We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Grand Gaube

Save Saved
You added LUX Grand Gaube to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LUX Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 25-35% off + more !!!
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Grand Gaube
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Amazing experience. The service was the best I can remember. From the restaurants and bars to our guy Reedoo on the beach finding us sun loungers.
We had to change rooms after the first day due to some work going on in the opposite rooms but as soon as we told the front deck, David made sure we had the best room available considering they were fully booked.
From there we had the most relaxing and comfortable stay. The food is excellent so is the drinks and coffee bar.
The little touches like the Free phone booth to call home, secret bar and messages in the bottle were great.
Highly recommend anyone to seriously look at this hotel as a wonderful holiday experience.

Room Tip: A room facing the beach is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,360
    308
    92
    36
    12
See reviews for
321
1180
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the moment my husband and i arrived, we were made to feel special. Our room was large, comfortable and had a magnificent view over the lagoon and sea!
The toiletries in the room were superb with lovely aromatherapy fragrances, big fluffy white gowns and pure paradise!
one is made to feel very special by the staff and special attention is paid to all of their guests, particularly if it is a special occasion such as honeymoons, anniversaries or birthdays. it was our anniversary and the chef made a special sit down private dinner, next to the poolside to celebrate.
we have traveled extensively through the years but we were pleasantly surprised by all the special touches and the 'fun' but very classy atmosphere. 'The secret bar', 'red telephone booth', where guests can make FREE phone calls to loved ones and the 'message in a bottle' all of the little touches which make this place special. we will definitely recommend this to all our friends and would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 day stay at the LUX and it was fantastic. We travelled with BA from Edinburgh via Gatwick. From the moment we arrived which was 8am the staff couldn't do enough for us. Was were given hot towels and a drink whilst checking in. We were concerned that we might have a long wait till out room was ready but we were shown where to go for breakfast and when we finished we were shown to our room. We were delighted to have been upgraded to an ocean superior room which was lovely. The room was the the second furthest room in the hotel (1030) but walking through the beautiful garden was such a pleasure. Our room was the perfect spot to watch the sunset every night. The staff were great couldn't do enough for us and treated us like friends. The food was by far the best we have ever had in any hotel and they had a great choice, something for everyone. The beach Manager (the cat in the hat) made sure that we wanted for nothing leaving flowers on our lounger when we came back from breakfast. The staff in the bar were amazing having our wine topped up for us all night. Could go on and on too much to say as this hotel was indeed paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Discovering your review was a very pleasant moment, and I would like to thank you for it !
We are all grateful to you for having take of your time to recommend the special service you have received from the team, and more particularly from Reedoo, our beach manager. He owns this very important area, and runs his team by example. I am still amaze by all his little and personal touches. Thank you very much for having mentioned it in your review.
Thank you also for your great comments on the food, it will be my great pleasure to congratulate Olivier, our Chef and his team on your behalf.
I will also make sure to relay yours comments to our gardeners team. I am sure they will greatly appreciate your comments on their passionate work.
The entire team joins me in thanking you for having shared those moments with us. We look forward to welcome you back to Lux Grand Gaube.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The first thing I want to say is that Mauritius itself is a wonderful place, so green and lush and the people are great, therefore we are not at all disappointed with the destination.

We booked with British Airways and had a direct flight which was good, but 12 hours is long, and perhaps a stop off at Dubai would be a better way of travelling (overnighter) just to make the whole thing more comfortable. The flight with BA meant that we arrived early at the Hotel, and had a 4 hour wait for our room, we were accommodated with shower rooms so we could change and sit on the beach for a while - but when you are tired from a flight you just want your room.

The hotel itself is set is beautiful grounds with well looked after gardens, and a driving range for those looking to practise their golf. There are two swimming pools, but not very big, and we didn't use either one. The beach itself was smaller than the pictures leave you to believe, but in a very pretty bay. However, the water is very shallow and full of vegetation, seaweed growth, not sure really but it did mean that we had to search for clear patches just to have a bit of a swim. Unfortunately it was not a beach for snorkelling, which was a huge disappointment. The all inclusive package includes a trip on a glass bottom boat, which again was nothing to write home about - but at least it was free and we saw some fish and lovely coral.

There is also a two man sea plane which you can hire (one person and the pilot) for a half hour flight around the area, my husband did this and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cost worked out at about 250 m rupees.

