We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place where comfort is second to none” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Mauritius Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unbeatable Escapes
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MAURITIUS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The place where comfort is second to none”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The location of the hotel sets the scene for a quiet, out of the way stay with view on the ocean and an imposing mountain in the background. The weather is perfect all year round. The concept of decentralisng the check-in & communicating through email with the butler once the reservation is made saves quite a lot of time & hassle on the day of arrival. The staff is quite helpful and polite. In terms of infrastructure the colonial style is quite adapted to Mauritius. The rooms are very spacious, well designed, comfortable & elegant. The food is a real feast for gourmets. The resorts caters for families with activites which will suit everyone.

For improvement, the communication channel must be revisited. e.g there was one day when there was not a single drop of hot water in our room. The staff who turned up to check reported that there was a problem next door which also affected us. This kind of information must be given before hand & at least propose alternatives for hot showers.

Aslo an incident which brought down the rating from excellent to very good. On the very first day, while we we at the swimming pool, we were molested by a security agent (not an hotel employee, but a third party service provider) who probably thought that we were not good enough to be here and insisted on seeing our room card with such an arrogance. He did not even excused himself and just turned his back when he realised his mistake. We are in 2014, and I think that St Regis which is a brand with more than 100 of years of tradition with much emphasis on customer service failed to provide us with an area of peace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Warm greetings from The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, we are thrilled to learn how much you are enjoying your experienced with us on Le Morne Peninsula.

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback and we are very grateful of the recognition you made of our careful, friendly yet professional staff members.

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincere regards,
Damon Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    101
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
114
253
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ORD/PSP/HKG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Located at the quiet southwest side of the island, this area is definitely different than the hectic north side tourist scene. I got upgraded to the Manor House Suite (second largest suite) without asking. I even have two in-house spa tables inside my oversized bathroom (which is bigger than my master bedroom at home in Chicago) in addition to a giant bathtub. Criss, the Guest Manager, checked me in at the concierge and showed me my room and the surrounding facility like swimming pool, library, movie theater and restaurants. White sand and palm trees everywhere... surprisingly not many tourists onsite even during this busy Easter holiday. Restaurant food is good but understandably a bit overpriced just like any St. Regis resorts around the world. What I really like about this hotel is that everyone at the facility keeps good eye contact with the hotel guests and smiles at the guests. I don't sense a hint of snotty attitude, unlike some other high-end SPG properties. All staff is so friendly and nice and eager to please the guests. I'm usually very picky at where I stay, but I don't have any complaint on my short stay here so far.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Warm greetings from The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, we are thrilled to learn how much you are enjoying your experienced with us on Le Morne Peninsula.

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback and we are very grateful of the recognition you made of our careful, friendly yet professional staff members.

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincere regards,
Damon Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Baie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here with my love for 2 nights in February, celebrating his birthday as well as valentine's day. The resort is amazing and the staffs are so kind and helpful, a big special kiss to our Butler Jane, she was amazing with us. The beach is incredible and the snorkelling is so beautiful. Thanks again for the birthday cake, my boyfriend was so happy about that. Wish we could have stayed a bit longer. B & P

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read how much you have enjoyed celebrating your partners birthday and Valentine’s day with us at the resort.

I will personally convey your appreciation to our team members and particularly to Jane whom I am sure will be delighted to hear your feedback.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincere regards,

Damon Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 10 nights in Oct-Nov 2013 on SPG points during our honeymoon. We got a fantastic upgrade to a St Regis suite on the beach, and what an incredible room that is! From the first moment of arrival the warmth and friendliness of the staff was noticeable, and this was consistent throughout the 11 days. The food in all of the restaurants was very good to excellent, and breakfast was included as a Platinum amenity, which was good because the breakfast is really expensive at 80 euros per person, if you are not on a meal plan. Definitely recommend the meal plan approach if you are not a Platinum guest, because all of the food is pricey. The hotel is pretty, private and quiet, even though it was nearly full, because the rooms are spread out along the spectacular reef-protected beach. The hotel also offers free daily activities like snorkeling (very good), paddle boats, sailing, kayaking, waterskiing, and some nighttime events. If you want to save a bit of money, there are cheap sandwiches and snacks down towards the public beach with the kite surfers, within walking distance. The spa is fantastic and well worth it - we got massages, used the gym and the sauna / steam.

Downside:
1. The activities organized through the hotel are pricey (cheaper to look for other tour / activity providers through Tripadvisor)
2. It's a bit isolated on the island in the far southwest - the nearest town is probably 10 mins drive
3. The service at the restaurants, and in particular during breakfast, is a bit slow and forgetful. I think this has a fair amount to do with the culture of Mauritius and the volume of guests at breakfast, but I would recommend that the hotel create a new role in the restaurants for "busboys," whose role is to clean and re-set tables, get drinks and bread, etc. That way the waiters can focus on taking orders, bringing food and delivering higher service, because in the current system (particularly during breakfast) they are overwhelmed
4. The butlers are attentive, friendly and well-meaning, but very forgetful. Would suggest implementing a system whereby they take written / electronic notes when they speak to guests, and then a supervisor that ensures that follow-up happens. Several times we had to ask 3-4 times for things

On the whole, very positive experience and would stay here again. Perfect for honeymooners not looking to leave the hotel often to explore the island. Lovely location, friendly service, great rooms.

