We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Orchidees

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Les Orchidees to your Saves list
Hotel Les Orchidees
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Colline, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Grand Baie
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just don't waste your money here. The hotel is run-down, the rooms are really pokey and not very clean. Terrible bathrooms. No porter to help carry your bags up 3 flights of stairs. We were given a special rate, but even that was too much to pay for such a terrible experience, I checked out the next day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Staff unfriendly, not mutch works, breakfast horrible and will NEVER stay here again !! Have to ask for everything , shower mostly cold with a few drops of water , have to ask to clean room - Mauritius is great definitly beter places to stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to Mauritius for work and stayed at this Hotel.The hotel was clean with friendly staff however many of my colleagues complained of cold water showers.The rooms were indeed basic but clean.The rooms had no telephones, and often no hot water. The breakfast was good but not served in an orderly fashion.The staff was very lean and really worked out most of the time as they served the food and bar, were at the reception.they were only two manning the whole hotel and was a bit of a challenge.
Really the only good thing about it was the location.it is located very close to a shopping street adjacent to the beach.only 5 min walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Orchidees on business recently and found the hotel an excellent place to stay.
The place is very well kept and very clean and is just right for someone to stay.
It is also very well situated and in easy walking distance to central Grand Baaie.
It is a boutique type hotel with good friendly service from management.
Try it you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and my daughter stayed here recently. It was clean (well a wipe over) but the rooms are very basic. I asked to move from the room i was in after the first night due to noise from water pipes and also we were on the second floor where all the lights automatically switched off and we never saw anyone around which was very off-putting as it added extra insecurity for myself and my daughter. We were at first denied a room on the ground floor because they were 'full' however the night security guard informed us that we had been the first clients for 2 and a half weeks! I was also appalled to see that the sockets were literally hanging out of the walls by their electrical wires in both of the rooms we had accommodated which i reported, but no action was taken. The culinary staff were very kind but the bread was dry, the cereal stale, the tea was cold and the ham and cheese were covered in bread crumbs due to the same knife being used which was a bit annoying because my daughter is gluten intolerant. I was further disheartened when I saw the bed sheets and pillowcases were stained. We were booked in for 2 weeks but left after 2 days. Obviously, I would not recommend any of you to stay here because I would hate for anyone to have the same experience as myself. Its far too expensive for the service (which was practically nothing) and I only paid £40 per night. We left and stayed at the Merville hotel and never looked back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I can't recomande this hotel because if you go in a big hotel you pay the same price and you can have much more service than this. Next year We will return to Mauritius but this time I will stay in a big Hotel with all-inclusive. you can buy the formula all-inclusive in your country and in this way you can economize more money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

Me and my fiance stayed at les Orchidees for 19 nighs/20 days in november 2006, and it was a very small cheap hotel, but the staff were very friendly, and we got room number 15, we did not get a drink when we arrived to the hotel, we cut have ask them but did not do it. The room was clean with air condition and tv with 3 local channel, and we had a nice clean bathsroom as well.

Every morning between 07 am and 10 am we got served a good breakfast :(juice,tea,coffee,milk,bread,jam,chease,cornflakes,crossaint,and fruitsalat ) by the nice staff people,vwhile we were sitting next to the pool/bar area. we notes that we cut ask the staff to cook dinner for us, for small money, very plesent after a long sunny day at the beach at Grand Baie.
We have been in Grand Baie before in year 2003, and we simply love the place.

In Grand Baie there is a excellent restaurant where we love to eat ,restaurant:" Au Fin Bec" at dodo square,Route Royale,Grand Baie.Tel.:(230) 263 3137, just 5 min walk from the hotel, but many more fine restaurant there is now , and cheap ones like: (KCF,SPUR restaurant) And you can always ask a police men on the street where you can find a restaurant and internet-cafe, just ask them!

Remember there is 2 big stores at Grand Baie: Store 2000, and Super U, where you can buy anything you want and need...
-"Super U "is closed to Les Orchidees hotel a few min walk only.

It`s a good idea to rent a car, you will be able to see more of the beautiful maurice, and you can always drive after a new beach , if it started raining.

Some excursion you can drive in a car to visite on your own,( we did ) like: Pamplemousses Garden in Port Louis , Domaine les Pailles near Port Louis, La Vanille Crocodile Park near Riviere des Anguilles , Belle Mare Water Park ( fun water land ) , and Casela Bird Park in Quatre Bornes, and then you only have to pay the price for entre,it`s much cheaper, and you decide for have long time you want to be there yourself.
`( Domaine Les Pailles have 5 Restaurant : " The Lodge" ,and " La Cannelle" and " Fu Xiao" and " The Indra" and last " Dolce Vita",and it have a Casino du Domaine, and children`s corner with minigolf ( can arrange nightsafari for turist) Tel.(230) 212-4225.

If you want more fun then rent a catamaran-boat for a day (west coast), you`ll be able to see dolphins and swim with them,and there will be time to fish and a swimtrip if you like, the staff will make a nice lunch and barbeque dinner for you while you drink exotic- drinks,and local drinks like "Rom", dont miss it..................

we have been at Ile aux cerfs 3 time now, and when we come to ile maurice again this year in summer time( December)we will go there again this time in a speedboat to see the water falls again.Dont miss it.....................................

We hope you can use some of the information we have wrote, Dennis & Corinne

  • Liked — adventure
  • Disliked — golf
Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Orchidees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Orchidees

Address: Route de la Colline, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Orchidees 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Grand Baie, North of Mauritius. Hotel Les Orchidees has 29 newly refurbished rooms, fitted with a small kitchenette, sink and refrigerator. Only 300 meters from Sunset Boulevard, and Grand Baie center.With its 29 newly refurbished rooms, fitted with a small kitchenette, sink and refrigerator.All the rooms have a small balcony, fan and air conditioner for those hot, humid days. It's a small family run hotel where you are guaranteed our full attention at all times. Set in Grand Baie where the atmosphere is alive, only a 3 minute walk to the beach, shops and all the main attractions Sunset Boulevard has to offer including bus routes to and from other towns.Our hotel is very family orientated, with its sparkling blue swimming pool, outside bar area, plenty of dining space and DSTV. We cater for all your needs, and look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Les Orchidees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Orchidees Hotel
Hotel Les Orchidees Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Orchidees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.