Now the room. We booked the Superior Ocean View room, this was on the ground floor, and we definitely got the ocean view - however the little outside area with table and chairs was not far from the path that everyone took to go to and from the restaurants - so not very private. The furniture in the room was very dated, and unfortunately looking very tired... we couldn't open or shut some of the drawers. The bathroom is open plan with some bamboo roller blinds for privacy if you need it, with the toilet in a separate room (small and claustrophobic).

The food - was very good, in fact we really enjoyed everything we ate, and felt the selection for breakfast and evening buffet was excellent. There is an excellent restaurant called the Beach on the far side of the beach itself, with Mediterranean cuisine, mainly French influences and again that was excellent. We went there for lunch a couple of times, but if you want to use it in the evening you need to book and it gets booked up quickly. The other restaurant below the buffet area, the name escapes me was open at lunch and dinner, but the food was not as good. I would definitely stick to the Buffet or the Beach restaurant and you will not be disappointed. Now one of the lovely things about the island is its lovely array of birdlife, but they did have a tendency to dive onto your food if you left it unattended - a couple of times I caught them drinking out of the smoothies left out in the morning for breakfast - so we steered clear of anything not covered up in case of bird poop, for lack of better words.

Lux Grande Gaube is in the most Northern part of the island and there is nowhere nearby with easy access to restaurants, shopping etc...although you can get a local bus or taxis and the whole place feels pretty safe and relaxed. A car would be an advantage too. We caught a glimpse of Grand Gaube centre on one of our excursions and it looked pretty good.

Overall I would say that if you are planning a trip to Mauritius choose another hotel and look to book a hotel with easier access to Mauritius life. I heard a few people talking about Long Beach, which sounded hopeful, but do your research, if you want to snorkel and swim then Lux Grande Gaube is not for you. If you are looking for contemporary 5 star accommodation you will not find it here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up, not on the Ground Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Greeting from Lux Grand Gaube.
I thank you for having take of your time for sharing your experience with us. This certainly help us to become better and correct what need to be so.
We understand that arriving so early after a long flight, your primary expectation is to rest in your accommodation. We are pleased to escort our guests to their room upon their arrival whatever the time is, depending of the room availability. I do apology we were not in the measure to do so due to the high occupation of the previous day.
I have also noted your comment on your accommodation. Even if all our rooms enjoy a great view on the lagoon, some of them are located close to the beach and therefore may not be as private as the ones located further. We are however very keen to propose alternatives to our guests depending on their aspiration. I am extremely sorry you had encountered some defects with the drawers, this definitely should have been corrected right away.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurants, especially the buffet and our menus at the Beach restaurant where both, chef Deepak, and Jean Philippe the restaurant manager, lead their team to ensure each experience is a celebration. I regret however that your dinner at Abalone restaurant was not at the level of your others dining experiences. I have share this perception with our Executive Chef Olivier who joined us two months ago.
I am glad to know that you have enjoyed some others aspects of your experience such as the sea plane, or the work of our gardeners team who put a lot of energy and passion in maintaining our garden.
I again take the opportunity to apologize for the shortfalls you have mentioned. I thank you for the time taken to review our resort and I hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 12 days of our honeymoon at this hotel, and overall it was a relaxing, stressfree quality experience - informal, not stuffy and a high standard. We particularly loved the special little touches that just kept coming, ie sushi snacks in room, bubbly and fruit platter, gifts, special offers of spa treatments, flowers in the room... I don't think this was just especially for us as we were aware of others getting similar.
The staff where amazing - customer care was excellent - friendly, courteous and immaculately dressed. Whilst the restaurants menu's where varied,and food high standard, maybe a weekly rotation could be suggested for those lucky enough to be there for 2 weeks.
Another suggestion would be that there is an allocated quiet child free area (maybe Banyan pool) for couples when peace and tranquility is preferred on a 'special occasion' holiday. The dance area was also taken over by young children running around until late, when it should have been adult-time!! We are keen dancers, but did not dance once during our stay there because of this. These latter comments are of course personal, but as a romantic honeymoon destination, we did not bargain for a taste of 'holiday camp' life. We loved the hotel and island, and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: No where was noisy, room are well soundproofed, depends how far you want to be away from the bar. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Karen,
Thank you so much for your appreciation of your recent visit. It was an honor for us, and the greatest of the reward, to have the pleasure of welcoming you especially for such a special celebration
As you have outlined it, people are the real gem of the resort with their great passion, and authentic will to help our guests celebrate life. I am indeed very proud of all of them.
I am also delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the food at the hotel, and I will take your recommendation with our chef Olivier.
Once again, thank you and look forward to have another opportunity to serve you in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and knew we'd made the right choice staying here. You quickly notice and appreciate that the staff go the extra mile in ensuring thier guests are happy and enjoying there holiday as much as they possibly can.
Rudy, from the guest relations team, in partuicular, exceeded what i would have expected from a hotel member of staff. Truly a great credit to the team there.

