We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Mauritius Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unbeatable Escapes
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed for 13 nights 2-14 Dec, the hotel is set in the most beautiful part of Mauritius, with the stunning backdrop of the mountain. The hotel is beautifully designed and decorated to a very high standard. I was very luck to have been upgraded to a ocean front room, just steps away from the beach, well worth considering paying the extra for this room and a nice touch a complimentary bottle of Champagne on ice on our arrival. The rooms are luxurious, with his & hers marble sinks, huge oval bath, and a walk in rain shower, the veranda is a nice size with sofas, tables and chairs.
There is a coffee machine and a complimentary mini bar, although the coffee machine has a mind of its own, it has senses, so lights up when you are in the room, this can be annoying especially at night. The food was excellent, breakfast was served in the main part of the building overlooking the swimming pool, there is no expense spared with the chairs, cutlery etc, all of a very high standard. There is a wide choice for breakfast from fruit, pastries, yogurts, etc, try the coffee latte- gorgeous. There are several restaurants, Simply India, this was ok, but did not have the wow factor as expected from a michelin star chef. The Floating Market is the best by far, serving asian fusion, try the desserts absolutely amazing. The Boat House is set on the beach, this is where lunch is served and is open 3 nights a week for dinner. Le Manoir is French style dining, very nice, but limited choice, i did find with all the restaurants the menus did not change in the 2 weeks i stayed, hopefully with time, this may change, the hotel had only been open for 4 weeks. The beach is beautiful and the water is clear, very good for snorkelling, the hotel is set in a lagoon, with coral reefs, the hotel is next to the world renowned kite surfing site, well worth a walk to watch the kite surfers in action! Nice little touches whilst sunbathing are the fruit and ice drinks served throughout the day, but for me, and i have stayed in very nice hotels around the world, was the excellent service from all the staff who served me throughout my stay, my butlers Hugo and Risihi, they were lovely and Joel, who served me at breakfast and Joelle the beautiful lady who met us at breakfast and lunch, and our english mate Luc, wonderful person, Fabienne who spoke with us on a daily basis and i would also like to mention how sophisticated the uniforms were, all staff looked amazing. Overall, this is truly a fantastic, opulent and luxurious resort and probably the best on the island by far, it far exceeds a 5 star rating. I am looking forward to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Suzanne_G761,

The Management Team and I read your comments with a wonderful feeling of having reached what we have been working towards to for so many months.

I certainly understand that you felt the menus offered during the first weeks of operation did not offer enough choice. You should be pleased to read that we have now increased the selection of starters, main courses and desserts to a full menu. Our Executive Chef is happy to meet and to create specific menus for any guest in our Inspiration Restaurant and at The Chef’s Table.

Rest assured that I have passed on your compliments to Joel, Rishi, Hugo, Fabienne, Luc, and Joelle; only a few of my shining stars.

I am delighted to read that we will be welcoming you back to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort this year and look forward to it.

Fond Regards,
Bernard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    101
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
114
253
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at St.Regis. The beach is fantastic - smooth sand, clean water, lots of space and cozy sun beds.

The rooms are very well designed, the bed is great and cozy and the bath tube is just stunning! I also enjoyed the service. The staff looks a bit inexperienced - both the buttlers and waiters at the restaurant. This is maybe because the hotel is brand new. We had an excellent meal at Floating Market, but the presentation was not very good - the waitress was shy and not very entertaining, but still the food was great!

If you are seeking for a calm stylish resort, go there! I love the colonial style architecture, the beach, the sunsets... This is really better than any Beachcomber hotel.

Room Tip: I had the basic beachfront room and it was beatiful. Big bed, big bathtube, Illy Espresso machine an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear iveta_mlejn,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your stay at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort. I am delighted to read that we have delivered on our brands promise.

I understand that although you obviously very much enjoyed your stay with us, some aspects should be pointed out. You will surely be happy to read, that the high occupancy of the festive season has created the necessary ambiance for the team to grow together strongly. My Management Team has started again its extensive training sessions and has already changed various processes that were judged inefficient.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our beautiful resort very soon.

Fond Regards,
Bernard - General, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Over all it is a really nice place. But during my stay some issues:
- Koordination of service
- Cleaning of the room (thus i asked for correction)
- Short menue card, 3 weeks no changes
- PAN-Asia and Fusion kitchen: couldn't identify a clear concept of cooking
- asked to many times of different people at same place for my room number

Kleine Dinge zu Beginn der Hoteleröffnung. Wenn sich das ändert könnte es auf das Niveau eines St. Regis aufschließen.

If it stop these issues it could be clkmb up to the expected level of an St. Regis Hotel. Good luck.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear tosteck,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about The St. Regis Mauritius Resort!

