorkelling. For a better snorkelling experience, as the guys at the Boat House to organise a boat to take you outside the reef. The fish variety is much more than inside the reef - a great experience. Drinks/water are incredibly pricey. 15 minutes walk away is Chez Popo Supermarche and you can buy water for a fraction of the price. Cocktails/beer etc is half the price at Le Casuarina, behind Le Cardinal and owned by the same owner. However, Le Casuarina is not nearly in the same category as Le Cardinal. I can highly recommend this hotel, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautifully done, extremely clean, stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My fiance and I stayed for two weeks at Le Cardinal. This is a small hotel with only 13 rooms and a maximum of about 30 guests. It has an 'exclusive' feel, and lots of staff.
We had a beautiful room- all rooms apparently have a sea view. You could sit in the circular bath sipping cocktails and watch the sun go down- very decadent.
Service was very attentive- rooms made up twice per day, and lovely little touches of amuse bouche being delivered to your room each afternoon. Also felt very safe with a security guard front and back 24/7.
We had been a little wary regarding the negative reports of building sites etc- but we were here in Sept/October 2010 and the only building work was much further down the beach where the Trois Aux Biches hotel is being re-built. It did not interfere with us or our enjoyment.
The hotel is well placed on the coast road about 10 minutes drive from Grand Baie- we had a car so could go there very easily and sample the many restaurants. If you were on foot, there are a few restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk, as well as a few touristy shops and couple of small supermarkets.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, which I think is not encouraged, as they have a highly rated chef. We only ate in the restaurant once and the food was fine, and service very attentive. We like to try a variety of food styles, especially local cuisine hence the desire to stay bed and breakfast.
The beach is nice- very quite, and the water lovely. The largest beach on the Island is Trois aux Biches, and the long stretch of sand is literally next to the hotel. The actual hotel beach is relatively small, but that really didn't matter as the long beach was a 30 second walk away.
Free water skiing every day, free pedalos, free flat bottomed boat all helped in the overall feel of attentive service.
My only negative points relate to the way things are done in Mauritius generally- there is a real sense of hierarchy and this got in the way of simple things- For example at breakfast, you could not ask the chef who was standing there doing nothing, for a fried egg- you had to ask the waiter who would then ask the chef- if the waiter was busy you would have to wait- frustrating and un-necessary.- A minor gripe also was the noise from the extractor fan in the kitchen was quite loud, and at breakfast, again un-necessary.

These were minor gripes, and did not interfere with us having a lovely stay. I have put up a few photos from our trip- hope you like.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We spent a night at this hotel for Valentine week-end. The room was spacious and very nice & luxurious and food excellent. However for a 5 star resort, we were disappointed with the swimming pool which had insects floating and did not appear clean. Also, the hotel did not have basic facilities for kids such as a high chair (may be because the hotel was newly opened). The beach is just ok (i.e we could have got better value for money elsewhere) and the garden is definitely not as nice as it is described in its brochure. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort

Address: Royal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cardinal Exclusive Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.