Room Tip: Would select a room away from the main building - quieter and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback following your stay and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your honeymoon with us overall.
Rest assured that we take your feedback very seriously and will do our utmost to rectify wherever possible.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Sincere regards,
Damon Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived at the St Regis on the 2nd March and stayed until 13th March, it was an unforgettable experience from start to finish. It is a beautiful hotel, the restaurants are all very good with something for everyone. The white sand and warm turquoise water makes it a beautiful location.The staff are outstanding wherever you are in the hotel, everyone goes the extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful holiday.
I would like to make special references to Kavish our butler who my husband and I thought was outstanding, also Kunai in the boathouse,Avi in the floating market ,Gianni sports,Ricky sports and Yashin who made up our sun lounger every day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback following your stay with us. We are thrilled to learn that you had an unforgettable experience throughout your stay. I will personally convey your warm appreciation to Kavish, Kunal, Avi, Ricky and Yashvin.
We long of having the honour of welcoming you again very soon.
Sincere regards,
Damon Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the St Regis on 11-12 March. We wish we could have stayed much longer. The standout features of the hotel were the impeccable service, quality of the food and the beautiful location. Despite staying in many luxury hotels around the world, the level of efficiency and friendliness was beyond my experience and expectation. All the staff certainly work hard to make you feel at home, even in such a magnificent setting. Butler Kavish deserves a special mention for his kind and professional service. We enjoyed eating in the different restaurants , which all served fresh and inspired food and created an atmosphere appropriate to the cuisine. To be able to walk two metres into the sea and find coral gardens and beautiful tropical fish was incredible. Suffice to say that the team at St Regis deserve all accolades for their achievements. Lisa F

Room Tip: There is a 'quiet' area at the end of the resort with a small pool. A room with an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us in March. We are delighted to learn that we played a part in making your holiday truly memorable.
Rest assured that I will personally convey your message of appreciation to your St. Regis Butler Kavish.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Sincere regards,
Damon Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

St Regis Resort, Mauritius. 5 Day Stay February 2014
We won this holiday through the TimesPlus subscription so we would like to thank them for this.
We were contacted we couldn’t quite believe we had actually won something out of the paper and all through the process were waiting for the bubble to burst, even when being driven to the airport by our local Limo service Aura Journeys of Newark.
This was our first long haul flight for 17 years (cheap flights have a lot to answer for!) and we flew over night. We flew economy and settled well especially as the screens didn’t work.
We chose to book our hire car with a local firm and although it had quite a few miles on it the rep was honest and straight with us. No hassles on the return and no surprises on the credit card when we returned either.
We had a lovely drive over the mountain to the resort and drove round Le Morne to our hotel. This is where our 5 day whirlwind stay started.
It began by a chap at the gate eyeing us up with a clipboard but once our name tallied with his list we were welcomed with a warm smile and what was to become the norm: A genuine smile with willingness to help us with our every need. I know this is their job but if this is just because it’s their job then they are excellent actors! All we ever experienced was a warm genuine want to help us with any aspect of our stay. All levels of staff seem to have the knack to judge what level of interaction to take with us from the lady which showed us round the Deluxe Ocean View Room [we should have had] to the waitress who would swipe my coffee away from me with a wry smile and would call me her favourite (which I am sure I was!).
We must mention the gentleman who would parked the car for you, He was most informative with information and was always ready to suggest somewhere to visit; Our Butlers who were always a phone call away, you know you are close to paradise when the butler offers to unpack your suitcases to you can go and relax! The Restaurant manager who had to endure a 30 minute rant from a client who was not happy with this brand of heaven, He’d already been upgraded but still needed to air his displeasures. Last but not least the chap serving us in Atul kochhar’s restaurant needs a special mention for the one to one service he gave us during our meal.
As I mentioned earlier we were lucky to win this holiday and on arrival we were upgraded to Manor House Ocean View Suite. Well we were bowled over and brought to tears, I panic at the thought I might have to pay for this, and our butler assured us it was complimentary. We again were just waiting for Jeremy Beadle to pop out from somewhere.
You could not help but be impressed by this place. The concept and execution of the resort is excellent. It’s not cheap by most budgets but for the special occasions the basic rooms are (read it quickly) worth the effort. For those with the budget and not yet been to the island please consider it as we enjoyed it and have a rule to not go back but like Portugal I hope we return to Mauritius when our wallet allows and ideally to The St Regis Resort would be our first choice.

Room Tip: Sea Views are worth it as sunsets to die for, First foor more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and rest assured I will convey your appreciation to our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincere regards,
Damon Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Family Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mauritius Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort is situated on one of the most privileged locations on the south westerly tip of the island, on the pristine white natural beaches at the UNESCO World Heritage site of Le Morne, bordered by a turquoise lagoon. The resort's backdrop of Mauritius' iconic Le Morne Brabant Mountain is defined by a lush green patchwork of sugar cane fields encircling a series of lofty peaks that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Mauritius Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort Le Morne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.