We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay at the St Regis: Cannot recommend it enough...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Mauritius Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unbeatable Escapes
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb stay at the St Regis: Cannot recommend it enough...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the St Regis for 14 nights during August. It was our third trip to Mauritius having also stayed at the One & Only St. Geran and Dinarobin. Overall, we thought the experience was absolutely superb and would readily go back. There are two overriding advantages to the St. Regis: the Staff, and, the facilities.

The managers are great but what really makes the hotel special is the Staff. We had so many superb experiences during out two weeks that it probably ranks as the best hotel that I have stayed at. The team from top to bottom could not have been more welcoming, responsive and helpful – nothing was too much trouble. The key difference versus most hotels was the universal approach from every member of staff, from the beach boys through to the waiting staff, through to the managers. In particular, the approach to children who were considered like equal guests to be humoured and helped, no matter how much time they took and trouble they caused. The bell staff and house staff would stop repeatedly each day to say hello and show their golf carts to our enthralled 1.5 year old son (who would insist on driving it, each and every time). Our butler (the amazing Archi, definitely worth asking for) was unfazed by any request we had. From the small items, like realising we went through the espresso coffee capsules every day, so would bring extra each morning. To the more time consuming items, for instance when I called to ask him to send a cab to the club mistral to collect my wife who had twisted her knee windsurfing, he instead came personally in the hotel car to collect us.

The hotel and its facilities are truly beautiful. The stretch of coast has a superb beach, better than the Dinarobin and probably Le St Geran. Their website is not great but the main hotel has a beautiful bar and restaurant in front of the main pool. In front of this is a beach bar / restaurant. From the rooms you can see the famous surf break at Le Morn and dozens of kite surfers and windsurfers. It makes for a great sunset. The wind (which we were worried about) is not an issue at the St Regis but as you round the corner at one end you hit the main windsurfing spot at the Indian resort and tonnes of wind. The rooms are dotted along the beach in two up and two down cottages. You can choose to hang out by your room and enjoy the solace of the beach on the sun loungers which are dotted in pairs along the property or head down to the main hotel area and hang out in front of the beach bar where there is music and a bit more of a ‘scene’. Overall, the property has been built on a no expenses spared basis and it shows.

Unlike other reviewers, I found the hotel to be very responsive to feedback. For instance, on our first day, our room was not made up until 2pm when our son was due his nap, despite two calls to the butler’s service earlier that morning. After pointing this out and explaining why we needed the room cleaned before lunch and that no one turned down the room, the butler asked us when we wanted the room cleaned each day and every day subsequently it was cleaned at 10am and 8pm. The head of housekeeping brought my wife some flowers to boot and personally apologised for the oversight. Again, issues with the spa and the internet were readily and directly addressed.

The food is first class and a highlight of both the resort and our experience of Mauritius hotels. The Manoir serves great French fusion, the beach house does more casual dining and the Floating Market has very good Asian food. The best meal of the day is breakfast which is a world class buffet and a la carte (try the French toast). On the downside, we were on half board and there were a lot of extras for buffets / options. Also, wine is expensive on the island due to duty tax, a south African white was £11 retail in UK and £50 on menu. I would stay away from the generic international food (burgers, club sandwiches etc) which is expensive and mediocre – there is a £28/$42 burger on the boat club menu (exactly same item is £20 next door on the bar menu???) which is very average on any basis. Whereas, the fish, French and local cuisine was amazing (e.g. chicken and prawn curry). The kids menu is very international (i.e. pasta or fried food and chips) which is fine, however, if you ask then the kitchen is happy to prepare vegetables, fish, rice or grilled chicken. The staff in all the restaurants were lovely, always quick to chat, recommend or help. The amazing Delani and Ajali would entertain our son at every meal as he threw his food at them!

We loved the outside bar area where nothing was too much trouble for Ryan and his team who were all great lads, joking and laughing all day (David, Kishan, Gianni, Tom, to name but a few). During the day you can laze about having drinks, casual lunches listening to the DJ. In the evening there is music and food in the restaurant. Guests with flu got Ryan’s hot toddys with fresh lemongrass and whiskey, those without got even more delights!

