We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Grand Gaube

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added LUX Grand Gaube to your Saves list
LUX Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned from our Wedding and Honeymoon at this hotel. We had an absolutely amazing time and really didn't want to leave. All the previous reviews are so true and you really cant go wrong with booking this resort. From the moment, we arrived we were met with friendly, smiling faces and this didn't stop until we left.

We got married while we were there and it was extremely well organised, stressfree and the perfect location on the platform in the Indian ocean. A huge thank you to Elsa, the wedding co-ordinator for making our Wedding day like a wonderful and beautiful dream. I also want to say a big thank you to Laetitia, who did my hair and make up, mani and pedi, she was so helpful and made me feel so relaxed and was a real expert at knowing how to do everything for our special day including doing me up in my corseted dress.

We went all inclusive and we found the food and drink in all the restaurants was superb, our special favourites were the Indian curry buffet and the Beach restaurant for home made Pizza and Calzone choc dessert and Tuna at the Banyon. All the staff at the resort were very friendly and couldn't help you enough, within a couple of days, they remembered your name and choice of drinks and any other requirements. We can't mention every member of staff but these individuals particularly made our holiday so special. Hemkesh and Antish on reception, we loved our football chats and they were always so helpful. Satish for his wonderful coffee and macaroons. Jean Philippe in the Beach restaurant was always so friendly and accomodating as was Dirin in the Buffet and Georgia in the bar with her smiling face. We had a great cookery class with Francesca and cant wait to try out the chicken curry that she expertly showed us how to make. Finally, a special thank you to Rakesh for all the little personal touches that you organised for us, much appreciated.

We can't wait to go back. Mr and Mrs Gold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    344
    92
    36
    12
See reviews for
391
1,464
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned home from another wonderful relaxing, calm and peaceful holiday at Lux* Grand Gaube, having stayed at the resort many times in the past because it meets all of our requirements every time. We have travelled widely and often and, in all our experiences, this is the best beach-based holiday that we have discovered.

This well run resort is located in the north east of the island in the small fishing village of Grand Gaube, a delightful and typical Mauritian village where the locals go about their daily lives. On arrival, we are always greeted with smiling faces everywhere, a welcome drink and towels are offered to refresh, and luggage delivered to your room before you are, and the effects of the long journey are soon forgotten.

The hotel is in the process of undergoing a complete refurbishment programme, and we were fortunate enough to occupy a Junior Suite which had just been beautifully up-dated. The Suite occupies a spacious area, with an equally spacious separate bathroom with two hand basins, shower, and a jacuzzi. The room opens up to a large balcony with adequate soft seating for four people, together with two sun loungers for those wishing to sunbathe in private. The balcony offers stunning views of the gardens leading to the ocean beyond.

All rooms offer excellent views, are kept spotlessly clean, serviced twice daily, and each benefits from an evening turn-down. As a minimum, there is a mini-bar in all rooms, together with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath robes and an ample supply of bath and beach towels more than sufficient for daily use.

We have always opted for the half-board option as we find that the superb breakfast buffet, with choices available to suit everyone, is more than ample to keep us sustained until evening meals are served. Thre are 3 or 4 main restaurants, all offering top quality food, waiter ervice in the A la Carte restaurants, with The Kitchen offering themed evening buffet meals throughout the week. The food in The Kitchen and in all of the other Restaurants is of outstanding quality, superby presented, again with choices for everyone, and is mouth-wateringly sumptuous.

The Banyan beach restaurant commenced its new A la Carte lunch-time menu whilst we were there. The restaurant lies in the natural setting of the enormous and very old beautiful Banyan trees with views looking out to sea, and we enjoyed a delightful lunch, again orepared and presented to perfection.

There are two main beaches which are cleaned every morning, both offering ample sun loungers and shade if required, and a beverage service operates on each. The boat house, and its many facilities, operates from the more popular beach, with the smaller Banyan beach offering a quieter atmosphere. There is a swimming pool adjacent to each beach area.

