We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Grand Gaube

Save Saved
You added LUX Grand Gaube to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LUX Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 25-35% off + more !!!
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Grand Gaube
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel this month having booked through Trailfinders (who are v good). Went to Mauritius for 2 weeks to introduce my extended family to my 4 month old daughter. So having spent 1 week with my parents and doing the whirlwind tour of the Island and my relatives, my wife and I were very ready for 6 nights comfort and relaxation at Lux Grande Gaube.

We were not disappointed. In fact our expectations were surpassed in many ways.

We were initially worried about our daughter not settling in. We had dragged her across the world, via 2 flights (Emirates were really good btw) and she had settled into a routine at her grandparents house, so there was a very real danger that she would not have anymore change enforced on her and be irritable during our 6 night stay.

We needn't have worried. The Lux brand prides itself on the calmness and rest it conveys to its clients. It works...it works very well!

Firstly, the Reception team really appreciate children (possibly due to the rarity of having such young babies stay at the hotel). Secondly, and most importantly, the management team have ensured the whole hotel is geared to facilitating your well being, whether that's through unobtrusive service to ensuring someone gets round to unlock your hotel safe within the 5 minutes promised (they were standing at our room door before I had got back from Reception!)

The facilities are extensive and I was impressed how much was included in the price. For instance, pretty much all watersports are included (rings, water-skiing, wakeboarding etc). This is not necessarily the case at other 4* & 5* hotels in Mauritius.

There's also a well stocked gym (manned by Chrisitna, who is brilliant), 4 tennis courts, children's centre (available from early morning to pretty late at night), cinema (watched the mighty Spurs lose one afternoon), games room (ping pong table, pool, arcade games etc), 2 main swimming pools (looked after by Amit who, to my embarrasment, taught me a thing or two about water polo), ...etc. I could go on, but I don't want to bore you with Lux's fabulousness.

My favourite aspects about Lux Grande Gaube is Coffee shop, expertly run by Satish and the people who work at Lux. Satish (who is the grandmaster of everything football) is an example of someone who loves his work and making people happy. However, he is not alone as all his colleagues have the same outlook and this is what makes Lux a success. To his credit Brice Lunot manages his team in a way that ensures his ethos filters through to the guests. I mean how many General Managers do you see regularly in and around the hotel, talking to guests and also doing a quick spot of hedge pruning (I spotted him doing this one day, he probably didn't realise he was doing it)?!? I also note that the Lux team treated all nationalities even handedly, without any obvious favouritism to locals etc.

I haven't even talked about the stunning location, the high standard cuisine (including the buffet that does its best to cater for all, including an 'Indian Corner' everyday for those who are from the sub-continent or just love curries), the brilliant Spa (best scrub and massage I've ever had) etc. You must get the gist by now...

Lux does Luxury with Boutique style very well. The quirks (secret bar, screen in the beach and free water bottles) and accent on Eco-friendly (herb garden etc) is well maintained.

A special thank you to Diren, Jai and J-P (making our dining experiences comfortable with the little one, Navina (I think Issy will remember you!) and the ladies at the Spa.

Just a word for those travelling with babies or toddlers, we found going HB was fine as we weren't really drinking (a glass of wine is reasonably priced if you are from UK, at around £4/£5) and the village of Grande Gaube is within 15/20 mins walk and there are kiosks that sells decent supplies (including Mauritian delicacies like gateau pimient - a chickpea and coriander snack). If you are feeling adventurous there is a bus station at the entrance of the hotel that can take you to Goodlands (15 minute journey) which as a supermarket called Winners. A single trip is 25 rupees (50 pence).

