We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa - a doubtful 5* ??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius 99999   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Le Morne
Mauritius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa - a doubtful 5* ??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My friend and I stayed 4 nights at the Dinarobin Hotel Gold & Spa and wanted a really relax and calm stay. Before booking I specified a 1st floor suite, but when i arrived at the Hotel we were given a ground floor. Well it didn't really bother us, as we understood that the Hotel was quite full over the weekend. They did propose to move us on Monday.

I have to say the Hotel itself is superb. Very (spotless) clean, wooden decor, huge swimming pool, unprecedented view of the mountain and sea. Everything is gathered to have a very appealing holiday.

FOOD: Both my friend and I are food lovers. We are quite disappointed by the food. Although there are themed evenings for dinner. The choice is limited if you eat kasher or halal. In Dinarobin the meat area is mixed up, where as at the sister resort (Paradis) the meat area has its dedicated area and the chicken, lamb and pork are well seperated and distanced.
For a 5* we are disappointed with the choice for breakfast. The service is was slow. Being local and we understood the constant complains and sarcasm of the waiters. The waiters at the breakfast were not very well mannered.

SPA: Very polite and helpful ladies. Always a smile. The place is enchanting. Nothing else to add.

BAR: The staff were polite, but seemed not well trained. Each time, we ordered a Nespresso, we kept being asked what? And it was on the bar menu. We got expresso in the bar.

ROOM: We had a junior suite. It was very nice and big. Clean and serviced very well. The only downside, is that they seemed to be a little store next to our door and the staff were quite loud and banged the door. We escalated the issue and I have to say it was taken very seriously and we didn't a sound after.

Overall
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It a wonderful place and very relax. The only downside is the food. The stay was little over-priced, but worth the stay. (Beni) the concierge was really charming and offered us a late checkout. thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    105
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
222
588
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here for a week, we travel a lot but the service here was incredible. We booked through aardvark safaris and they matched us perfectly to our requests. We wanted a pampered stay but with activities. Dinarobin has it all. Best food and incredible staff. Weather was perfect and we loved the water sports. The location of the dinarobin is the best on the island. Thank you to the hotel and aardvark safaris for making it such a faultless holiday

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon at Dinarobin and we would warmly recommend this venue for any couples, or indeed for anyone who wants to find a paradise of relaxation.
Special pluses include:
- beautiful setting, fabulous grounds, wonderful rooms (get a beachfront suite if you can)
- cocktails overlooking the ocean
- wonderful food
- customer service that is very warm, very helpful, without being in your face trying to sell excursions
- dolphins, coral lagoon, beautful inland countryside on your doorstep too (visit Chamerel and the Black River Gorges)
- spa massage treatments, after which you will forget what you do for a living let alone what the problems were when you flew out
It would not suit quite so much:
- people looking for a programme of after dinner entertainment, this is more at the Paradis the sister hotel connected by a buggy service, the Dinarobin will have a pianist/singer in the bar, perfect for a romantic after dinner drink
- organised watersports, ditto at the Paradis
If what you are looking for is to wake up in a beautful setting with your partner, swim in the sea with seemingly no-one else around, and feel that you have all the time in the world together, then this could be the place for you.

Room Tip: get a beachfront suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

No words to describe
I have been to paradis which is also great.
Dina Robin have fewer people, calm and not much noise as compared to paradis which is always hectic.
I was amazed by the beautiful deco set up everywhere, The Swimming pool is better than paradis i should say and food is great. L'harmonie has great food for lunch but i would prefer II Gusto which is better. Staff at le Gusto are really nice. They made u feel at home.
The deco. The spa is one of the best i have seen till now, Absolutely no words to describe.

I wil go there again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

After getting married at the Shandrani Resort & Spa we came to the luxurious Dinarobin for our honeymoon.

There aren't enough words to describe the beauty of this resort!
This resort definitely has a huge wow factor!!
It blew us away!!

We arrived there during sunset and we walked on the gorgeous white sandy beach and
everywhere we looked we were stunned by what we saw... the lush tropical gardens topped off with the majestic le Morne mountain at the back of the resort!!

The Suite we stayed in was just so lovely...( we stayed at a superior Suite, floor level)
Very well taken care off and nicely decorated!

To compare the ambience with Shandrani...
at first we feared the dinarobin was a bit stiff, lacking the casual ambience we loved so much at
the Shandrani. We needed to adjust...

