We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morpeth, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is just such a perfect place for just chilling. Admittedly it's in the middle of nowhere but since we only ventured across the road once during the 10 days, it really didn't matter. Be prepared to get your exercise in the following manner : walk to restaurant for breakfast, walk to beach, walk to restaurant for lunch, walk to beach, walk to bar for post lunch cocktails, walk to beach, walk to bar for pancakes, walk back to beach, walk to room, walk to bar. Wander back to room. Repeat x 10. We really really did mean to do other things but its just so relaxing here that we really couldn't summon up the will to leave.

Staff look after you brilliantly, really making you feel welcome and almost part of the establishment.

Other guests seem to be really friendly too.. Whether that is because every second person is on honeymoon and so is loved up anyway! Or maybe this place is just a secret club that we inadvertently joined, I'm not sure. Either way it added to the vibe.

Not sure about the need for "entertainment" every night, a couple of nights just letting guests chat with back ground music would have been good, but having said that the DJ choices were inspiring. Not often hotel djs play sex pistols or ac dc alongside the more usual offerings.

If it weren't 12 hours from here it would definitely be my hotel of choice for our annual chill out.

Definitely recommend 100%

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for recommending Veranda Paul et Virginie. We genuinely strive for perfection, and the suggestions that you provided about the night entertainment will help us build and improve on the road ahead.

Yes, there is "love is all around" atmosphere at Veranda Paul et Virginie, probably because it was named after Mauritius' most iconic couple, from the novel of Bernadin de Saint-Pierre "Paul et Virginie". A novel that we truly recommend if you wish to know more about the history of Mauritius. The peaceful and romantic vibe is also due to the fact that it is an adult-only resort, with no mini-club.

We do hope you that you shall come back again.
Thanking you once again for your visit.

Kaviraj Bhunjun

Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    245
    83
    33
    7
See reviews for
58
612
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My new wife and I had a wonderful honeymoon here. Although the hotel does not have the big beaches (it only has a small one) like the other hotels, it also does not have the big families either which made it perfect for our honeymoon.

We enjoyed the all inclusive option and seriously recommend this. The staff were super friendly and the food was great (especially the Marlin).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Congratulations again on your wedding.

Many thanks for sharing your travel experience on this website as it was a real pleasure hosting you at Veranda Paul et Virginie and reading that you really did enjoy the kindness of our local staff as well as the food is a reward.

We are all very pleased that you did enjoy your stay at Veranda Paul et Virginie, rewarding our passion for true Mauritian hospitality.

We wish you many years of happiness in your married life and we look forward to welcome you again to celebrate your future wedding anniversaries.

Thanking you once again for your visit.

Clifford Pierre-louis

Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just back from an amazing 12 night stay. Booked via BA Holidays - flights, transfers & hotel - it was more than we could of expected. From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the last minute before we left, the staff went out of their way to get to know us & to make sure that everything & anything was just as we wanted. The room was lovely & serviced every day. The food was plentiful & very varied, topped off with pancakes & cocktails in the afternoon on the terrace. All Inclusive makes it all so easy & everything we wanted appeared to be included. Sumertimes Rep Jennifer popped in regularly & helped organise trips out, otherwise we enjoyed the fantastic temperatures & wonderful hospitality of the hotel staff. We have made some very good friends from our stay here that may well result in a group return trip in the future. If we could get back on a flight this coming weekend, we would, it was that good.
However, very sad to see the news of the storms in Port Louis this past weekend. The weather is so "local" on the island & the north where the hotel is located always seemed one of the best places on the island. Don't let this put you off from visiting the island or this hotel. You are assured of a very warm welcome!

Room Tip: BA Holidays gave us access to 1 of the 12 Privilege rooms but all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Many thanks for sharing your travel experience on this website as it was a real pleasure hosting you at Veranda Paul et Virginie and reading that you really did enjoy the kindness of our local staff as well as the rooms, food and cocktails is a reward.

We are glad that had the opportunity to view the beauty of Mauritius during your recent stay and that you both had a great time.

Thank you for encourage others to visit our beautiful island and we would to reiterate that the awful rains in Port-Louis were a one-off and do not usually happen to that extent.

We do hope you that you shall come back again.
Thanking you once again for your visit.