There are plenty of activities/excursions taking place throughout the day for the more energetic, all of which are advertised in the hotel's daily 'paper', and free internet access is available.

The vast tropical gardens are stunning, despite a serious lack of rainfall over the winter months, are immaculately maintained, and a credit to the head gardener and his team.

A regular and cheap bus service, as well as a taxi rank, operates from just outside the main gates which covers the northern area, including the capital, Port Louis, and the famous Pamplemousses Gardens.

All staff and team members are extremely helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive, and are always prepared to go beyond the call of duty. Nothing seems too much trouble for these lovely people who go to enormous lengths to make everyone feel welcome, remembering guests' names whether it is their first visit or not. The resort is extremely well run due in no small measure to the extraordinarily efficient, yet approachable, General Manager, Brice Lunot. Brice never waivers in his duties and, despite his busy work schedule, is often seen in the public areas taking a personal interest in the welfare of his guests, with regard to their comfort and well-being.

We refrain from mentioning individuals by name. There are so many, if not all, who constantly provide excellent service, and we would hate to miss anyone out! We salute and thank them all.

We return to Lux* Grand Gaube as the service received, quality of food, cleanliness, maintenance and genuine friendliness has never faltered over many years, a credit to the management team and staff. The location, too, is just stunning. We cannot speak highly enough of this resort and we were very sad to leave. We hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned after having an amazing two weeks at this wonderful hotel.Beautiful beaches but what made our holiday so perfect was the staff how lovely they are need to mention Vijay Georgia and Reedo what lovely people.
From the time we entered the hotel we were made to feel very special. On our arrival we upgraded to a junior suite this made our holiday the room was wonderful if you can afford to upgrade room 3008 was amazing overlooking the sea.We took the helicoptor tour our pilot was called Greg and we took us all over the island this was what a stunning place.Also I would like to give a mention to Brice thankyou so much for making this holiday very special we have travelled all over the world but this hotel is top of our list. We shall be returning.

Hazel T

Room Tip: Junior suite 3008
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flacq, Flacq, Mauritius
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First and foremost; I would like thank all the staff of LUX Grand Gaube especially Mr Rishi ,Mr Avishek & Mr Anwar (food & beverage department),
Mr Rajesh & Mr Shakti (steward),
The gorgeous ladies with the most beautiful smiles – Preetisha, Joanna,Annabell,Elsa (guest relations manager),
Preety & Fidou (spa)
Mr Juneeid (porter),
Daisy & Rishi (The beach Restaurant)
Mr David,Nathalie,Irina & Adia

I salute their outstanding approach & service for leaving no stone unturned in making our holiday a successful and memorable one.

LUX Grand Gaube – the perfect atmosphere.A place where you will be pampered and spoiled.
We entered the resort with the most welcoming smiles,refreshing towels and drinks.
Check-in was rather fast and we were accompanied to our Deluxe room (which was an upgrade) overlooking the Banyan Bay.
Room was very comfortable,spacious ,clean and TV broadcasting in some of the world major languages.
We had buffet diner and breakfast at The Kitchen Restaurant.There was a very wide choice of delicious foods and drinks.Every night they have a specific theme such as Indian,Chinese,etc.
After dinner they normally have spectacle or disco at the Bar near the swimming pool and for those who are interested,2 movie theaters are also available.
Breakfast consisted of a wide range of fresh fruits,juices,salads,bread,sweets and other healthy foods.
In the main restaurant ,the next morning,I got a surprise birthday cake accompanied with a live guitar tunes and the birthday songs from the staff of The Kichen restaurant especially Mr Rishi.
Complimentary gifts were sent to my room.
A sanctuary is also available where we had Sauna,Hamam & Jacuzzi.
We did Kayaking,1 hour ride on the glass bottom and all are for free for the hotel guests.24 hours free wireless internet is available.Golf,seaplane,snorkelling,big game fishing and a wide choice of activities were also available.
I used a phone booth to call home.You may call anywhere,anytime and interestingly it is free.
There is a daily amusing game where 3 bottles are hidden in the resort yard and they contain a gift message.Whoever finds them,get the gift.I managed to find 2 of the bottles and I won a 1 hour free spa at LUX ME and two bottles of ‘Home made rum’.