The Dinarobin is a much classier Resort, a real honeymoon resort.
With a quite and tranquil ambience... and the resort brings the definition of the word "luxurious" to another level! We found ourselves in true paradise!!

The staff is very friendly and helpfull!!

The beach is breathtaking... long stretched white sandy beach, overlooking the beautiful green-blue indian ocean... although for swimming we found it a bit shallow in the lagoon!

The food is superb... enough choise for everyone and during our stay the main buffet restaurant had a daily themed menu...
Which was excellent!!
Breakfast is also very good! I loved those huge crepes and enjoyed them almost every morning!!!

We highly recommend the Dinarobin to anyone who is in search for careless, luxurious time away, surrounded in a tropical heaven.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My then fiancée and now wife, researched our destination wedding and decided on the Dinarobin Golf and Spa resort. And what a choice! it is an amazing destination that will NOT disappoint. Set on the Le Morne peninsula, on the South West corner of Mauritius and benefiting from the coral reef, forming a natural lagoon, the blue seas and near-white sands gave us the perfect setting and location for our wedding and honeymoon. I have to say, well done to my beautiful wife for her choice!

I am sorry this review is a little (lot?) long, but I feel it is necessary to do it justice!

Arrival / Check In: We transferred from the airport by helicopter (Air Mauritius) and were met on the Paradis helipad by a well-dressed porter, who took care of all our hand luggage. Your checked baggage will travel by road, so take a pair of smart beach wear in your hand luggage). The transfer to the Dinarobin reception was in a stretch golf buggy and these are used for all trips around the resorts. Even between restaurants, reception and your suite!
The entrance to the resort is beautiful and sets the scene for the whole of the resort. Well-kept gardens and water features are in abundance, with staff on hand to keep them clean and tidy. We were met at the front entrance by the reception staff, who passed us cold face towels to cool down. We were then taken to the Club, which is the members’ only area of the resort, where are check in was taken care of. This was done with a very nice rum punch in hand! Mr Clifford, the Club manager ran through all the hotel details, such as where to eat, what time, how the Club works, bookings required, etc. He knows his stuff! Audrey, the resort assistant manager then took us through all the other bits and pieces and the whole thing was so well done.
We were then taken to our suite, where our luggage was already waiting, having arrived safely from the airport!
Accommodation: We were so very lucky that the resort management offered (and we immediately accepted) an upgrade to Senior Beachfront Club Suite! And wow, what a suite that was. A massive terrace (we were on the upper floor and the privacy that allows is welcome), an equally massive living/dining room, an enormous bedroom that had a bed the size of a small country, and a dressing room/bathroom.
The terrace had an area on which to dine, capable of seating four people. We were served our 1st breakfast as a married couple up there. A word of warning on that score: keep all the breads and pastries covered, as you will have lots of feathered guests to your table, but they do stay at a fairly respectful distance! Also on the terrace were a large, 3-seater sofa and a comfortable lounger. Lots of space to chill out and prepare to relax on the beach or by the pool!
The living room had another dining area, although this was set up for two people. There was also a large sofa and 2 armchairs, along with a massive LCD TV. Ideal for relaxing in the evening or even entertaining in your suite!
The bedroom was probably larger than most ground floors in a 3 bedroom house! Pride of place went to the enormous bed – probably 2 Queen-sized beds pushed together. Well dressed and so very comfortable! Large French windows led directly onto the terrace. Bedside tables, a writing desk and another large wall-mounted LCD TV competed the room. Beautifully appointed!
The dressing room combined with the bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom. Plenty of room to store 3 weeks’ worth of clothes, both hung up and in drawers. The bathroom consisted of a large, deep bath, a walk-in shower and his and hers wash basins. Towels everywhere, too! the WC was separate.
Overall, the accommodation was magnificent. Very clean and tidy and serviced twice a day – valeted in the morning, when the towels and bedding were changed and the bed dressed and again in the evening, while at dinner, when the beach towels were replaced, curtains closed, bed turned down, etc. The mini bar and complimentary bottles of water were also replenished daily, usually the daytime services completed by noon!
Pools & Beach: All of the pools were infinity pools and extremely well maintained. None more than 1.2 metres deep and the water was crystal clear and very inviting. The main pool was, like most things in resort, huge. Again, only 1.2 metres deep and this was cleaned every morning.
The beach is just as you will see in the brochures. The sand is soft nearer the resort, but as there is a coral reef, the sand does become harsher underfoot nearer the sea. We read reviews that recommended rubber beach shoes and these were ideal to protect your feet. The water is fairly calm, as the waves break farther out on the reef. When the wind picks up, the waves can become a little higher, but as the depth remains at waist height (for average-height adult), then this isn’t a problem.