The spa is beautiful and well done. The website does not really give it credit. The treatment rooms are huge and there is an area with hydro pool, steam and sauna rooms. Do not fall for the kite surfers massage hard sell – it is actually twice the price or half the value, due to a candle. Hit the hydro pool instead and ask for a regular massage.

If you have children then the St Regis works exceedingly well. The kids club is run by the amazing Sheela who strikes exactly the right balance of commitment to the children’s welfare at the same time as making sure they are having fun. The centre its self has been thoughtfully set out with a huge sand pit, toddler’s pool and slides outside and then area for a multitude of toys inside alongside kiddy bikes etc. Kids can stay there all day and have meals, if you want. Or you can pop by, as we did, for them to play for an hour or so in between meals. Sheela organises some really fun events, make sure you go to the bonfire and singalong on the beach – toasted marsh mellows in front of an amazing singer reciting pop songs whilst playing an acoustic guitar. Outside of the kids club the staff were super friendly to our son making the whole holiday a real pleasure for us.

The hotel has a really decent gym. All new technogym kit including a squat rack (fixed) and bench press, the usual weights machines, alongside a couple of running machines and cardio pieces. Jonathan the assistant manager was a trooper, always happy to give help and gave some great personal training sessions to my wife. It is central, open 24/7 and helped balance the calorie intake.

The hotel is great and then also not so great for watersports. If you are a serious windsurfer or want to learn to kite surf then book a course at club mistral before you go. It is a ten minute walk on the beach and has a world class spot for wind/kitesurfing. Book online beforehand as it is a lot cheaper. You can kitesurf at the hotel via club mistral but it is a lot more expensive as it is one on one and has a dedicated speedboat – so nice if you want to splash out. The hotel has all the usual suite of watersports on offer. However, the reef in front of the hotel means the water is very shallow, making sailing very difficult (bordering a little dangerous at times) and it is only on offer for 1-2 hours a day at high tide. Waterskiing involves several boat rides and a trip down past the dinarobin/paradis at high tide. So it is only really good for paddle boarding / canoeing / pedal boats. Again, the water sports guys are super friendly and helpful. Worth bringing reef shoes as there were none in my size and I ended up having to buy some from the boutique for €30 (you need shoes as you will end up standing on the reef). If you want to windsurf at club mistral, ask for their instructor Johnny, who we both thought was awesome and had me up and about in no time after a 25 year break.

Things we loved about the St Regis:
1. THE STAFF
2. THE HOTEL / FACILITIES
3. KIDS CLUB
4. QUALITY OF THE FOOD
5. GYM
6. WATERSPORTS
7. THE BEACH AND TURQUOISE SEA
8. THE STAFF!

A few minor things we thought could be improved:
1. INTERNET – it sucks. Highly frustrating. 5* hotel but they charge for more than 256kb. The interface constantly throws you out even if you upgrade to premium. When you do upgrade you are only allowed 3 devices. All in all very frustrating.
2. WATERSPORTS – if you want to sail, waterski on site.
3. FOOD – if you are staying half board then there are supplements for buffets / meals
4. WATER – is not free and is expensive. About £5 a bottle in restaurant / room service. Tap water is undrinkable. Water by the beach is free though.
5. No internet in gym and no sound system / multimedia.
6. NO OUTSIDE LOCKS ON THE BEACH PATIO DOORS – means you cannot go directly onto the beach.
7. ROOMS – have no safety latches on the roller blind cords: v.dangerous for young kids. The bathroom floor tiles are shiney / like ice if you spill water on them.

All in all, we loved our holiday and would readily go back. We are sure that you would not be disappointed either. We really felt that the St Regis is a superb hotel and were sad to have to leave it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear salukionholiday

My team and I truly enjoyed reading your comments and we were pleased that the 2 X-factors of the resort were the Associates, the soul of our property and our product facilities.

We spent a lot of time on recruiting the best Associates with the right DNA, a team consumed by their desire to excel, pamper, nurture and provide a seamless service.
I am delighted you noticed that we treat our little VIPs the same way we treat all our guests as this is part of the legendary St. Regis Family Traditions.

