We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel if you are in a wheelchair as it is impossible to get around.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Mauritius Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unbeatable Escapes
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Le Morne
Braunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel if you are in a wheelchair as it is impossible to get around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks and found the hotel and staff very good, restaurants only average,
Room top rate but had to keep asking for things that we needed, also we arranged for room cleaning and turn down at certain times, never happened on a number of times it was after
9pm much to late when you have problems with broken ankle and need to rest.
Considering this was a new hotel there is no ramps to gain access to the restaurants if one is in a wheelchair. My wife broke her ankle on the second day of our holiday and after trying to eat in the restaurants we gave up and took all our meals in the room and the dine in menu had a very limited choice.
A Fellows

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear am_fellows,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort!

We have been very sorry about your misfortune of breaking an ankle on the second day of your stay whilst enjoying a walk outside the resort. Your Butlers, Avi and Rishi, have informed us about your difficulties related to the missing ramps in certain area of the resort.

Further to your experience and to your very constructive comments we have made it a priority to identify the few areas where ramps are necessary. However, I would like to point out that most restaurants Floating Market, Le Manoir, the Boathouse, Inspiration or Simply India are accessible without ramps as well as the Library floor and the Drawing Room via our private lift. One may need occasional assistance to overcome the little lip at the entrance of the Bar and this help would be very happily provided by any of our staff.

Theo, our Food and Beverage Manager and Fabienne, our Director of Restaurants both met you after your return from the clinic whilst enjoying a meal at the Boathouse such as to ensure that your new needs and expectations would be met. Although your Butlers and the rest of the Team would have been very happy to assist you with trips to the restaurants and throughout the resort the management team offered for you to exceptionally include all In-Room Dining Meals into your half board meal plan so that you would not have to leave the comfort of your room.

I am surprised by your comments about our restaurants being average especially when you sadly did not have much opportunity to enjoy them. Our Service Teams do remember you and feel very sorry to not have been made aware of your disappointment as they, together with our Executive Chef and Culinary Team, are always happy to provide all guests with alternative offerings.

Our Housekeeping Team seems to not have met your expectations on this occasion and I sincerely apologize for the delays you have experienced in your room being serviced in the evenings. Dany our Assistant Executive Housekeeper met you and ensured that service would be provided everyday at 9am.

We sincerely thank you for your generous comment and constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort in the near future so that you may enjoy the full Experience. Allow us all to wish you a prompt recovery!

Fond Regards,
Bernard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    77
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
88
217
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just got back from a most memorable trip to Mauritius. The location is excellent and the rooms and bathrooms very comfortable. There were a few minor issues that needed to be addressed but the manager (Bernard) was most accommodating and our stay had no mishaps. The butler service added an extra touch to our stay.

The restaurants were all excellent as we tried all of them out. Atul Kochhar's signature restaurant, Simply India, was very different from normal Indian cuisine. The food was very delicately flavored. The Japanese and Chinese restaurants were also very good. We were there over the Chinese New Year and the buffet offered was well done and co-ordinated by Stephen. The Le Manoir Restaurant has a French a la carte menu and was the highlight of our dining experiences. The Chef, Olivier, made the most exciting meal for us and definitely ranks as the best we have had so far.
Our only criticism of the restaurants is for the Boathouse Grill where the service fluctuated between excellent and mediocre. The food, however, compensated for this.

The extra facilities offered included a library, games room, tennis and water sports among others are well planned and thought out. There is good attention to detail.

The Iridium Spa cannot be forgotten as it is a real treat. The treatments are in a league of its own. Having gone to several different spas, we found that this was among the best. The jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were tastefully done.

We look forward to returning to the St Regis Mauritius

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, Resident Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Intuitive99,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort upon your return.
Rest assured that we take your comments very seriously and that our focus is currently on the delivery of more consistent service at The Boathouse Bar&Grill.
I and the entire Team look very much forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards,
Ronan - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at a number of 5 star resorts over the last 10 years and can honestly say the location and fabric of this hotel is right up there with the best we have seen. Given it has only recently opened there are a number of minor service related issues which the hotel is aware of and are working hard to resolve. The staff are always keen to know how they can improve and make your experience here special.
We stayed in a St Regis beach front suite, which was beautiful and well cleaned every day. Our butler service (led by Jane, who was v good) was as attentive as we needed it to be. The food in most cases was most definitely 5 star. There are a couple of restaurants that are nouvelle cuisine, however, if this is not for you , then the staff are more than willing to make larger portions (which they did for us!!) at no additional charge. One day, we went fishing and caught a number of tuna. One of the restaurants chefs met us and discussed how we would like it cooked and that evening we ate a beautiful mauritian curry - made just for us. You cannot get better than that!!
We enjoyed many of the facilities offered: drawing room (ie games room, with pool, table tennis, air hockey etc), library (amazing!), tennis court, bike ride in local area led by one of the staff and one day we arranged to take the hotel car and chauffeur to the islands capital -Port Louis and show us around - great fun. We also hired a kayak & snorkels from the water sports centre (free) to look at all the beautiful coral and fish -not to be missed
We have never repeated a visit to any of our previous holiday resorts, however, we may well may an exception for this resort in a couple of years.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: St Regis beach suite was amazing
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear tonyd,

Well – what can I say other than that we are over the moon to read that we have managed to have you change your habits and consider returning to a resort you previously stayed in.
We cannot wait to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Fond Regards,
Bernard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The resort is brand new and is situated direct to the most beautiful beach in Mauritius, right under the monumental Le Morne mountain a Mauritinian symbol of slavery. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull and the restaurants serve perfect meals. Price range not for everyone, but the service is top-notch.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the St Regis Mauritius for 13 nights on the first week of its opening. There were so many teething problems and therefore too many to list.

