We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely mind-blowing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Le Morne

Save Saved
You added LUX Le Morne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LUX Le Morne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Morne Plage, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 25-35% + more !!!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Le Morne
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely mind-blowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I came on holiday for a 10 day break with my mum and my brother. Although it is mostly couples enjoying their honey moon, I felt we were treated even better than the rest. The staff make you feel as though you're the only people on the island. We'd get up in the morning and go down to the beach where the waiters would make us the fruit cocktails we liked and bring them to the sun loungers. The food was amazing and we attended a Mauritian cooking class which was so great. The chef was hilarious and made everyone laugh and the food tasted amazing. We had a wonderful holiday here, learning to sail, getting treated to local dances.
The only negative was that we came in August and even though it was hot, it was quite windy and overcast in the afternoon. The mornings were clear blue sky and sea, white sand and surrounded in gorgeous scenery. I would recommend to anyone! We also went on a day trip to watch dolphins where we were treated to a cooked meal on the boat with fresh sea food and emerged ourselves in the local culture. One thing I would remember was to take money out with us because we didn't realise the local etiquette and would have felt they deserved a more than generous tip however we didn't have any cash on us. Amazing holiday which will never be forgotten!

Room Tip: Every room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    263
    60
    22
    4
See reviews for
326
1099
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a vacation to remember, we wanted to get away from it all... stay at a nice place and eat good food. This hotel ticked all the boxes in our vacation plans. We stayed at in an ocean view room on the ground floor and were rewarded with beautiful sunsets, views of kite surfers on an adrenalin rush ... lovely evenings out on the deck. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

A few things for people to make a note when they come here... this hotel is located at the near southern tip of the island and far away from most civilization (the key appeal) so either make sure you have your travel planned out in case you are doing the tourist thing else the staff can help with renting a car/ bike depending on your needs.

Second, please take a meal plan in case you aren't going to travel much... we only had the breakfast in our plans and regretted it later as lunch / dinner work out to 1500 MUR each mean in case you eat at the hotel. There is a small alternative restaurant that is run by the hotel itself at one end on the outside near the public beach which has very reasonably priced meals like fried rice etc ... but it closes at 4pm. There are 3 different restaurants in the hotel apart form a bar for those looking to indulge.

The beach at the hotel is very nice with the swimmable portion outlined clearly with buoys. Water sports are part of the hotel package but you need to book in advance at the boathouse. The pools are lovely and the hotel itself is quite beautiful...

Overall, very worth the money .. a most relaxing experience

Room Tip: There are rooms which face the pools and those that have a deck out to the beach or are on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lux* Le Morne enjoys a good position on the quieter side of the island, which is one of the most prominent reasons I would recommend my friends to stay at this resort. You don’t see much development in the area but locals who would spend time by the roadside, with suburban neighborhood and people are simple yet happy. It’s definitely a scene of authentic Mauritian lifestyle that you’re about to experience. Another thing worth mention is the sunset at the hotel. As it is west facing, you are sure to catch a glimpse of the most beautiful sunset on the island. True enough, my best sunset view throughout the days I spent in Mauritius was exactly at Lux* Le Morne.

The choice of restaurants offer delicious island-inspired dishes, ranging from Mauritian, Mediterranean, Italian to Thai. Do also try the delicious South African Wines produced by Scrucap specially selected by the wine expert, Kent Scheermeyer.

-Dorothy Jen
12fly Travel Host& Writer
Malaysia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A last minute decision to go to Mauritius I decided to try the Lux Le Morne, I was so pleasantly surprise to experience 3 great days at this resort which i find to be in one of the best part of this beautiful Island. The service was excellent , the Staff very welcoming just like only Mauritius can do, the food very pleasant but could be improved on with more selection, the beach beautiful white sand and well kept and clean, the room i stayed in was absolutely perfect with a fair view of the beach.

Room Tip: Please make sure to request a room on the ground floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 14 nights for honeymoon and it was pure bliss. Pay extra for all inclusive - it is worth it and stay in an upstairs, deluxe room (they are more secluded than a suite and you get a beautiful view from the balcony). It was lovely to have breakfast on the balcony. The Italian restaurant on the beach was divine. Water sports facilities were good. My husband learnt how to wakeboard. Relaxing in the spa with the mountainous backdrop was surreal. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Bella 2424,
Great name!
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at LUX* Le Morne;
Did you know that the Deluxe rooms are called "Honeymoon Junior Suites" ?, you are right they are very special, including the bay window overlooking the beach from your Jaccuzzi !
Now that your husband learned how to wakeboard, the next thing if you agree is to teach him Kite Surfing at our Flight school when you return; exhilarating stuff
See you soon and all the best.
From Le Morne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a quite long trip from Europe we arrived in Heaven. Taken care of from the very first moment and it continued the whole stay in this beautiful hotel. Staff is smiling all the time. Service is the best we experienced so far. Location wonderful. There are enough activities offered to be busy for 2 weeks. Every day different food bufet and each of them very tasty and well prepared.
If you have the money - go for it and do not forget All inclusive packet ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

we've had one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation ever ! the location is exquisite, staff great and i have no words for the managment who took care of us to the maximum, even found a way to lend me some binoculars when i needed them!!!
wow, best vacation ever!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Le Morne

Address: Le Morne Plage, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Business Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Le Morne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX Le Morne Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Le Morne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.