All our Associates practice what we call the hospitality zone, meaning that they engage any of our guests coming within a radius of 2 metres from them.

I passed your comments to Archi and he was thrilled to read your appreciation; as you are aware the Butler service is the pillar of the St. Regis Foundation of Excellence.
I am pleased that you found the hotel facilities beautiful and I have taken good note that we need to upgrade our website. I am also pleased that you find the hotel very responsive to feedback and Associates are able to correct the points you mentioned to ensure you have a flawless stay.

Fabienne our F&B Manager and Olivier our Executive Chef were very pleased about your comment on the food and service and I am pleased you enjoyed the 1904 and Boathouse bars with Ryan, our musicians and local bands. I am so happy that you praise Sheila, one of our Stars; she is indeed doing a wonderful job managing our little VIPs as well as Jonathan at the fitness. I am also pleased you were keen on the facilities offered by Mistral.

I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments regarding internet, we definitely need to improve the band and look at the HB supplements.

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a constructive extensive review which can only enable us to progress.

With best regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    101
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
114
253
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall we had an excellent time. I will try and be as objective as possible.
The room was fantastic (junior suite with ocean views),it was very spacous as was balcony. Great couches. Fantastic bathroom (check dimensions on their website)
Service was near faultless. The security was great. The food was awesome especially breakfast. (You could be ultra healthy or not depending on how you felt).We both used the excellent air conditioned gym. Ocean swimming form right outside our room was great. There was also a handy shop in the hotel, a library, a beautiful drawing room and games rooms (table tennis, baby foot, games consuls which we didn't use.
We walked the whole beach, past the other hotels: Paradis, Dinarobin, Lux and St Regis to the end hotels around the Club Mistral main centre.
Although they all looked great, expecially the Lux, we thought St Regis had it over the others in terms of location, beach and buildings quality . Service at St Regis was remarkable. If you wanted to walk down to go Kiting or windsurfing at club mistral it definitely had it over them in terms of location (if you want a 4/5 star).
We had a half board package which I would recommend getting, even though it only takes you to 3 of the 5 restaurants, it gives you significant discounts at the others, and all the restaurants were great. The restaurants were sophisticated, individual, clean and beautifully decked out. Service was excellent.There was plenty of discreet seating if thats your thing. The boat house restaurant was more informal "beachy" place but still very good.
To qualify this review I would say this is our 5th (4 or 5 star)hotel stay in the last 18 months (Paris, HK, Philippines, Sydney, Melbourne).
Was it worth the extra ? For us the answer is yes.
Good luck.
P and M

Room Tip: Go the extra, to get a view of the beach if possible. If you are intending to use the main club mis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ameliarock

I am glad you all had an excellent time and enjoyed the spacious room facilities.
We are also delighted when we read your comparison versus the other hotels in Le Morne.
Fabienne and Olivier were pleased to read your comments about the food and service in the restaurants.

What can I say except thank you for your kind and generous comments as reading your review was an incredible boost for the morale of our team.

Fond regards
Bernard and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at St Regis for a week-end with our family and had a peaceful and fantastic holiday.
The staff was very warm and welcoming and equally professional.
The location is close to our hearts as we were there nearly 14 years ago for our honeymoon when it was known as "Beerjaya" ( under a different management). We were very pleased to see that the beauty and purity of this spot has not only been maintained but further enhanced by the current management.
This stay will remain memorable for us especially because of the little but sincere efforts of members of the staff who went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we requested.
Our thanks especially to Mr Ranjeet Rampadaruth who organised our booking and ensured that our stay was perfect.
Our special thanks to Sheela, Indranee and Yolinda at the Kids club who do a great job and take a very personal and gentle approach when it comes to entertaining children. The St Regis Kids club is by far the best one we have encountered in the world.
Our sincere appreciation also for Kissen and Rajeev at "Le Manoir" restaurant for the extra special effort they made to ensure that we could enjoy the Mauritian delicacy called "Vindaye Ourite" despite it not being available initially when we enquired about the menu earlier in the day!
We could go on and on about many more personal touches that we received during our stay but suffice to say that you will not be disappointed in this little piece of heaven where actions speak louder than words !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ruben-Neelmanee

We were so happy to have you both staying at the hotel to celebrate at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort when you spent your honeymoon at the Berjaya 14years ago.

