We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent hotel for a relaxing holiday. Staff are superb and make you feel welcome from the start. Nothing is too much trouble. The room were large and well furnished and for once had enough wardrobe space and hangers. All areas were very clean and plenty of sun beds. Food was excellent. We tried the al a carte on the beach and it was worth every penny. The lamb chops were plentiful and cooked to perfection and the chicken kebab was excellent - well worth a try.
The only downside was the location, nothing really around the hotel if you wanted a walk outside but that said it was relaxing. Entertainment on every night until 11pm and after that no noise what so ever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    208
    69
    30
    7
See reviews for
53
494
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I can honestly suggest Veranda Paul! Really superb service and very friendly staff, they really had customer first focus and priority. The rooms were very clean and well equipped, common areas were clean and comfortably equipped. Food was very good. We travel quite extensively and really I have no "enhancement suggestions" to the hotel, one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had, even compared to 5-star hotels.

Few things a traveller should be aware of; The beach is pretty small and average. Also Grand Gaube -area is not yet so populated, so all the external commercial/pubs/shops are not near (15 minutes taxi travel). If you intend to stay mostly relaxing in the hotel, I suggest you take the all inclusive -package (cheaper than separately purchasing dinner or drinks).

We wanted a peacefull place with the possibility to attend activities (like scuba diving) and we definately got value for the money.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room towards the sea and it was nice to go to swimming pool area/beach directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Romantic escape ahead of the great Christmas Holidays rush...Coming from South Africa, we've read all about it on TRIP ADVISOR ahead of our trip - and indeed we knew PRECISELY what to expect...We were not disappointed at all, but as a piece of advice: It is one of the farthest away places on the Island from the Airport and the Center, which could be seen both as a blessing as well as a hindrance...Due to above, our week there amounted in fact to 7 nights and only 6 days, as we arrived very late on the first evening and had to leave the place at dawn on our departure day, this way losing in fact an entire day there ! But the Hotel was well geared for above nuisance, and we were provided with a nice hot Dinner upon our late Arrival, as well as a very early Breakfast on our early Departure...I'd rate the place as a 4 Star in terms of amenities, but it's a bit isolated in terms of Entertainment opportunities, no Nightlife at all - but we were made aware of it beforehand...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were slightly disappointed after the first day but when we accepted it was a 3 star hotel, it grew on us. Most of the staff are lovely, some are excellent. Room was clean and kept very nice through out our stay. We were in room 123, probably the best view we've ever had. Close to the bar, dining room and pool but never noisy. The food was good, not much choice and not enough western dishes but all very tasty, we were never hungry and often surprised by enjoying things we might not have chosen with more choice. (Slightly contradicting) Ending the all inclusive at 11pm is not good but the fact we didn't have the option to stay up later and purchase drinks did put a dampner on some evenings. Stopping the all inclusive at 11pm on New Years Eve was petty and un called for. The hotel sets the price so why not add a bit for the one night extension? Fireworks at midnight were good, had to get a beer from the mini bar in our room so we could toast the new year.....
We could have done with an information pack with things to do and see, also about the day swap with other Veranda hotels on the island.
We met some lovely people and overall had a great stay. We would go back as the location was excellent for us. A deeper pool and no kids would have been a bonus.

Room Tip: Higher up for the best view or lower down for easy pool and beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We took your comments regarding the all-inclusive hours and the information pack into consideration and we will do our best to reach a satisfactory outcome.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The resort is rated as 3 1/2 stars, but the service is far superior. This was a lovely resort, smaller than some others on the island, small beach so at times not enough loungers available, but not a problem as there were 2 swimming pools as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful and accommodated our various requests in a professional manner. The meal buffets are fairly limited, but if you are visiting for a week, they are adequate as too many choices always result in over eating anyway.

The spa is a MUST..... 7 Colours Spa offers the most magical massages that transport any stressed traveller to paradise. The staff at the Spa are very professional and go out of their way to make the Spa experience really special.... a must is the Musical Massage!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room, preferably on the 1st or 2nd floor, the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We took your comments regarding the all-inclusive hours and the information pack into consideration and we will do our best to reach a satisfactory outcome.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul & Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent a week here in November on the all inclusive package and really enjoyed our stay.

This hotel definitely exceeded our expectations of a 3.5 star hotel (especially on the food front which is something we worried about having read mixed reviews). We booked a superior room which was on the top floor with great views of the sea from the balcony. On arrival we had two beds pushed together instead of a double, when we mentioned this they swapped the beds the next morning for us with no problems. The minibar is stocked with bottles of beer, coke, water and fruit juice and restocked daily. We had wifi in our room too.

There were always plenty of sunbeds, and as a couple the double sunbeds were great. We used the pedalos and went on the glass bottomed boat to snorkel (which we would definitely recommend). We didn't actually venture out of the complex so can't comment on transport or other things in the area. The drive from the airport was 1 - 1.5 hours and cost 2000rupees (£40 roughly).

In terms of food and drink, we were very impressed. Spirit measures are large, which is always welcome. Breakfast is always buffet with pastries, cereal, bread, fruit, yoghurt, fried breakfast and eggs and omelette cooked at your request. Lunch was sometimes 'a la carte' and sometimes buffet. Choices on the menu days can be a little interesting, (fish and cheese panini?!) but still good. Dinner was always the winner though. Loads of fresh salads, we saw every kind of meat on offer but things that really stood out were the curries (no surprise) and anything with fresh fish. We would quite often go up for seconds once we'd worked out the best dishes on offer that night. There's a green chilli paste and pickles that they put out some nights that are great if you like spicy food. Yes you have to sign for everything on all-inclusive but if you know this before you go it's really not much of a pain.

In terms of service, in general everyone was very friendly and helpful. I mentioned before arriving that it was our anniversary during our stay and one night we were presented with a chilled bottle of sparkling wine in our room and then with a cake on another night after dinner and staff expressed their congratulations. This was very much appreciated.

The only disappointment is that there was a large wedding party staying with children at the same time as us. Though the hotel can't help this, it did impact a bit on our stay, for example we had hoped to eat in the restaurant on the pier on the night of our anniversary only to find out it was fully booked out by the wedding party and that loud, disco music was played until the early hours which spoilt the 'relaxing' part of the evening.

Overall we had a great time, it was very romantic and we would return if only we could afford it!

Room Tip: There are only 3 floors but higher up rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul & Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the inconvenience that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Kaviraj Bunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul & Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spent a wonderful week at Paul & Virginie, Grand Gaube, Mauritius with close family members.
This trip was arranged only in November 2013 and we were very lucky to get accommodation at this hotel. Really good for honeymooners and older people who would like to have a more peaceful holiday!. Overall impression of the hotel : good and excellent food. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a wonderful view of the sea and beach. The reception staff most informative and welcoming. Found drinks in the hotel very expensive and more should be done to promote this hotel - placing brochures and information in the rooms. Will I again stay at this hotel in future? Yes.

Room Tip: Room 422 on top floor - beautiful view and quiet - away from the pool and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul & Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the inconvenience that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Kaviraj Bunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul & Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.