As you spend more time here you begin to notice that all of the staff are friendly, caring and willing to help you in which ever way they can. I really have never come accross such friendly and yet professional staff before. The management need to be commended for this.

We enjoyed our stay greatly and were lucky to have a newly refurbished room. During the end of our stay we noticed that many more rooms were being refurbuished so hopefully they will all be completed soon.

The food is of a very standard. Even the buffet is good. The stand out restaurant being our favourite.(book this before your arrival to avoid disappointment)!

Nice beach and pool area. Yes its manmade but that really wasnt an issue for us. If you want to see a picture prefect beach then head to Mont Choisy which is a 25 minute drive away. Just perfect! Just remember to order your packed lunch or your picnic hamper - which is a sight to behold! - 24hrs in advance.

The special touches like the "secret bottle" free calls home from the phone box, cooking classes and all the activities that the staff organise really help enhance your stay.

All in all i have nothing bad to say about this hotel and hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Car-UK
Thank you very much for your beautiful review!
All the team is so delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your experience at Lux Grand Gaube, especially Rudy you had the kindness to recommend. Like so many others, he makes the difference through his humility and genuine will to help others celebrate life.
Thank you as well for having commented on the food. The Kitchen team is very happy to see that their hard work is greatly appreciated, especially Olivier, our Chef who joined us recently.
Your appreciation is a great reward for all the team and gives us confidence to carry on in this direction.
I hope we will have one day the great opportunity to welcome you back at Lux Grand Gaube.
Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the welcome to the leaving you felt you were special. Room upgraded to Deluxe with a lovely view of the lagoon and sea. Grounds large so plenty of areas to walk and several pools and baches to choose from.
Perhaps going before the School holidays resulted in everywhere being so calm and peaceful and no queues for the buffet. Buffet was themed but food was of a good quality and variety however we preferred the A La Carte restaurants which needed to be booked which we did ASAP, So from the third day we ate at these. Perfect setting food well prepared and excellant especially the freshly cooked seafood however menu could perhaps be changed or slightly extended.


All staff where very friendly and helpful from Rebecca in the Restaurant to Fransesca in the buffet the final coffee with the Manager after we had checked out and everyone else.

We also appreciated the extras Lux provides that makes it feel different including free calls home, secret cocktail cupboards,special coffees

The evening of star gazing was another difference and we saw Saturn through this portable telescope.

Finally no need to get up early to put towels on seats as we always found plenty of spare and we liked the nice touch of hammocks and tents to give more shade

Nothing bad to say plenty to do but suggest go All Inclusive as otherwise costs soon mount up

As to excursions we booked through the Internet using Mauritius Attractions, where for a good price you can personalise your own trip instead of spending time at places or shops you may not wish to.

Recommend the Blue Bay Marine Park and Ile Aux Aigrettes Nature Reserve but did not see any whales on another trip

Great Holiday and we will certainly look at the LUX Brand in he future

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Gill,
Greetings from Lux Grand Gaube.
Thank you very much for sharing this fantastic feed back with us.
We are so happy to lean that you have enjoyed your stay, and furthermore, it is very kind of you to recommend some of the team members who made the difference, especially Rebecca at the Kitchen who always greets her guests with a cheerful and genuine smile, and Francesca who is radiant with joy.
I am also delighted to see that you have enjoyed some of the unique experiences created by LUX, such as the free calls in our telephone booth, or our fantastic Cafe Lux, a combination of good location, great coffee and amazing Barista. All the team is constantly challenged to innovate and create others surprising experience of this kind.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you in a near future.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LUX Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Grand Gaube

Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Grand Gaube 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your LUX Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX Grand Gaube Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Grand Gaube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.