I am glad that you have felt the Core Values of St. Regis: Bespoke, Uncompromising, Seductive and Address. Our aim is simple, we want to put all your senses in levitation and I have passed your comments to Runjeet, Sheila, Indranee, Yolinda, Vissen and Rajeev who were delighted by your comments.

Yes we can is one of our moto and I am glad my team proposed the Mauritian delicacy "Vindaye Ourite".

I have already made a tentative booking for you next year and looking forward to welcome you soon

Fond regards from all the team at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in an incredibly spacious junior suite for 6 days at the St Regis and its facilities are phenomenal - beautiful landscape, clean beaches, new buildings with sufficient space in between villas, great gym, tennis court...etc I would probably return to this hotel when I am back in Mauritius - great location with incredible sunset. The only reason I did not give the resort a five star is due to service.

I have to say that most staff means well. They are friendly and they try to make you feel welcome.

One of our butlers is a star! He tries hard in anticipating needs and is very friendly. The other butler was downright disappointing - she was more of a glorified switchboard operator, every time we needed something, she will tell us to call the concierge, call the front desk tomorrow as they are busy now and if we are lucky, she will connect us that day to the "right" people. Presumably, she is our main relationship manager and she failed in all aspects managing the relationship as all she did was divert all calls.

We asked the concierge to book a specific restaurant at the Dinarobin one evening as it came highly recommended from a chef with 2-Michelin star. When we showed up at the Dinarobin, we were told that the St Regis never called. After some discussion, Dinarobin let us in 15 mins later. When we returned, we informed our experience to a member of the front desk who said that she will follow up with the chief concierge - never heard back from anyone on this incident.

In terms of F&B, the food at the St Regis is very good. The only criticism is overusing butter at times for all grilled dish. Where improvement is needed is service. Our drinks (beers and cocktails) never failed to show up after our appetizer has been served - at most places, drinks come first. When compared to the service we experienced at the Dinarobin, the St Regis staff has a long way to go - staff doesn't always know what the fish of the day is or how certain dish is prepared. Service is not as coordinated as the Dinarobin. It's minor, but when you are charging those prices, one would expect better.

Housekeeping also could be a bit more thorough. We had ants on our balcony and no one cleaned our balcony until we brought them to their attention. We were engaged in a number of water sports so would have a couple showers a day, but that should not lead to the fact that we called at least 3 times during our stay to ask for more shower gel or conditioner. When it came to turn down service, we had clean glasses on the first night and never had glasses placed next to the bedside tables from there on. Also noticed that staff would just wash our used coffee cups in our bathroom and put it back. That keeps me wondering...

The only negative experience with a staff is that a lady called Tiffany turned her face away from us deliberately when we can crossing paths. This was noticeable as all the local staff were extra friendly and always make it a point to say hello, good morning, or asking if we need a ride - when something less pleasant happen, one notices.

The team at the Watersports Club is awesome. Very friendly and always happy to help. The entertainers too are great. The cramped a bit too many things in the "drawing room" - a game room, and it's a shame that the room is a bit underutilized.

I am hopeful that the training issues would be resolved soon as this is a great resort and I intend to return. It is the first time that I felt truly at home at a St Regis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear cosmic_dot

Thank you so much for your kind and constructive comments.
I am so happy that you find our facilities phenomenal and I am glad you want to come back to see us.
I have spoken to Lisa our Director of Butlers and Housekeeping as I was concerned that you found one of your Butlers disappointing and this has highlighted the need for further training.
Following your comment on your booking at one of our competitors, I have immediately spoken to Criss our Head Concierge to improve our communication when making outside reservations.
I have spoken to Fabienne our F&B Manager and to Olivier our Executive Chef in order to ensure that the service is seamless and Olivier to use more olive oil in his cooking.
I have spoken with Dany our Housekeeping Manager in order to ensure we replace the Remede shower gel. Please be assured that I have also spoken to the young lady mentioned in your comments who is a trainee and re-explain to her the concept of hospitality zone: when anyone coming into a radius of 2 metres from you, you acknowledge, smile and engage.