Clifford Pierre-louis

Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 9 night stay. Right from our arrival we were treated with the utmost courtesy. The hotel is lovely and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We had a superior room which was clean, spacious and had a great view. The gardens and grounds are delightful and well maintained. The beach is small but adequate. The all inclusive cocktails don't seem to have the same amount of alcohol as you may find in cocktails to pay for! The meals are plentiful and tasty. We met a couple whose husband wasn't keen on the food and the chef catered for him individually. The seafood restaurant is also excellent but be warned - if you have the seafood platter it is huge! We didn't realise we would get one each and we couldn't manage to finish it. If doubt then share one. We also made use of the spa and had a fabulous full body massage. This is the place to go if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. If it is a holiday with a lively nightlife you want then this won't be the place for you. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Paul and Virginie and would definitely go back there. In fact, I wish I was there now....

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view. Ground floor rooms open out directly onto the garden. 1st and 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your travel experience on this website as it was a real pleasure hosting you at Veranda Paul et Virginie and reading that you really did enjoy the kindness of our local staff as well as the food, drinks and atmosphere is a reward.

Thank you for your feedback on the amount of the alcohol in the All inclusive cocktails, we will work on improving the amount of alcohol in the beverage to suit the maximum of our guests.

We do hope you that you shall come back again.
Thanking you once again for your visit.

Clifford Pierre-louis

Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent nice 11days in this resort only bad point was that they offered us standard room instead of superior what we paid for. After one hour waiting room replaced for superior in block 4 on top floor with balcony and great ocean view. Avoid block 5 and 6 they are in the corner of resort with small window dark rooms!
We found that north location worked for us, every time we travelled down to south it was raining there and dry in north.
Nice lagoon much less windy as big beaches on east or west.
We would def come back...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We again apologize for the confusion about the room and the delay in relocating you.
We are all very pleased that you did enjoy your stay at Veranda Paul et Virginie and we are glad you had the opportunity to view the beauty of Mauritius during your recent stay and rewarding our passion for true Mauritian hospitality.
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We genuinely strive for perfection, and the points you mentioned will help us build and improve on the road ahead.

We do hope you that you shall come back again.
Thanking you once again for your visit.

Clifford Pierre-louis

Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday with two other couples who have both been to this hotel before. They had told us how fantastic their previous holidays had been and we soon found out how right they were. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed to the Hotel with a cold drink and cooling towels, we were made to feel very welcome. We were escorted to our rooms via the lovely tropical gardens, which were beatifully maintained with lawns, coconut trees and an abundance of shrubs and flowers. There are two swimming pools, one by the restaurant and bar and the other by the rooms which also overlooked the sea. We had lovely rooms overlooking the sea and pool, which were serviced daily with clean towels and bed linen. There were lovely additional touches when the towels were made into the shapes of swans and other creatures with floral decorations. It was the attention to detail with everything the hotel provided, which made such a difference to the holiday. There are too many people to mention individually but all of the Hotel staff were very attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and the food in the restaurants was varied and imaginative. Most meals were buffet style with a wide choice to suit all tastes. There were a variety of water sports to be enjoyed, most of them included in the price. Boat trips with a BBQ could be arranged with local people for an additonal charge and we enjoyed the first one so much we arranged a second trip to an island in the lagoon. We hope that anyone who decides to go to this Hotel enjoys it as much as we did. We also enjoyed a tour of the island of Mauritius and this can be arranged with a local tour operator. We hope to return to Mauritius again one day and we will certainly return to stay at Paul et Virginie.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in a superior room with lovely views of the gardens and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veranda_Resorts_Mgmt, Hotel Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Janet S,

First of all thank you for taking time to share a review of your experience at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your encouraging comments on our hotel and friendliness and professionalism of our staff, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and even planning to coming back at our beautiful hotel.

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,
Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our third trip to P&V, this time we were accompanied by another two couples and we all had a wonderful stay. Staff were friendly and attentive. All rooms have a full sea view and overlook the beautifully maintained tropical gardens and swimming pools. We stayed on a fully inclusive basis and this includes a wide range of cocktails, wines, spirits and beers. There are three extensive meals available daily plus the additional pleasure of pancakes in the afternoon if you can still find room! The bedrooms have been fully refurbished in the past couple of years and the room service is exemplary. Ideally suited for adults, although children are made welcome. A wide range of water activities is available free including a glass bottomed boat which provides trips out towards the reef for snorkelling and swimming. A highlight might well be a boat and picnic/BBQ day trip, available at an additional cost, with friendly and reliable locals. The whole experience of staying at Paul & Virginie provides wonderful value for money and a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veranda_Resorts_Mgmt, Hotel Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel.
We were truly delighted to welcoming you back at Veranda Paul & Virginie for your third visit. We are equally happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Yours Truly,
Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.