We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Pleasant, and Pure bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Le Morne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added LUX Le Morne to your Saves list
LUX Le Morne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 25-35% off + more !!!
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Le Morne
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Pleasant, and Pure bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A long overdue review, apologies to this wonderful hotel and staff (visited in Sept '11 while it was still called Les Pavillons). One of the best, if not the best tranquil couples hotel that I have stayed in.

Stayed in a Junior Suite within a few meters from the white sand beach and the restaurant at the far corner on an Pure Discovery deal (All Inclusive).

Right from the time of checking in which was smooth till check out, none of the staff ever behaved or acted out of line. Vicky (still remember his name) from the Restaurant requires a special mention since he ensured that all preferences and choices are kept in mind right from the seating arrangements, to the type of beverages we preferred and the cuisines. He even went out of his way to ensure we get a doggy bag during check out since it was at late noon.

Wonderful & breezy location, great pool but then the Beach proximity was so good that the pool was overlooked.

The Hotel still remains as our 1st Choice for Mauritius and the next time around we plan to just laze around and enjoy the premises than venture out.

Room Tip: Pick suites on the ground floor closer to the beach, great sun beds and relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,918
    321
    74
    26
    4
See reviews for
463
1,556
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've just read the review dated 16th June and agree with much of what this reviewer said, esp. re. staff attitude, food, prices and getting around. We also had the same type of room (prestige junior suite) and experienced late cleaning. After mentioning this to reception, our room was then serviced earlier. The location is beautiful and we were within a few paces of the beach. (Those villas are located towards the beach hut.) When we arrived, we were taken to the reception sofas and the view from the foyer over the pool and sea was breathtaking. A very good start to our holiday. The room was comfortable and the view of the mountain from the outdoor shower was amazing. The bed was large and very cozy and bathroom well equipped.
Most staff were excellent, friendly and helpful, although we did very occasionally encounter staff members who were a bit less enthusiastic.The spa was good. I was a little perplexed that my therapist (post massage) said I had a lot of toxins. I thought that was a strange conclusion as I don't drink or smoke and have a very healthy diet. Perhaps I should have pressed her further on the matter! (Pardon the pun).

There seems to be an ethos of selling to the guests and nothing is given away. Cost of drinks is high. Beware of charges-tennis is free to play, but there is a charge for balls, approx £10 for 4, as I don't tend to travel with tennis balls, I felt that was a bit cheeky.

If you want to experience true Mauritius, it's people and various cultures, you would have to make a special effort to seek out. You can't walk to any towns or markets from here. You can arrange trips and walking tours, but they are costly (around 40 euros each for a guided walk). If however, you are happy to stay on the resort, sunbathe and take part in the water sports available, then it's a doddle.

Weather wise, the temperature was a little cooler than I expected, but it was pleasant enough most days to snorkel and kayak. There were two days where we experienced wet, cloudy weather. If you travel at this time of year be aware it is winter and as you would expect, that there is a mixture of cooler days, rain and wind along with days of good, warm sunshine. If you snorkel, you can use the equipment provided by the beach hut, although we did this, I wasn't certain as to the hygiene of using the shared mouth piece! In the evenings, from about 9, there is music in the bar (from 7 piece bands to jazz duo -female vocalist and piano- that particular duo were excellent, could have been at Ronnie Scott's).

Food was consistently good. There were two cocktail receptions over the duration of the week. Strangely for a health spa and a 20% muslim population, non-alcoholic cocktails were not available at the event we attended it was disappointing not to be offered an alternative. A minor point, I know. Having said that, we experienced a relaxing, peaceful and memorable holiday which went far too quickly.

Room Tip: Prestige villa towards beach hut close to beach and can see mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear tw0h00ts,

Thank you very much for your review. We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at LUX* Le Morne but are very sorry for all the niggles you mentioned, and I can assure you that all points have received my personal attention.
I have immediately made sure tennis balls free of charge, unless someone wishes to play with a new set. Our tennis coach has been instructed accordingly.
I wish to reassure you that all snorkeling (and scuba diving) equipment is sanitized after every use (you may have seen the barrel being used to soak them).
Our waiter at the cocktail reception has not been giving you a good service, and I apologize for it; we do have a non alcoholic cocktail available which he/she has not offered to you; I will see to it.
On a final note I am very pleased that you enjoyed our bands, and your reference to Ronnie Scott's will fill our pianist Jean François with pride and joy; I will share this with him.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was in Mauritius on my own on business and spent a few extra days beforehand at this hotel for a short break. The first thing to say about this hotel is that it is in an amazing location, the beach and grounds are clean and very well maintained. The staff were generally very friendly, though some did seem indifferent. It seems to be a popular honeymoon location. Apparently June is when the Mauritian winter starts, however, the sea was warm and weather comparable to the best that an English Summer will offer! This was low season and the hotel not full, however, I would not like to be here peak season as I can imagine that it could be quite busy. The food was excellent and a great choice. The gym facilities were excellent, as was the spa. Most water sports were included and the staff who managed the activities were good fun. Snorkelling was not bad, but not anywhere as good as the Maldives! Wifi was available (free of charge) and accessible throughout the hotel and even on the beach!