Dear cosmic_dot, I am so grateful for your comments and I cannot wait to see you both and invite you for a lovely dinner at the Boathouse.

With warm regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is my second stay at the St. Regis Mauritius. I had a short 2 day stay in March 2013 which was far from being satisfactory (see my review on the 2nd April). To be honest, I was reluctant to go back but my fiancée really wanted to go there and insisted heavily. However, to be on the safe side, I decided to book only 5 nights at the St.Regis and another 5 nights at the Trou aux Biches hotel. At least, if the St Regis had not improved, we will not spoil the whole of our holidays! I will come to regret this decision as I will describe below.

I would advise any reader of this review to check out my first review of this hotel to get a better understanding of this one. I am a Mauritian living in Paris for more than 15 years and have tried many Mauritian hotels on my numerous visits to my native country.

After my second stay, I can confidently say that the St Regis is now the best hotel in Mauritius as of now. It was always undeniable that the St Regis has the best location, the best beach and the best infrastructure on the island. The big question was the service level. They have now managed to make the level of service go beyond the level of the standard 5* and the service now matches the infrastructure! This hotel has now taken the Mauritian hotel industry on another level and the other hotels will have to react accordingly. As a Mauritian, I can only be proud of this!

The service has been 6* from our arrival till our departure. On arrival, the hotel was expecting us and we were greeted by our names. They had actually prepared 2 rooms for us and asked us to choose which one suited us best. The first room was enormous, with view on the swimming pool, huge walking closet, huge bathroom and also a room with two massage tables. Absolutely stunning and would have definitely represented a big room upgrade to the one we booked. The second was a Beachfront Junior Suite which we actually booked, smaller but just as stunning. The view from the huge balcony and the beach being meters away made it a no-brainer. We could actually see the beach and the ocean from our bed! We had some welcoming gifts awaiting us in the room.. The bath products are the best I have seen in a hotel room (Remède products) and everything is the room was refined and of the highest quality. I have got to mention the amazing bed which gives you the feeling of sleeping on a cloud! I wanted to wow my fiancée for her first trip to Mauritius (she is German) and the St Regis did the trick. She was all smile and more than impressed and kept repeating during our stay: " This is the best hotel in the world" !

My first impression of the food from my last stay was confirmed: food at all the restaurants was delicious and made with quality fresh products! The breakfast buffet is also truly exceptional: large variety and again only high quality fresh products. The hotel has changed the breakfast set-up a bit from my last stay and it is now much better! The service at the restaurants has been quick, precise and classy. Maybe, only the service at the Boathouse might need some improvement. The wine list has also been reviewed and there are some good wine by the glass at affordable prices. I seize the opportunity to thank Vikram, the sommelier, for his advice and nice conversation about wines. We also tried the Chef table and got to meet the Chef, Olivier Belliard. We then understood why the food at the St Regis is of such top quality. This guy has worked with the best chefs in France and travelled in Asia and the Middle East to work for the best hotels. Only the highest quality of food is allowed to leave his kitchen! We had the privilege of having the Chef personally cook our 4 course meal in front of us in the kitchen! This was such a great experience that we decided to renew it the next day! :-) It was expensive but worth every cent! It was amazing to watch the Mauritian cooks watching the Chef very closely and seizing the opportunity to learn from the man. Again, as a Mauritian, I felt proud that the French Chef was sharing his knowledge with the locals.