I certainly understand that you felt the menus offered during the first weeks of operation did not offer enough choice. You should be pleased to read that we have now increased the selection of starters, main courses and desserts to a full menu. Also, our Executive Chef will be changing these menus every week, in order to cater for the many guests who stay for a longer period.

Our associates have by now had the necessary time to grow together as a team and to wash out most of the coordination and communication issues you describe to have experienced.

For as long as our Japanese restaurant Atsuko was awaiting its furniture to open, we decided to offer a combination of both restaurants in Floating Market. This was decided such as to ensure that our guests would have a variety of culinary offerings. Now that Atsuko has opened, the menu of our Floating Market more clearly reflects its Pan Asian DNA.

Allow Me to also thank you for your kind wishes and to send you my best ones for 2013, hoping to welcome you back to our beautiful resort to measure the changes and the progress made since the opening.
Fond Regards,
Ronan – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 17th-29th November, a couple of weeks after it opened.

The hotel is in a fairly remote part of the island but is in a picturesque location and has been designed and built to a high standard. All rooms look to be excellent and we had the opportunity to stay in one of the deluxe ocean view suites and one of the junior suites. They are spacious and well designed and the junior suites have a large private balcony right on the seafront giving an excellent view of the sunset.

The beach is a little shingly but not uncomfortable. There are plenty of sunbeds all along the beach and there is lots of space in between. There is also ample beds around the pool and there are some large double day beds where you can get some shelter from the sun.
The sea is warm and crystal clear.

There were four restaurants which were open during our stay. All served quality food but moving forward there is perhaps a need to vary the menu on a more regular basis ifor guests which are staying for a fortnight. Our personal favourite was the floating market.
Breakfast was served in the Manor House and provided an excellent choice. We found that getting there before 9am was better from a service perspective.

There is some excellent staff at the hotel, all very friendly and will go to any length to make your stay memorable. During our stay we got to know some of the staff and the following staff were always helpful, Archi our butler, Sandi & Laura in the restaurant, Ryan in the bar, Vikram, Thierry and David the sommeliers and not to forget Luc who welcomes you when you arrive. A special mention to Nash who really helped us with an incident whilst we were there.
Also look out for Senrao one of the official beach hawkers who was a fountain of all knowledge from the weather to the local fish!

As it's a new hotel it still has a few teething problems which the Managment are aware of and which will be ironed out as the staff become more experienced. One major disappointment was the fact that the library, internet room, cinema and games room as well as the Japanese restuarant were still not open, which we were not made aware of. For any guests visiting January onwards everything should be open.

Overall it was a brilliant holiday and we would love to return again bank balance permitting as we took advantage of the opening offer and the normal price will be signifcantly more.

Room Tip: If you can afford it stay in one of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for you for taking the time to review our beautiful St. Regis Mauritius Resort upon your return! You have been one of our first guests and have therefore largely contributed to the identification and correction of some of our Opening concerns.

It is with great pleasure that I read how you found our breakfast offered excellent choice and certainly understand that you might have felt there was not enough variety and change in our restaurant menus. This has been corrected as our Executive now changes his menus on a regular basis and has rolled out his full menus in the early days of December.

I am sincerely sorry for the fact that you did not have the opportunity to experience the first floor of our Manor House with its Library, Teens and Games Room, Conservatory. These were inaugurated on December 8th shortly before the opening of our Japanese restaurant, Atsuko.

The two comments I am most appreciative of concern our staff and the fact that you look forward to staying with us again! Rest assured that I have communicated your feedback to Archi, Sandi, Laura, Ryan, Vikram, Thierry and David as well as to Luc and Nash. I am very proud to find their names on this page.

My Management Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort in the very near future and send you our best wishes for 2013.
Fond Regards,
Bernard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