A few things to consider if you are planning to stay here:
- you will need to get a taxi to get to anywhere, there are taxis parked outside the hotel that seem to have an agreement with the hotel (the hotel has standard rates for all journeys). The cost of a taxi to Fllic en Flac was 1600 MRs, which I considered extortionate, but not much choice...
- food and drink are very expensive on the resort, so I would strongly recommend FB or HB at the very least unless you have a car and are prepared to find a restaurant As an example, a small glass of coke (not sure if it came from a bottle or can) was 160MR and a local beer 295MR.
- the rooms were very nice and comfortable, bathroom particularly impressive. The rooms were not as large as I expected, I had a Prestige Junior Suite and the bedroom was not very spacious considering the rate, and not as close to the beach as I had hoped. Given that this was one of the rooms at the top end of their offerings I expected it to be detached, however, mine was one of a block of four rooms. There were no issues of privacy, but looking at the marketing material I expected something different.
- the technology in the room was not what I would expect from a deluxe hotel e.g. basic control of lighting (simple switches with no master control), TV had poor reception and very limited channel offering, no connectivity for 'i' devices.
- servicing of rooms was not well managed. I generally had breakfast between 7.30 and 9am, and rooms not cleaned until late afternoon (after 3pm) and turndown after 8.30pm (and after I had returned from dinner), not impressive for a hotel of this standard.
- I guess the thing that left a negative impression with this hotel was the fact that they wanted to charge me the equivalent of approximately £50 for a late departure of 2pm (checkout was 11am). Whilst many hotels publicise a late-checkout rate, this was the first time it had been requested for such a short additional time. Particularly disappointing as the hotel was clearly not busy. I declined the offer.

Apologies if the report sounds "fussy", this hotel markets itself in the deluxe bracket and rates are at the top end...

I am returning to Mauritius for work same time next year and my wife will accompany me, I would stay in this area again as it is a great setting. I would thoroughly recommend Mauritius and will spend some more vacation time here on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a special place to recharge. The rooms are fantastic - the bed is big enough to sleep a family. We were even indulged in the spa - really great. The food at all the restaurants is really good and plenty of variety but the Tuna at The Beach is really awesome. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and a day trip with Iqual is well worth it. Will definately recommend it to people I like and would go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayedthe second week here, having moved across fromLux Belle Mar, a sister hotel. Great service, fine food and superb setting withthe magnificent mountain (a volcanic remnant) as a backcloth fromthe beach. "The Kitchen" (the buffet restaurant) was always a great pleasure for dinner. However,the Beach Restaurant really does a fine lunch.The seafood is special - try calamari or smoked marlin!The staff really went out oftheir way to be helpful andthe whole stay was near perfect.

Room Tip: Some rooms are close tothe road and you can hearthe odd vehicle. Not much of a problem as it gets ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Outstanding location, excellent service, staff were amazing, this resort is pure paradise. The totally inclusive package is definitely worth it. Loved every minute of it, and would thoroughly recommend Lux Le Morne, specially to older couples and honeymooners. Cuisine excellent thoroughly recommend the Thai restaurant. Accommodation excellent - extremely comfortable bed, large bathroom, well stocked mini bar, bathrobes, and slippers. The shampoo and body wash - fabulous. Clean beach - crystal clear water. Gardens are fabulous, pools kept beautifully clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful holiday. Great place.
My wife and I stayed in this hotel May 16-23 in room 51.
The road from the airport takes 1 hour and 10 minutes, at the same time exploring the island, very beautiful.
Arrival went very quickly, welcome drink, 10 minutes, and we in the room.
Lovely room on the first floor of a two-storey bungalows. Good bed, a minibar, bathrobes and slippers, a large bathroom.
Excellent grounds, green, clean and well-kept.
Very well-equipped beach, crystal clear water.
The hotel staff is very well trained and always tries to help with any questions.
Lovely varied cuisine and a good wine list.
An unforgettable stay.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
38.5 mi away
LUX Grand Gaube
LUX Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 2,660 reviews
35.3 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
28.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa
33.2 mi away
Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Le Morne

Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX Le Morne Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Le Morne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.