Compared to my first stay, the management of the St Regis Mauritius has really turned things around. The staff are well trained and have the genuine desire to please the clients. They all seem to have the St Regis brand at heart. We were made to feel special and at home. Also, there is a department manager who comes and chat to the clients everyday at breakfast. If there is anything wrong, you can raise it to them and they will find a solution. What I appreciated with the management of this hotel is that they are very reachable and open to suggestions and constructive criticism. They also have a "nothing is impossible" attitude. They will find a solution whatever the problem. We met with Bernard, the general manager twice and he took his time to chat to us. Ronan, the resident manager, also came to meet us at dinner and kindly offered us a bottle of wine. I gave Ronan a lot of grief on my last stay, and this time I would like to congratulate him for turning things around. He promised me an exceptional stay if I would come back and it was actually even better than that: it was magical! Thank you again.

Unfortunately, magical things do not last for ever. Our 5 nights stay was over too quickly. Upon our departure, Lisa, the housekeeping manager who we had met at breakfast sent a couple of Hermes beauty products to our room! My fiancée was over the moon and was more and more reluctant to leave...

Here is where the story gets interesting! We arrived at the Trou aux Biches, the second hotel I booked, which is a newly renovated 5* hotel of the Beachcomber group. It was like we drove a Ferrari for 5 days and we were suddenly given a Fiat instead (no offense to Fiat). No sea view, everything in the room looked cheap (towels, bathrobe, bath products, furniture, bed, slippers...). The room was really dark as there were other blocks of rooms in front. The downgrade from the St Regis was too hard to take - we decided to cancel our stay there! It took us 40 minutes from arrival to cancel! We phoned the St Regis and asked them if they would have us back and they even proposed to send a car to get us! Since we wanted to save the Trou aux Biches the humiliation of having a St Regis Jaguar pick us up after canceling our stay with them, we found our own means of transport! See my review of the Trou aux Biches hotel for more details as I will concentrate on the St Regis here!

Back at the St Regis for my third stay! They managed to put us in the same room which was perfect. We had a bottle of Champagne from Bernard and a very beautiful bouquet of flowers from Ronan along with a hand-written note from each of them waiting in our room! We felt really good being back and it really felt like being back home! My fiancée instantly found back the smile which she had lost at the other hotel. "Best hotel in the world, best hotel in the world" she kept saying!

We spent a further 4 nights at the hotel with again everything perfect. I decided to invite my parents and some family for dinner at the hotel as it was my Mum's birthday. I asked Fabienne, the food and beverage operations manager for some ideas. This woman is full of ideas. She also has Starwood blood running in her veins. She offered us numerous personalized solutions, offered us a cake, and suggested a sabering champagne ceremony. This was a truly memorable experience and everyone was impressed! We have already decided that we are now buying our own sabre for home now!

We tried the SPA again. The problems I had encountered on my first stay have been completely resolved. We had a fantastic massage in a private couples suite with private hammam and sauna. We then relaxed in the private resting area! We could not ask for more. Special thanks to Arun, the Spa manager.

We also did a 'swimming with the dolphins" trip which was great. We booked it via the hotel and it was exactly the same price as some other local companies. Wonderful memorable trip which was totally worth the price. Since the trip started at 7am, we asked for a wake up call. The great thing was, a couple of minutes after the wake up call, we had complimentary tea and coffee in our room! Apparently, it is a normal St Regis service! :-)

On our last day, our butler, Kavish, had arranged for a nice little surprise for us. We had rose petals spread around the room and with candles spread around. He had folded two towels to represent two swans in front our our bed and the flowers from Ronan were in a nice vase in front of the swans. Beautiful and classy. Many thanks Kavish!

We are now seriously considering going back again to St Regis next year for our honeymoon. Also, now we are sure of one thing: we have found the best hotel on the island and as long as the service remains at this level, we will never go to another hotel in Mauritius again! The only big problem with staying with the St Regis Mauritius is that you will have trouble staying anywhere else!

We would like to thank each member of the outstanding St Regis staff but special thanks to Bernard, Ronan, Lisa, Fabienne, Shawn, Amber, Theo, Arun, Hugo, Sashi, Stephania (smoothie lady as we called her), Kavish and Jerzy (our butlers). Guys, please, please, please, keep up the good work.

