We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very romantic classy atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 20 Degres Sud Hotel to your Saves list
20 Degres Sud Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“a very romantic classy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Coming in from Reunion Island in the morning, we took the easy drive up at the east side of the island (mostly little towns, gives a good first insight on Mauritius). Upon arrival we were welcomed by Vic (a lady whom would take excellent care of us), nice cocktail, efficient check in, amazing that this place gave us immediately the 'zen' effect we were looking for. The set up is very well thought off, beautifully decorated, with everywhere some nice places to sit and relax.

Our 'seaview' room was on the first floor and was really great and large with a huge bathroom, also a terrace with view on the bay, excellent bed, an amazing eye for detail, fresh flowers, fruit basket, in- and outdoor shower, you name it they've got it.. Very relaxing !!

During both nights we had dinner with them (half board) and they show you in a smart way the menu with what's included and what you can order on top (if). We had different experiences on both nights, first one was excellent , no remarks at all, the second night we had a few issues (one starter not what we ordered, 4 different waiters, which seemingly made it difficult for them to follow up on our dinner..) those things although can happen, just a shame that we only got appologized for it (with a gesture) at the end of the our stay, while although having mentioned this instantly to the resto management, we would rather have seen it the other way around.. Breakfast was plenty and excellent again..

While staying here we visited the pamplemousse botanical garden, nice to have a small walk, but further nothing special, much nicer is to go for a drive and look for a nice beach or just stay and relax in the hotel .. We did like especially the fact that they create everywhere and at every moment a classy relaxed atmosphere.

We would definitely recommend this place to every one looking for all what we mentioned above, the owners are present and notice everything, it's a beautiful boutique hotel and they're able to create a very romantic, classy and relaxed atmosphere. This place has 'IT' !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    61
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
317
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in the beginning of May, and overall it was a great experience! The Charm rooms are small, but beautifully decorated. The communal areas and smartly furnished, and there are lots of books and games. The restaurant was also very good, although, vegetarians may struggle because there are only 3 veggie options in the mains. I would have loved to see more fresh salads. Also, I personally felt that the food was a bit overpriced.

One thing that was a bit of a let down, and this will sound strange, was that the bed in our room was ridiculously noisy (told it it will sound strange!). Not only was the frame quite squeaky, but also was the mattress itself incredibly noisy. We thought it was the plastic mattress protector that made the grinding noises, but we removed it and this didn't solve the problem. My partner had to sleep on the floor for a couple of nights to allow me to rest because I was 3 months pregnant at the time. So yes, that was a bit of a spoiler. However, I am sure that had we reported the problem, the staff would probably have helped us. They were all extremely polite and helpful.

One other thing that I would mention, as part of those little details that prevented me to leave a 5-star rating, was that there is a "strict dress code" for the bar and the restaurant in the evening. Some people may like that, but my partner and I found it a bit stressful. He hadn't brought many shirts (why would he on a tropical holiday?!), so we had to stress about washing and drying them in order to comply with these rules. I found this dress code a bit pretentious and totally unnecessary.

Room Tip: Make sure you pack some smart clothes, in particular shirts and shoes for the gentlemen. You will ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel-Bourgeois, Owner at 20 Degres Sud Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments allowing us to improve our service days after days.
I just want to bring a short answer to your remarks concerning the noisy mattress : It's really a pity you did not come to us with this issue as we would have solve the problem immediately by changing this noisy item...
Concerning the dress code, I do not understand your remarks and suggestions to our future guests : we are in fact only asking for the evenings to come with shoes and a trouser in order to avoid too much relaxed guests sometime coming barefoot and in shorts looking like swimming gears...
Honestly, I don't think we are putting too much of a pressure about that, but just trying to keep a smart and distinguished atmosphere during the evenings.