Anyway, thanks Lux Grande Gaube. Hopefully, we'll back soon (and this time, I won't wimp out and I'll try the water-skiing), Jason, Jo and Iswari

Room Tip: Room 6007 was perfect for us. Close to Reception, on ground floor and a short hop to beach which it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,460
    317
    92
    36
    12
See reviews for
356
1257
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had some good times for our stay of 6 nights.But it could have been more wonderful if the hotel cared more of its guests.First of all we were not given the preferential rate for Mauritian as we are Mauritians.We booked the junior suite which was very nice,spacious and very intimate.The hotel infrastructure was very well designed combine with lots of greenery which makes it even more relaxing,calming.However we could not enjoyed the pool.The water was so cold.In addition to that the food was horrible.The food buffet lacks taste.The pastries were not fresh at all.For the remaining 2 restaurants only 3 main course namely pizza,fish in some kind of yellow sauce,vindaloo and 2 deserts we found nice.Otherwise the remaining not worth for what hotels charged.Finally i booked for the spa services on the day we had our private dinner.It seems the personnel lacks experience,I did a facial but still i was not satisfied with the end result.I did not have the feeling that my skin is breathing and 100% fresh.But one can enjoy the sauna and jacuzzi. So charging Rs 11000 per night is not fair for such an average service.

Room Tip: The junior suite is perfect for couple who wants to be away from disturbance and also have a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from our Honeymoon at Grand Lux Gaube. Amazing resort, wonderful attentive staff and fab accommodation. The minute we arrived after a long flight, we were made to feel so genuinely welcome. The Deluxe Room was spacious with a beautiful view and was kept clean and well presented throughout our stay. We would like to say a huge thank you to every single member of staff from the cleaners to the management, truly exceptional people. Big thanks to Niteesh and Reedo on the beach for keeping us topped up with ice cool drinks and amazing lunches, without us having to move off the beach beds!! They were both amazing. Marc in the restaurants was always there with a pleasant smile and excellent service. Beautiful cove location, 5 * treatment. Thoroughly recommend this hotel. The Worthingtons

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

After being in transit for 18 hours from a chilly Newcastle we were met with the warmest of welcomes both literally and metaphorically at Lux Grand Gaube.

We were greeted by Annabel almost before the taxi wheels had stopped turning, with a Mauritian smile which would become the signature of all the staff across our 12 night honeymoon stay in October 2012. 

Our bags were whisked away and we we presented will drinks and refreshing towels as the check in procedures were completed. A quick guided tour of the hotel and we were escorted to our Junior Suite, (2nd floor, great views etc) which was spacious and peaceful, ready for some total relaxation.

There is absolutely nothing to fault here and everything to recommend. We booked (via, Destinology, who I can also highly recommend) the Infinity all inclusive package and would advise this, as the choice of food and drinks are excellent at all meal times and in between. Three restaurants and a different themed buffet option each day (Indian on Friday was our favourite!!) means you will never tire of the food. 

There are also a number of activities arranged by the hotel, both land and sea-based which were also included as part of the package.

I don't really want to single anyone out but he goes!!  Special thanks to Diren and Simla in the restaurant, Ravi in the Bar (For keeping the Mrs stocked up on cocktails!!) Reedoo (The boss of the beach!!) and Kumar (He is a walking Ceefax for all the latest football info from the UK!!! And he does a mean line in cold beer too!!)

