We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as good as home - best place we have stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Save Saved
You added 20 Degres Sud Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
20 Degres Sud Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Grand Baie
Lyngør
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost as good as home - best place we have stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We chose to spend 7 nights in the South and then finishing up with 7 nights in the North. We had seen this hotel on the web and it enticed us to try it, so we pushed our travel agent a little.
WHAT a gem this place is!! - gracious - inclusive - well mannered etc. The owner goes around to all the guest before dinner and talks to all! When she was away - her "right hand" carried on.
The food is very good - but the service is the best - these employees excel.
Vine selection is very good and enjoyable priced.
Their catamaran boat trip to Flat island and the Governor House is a MUST! Forget the cost - it is worth every rupee and more.
One comment: the staff prefers French to English - but we had NO PROBLEMS.
We swam from the "beach" - but this is not the "mile long sand beach" - great for grownups.

Room Tip: Oasis - relaxation - want to return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    35
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
212
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 6 nights at this Great Boutique hotel.
We had a suite with balcony overlooking Grand Baie , pure pleasure!!!!
If you are looking for a Small intemate hotel this is it. Very tastefully furnished , great Swimming pools, with good serviceand ofcourse the FOOD.
wE WERE ON A HALF BOARD BASIS , BREAKFAST AND DINNER, very well prepared and tasty,.
A trip to flat island and lunch on the Island was very enjoyable , with drinks and snorkeling included, a great day.
Not to be missed if you want a quiet small intimate Hotel which is WELL WORTH IT !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The suites or Beach facing rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What can we say that hasn't been said before. Every aspect of the time we spent here was heavenly & beyond our expectations. Thanks to Michel & Anne the owners and the wonderful staff. In the day we relaxed in luxurious settings. Each evening we were surprised & delighted to enjoy the varied atmosphere & menus. Could not have had a better time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ideally located on the seafront , with small beach , pool and adequate facilites.
It's best for couples who want a nice getaway which is luxurious , quiet and offers good service .
The bar serves great cocktails , breakfast has the normal choices buffet with cooked as you like it.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the sea end it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel for a short 2 night stay on recommendation from our travel company Angelfish Travel (what an excellent suggestion), our welcome was lovely with a nice cocktail and an overview of the hotel and its surroundings. This hotel is amazing, we didnt want to leave.
We had the pleasure of meeting the lovely owner, she was most friendly and welcoming and made a real effort to speak with the guests.
The furniture inside and outside is excellent and comfortable, makes a real difference to your stay.
Our room was wonderful, on the beach front. I particularly enjoyed the outdoor shower. the complimentary toiletries were lovely, very good quality.
the food and drinks were excellent, lots of choice. It was like dining out at a very expensive restaurant each night.
It is lovely and peaceful, my husband and I were made to feel like royalty.
I would definetly recommend this hotel and we cant wait to return one day soon we hope.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a high class hotel with a lovely atmosphere and wonderful food. They put on good entertainment every night which is great as the night life in Grand Baie is not brilliant. There are many nice beaches to visit and there is a boat across the bay to the town

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from our Honeymoon at 20 Degres Sud and we had a fabulous time both at this hotel and Mauritius in general.
As many have mentioned previously, the hotel is extremely peaceful and intimate - the overall style and look of the hotel is fantastic and really lives up to the boutique branding. The attention to detail over the styling is incredible and the modern/colonial feel to all aspects of the hotel works extremely well.
The hotel is small, with only approximately 35 rooms and this lends itself to the perfect romantic holiday destination. Despite the hotels size, you certainly do not miss out on any of the facilities you would expect of a larger hotel. There are two reasonably sized pools to choose from, a fantastic bar located at the centre of the hotel complex, a spar offering the usual treatments, boats/ kayaks for water-sport activities and a concierge service that provides trips especially for hotel residents.
Our beach-front bedroom was fairly small in size, especially given the price paid - but was superbly decorated and maintained the modern/colonial feel of the hotel. It was nice to have a view of the sea from our room but I am not sure it was worth the extra expense now that we have visited the hotel. The basic rooms, located at the centre of the hotel overlooking the pool would have been fine,
There is not really a beach to speak of at the hotel, more a very small stretch of rocky sand on which the hotel water-sport boats are positioned, but there is a very nice local beach nearby to which you can cycle using the free to hire hotel bikes if that is what you are looking for.
The staff at the hotel were extremely polite and helpful. Unlike other hotels I have been too they are not 'in your face' offering you drinks etc which allows you to relax in comfort. The 'Boathouse' crew, who run the water-sports and free boat shuttles were also extremely helpful.
The trips offered by the hotel are amazing and we would certainly recommend the Catamaran trip to 'Flat Island'. The concierge, who works for the hotel, was a little hard sell in his approach and seemed to soften only after a few trips were booked.
Evenings at the hotel are fantastic, if you are looking for a romantic intimate experience. The exceptional attention to detail extends into the evenings with ambient candles being lit, coloured lights placed in the pool and exceptionally good local live music. The bar offers happy hour on various nights and there is always a cocktail of the day.
One aspect that does let the hotel down is its evening meals. The other meals at the hotel - breakfast (which is free) and lunch (which is not included) are fantastic and the choice/variety is superb. The evening meals however, do need to be looked at. Having booked 'Half Board' we were expecting that our evening meals would have already been paid for but upon looking at the menu only certain dishes are included whereas others you have to pay an additional supplementary cost. This would be fine if there was enough choice on the menu for included meals to satisfy you whilst on your trip but there were only three starters, for example, that were 'included', now as we were there over two weeks, with no change to the menu, this means you invariably have to choose meals not included and pay the additional cost - unless you do not value variation! The quality of the evening meals was also below the standard you would expect from a hotel of this calibre with over elaborate dishes falling down on both taste and execution, and this was something commented upon by other guests during our stay.The hotel does have theme nights on certain evenings (Indian and Chinese) with food matching the themes and the food during these nights was better than those on the A La Carte menu. If the evening food can be improved the hotel would go from being excellent to perfect in my view.
Overall this is a fantastic hotel for anyone looking for an intimate, romantic holiday. The boutique nature of the hotel really stands out and the attention to detail in terms of look and service is second to none. There is plenty to do at the hotel to keep you occupied and you certainly do not miss out due to the small size of the hotel. The hotel never feels crowded and the most people we saw in the pool at any one time was two - and you can always get a sunbed!! The only area that needs work is the evening meal - both in terms of quality, variety and value!
We would certainly go back to this hotel in the future!

Room Tip: Beachfront Rooms are not really worth the additional cost and charme rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 20 Degres Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Also Known As:
20 Degres Sud Grand Baie
20 Degres Sud Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 20 Degres Sud Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your 20 Degres Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 20 Degres Sud Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.