St. Regis in Le Morne is a brand new hotel that opened in Nov 2012. It is located on an extremely nice beach with green and blue colors. Most (if not all) rooms are in two-story villas - so either you stay on the ground floor (de facto on the beach) or at worse one floor up.
The room itself is comfortable (we had a Junior Suite), the best part of it being the patio at the ground floor or the balcony one floor up, all well furnished with sofa, long chair, table and chairs. We liked a lot the Illy espresso machine in the room, with which you can also make tea (definitely nicer than having a coffee or tea boiler in the room although not everyone may agree). We also liked very much the amenities that come to the room every day, like small pastries. By the way, at St. Regis you have butlers that take care of you, ours were quite good (Rishi and Hugo). Air conditioning in the room is a bit difficult to control/fine tune but we survived well (ask the butler how to make sure it does not go full steam when you leave the room for many hours…unless you like the idea of going back into a polar environment). Wi-fi is complementary if you choose low bandwidth/speed (which in my experience is good enough for checking emails and the like…not sure when the hotel is fully loaded though).
The sea water is very nice in front of the hotel and you can do good level snorkeling, there are nice corals and a variety of fish to be seen. Some snorkeling outside the resort is also organized by the boathouse as complementary - for touring around the sea with excursions I suggest either the boathouse or Hibiscous services (Anouradha +230 7753245, Ramesh +230 7766322) who are very good, while for diving you still can refer to the boathouse or call Island Diving (Pascal and Olivier +230 9811630) who are also very good.
We tried three restaurants and all of them were quite aligned with expectations.
Floating Market: has oriental cuisine with a mild/very fine taste, based on a lot or vegetables (although you can certainly have fish, lobster etc.), it is kind of fusion between oriental and Mediterranean cuisine in a very nice setting (like floating on water). We found the service very very good.
Simply India: high level Indian cuisine by a Michelin-starred famous cook active in London as well; the dishes are more fusion than just typical Indian and we liked it a lot as the taste is very fine (we had some fantastic lamb for instance), service is very good as well
Boathouse Grill: good food as well, main strengths for me are the cocktails you can have as aperitif, in appetizers (e.g. fantastic tartare of tuna) and dessert (extremely nice the tiramisu done with tropic fruit, a discovery I would have not bet in advance)
Prices for the restaurants are not cheap, however to be frank I find them adequate to the level (particularly for Simply India, it is not expensive per se, although you should know that it is not part of the boarding agreements, so you get a discount but it comes on top).
Anyway, for lunch you can find some good vans/stands across the beach that sell food and tropical fruit, plus crepes (there are some both on the right and on the left side of the hotel, about 400-500 meters on both sides). So if you want to save a bit or just try something different you have the choice (note that if you walk to the right on the beach you will find a place where you can sit down, a real restaurant open for breakfast and lunch, while if you to the left you will need to sit on the beach for eating). We liked these small informal places, they are decent for something quick.
A great stay for us at St. Regis across all dimensions, I do recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear ChiccoTorino,

Thank you for having chosen The St. Regis Mauritius Resort for your Mauritian Vacation! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with such detail.

It is a great pleasure for me to read about your overall good experience. The comfort of the rooms, the Butler Service and the service in general, you received during your stay, looks to have been the key to the success of your vacation.

We have, indeed, had to face isolated incidents in terms of air conditioning and are very sorry to hear that you have been affected by these. In fact, the A/C Units needed some balancing across the Resort and due to the high occupancy of the past weeks, this has now been achieved.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future and send you my best wishes for 2013.

Fond Regards,
Bernard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This new hotel reeks opulence it surprisingly has character and charm for such a new property. The facilities are amazing. The Spa is out of this world. The service! The food! are excellent.
No one can do enough for you. You can see the pride and commitment from the team!
They want the hotel to be a success - it will be - it is.
Great for all ages. For all types of holiday. I can't wait to go back. Do not hesitate book today!
Well done Starwood.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out. Be aware if you want to be right near all of the facilities All are very near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Akolli,

Well... – Thank you for taking the time to review us and to share your experience at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort!
You have visited us during the early days of our Opening and it is wonderful to read your enthusiasm and your appreciation of how engaged and proud my Team is to the success of our property.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort very soon and wish you all the best for 2013.

Fond Regards,
Bernard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is in the best part of Mauritius and only opened on 1 November 2012. Set at the foot of the Le Morne Mountain and on the beach. Hotel itself is great, service of all staff is excellent, but the restaurants need improving. Plus, everything should have been opened by the opening day. There were still lots of works going on. Would recommend staying at the better established Lux Le Morne next door than here.

This was our honeymoon and first trip to Mauritius, and we had booked a room for September, when it was originally meant to have opened. The hotel handled the delayed opening well by offering us 3 extra nights and an upgrade on our room. We originally had an ocean view room for 7 nights, but were upgraded to a junior suite on FB for 10 nights - I highly recommend going for more than 7 nights if you are travelling from London as the jet-lag took us 2 days to overcome. We were disappointed to find that not all the hotel facilities were open by the time we arrived. There were still lots of builders on site. There was no cinema, one restaurant missing, the boutique was missing and other things too. I would have expected everything to be ready, especially as the opening was delayed by two months. This was most annoying when having meals in the manor house as there was a lot of noise overhead of building work at times.

The hotel itself is very beautiful and I cannot praise the staff enough. There was always someone there to attend to your needs and the butler service is the best I have ever had. We had two amazing butlers who helped make our stay as best as possible. The service was definitely the best thing about the hotel.