Overall this is quite simply the best holiday experience of mine and my new wife's lives. You will not go wrong here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for your very kind review which outlines some aspect of your experience at Lux Grand Gaube.
We are all grateful for having take of your time to recommend the special service you have received from the team, and more particularly form Annabell and her Mauritian smile upon your arrival. Thank you has well for mentioning others stars as Simla at the Kitchen restaurant. She is very good at remembering every guest making the welcome at the restaurant very special, Diren also who brilliantly runs the restaurant, and Ravi at the bar, another exceptional personality.
You have perfectly described Reedoo as the Boss of the beach. He literally owns this very important area, and runs his team very well by example. He and Kumar are exceptional in every aspect, doing everything by passion with the highest integrity.
Thank you also for your great comments on the food, it will be my great pleasure to congratulate the team on your behalf.
I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the future.
Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at LUX Grand Gaube in extreme Northern part of Mauritius ... enchanting and exotic resort , lovely people and amazingly helpful and great hospitality from every member of the Grand Resort. This resort delights at every turn ... impromptu cinema screenings to musical
performances , Spa , complimentary water sports like snorkelling , scuba diving , Glass Boat drive in mid sea watching glorious underwater Corals and sea animals , Paragliding , Kayaks , Cycling etcetc . Have lovely Restuarants too catering to all tastes and an added attraction was that they have an Indian Cook too who used to keep us delighted by serving at least one meal a day to our taste.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Greeting from LUX* Grand Gaube,
thank you for having take of your time to post this comment on Trip Advisor. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward.
I am glad you have enjoyed your time in Mauritius and particularly the service provided by our passionate team, especially from the boat house and the restaurant.
Thank you as well for your nice comment on our Chef from India, Singh, it will be my great pleasure to congratulate him on your behalf. He has a real passion for cooking and sharing his knowledge within the team.
Thank you again for appreciating our services and features, I hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours
Brice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from another amazing holiday at the Lux Grand Gaube - this was our fourth holiday here and it never fails to please. Everything about it is superb - the eye for detail from the staff, the care and attention they put into every aspect of your holiday, the genuine and friendly approach from the staff - all of them - and the excellent quality of every aspect of the provision - accommodation, location, activities, food, everything. It has had a relaunch as Lux* from Legends so we were a little apprehensive this time but they have kept everything we liked about it and added a few nice touches - such as a free phone box to call home, a new coffee station with a wonderful barista - as well as all the usuals - limitless and excellent water sports (my husband waterskied every day - and three or four turns per day not just one) - wonderful spa, sumptuous food, excellent choice of cocktails, great variety of food in the restaurants and good live entertainment each evening. You never get the feeling that the hotel is too full and the level of staff care and attention is faultless - with staff on the beach taking your order for drinks, cleaning your sunglasses and even bringing you cucumber slices for your eyes! The hotel is superbly managed by Mr Brice Lunot who takes a personal interest in each of his guests and spends time each day talking with them, making them feel special and asking their opinions. The boat house team are super and never tire of helping you learn to sail, windsurf or wakeboard and there is a wonderful range of outings and excursions they can offer you, including the light airplane ride from the beach to see the resort and island from the air - not to be missed. The rooms are spacious, very clean and well appointed. All in all, highly recommended in every way - we will certainly be going back again! Good idea to opt for the all inclusive - it is not that much more but you will certainly get your money's worth from it and you can stop worrying about what it is costing, just sign the magic bills that always say £0!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX Grand Gaube, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Greetings from LUX Grand Gaube,
Thank you very much for your review and your nice comments. Your feed back was particularly important for us as a loyal guest of the hotel, I am glad you have appreciated the changes and improvement.
I keep a very good memory of our conversation at the Café Lux counter, and it will be by pleasure to pass your regards and congratulations to the hotel Barista Satish.
Your others comments on the food, activities, SPA, beach team and the service is a fantastic reward for the team, thank you very much.
I have started to study the cricket rules and hope to be a specialist before your next visit!
It was a great pleasure for us to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at the hotel.
Sincerely Yours,
Brice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife, ten year old daughter and I just got back after a week's stay at the LUX Grand Gaube ! We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay at this beautiful hotel. Just about liked everything the hotel had to offer and there is a lot they do offer - be it the fantastic views, friendly staff, great food, numerous complimentary activities for the family and ofcourse the very nice rooms. There is just so much to do at the hotel provided you get tired of relaxing :)
Being vegetarians from India and a family that is picky and choosy about eating only Indian food, we had a little trouble with the buffet spreads for dinner. The moment we mentioned this to the staff, they prepared great Indian veg food and made it available every evening - such attention to ensure we were comfortable made us love the place that much more.
The only small suggestion to the hotel would be to label and distinguish the veg food ( with a green dot on the label, for eg ) from the non veg food in the buffet spread so that we dont have to constantly keep asking the waiters if a particular item has meat or not.
Also to note is that this hotel is at the northern most tip of the island and you need to be prepared for slightly long drives ( 1.5 hours ) through traffic to visit the tourist attractions that are mostly at the south of the island. But that's a small price to pay for the fantastic experience at the hotel ! We'd definitely go back to stay here the next time we are at Mauritius !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Grand Gaube

Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Grand Gaube 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX Grand Gaube Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Grand Gaube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.