Au revoir et à bientôt!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I would love to give the St Regis a glowing recommendation, as it is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of Mauritius and the rooms are fantastic, but unfortunately my experience of the 5 nights we spent there left me with mixed feelings about the place.
We booked a Junior Suite under Starwood Platinum, and although I realize that we are not guaranteed an upgrade, I was contacted the week prior to arrival by the butler service saying that we would be staying in a 1 bedroom St Regis Suite. My wife and I were of course very excited about the upgrade. On arrival we where taken to a Junior Suite. When I asked what had happened to the upgrade, I was told that we had been upgraded already which was not the case as we had paid for a Junior Suite. I explained that we had been contacted by the butler service prior to arrival and I had emailed again to confirm what room type we would be staying in. After a lot of confusion including me seeing on the check in form that our room allocation had been changed with "Tippex" we where told that there had been a mistake but unfortunately we would only be able to move rooms the next day. Its not an ideal situation having to move rooms as you cannot unpack and settle in. Upon moving to our new suite the next day, our new butler was not aware that we had moved in, and we bumped into him by chance. The room however was great, but the manner in which it was dealt with, was not in line with a resort of this nature. I realize that the resort is still new and there are teething problems but the service that we received from the staff was hit and miss, some where amazing, whilst others didn't seem to care less. The food we felt was also great at times, but at others very average, with the lunches being very basic for the prices that one was paying. Call me crazy but if you are paying close to $30 for a panini or $45 for a hamburger,they need to be good. All in all the setting is incredible and it's a well laid out resort with great rooms, but more effort needs to be put into ensuring a consistent level of service and food if one is paying for 5 star. St Regis Management, you are more than welcome to contact me to discuss in more depth a few issues we experienced with the above. Incidentally, we where never approached by any form of management throughout our stay to check on how things where going, which we thought was a little odd.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Brin K

Thank you so much for your very constructive feedback; I was delighted that despite your mix feelings you rated us 5 / 5 on location, rooms and cleanliness.
I would like to apologize for the confusion regarding your upgrade and for the inconvenience caused. We are always delighted and proud to welcome our Platinum members and to do our utmost to provide them with an area of peace where all their tastes and senses are in levitation.
I am really sorry as I understand the way you feel, there is nothing more upsetting to have to repack and unpack and I have spoken with Lisa our Director of Butler service to improve the communication within the Butlers specially when there is a room move.
Since we have opened the resort we are doing our best to constantly improve the services and I am sure that you have been monitoring our Trip Advisor closely but excellence is a journey and we have to work harder in ensuring a consistent and a seamless service.
I have also addressed your comments regarding the food with Olivier Belliard our Executive Chef and I would like if you could email me directly if you have time to give me more specific details about your experience in our restaurants.
I am very sorry if we have not met you as we pride ourselves to speak to all our discerning guests as my team and I believe that luxury is in the emotion and we must engage and nurture with our guests.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments that we have read in our afternoon operations meeting and I hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you again.

Warmest regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is magnificent.
Staff are friendly & exceptionally well trained.
Food is delicious.
Location is superb, especially for surfing & kitesurfing.
We are most definitely of the impression that all of the staff genuinely want to make your stay a happy & enjoyable one and they go out of their way to do so.
We travel to Le Morne annually and this by far the best holiday experience we've had.
Thank you & well done St. Regis!
We have absolutely no hesitation recommending this resort, two very happy guests.
Warrick & Barbara

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Warrick M

Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We have read your comments in our afternoon meeting and it boosted the morale of all our department heads.
We are delighted to hear that you travel to Le Morne every year and I hope you have found your permanent home in The St. Regis Mauritius Resort.

I am aware you are still in-house and Ronan and I would like to invite you for a lovely drink.

Fond regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mauritius Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort is situated on one of the most privileged locations on the south westerly tip of the island, on the pristine white natural beaches at the UNESCO World Heritage site of Le Morne, bordered by a turquoise lagoon. The resort's backdrop of Mauritius' iconic Le Morne Brabant Mountain is defined by a lush green patchwork of sugar cane fields encircling a series of lofty peaks that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. Regis Mauritius Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort Le Morne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.