The hotel is based in the south-west corner of the island, at the foot of the Le Morne Mountain and next to the Lux Le Morne Hotel. We felt very safe at this hotel. We left the back door to our room open almost all day every day and never felt worried about doing so. There were 24 hour security guards patrolling the beachfront.

There is nothing surrounding the hotel at all. If you want to go anywhere, the only way out is by taxi, which is rather expensive. It’s about a 20 minute walk to the nearest bus stop and there is nothing much in walking distance. However, a few days into our stay, we did find a nice beachfront cafe that served Walls ice-cream and lunchtime food at a very cheap price. The cafe was a about a 10 minute walk across the beach, past the Lux Hotel and in the public area of the beach.

The Room:
Our room was excellent, except for the AC. A very large bathroom with twin sinks, a huge bathtub, a little walk-in wardrobe area with digital safe and an excellent shower and toilet. The shower was very good with two different shower hoses available to use. The complimentary shower gels and shampoos were good quality products, but the toilet paper seemed to be of cheap quality. You can see where the work in rooms was rushed too. On our first morning the sink tap came out the wall and I was covered in hot water that flooded the room as the tap did not appear to be fitted correctly. It took ages to turn the water off too as only the engineer was allowed to do this. The sealant on the shower room door was also very poor as water always seeped out into the bathroom. The bedroom was also very large with a very comfortable king-size bed (with duck down and duck feather pillows and duvet) and a sofa (not nice or comfortable sofa). The room led out onto a gorgeous veranda and two steps down brought you on to the beach. We had a complimentary filled fridge and mini-bar and we were told that any refills would be chargeable. We received pre-dinner sweets everyday, which we enjoyed eating when the ants did not get to them first. There was also a coffee machine available, but this never worked well and made having a quick coffee or tea a horrible chore that took forever - would have much preferred a working kettle!

The only downside to the room was the AC - Every time you left the room it automatically set to a temperature, which was great during the day when it was nice to come into a cold room from the 30 degrees heat, but left you looking for a blanket in the evenings as it was freezing coming back into the room after dinner. Even my husband who hardly ever gets chilly agreed that it was too cold. The AC is also very basic and you cannot adjust the temperature to suit you very easily when you are in the room. We had to leave it off during the night as it was very noisy and we couldn’t seem to set a comfortable temperature and the staff were unsure how to use it too.

The Beach:
If you want soft smooth sands, this beach is not for you. There are a lot of broken coral and rock-like rough sands. It took us a few days to get used to it and we found ourselves saying "ow" quite often when walking along the beach barefoot or with sandals on. The sun-beds and sun loungers are great and they changed the mattresses on these often, which was good. All day we were given great little treats like exotic slush puppy shots, fruit skewers and iced coffee. Water was also complimentary.
The lagoon is absolutely amazing and I would recommend taking a snorkel and some sea shoes with you. Even if you don’t like swimming in the sea or have never snorkelled before, you don’t want to miss the beautiful fishes that you can see just by standing waist high in the water. There is a long reef with many stunning creatures so close to the shore; it was one of the best parts of the trip for me. Don’t leave this hotel without snorkelling in this reef area - well worth it! The hotel also offer complimentary snorkelling trips.

The restaurants, bar and the meals:
When we were here, there were 4 restaurants open - The Le Manoir (the main restaurant of the hotel); Simply India (A Michelin star restaurant); The Boathouse (For lunch); The Floating Market (Oriental) and the 1904 Bar. There was one restaurant still not ready.

Overall, the food was okay, but by no means 5 star and does not cater for vegetarians well or offer enough variety. This is the biggest area the hotel needs to work on to improve. I don’t think they cater for British taste well either.

Le Manor: This was where there breakfast was served each morning. Based in the Manor house, with tables available on the poolside. The pastries, bread and fruit available was great. We all loved the pastries on offer. The hot breakfast menu included eggs, bacon, pancakes (not American style), French toast and other additions. The continental breakfast was definitely the highlight. I ordered soft boiled eggs everyday and they were a disappointment on most days. They were either too undercooked and had to be returned, or over-cooked and therefore hard boiled eggs. I also tried poached eggs and they were also undercooked and not great. My husband had omelette and that was rather small compared to British standards. There were never any beans available so breakfast with egg and toast always tasted too dry. The chocolate sauce that accompanied the pancakes was dark chocolate and too rich for the morning. Nutella would have worked much better. The fruit juices always tasted bitter rather than sweet. The fruit on the continental breakfast should have been covered rather than left open as I often saw flies sitting on the fruit. The tea was okay, but poor compared to how the brits like it I think. It is local tea that is used, which is nice, but took ages to brew so it was cold by the time you could drink it and it defiantly made me feel homesick. Twinnings breakfast tea should have been available at a hotel like this.

