We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - XMAS IN THE SUN
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Grand Baie
Benoni, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We took the all inclusive package,and had a fantastic holiday. Had a perfect view of the pool area, and the bay,from our delightful room. We found the staff to be friendly and the service was good,be prepared to put on a few kilos,because you eat yourself silly, just one bad experience at the restaurant my wife ordered a steak which when served tasted like lamb, so we never went back there, the cocktails are also just thrown together,could do with a bit more attention. But other than that we had a fantastic holiday, I recommend the yacht trip to the east coast of the island, what a treat, we also did 2 good scuba dives fantastic visibility. Best 10 days spent,worth every sent.

Room Tip: Rooms above pool offer a great view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    316
    103
    22
    15
See reviews for
274
557
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we were vey pleasantly surprised with the welcome. The location is perfect, a five minute walk to the centre of Grand Bay. Room was adequate, a few more fluffy towels would have been appreciated. It is in the buffet restaurant where the hotel loses marks. Quality of the food, especially at breakfast is good, however everything for the wait staff seems to a chore. They don't appear to enjoy what they are doing. We constantly had to ask for everything, another cup of coffee or to clear up plates. We arrived one morning at breakfast and there were at least 8 tables in the area we wanted to sit that had not be cleared up from previous diners, I don't expect this in a premium hotel.
Having said that we really enjoyed the four days and we would stay again if we visited Mauritius again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had our first all-inclusive experience and was dreading a plastic artificial holiday experience. Instead, what we got was a friendly, care-free, food filled, rum fuelled 7 days of tropical awesomeness. The people were friendly, the hotel was clean, the food was never ending, the pancakes were great, the activities were abundent, and the waiters efficient. We were given an upgrade to our room on arrival which we turned down in favour of a view. We had an especially nice bartender and very friendly room cleaning guy. If we had to complain about something, it would be that the snorkeling sucks, but who needs that on honemoon anyway? Catamaran cruises are a must even if the snorkeling isn't much compared to other island holiday destinations. We'll never forget our time there, it was such an awesome honeymoon, thanks so much to all the people at le mauricia for making it so great!

Gerard & Jonelle

Room Tip: Family rooms are big but don't have a view. Rather go to le cannonier for a family holiday. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night and we had an AMAING ROOM overlooking the turquoise water and white sand
This hotel is SO PERFECT
SERVICE: Great ,right from when we arrived till we left it was an EXCELLENT service from reception ,all waiters ,beautiful people
Food: big buffet tasty food however disappointed that there was hardly any seafood , reasonable price though
Now one thing bad anout the room NO TOOTHPASTE provided in our room that was shocking ! The hotel doesn't give toothpaste
No drink service on the beach which is also a let down
Location : you can't ask for more, best location in the heart of grand bay private beach simply perfect
Water activities : amazing , offer free snorkeling skiing glass bottom ...
Night entertainment : rate 5/5 we had fun
I won't forget the sega man who taught us to sega using the numbers 25,50,75 &100!!!it was so fun
Le Mauricia is an ideal place to stay. We wanted to extend our stay but it was unfortunately fully booked :(

Love Le Mauricia and will be back, hope we get the same room

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE TOWN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family and I have been fortunate enough to have traveled extensively, so when hubby suggested Mauritius, to be honest I wasn't that keen. WOW! Am I so glad he talked me into it. As a family with 13 yr old twins this hotel kept these two busy kids very happy. The leisure staff were our saviours with never ending activities to keep the kids busy which left loads of time for mum and dad to relax enjoy the bottomless awesome cocktails from the bar and I'm not going to complain about the 2kg we each picked up from the delicious food available all day long.
DEFINITELY take the all inclusive package! especially with kids at the age of 'hollow legs'! Included is the mini bar in your room which the kids tended to finish off as well :)
Our rooms, although not what I would call 5 star luxury were comfortable, well situated and cleaned everyday - thanks Dheeraj! Just the towels have been well used so don't expect soft and fluffy.
The staff throughout this resort were always smiling, friendly and helpful - 5 star service.
The Wellness Centre was awesome too - my french has improved with the aerobics class fitness instructor counting down the reps.
Excursions: Talk to the guys at the Boat House they'll organise good rates - thanks Long & Co. Snorkelling - don't expect the Maldives, where we were taken to snorkel at Gabriel Island did leave alot to be desired, marine life ok. The trip itself was great and the staff on the Calypso were fun and the food great. Take along a few rupee to hire a lapa on the beach though as it gets sooooo hot and no one had money so had to sit in the open sun and bake until going back onboard.
DOLPHINS: Think hard before paying the earth for this. The trip is long, the food was adequate and the dolphins were really hard to get close to. We all jumped in to 'swim' with the dolphins but the dolphins had other ideas. Ok I suppose, but was it worth it - hmmmmmmm.
Love the friendliness of the locals too. Make sure you go into Grand Baie Bazaar its about a 10minute walk from the resort.
Thanks to Sanjay Ladsawut and all the staff at Le Mauricia Hotel you guys are providing an experience, will definitely be back!
Joanne G. - Cape Town

Room Tip: Go for the rooms furtherest away from Grand Baie centre, a little more privacy. Also the rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOLIHULL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just back from this very good hotel. The hotel is set in an idyllic location and from the day we arrived to the day we left the service was excellent. We upgraded our room to a superior one at a reasonable cost of about 35 uk pounds per night. This room has a bath and a walk-in shower, a separate toilet. and a small private garden with colourful vegetation all around. The bed was king - size and very comfortable. The service in the buffet restaurant was good and attentive, but the a-la-carte option was a little disappointing. The food options were plenty and varied to suit all tastes. The two pools were superb, being infinity style and a nice comfortable temperature. The evening entertainment was again quite good, with many different things presented in addition to the hotel house-band. Although there were only a few English guests, the other nationalities were all friendly and sociable. The largest majority were from South Africa, and all of these people were polite and friendly. The other good news is that we did not suffer from any insect bites. We would recommend this hotel to couples and families. Also, never a problem getting a sunbed or the shade if required.The hotel beach small but good with the ability to simply walk into the shallow water. nb. Grand Baie itself a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room near the boat-house - these are also on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned overwhelmed by the place .....we really can't put into words how fabulous the hotel and staff were.

We were very fortunate to have our wedding in the grounds of the hotel and it will be the day we remember for the rest of our life.

When we arrived we were treated like kings and queens .... the service and hospitality never stops and the warm welcome you receive is something else

The variety of food would suit any fussy eater ranging from salads to meat dishes and if you like your sweets ,, well lets put it this way, you want be disappointed

The rooms are cleaned to a very high standarded , fresh towels etc etc.....

Trust me you will love the place......

Mr and Mrs Leigh Ford

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel

Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mauricia Grand Baie
Hotel Le Mauricia
Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.