Restaurants & Food: There is a choice of 4 restaurants in the Dinarobin and a further 4 in the Paradis, all of which can be used by residents, although in busier times, booking in the a la carte restaurants is recommended! We ate in 3 of the Dinarobin restaurants:
L’Harmonie is the buffet restaurant, with a very impressive selection of food. I am sure that the content would appeal to any palate and whether you eat light or like a good blow out, you will be easily catered for. The evening meals are themed, so never a dull moment and plenty of selection. The breakfasts cover just about any type of breakfast you could dream of and the only thing I would say would be to make sure you get in fairly early, as it can get quite busy.
Il Gusto is the resort’s Italian restaurant. You help yourself to the anti-pasti buffet, but then are served soup, main and dessert at your table. The ambience is intimate and sophisticated, without being pretentious or stuffy! The food is out of this World and the presentation is fabulous. There is a half-board menu, with no supplement due, but there is also an a la carte menu, too.
Le Morne Plage is the beach restaurant, as the name suggests. We only took lunch there, but I don’t think cheese and ham toasties and fries have ever been served in such an idyllic location. Again, watch for the birds, who may even be cheeky enough to hop on your table and try to pinch a chip! Evening meals are also available, but there is a supplement payable for half board residents.
The fourth restaurant, Saveurs des Isles, is the resort’s flagship restaurant and there is no half board menu. I can't comment on that one, as we didn’t eat there.
Staff: The whole resort’s staff, from the gardeners and maintenance personnel to the front of house staff are all so very courteous and professional. They all will say hello to you and smile as you go about your business. The porters and waiters, who were always so well turned out, will try to remember your name (formally, of course – no Christian names!) and will always be discreet. The Concierge, Criss, was ever-helpful, as one expects from a Concierge! He was always there to point us in the right direction or help make a booking for an excursion. The reception staff spoke excellent English and were always polite and helpful. A special mention to Mr Clifford and his staff in the Club, who just seemed to go that extra mile to make sure the stay is complete!
We will also never forget Veronique, who was our wedding planner on site. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she organised our special day in the most professional manner. Once again, the attention to detail was world class. Having said that, we weren’t forgotten about after the wedding and she often popped along at dinner to make sure all was well.
Spa: There is a Clarin’s Spa on site, too, which we used once, as the hotel gave us a massage and steam bath as a wedding gift. Wow! So calming in there, it’s a wonder the staff can stay awake! It is tucked away at the base of the mountain, away from what little hustle and bustle there is in the resort. The massage was brilliant and I think if we hadn’t left it to the last day to have it, we would have returned. Amazing!
Overall we would recommend the Dinarobin Golf and Spa resort to anyone looking for a high-end, luxury resort to while away the hours. You can do as much or as little as you wish in an unhurried paradise. You can be pampered and looked after in a way that befits a jewel on the island of Mauritius. Oh, and we’re already saving to return!
A massive thank you to Gilbert (hotel manager), Audrey, Mr Clifford, Alain, Criss, Veronique and all the other staff who made the stay one we will always remember.

Room Tip: Upper floor, if possible - high ceilings and less noise from other suites. Upgrade to Club for free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We just arrived home from celebrating our 25th wedding aniveary at this fantastic hotel.The club suite we stayed in was large, clean, with a bathroom bigger than most hotel rooms! 15 yards to the pool, 30 yards to the most beautiful beach. The room was serviced 3 times a day. All the staff very wonderful and polite and made an effort to remember your names making you feel very special. Although it is a very large hotel and was nearly full, we never felt crowded, in fact we wondered where they were all hiding.
We hired the hotel limosine one day and explored the island with a very curtious driver which was far better and proberbly no more expensive than taking 2 or 3 tours to see the same sights.
The club was a great place to enjoy a few drinks before dinner, and the bar, with live band each night was great for a night cap.

I read one or two negative revews before we went, but I could not fault this hotel at all.
It's not cheap but it's great value for money!!

Room Tip: Junior club suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius 99999
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Business Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Splendia so you can book your Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinarobin Hotel Golf And Spa
Dinarobin Hotel Golf Le Morne
Dinarobin Hotel Le Morne
Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa Mauritius/Le Morne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.