Le Manoir was also the main evening restaurant for diners. However, the menu was poor, didn’t taste that good and hardly changed at all during our stay. There were usually 3 starter options, 3 or 4 mains and some desserts. As I do not eat beef (which was always one of the mains) and not a big lover of fish, I was often left eating chicken with parsnips. I think I had this nearly 5 days in a row at one point - very boring! When there was a vegetarian option of Gnocchi, I was rather happy to try this, but when it came out, it was only 6 pieces of gnocchi with some pumpkin mash eaten in two mouthfuls, which left me very hungry all night (I’m sure an Italian chef would have been appalled). Plus, the lack of choice meant I was having pumpkin soup followed by pumpkin mash with the gnocchi. Desserts were never good either. This restaurant needs some serious work. Service was always good though.

The Floating Market: Not much I can say about this one as we only went there once because it was not to our liking at all. Can’t say we regretted not going back.

Simply India: The best of the evening dining experiences. The food and the staff were great. The food never disappointed and always tasted good. The downside for us was that this restaurant was not included in the full board and we were not informed of this before dining here, which left us with quite a hefty bill after the first night and considering the price we paid compared to London Indian restaurants, we didn’t go back often.

The Boathouse: The BEST of all the meals we had here. We always looked forward to dining here. You can see the chefs cooking as you dine here. The service was always great and the only place in the hotel you could get freshly cooked bread and ice-cream for dessert. There was a good variety of meals on offer and the pasta was good. I was also craving a chicken burger and although it was not on the menu, the chef was happy to accommodate as best as he could and it was tasty. Lunch was always yum and the meal we enjoyed the most on the beachfront. The boathouse was also available for dinner on some evenings, but the menu was very similar to the day. All the desserts here were great. We also had a private dining experience on the beach in front of this restaurant and the food was great. Would have liked to have seen fish and chips on the menu here.

The 1904 bar: Total waste of time! During the day, the smell of cleaning products was so strong in here you could not breathe. During the evening, the music available was so boring; you could see many bored faces. The musicians and singers always sounded depressed and none of the music was ever upbeat or lively. It left you wanting to go to sleep or slit your wrists it was so bad. The music at the boathouse in the evenings when dining was available was better, and also musicians often walked along the beach and around the resort in early evening and they were better too. The cocktails were poor too, but the boathouse bar served good drinks in a better atmosphere.

The hotel definitely needs a snack and ice cream bar and a fresh juice bar open all day that is complimentary.

Overall a fantastic stay, but the food and drinks were definitely not up to the mark. Also, everything should have been open and ready by the time the hotel opened. I would wait until everything was open and better established before going back, but would go back.

Room Tip: I doubt any room here would disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Desi_Dancediva,

Thank you for choosing The St. Regis Mauritius Resort for your Honeymoon and most especially for having believed in our Resort enough to reschedule your trip according to our delay in opening! We greatly value the time and effort you have put into writing this thorough review providing us with detailed and constructive feedback about your experience.

Our dedicated and highly motivated teams and I, where disappointed by the short notice of the delay in our opening. However, trainings continued and spirits where kept high. Most of the missing furniture and equipment that caused this delay arrived soon and the the first floor of our Manor House, including the Manor House Suites, was inaugurated on December 8th.

I, as a General Manager, am aware of the beauty of our Resort and of the spirit of my teams. However, I am immensely proud when I read that our Guests have experienced this feeling of levitation in the service we provide.

Floating Market did not suit your taste which is very unfortunate especially since we have received some extremely positive reviews from Chef Yasunori Iwata and his team. At Simply India, Michelin Chef Atul Kochhar has certainly provided us with a unique and exclusive dining venue for Mauritius. This signature restaurant as well as the Japanese Atsuko are indeed currently not included in our meal plans.

Allow Me to thank you for your suggestions to please our English Guests! I have taken a very good note of them and have now signed up the prestigious Dammann Frères, Tea Company to ensure absolute satisfaction on such an important daily ritual!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Resort in the near future.
Fond Regards,
Bernard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mauritius Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort is situated on one of the most privileged locations on the south westerly tip of the island, on the pristine white natural beaches at the UNESCO World Heritage site of Le Morne, bordered by a turquoise lagoon. The resort's backdrop of Mauritius' iconic Le Morne Brabant Mountain is defined by a lush green patchwork of sugar cane fields encircling a series of lofty peaks that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. Regis Mauritius Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort Le Morne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.