It was with much regret that our 2 days holiday got over so fast.
Nevertheless, I am desperately willing to go there again and enjoy the sand,sea & sun.
I wish to thank the staff for making my stay such a memorable one.
I wish I could personally thank Rishi,Joanna,Anwar,Adia,Preetisha,Anabelle and all others for bringing us close together from completely total strangers.

I strongly recommend this resort to anybody who is searching for a piece of paradise on earth.

From Dr.Sookun Rajeev Kumar

Room Tip: Request for a room overlooking the Banyan Bay ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flacq
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was the awesome and perfect holiday ever had....Room on the first floor seaview was very beautiful and overlooking the lagoon....all the team members were excellent and very helpful....very very friendly...they do not hesitate to overcome your thoughts... and action quickly. This is unbelievable... Shakti the Steward Supervisor help me and this action touched me very much..one dinner time, i had very little choice for desserts and he heard me talking to my cousin about this....without losing time...he arranged a fruit platter with the Chef and he personally came to serve me.... I was shocked and there was no other words by thanking him for.....this was a wow effect for me where i didn't expect such action. I observed that every team members work in a team spirit and this is a plus point for the hotel. Rajesh the Steward also was very friendly and helpful.. A big thank to Rishi - Food & Beverages Department who take good care of us and always there to help. Our waiter Avishek and Daisy at the Beach Restaurant were very helpful and always smilling.

The Front team are very nice & friendly - Sandeep, David, Preetisha, Annabell, Anabelle, Nathalie, Adia, Juneeid, Elsa, Sailesh, Joanna and others....always cheerful and smilling....

At the Spa - on the first day, there were several electricity cut at the spa and there were people in sauna and hammam in the dark waiting for the light....i contacted Preety at the Reception and immediately she did the needful by fixing the breaker on and she even called the Maintenance team member without delay..it was fix very shortly...Joanne the Therapist is very professional and also Fidou is friendly and helpful.

We would suggest to have a big dancing platform...we had seen the indian dancers performing next to The Bar in a corner where they were having difficulty to entertaining guests...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I went abroad to get married in grande guabe in August 2013 with 17 friends and family. The hotel is stunning, the staff are so welcoming, friendly and genuinely go out their way to make your holiday/ wedding everything you wished for and more! Elsa beeloo, the wedding coordinator is lovely and so relaxed she made us feel totally at ease and so special! All the staff remember your name and even what you like to drink! The rooms are amazing and the food delicious! I would 100% recommend this venue it is definitely the best place I have been in my life! We are returning for our anniversary :)) x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a wonderful week at this hotel. Beautiful beaches and swimming pools, exceptionally friendly staff (without being intrusive), plenty of activities, excellent food, wonderful atmosphere... and all in a stunning setting of a secluded bay.

Since we didn't know if there was much else in the vicinity of the hotel, we went for the all-inclusive package. We were pleased to discover that this included not just the main buffet restaurant, but also visits to the excellent, higher-end restaurants including the Mediterranean restaurant perched on the rocks overlooking the bay, and the exquisite fish restaurant on the beach. The ice cream bar (in a pretty unusual vehicle!) and coffee shop were also included, as were some activities, like the pedalos and the glass-bottomed boat trip over the coral. And all without the ghastly all-inclusive wrist bands that you get in some horrible places.

If we were to provide some constructive criticism, the room we stayed in (a superior ocean room) looked a little tired and the furniture could do with an upgrade, and service in the bar can take a long time when it is very busy - but these are very very minor points when compared against the overall experience. We would come back here again without hesitation, and we are already looking at some of the other Lux locations to try next.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Grand Gaube

Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX Grand Gaube Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Grand Gaube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.