We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marmite Mauricienne

La Marmite Mauricienne
Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
265 7604
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent! Highly recommended. Would eat there again...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Homely type food. Good choice and big portions. They got our order wrong on the two times we visited but this was sorted out in friendly way. Best to sit outside as a bit smoky inside.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Genuine Creole Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

A nice, local restaurant with typical Creole taste (watch the chillies).

Choice of inside and outdoor (under cover) section. Comprehensive bar & wine list.

On a side road, with no great outlook. Ideal for lunch and experiencing the local cuisinne.

Good value.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“La Marmite Mauricinne is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I travelled as recent as August 2011 and this restaurant is excellent. Value for money; absolutely delicious food and nothing to complain about. Service & atmosphere is excellent, highly recommended.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BEST little restaurant in Mauritius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

After reading a review on the internet, we decided to try this little place for our first lunch in Mauritius - It was wonderful. The food was delicious. the people were very friendly and the atmosphere was just great and the price was unbelievable. We ate like kings for next to nothing.
I highly recommend this place to anyone going to Mauritius. It just goes to show, that if you investigate a bit, Mauritius doesn't cost the earth and you get a true Mauritian experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marmite Mauricienne also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to La Marmite Mauricienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marmite Mauricienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.