We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius -   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Le Morne
Milan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

If there is one thing to say about this hotel, it is that the location is fabulous. There is a magnificent lagoon right nearby and the "mountain" (Morne) overlooking the hotel adds a special touch. The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are large and comfortable, with a bathroom almost as large as the bedroom itself, the staff is extremely friendly (is there someplace on Mauritius where staff is not friendly???), the food is acceptable but not stellar, and the beach is very very nice. I also had very good experience with water sports facilities. So, to sum it up, nothing extremely fanciful but a very nice place for a relaxing beach vacation.

  • Liked — scenery
  • Disliked — food was just ordinary
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    123
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
273
321
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

This was our 3rd visit to Paradis (our 6th to Beachcomber Hotels) We asked for and got our favourite lagoon side room (away from the main hotel block and v.quiet)
As usual the staff were wonderful, the room lovely (though in need of some maintenance) the food in general was good though a bit repetitive by the second week.
Swimming, sailing, pool were wonderful but our main complaint was the lack of consideration shown by the mainly French parents who failed to take full advantage of the free "Bob Marlin" kids club and brought their kids, baby buggies etc to the breakfast and dinner table and allowed their older children to run riot. This completely destroyed any hope of a quiet pleasurable meal. (This is apparently the French way).
Prospective guests need to be aware that wine is extortionately priced (cheapest vin ordinaire from S. Africa at 1200 rupees (close on £30 per bottle) Even local beer was nearly £5 per can.
Bottled water at table was 130 rupees (£2-75) and no alternative to bottled water offered even though tap water is clean.

  • Liked — Spaciousness and quietness - 1st floor lagoon room only
  • Disliked — It is a bit gloomy
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Stayed for two weeks at the Paradis with my wife and two children (9 & 12). We had a two-bedroom apartment (which is really two rooms with a interconnecting front door).

The food, from the buffet was excellent with a wide variety. Every night is a theme night and you can also eat in the sister hotel. There is entertainment every night.

The beach was very good and never a need to 'reserve' loungers, even though the hotel was apparently quite busy. We were unlucky with the weather as we had a few days of rain, yet still there was lots to do. Our children enjoyed the kids club and I played golf 4 times each week. The course was excellent, though challenging and there is a roll-up stableford competition three times each week.

The tennis courts were in excellent condition, with lessons available.

Pretty setting, great service and in July represents interesting value, particularly if you can get there on airmiles!

  • Liked — Room, service and food
  • Disliked — Cost of business services and bottled water!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, Surrey, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at The Paradis last Easter holiday break, flying from England.

After a long flight we were taken directly to our suite even though we arrived hours before normal check in. The overall atmosphere is one of relaxation and pure indulgence.

My husband, 7 year old daughter, and I agreed that it was one of the most memorable family holidays we have been on.

The food was wonderfully, we were on the half-board deal, which worked out well, as you can use credit for the other restaurants on the Paradis Resort and the Dinorobin if you don't fancy buffet.

We stayed in the Junior Suites which provides amble room for 2 adults and 1 child. I would recommend staying in the Junior Suites or above as the Superior and Deluxe rooms are situated on a less favorable section of the beach, and oddly have plastic beach loungers as opposed to the wooden ones further down the beach in front of the Junior Suites.

Take advantage of the all inclusive water sports on offer, our daughter loved the daily snorkeling excursions and glass bottom boat trips.

Do hire a driver for the day to take you on a personal tour of the island. Considering the attention you receive and the amazing island the $70.00 us fee for 8 hours was a bargain. Do visit the botanical gardens, the seven coloured sands and the national parks. A trip to Port Louis is a good day out, if just to get a feel for the island. Do take the catamaran sailing excursion to see the dolphins and tour the island.

I pre-booked all our dining experiences before I arrived via email with the main concierge at the hotel, it makes life easier having the evenings planned, though you can easily change anything should you prefer a particular restaurant. Do visit the other two main restaurants at the Dinorobin.

Keep on eye on the daily happenings at the resort, last year they hired an astronomer from the Mauritius Astronomical Society. We went to the presentation and then meet on the beach to take a tour of the southern hemisphere through his high powered telescope, an inspirational event. Take advantage of the hammocks scattered in front of the suites at night to catch some shooting stars and take in the most breathtaking hemisphere for star gazing, the advantage being no light pollution!

We will be returning again this Easter for another memorable family holiday.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Not a very large pool, but then you do have the entire Indian Ocean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

Lovely, clean, hotel. We had a junior beach front suite a few meters from the sand. We arrived to champagne and basket of fruit. Staff were very friendly and our suite was ready on arrival. Weather was a little mixed on the first few days but then we had sun sun sun! The suite was very comfortable and large, you definitely felt like you were staying in luxury. As the suites are quite spread out from the main building they provide golf buggies to whiz you everywhere .... great when you feeling lazy. I discovered on the 2nd day I had knackered my toe so had to see the nurse at the medical office who was great. You must book all you restaurant bookings in advance, there are different restaurants located all over the resort and you can book a lobster evening on the beach which was lovely. Go for drinks before your meal in any of the bars it’s very romantic ....live jazz music and nibbles, there is no loud entertainment so can be a bit quite for some. Our package was bed and breakfast with free lunch in the french beach front restaurant which is nice but after the 3rd day fancy fish in a sauce you've never heard of gets a tad boring and you find yourself dreaming of cheeseburgers, steak and roast lamb which of course you can order but it will be charged to your bill! The resort attracts honeymooners, south african families (including their spoilt children) and the french. Drinks are added to your bill so bear this in mind when planning your finances. Weirdly we only saw a few tiny albino crabs and a few birds so there is hardly any wildlife. The only pests are the ones trying to sell you stuff on the beach as this is public but yards from the hotel grounds so a tip - pretend you are asleep when they walk towards you.

  • Liked — luxury and peace
  • Disliked — south african spoilt children
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This was our second trip to this hotel and our fourth trip to Mauritius. The position of this hotel is marvellous with a wonderful beach to walk along and the turquoise Indian Ocean just outside your bedroom. Some of the staff are excellent, particularly in Kids' Club and the Diving Centre. But we found many of them (particularly in the restaurants) to be less attentive than we would have hoped, considering the money we were paying. Also the bedrooms need updating and the lighting is very poor. We stayed in the same room that we stayed in last year. We requested it as it was next door to the restaurant and the Dive Centre and just across the pathway from Kids' Club. Well, the shower leaked badly last year and, much to our amusement, it STILL leaked badly this year! The only other gripe I have is that the swimming pool is completely unheated. We were fortunate and had good weather this time but, even so, I was aware that it was really cold. Many young children were reluctant to go in at all.
But, in spite of these shortcomings, the place is really magical.
And, no doubt, we shall be back next year. Let's hope they've mended the shower by then!

  • Liked — wonderful position
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

We went on honeymoon to Paradis in May 2007. We had an absolutely fantastic time after all the stress of the wedding. We stayed in the cheaper rooms which are further away from the beach, but they were attractive,clean and had a spacious bathroom. The beach is beautiful with clear water,perfect for swimming and snorkelling, although some guests who wanted to go diving did complain that the coral was dead, and therefore not great for diving. The food is good, with a variety of restaurants to eat in. This is quite a large, busy hotel which may not appeal to everyone, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. Will definitely go back!

  • Liked — Idyllic setting, peaceful place, friendly people
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius -
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Family Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradis Hotel And Golf Club
Paradis Hotel Le Morne
Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club Mauritius/Le Morne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.