The hotel itself is absolutely immaculate and it set in the most gorgeous location in Mauritius.

The one thing this hotel has got right and without a doubt is the best thing about the hotel was the children's kite flyers club. My 1 year old daughter, husband and myself enjoyed visiting the children's club every single day of our holiday. The staff at the Kite flyers club were amazing especially one called Sheila Bhunjan who consistently gave excellent service and is a true asset to the St regis group. Sheila formed an amazing relationship with all the children as well as the parents that came to the club. She was such a happy and lovable person to be around the children and so much fun. The service received from the staff at the Kite flyers club was excellent and always consistently good. The facilities in the club were fantastically and the daily activities were also very exciting for the children giving them lots if variety. The staff made you feel so welcome that you felt like they were part of your family and not strangers.
I think the rest of the hotel should lead from their example as the Kite Flyers Club at St Regis is probably one of the best children's clubs not only in Mauritius but around the world.

One day we hope to return when the resort is fully up and running and all service issues have been resolved.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, Resident Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear ChaniP,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort! You were one of our first guests and we keep you and your Family in good memory.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the Kite Flyers Club. Rest assured that I have congratulated Sheila and her team. You will be happy to read that we have by now received the full order of toys and games and that the experience is now even greater.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to our Resort very soon.
Best Regards,
Ronan - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis for 13 nights and had a great time at this really beautiful resort.

Our Beach Front Suite was wonderful, with a large balcony where the sun sets in the sea right in front of the balcony....postcard-picture like!

The restaurants are all exceptional...we had e.g. very tasty lamb shank at the “Floating Market”, delicious Indian Food at the “Simply India”, Atsuko and Le Manoir also really nice, but we loved the most “The Boat House”, it has a wonderful atmosphere at any time of the day (Lunch or Dinner) and Chef Coco is really great, he is always happy to prepare some special dishes if you talk to him, all at great taste and quality. The staff is really kind as well (like in the whole resort everyone is so friendly, helpful and nice). We have to thank Laura, David, Yogesh, Thierry and many more. They love what they are doing and that’s great to see.

The bar menu is also impressive, I had “hard times” choosing a drink every evening. My favorite one was the “Le Mourne Peninsula”…mixed by a very skilled barkeeper at the “1904 Bar”.

I spend my birthday at the resort and they made this day very special, delicious cake and a romantic “dinner for two”-arrangement at their jetty, and a lot more.

If you ask me about any negatives things…. No, not really...they started in november last year and some few things must come to a bit more of a “routine”, but they always ask where they can improve, and are really interested in moving forward through the feedback they get, what is quite a task on this top level, but they are doing very well after such a short time.

The St. Regis is a great place to relax, spoil yourself and spend your holidays in an amazing resort - with a really outstanding staff.

I am sure this hotel will do very well and we will certainly come back again!

Room Tip: Beach Front Junior Suite with beautiful balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, Resident Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear DKTT7667,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort.

I, as a General Manager, am extremely pleased to read that our associates show pride in their work and in delivering the exceptionally high St. Regis standards that myself and the Management Team set for them.

Rest assured that I have passed your comments to Laura, David, Yogesh, Thierry as well as to the rest of our team.

We all sincerely hope to have the pleasure of making your next birthday celebration as much as an experience as this year’s if not better!

Best Regards,
Ronan - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosslare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our 10th visit to Mauritius, the St Regis Hotel is without doubt the very best that Mauritius has to offer, a world class property in a beautiful location.

We had an amazing visit to the Saint Regis. Although the Hotel is only open three months it really feels like it has always been there, it is so well integrated into the local environment, the rooms( or houses I should say!) are just a beautiful colonial style, very large with beautifully appointed interiors.

We were very impressed by the whole resort; it is magnificent from the Spa to the pools and the restaurants. There was a daily programme of events which extended from tennis, swimming with the dolphins, sailing, kite-surfing or just relaxing in the glorious Spa. The food was superb throughout, I think we tried every restaurant in the resort from Le Manoir, The Boathouse to the Indian and Japanese, each was memorable! We had an outstanding meal at the chef’s table for the finale! The hotel management team of Bernard, Ronan, Theo and Fabienne were ever present and so kind and helpful to us during our stay.

Most of all the St. Regis really felt like an established hotel, the service was exceptional throughout, you would never believe that it is only open a few months. You really have a great team, all so friendly and helpful. They have a great team at the St Regis, all so friendly and helpful. We were also very impressed by our Butlers too, Rishi and Avi, they couldn’t do enough between transport, ice and online check-in for flights home.

Thank you to all the team for your help and kindness during our stay. We wish you every success at the St Regis it really deserves to do well, it’s a world class product.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with beautiful seaviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear bkellyRosslare,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your comments about our new St. Regis Mauritius Resort!

It is wonderful to read that we have created unprecedented memories to guests that have a great experience of the Island, its people and its service offerings.

Rest Assured that Avi and Rishi have received a copy of your review and that they are very proud to have made your stay a St. Regis Experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon,
Fond Regards,
Bernard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mauritius Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort is situated on one of the most privileged locations on the south westerly tip of the island, on the pristine white natural beaches at the UNESCO World Heritage site of Le Morne, bordered by a turquoise lagoon. The resort's backdrop of Mauritius' iconic Le Morne Brabant Mountain is defined by a lush green patchwork of sugar cane fields encircling a series of lofty peaks that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Mauritius Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort Le Morne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.