Best regards,

Michel, owner and managing directory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights during our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. The whole set up is designed to make you feel as special as possible, and it totally works. Everything is very personal and friendly. The food is fantastic and generous. Other reviewers have mentioned the half board options at dinner are limited but there's also a daily special, which we had most nights, and it was always delicious. Breakfasts were great and afternoon tea and the free tea and coffee machine by the pool are nice touches.
Being a boutique hotel, each room is different and characterful. Ours was lovely, we had a basic suite and it was roomy, breezy and very clean. There was an outdoor shower (as well as an indoor one), a large bath and 4 different outside sitting/ sun bathing areas, all of which were private and secluded. The pool isn't huge but plenty big enough for our needs. The beach is small but there a large, quiet public beaches a 20min bike ride (or 5 min cab ride).
All of the staff were friendly, professional and seem to be well trained and happy. They made us feel at home and thoroughly spoilt. The owner came to see us off and had bothered to find out from the staff where we were heading etc so it felt personal. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Room 26 has a short flight of steep stairs but it's totally worth it for the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would definitely recommend a stay at this small boutique hotel. Cannot fault anything. We had an amazing room with outdoor bathroom-great to lie in the bath in an evening with a cocktail and gaze up at the sky full of stars!
Staff couldn't do enough for us, were very friendly, polite, helpful and professional. If there is anything you want to know or any advice or assistance in arranging excursions staff will do their utmost to help. We stayed on half board basis. Food was great. Wine was a bit more pricey compared to what we would normally pay when going out for a meal in the UK. The hotel offered a free 'water taxi' into Grand Baie 4 times a day, free hour snorkeling trip each morning, use of hobie cat and kayaks. We went on a bike ride to a nearby beach and also cycled into Grand Baie. There is a lovely cafe called 'Coffee Garden' where we stopped for a drink and bite to eat on the way back from the beach. Trips can be arranged from the hotel. We chose to have a taxi for the day which cost approx £90. You can taylor make the day to suit yourselves. The tea plantation at Bois Cheri is great and well worth a visit. There is a guided tour around the factory and tea tasting to follow. Snorkeling is fantastic. There is a diving trip that goes from Grand Baie called 'Dive Tribe' and they were happy for us to join the group even though we were only snorkeling. We went walking in Black River Gorges National Park. Please be aware that signposting is very poor!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place.
The hotel is really pretty, quiet and relaxed and the personnel was always very professionel, discreet and friendly.
We had a beachfront room with a huge terrace, a bathtub, a shower inside and a shower outside. The design of the rooms is really beautiful, too.
Every evening the pool area turned into a candlelight dinner-location with a really nice atmosphere. There was also a changing live music program every night with great musicians.
The food is excellent and you can help yourself to tea and coffe for free all day.
What I also liked was that you could take a canoe or snorkeling equipment or bikes for free. Also, the hotel has a taxi that you can book.
And the nicest surprise was that every evening after dinner, we found some candys on our pillows and an amazing folded towel figure on the bed (thanks, Faizal!)
So, I can really recommend the hotel, especially for people who seek a quiet (children under 12 are not allowed in the hotel), relaxing holiday in a nice atmosphere. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Although the location of this hotel is on the windy side of Grand Baie it is beautiful. The rooms are excellent, the service immaculate albeit at African pace not European! Food is plentiful, well cooked and allows you time to enjoy and savour the atmosphere.
Go large and enjoy a meal on the Lady Lisbeth - we had a lovely meal inc. canapés on the bow with cocktails, prawns and seared tuna for starters, lobster and snapper for main, chocolate sweet and finished off with coffee in the stern as we cruised around the bay on a starlit night......romantic or what! Dennis was our host......he was lovely and my wife wanted to take him home!

We did not manage the day trip to the island for a lunch but all reports were good so it maybe worth indulging that treat as well!

We went in April so the weather was a little hit and miss with daytime rain at times but nevertheless we really enjoyed the stay and options available. If you go say
"Hello" to Dennis from us!

One slight disappointment was the snorkelling trips run each day to the Coral; the locations were great but our boatman was decidedly non-communicative ........unlike everyone else who were really friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Jacuzzi if you can, you will get a lounge area as well and it is nice to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just returned from 20 Dgrees South in Mauritius. This hotel is intimate and friendly the staff are wonderful and the food is exceptional.We had a charm room that was small but functional, however the electricity issues need to be adressed.
The daily snorkelling trips were great and the trip to Flat island on the hotel catamaran was amazing. The food and qurikiness of eating in the ruins of the old governors house was delightful.
The dinner rtip on the Lady Lisbeth is a stunning experience the food sublime.
I would happliy retuen to thsi hotel to feed the fantastic brid life and to chill in this little haven in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 20 Degres Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#2 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 20 Degres Sud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20°Sud Relais & Chateaux is the first Boutique-hotel on the island to offer both the luxury and excellence of a property within the dimensions of an attractive, privately run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Despegar.com so you can book your 20 Degres Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Degres Sud Grand Baie
20 Degres Sud Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 20 Degres Sud Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.