We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK as a beach-base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Villas

Save Saved
You added Ocean Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€55 (EUR)
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Grand Baie
cape town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK as a beach-base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Ocean Villas 10 - 17 August 2013. One could really write two reviews for this hotel as their is a very distinctive split between the old and new sections. The new part of the hotel is a little further up the beach and is not only more private but also has new, contemporary rooms and better views and pools. (Rooms 301 to 314). The rooms and gardens in the old part of the hotel appear to be quite run down and personally I wouldn't stay in that section. Staff on the whole were great (even though this has been mentioned as a negative in several reviews). The exception to this is the slightly abrasive elderly couple who seem to manage (possibly own) the hotel. We had breakfast every day which was nice although very repetitive over a week. (The breakfast chefs are particularly warm and friendly though and do their best to make sure you get what you want.) The water sports were a disaster as the boat was broken and no alternative arrangement had been made. They are also very badly equipped (kayaks with broken paddles etc.) This is definitely not the place to stay if you want to play on the bay. You should also know that the hotel is quite far from Grand Baie town. You can walk (we did the first day) but there are no pavements and hectic traffic so it is quite nerve-wracking, much better to take the super-cheap and very reliable local bus which stops right outside the hotel. (Don't bother with taxis as they cost a fortune.) You can also take the bus to the shopping centres or the nearby villages. I'm not sure if we would stay here again but apart from the water sports I thought it was fair value and quite convenient. NB If you are going to Mauritius in winter, definitely stay on the other side of the bay as the prevailing winds hit the Ocean Villas beach head on.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    39
    24
    22
See reviews for
46
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is really nice and relaxed. We stayed here for a week in July and it was really peaceful with very few guests. The restaurant serves nice food and the beach is really clean and private. We had a self catering villa which was HUGE! Could do with a little updating though, cracked windows, doors which don't shut easily. Overall, nice place to stay with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is just an average beach hotel. Had a contemporary room and it was clean. Food was good in the Restaurant. Close to many good restaurants in Grand Baie. Staff were friendly and nice. Beach is okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Positives:
- Well trained staff, though many are unfriendly.
- Beautiful private beach
- Average water sports (skiing 3 times per week - only 10 mins per time)
- Nice comfortable, though not "luxury" villas.
- Brilliant restaurant, lovely setting (Food did get boring after a while)
- Okay pool area

Negatives:
- Small beach, which fills up very quickly.
- Villas were clean and nice - but do not come here for a luxury getaway.
- Some unfriendly staff (don't get me wrong - some of the staff are very friendly)
- Value for money was lacking.
- Water sports were below par.
- Lack of pool lounger (or a sufficient number of loungers) in the pool area.
- The outside of the villas looms old, and dated.


This hotel is perfect if you are looking for a basic, comfortable family getaway, but for a bit more you could stay at the beautiful La Cannonier or Club Med which have a HUGE array of activities and water sports.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have just come back after a 2 week stay where we met up with our best friends who live in Perth, Australia.They had stayed here before and recommended this hotel and they were spot on. Upon arrival at the airport after horrendous flights from Emirates, the car was there from the hotel to pick us up. "Oh great" we thought, it's raining and we have just left snow behind in the UK! The journey was well over an hour to the hotel where we were met by polite reception staff who gave us flannels and a cold drink. We had booked the new contemporary room on the beach, these were located right on the beach, 6 in total with their own private pool. They were adults only - bonus! The room was fantastic, beautifully presented and the bathroom was a knock out. In addition there was an outside shower and sunken bath - really unusual. The room was spacious, clean and have everything you need: bath plus shower, wet room type shower, his and her sinks, hairdryer, small fridge, kettle, cutlery for 2 and a TV. What I will say is that the TV only had one English speaking channel and that was a news channel that was SO repetitive. I am someone who likes to watch a bit of TV before going to sleep and this was geared for French speakers not English. We were booked in bed and breakfast only so can only comment on the breakfast. This was fine, yes it was the same every day, but there was a good selection of hot and cold food and I loved having a yoghurt with freshly cut pineapple in it with a couple of pancakes to follow. Everyone else had full cooked variety and none of us had any complaints over breakfast. I know it has already been mentioned by others about ants and insects and birds but you have to remember where you are, these things are inevitable.
We had the best 2 weeks, we found some lovely restaurants, went to some lovely places and had really good fun. I have read about taxis being expensive but we never found that, we would get the local bus to Sunset Boulevard and get a taxi back at night at a cost of 200 rupees (approx. £5). The local bus was an experience in itself and we also got the express bus to Port Louis which was hilarious. We went on 2 fishing charters and my Husband's dream came true when he and his best friend caught a 300 lb black marlin. We also went to Casela where we had the interaction with the lions which was excellent and well worth a visit. We also spent the day at the opening day of the horse racing season and again had really good fun. My favourite place was a public beach, I think it was called Mon Choicy but we called it Choosy beach - the most beautiful beach which served fantastic food. We went on the glass bottomed boat there and went snorkelling which was good and had fun bartering with the sellers on the beach. Our favourite restaurant and would definitely recommend the Happy Rahja Indian restaurant located by the Super U supermarket. Easily the best Indian food we have ever had and at a decent price.
We hired a car and had the most hysterically funny time getting lost and getting a flat tyre in a location that we really shouldn't have been in - the police kindly came to our aid and gave us an escort to the station to change the tyre and then took us to the road we were supposed to be on!
There are not many negatives about the hotel, namely the lack of TV channels for us Brits and the wet room set up needs attention as the drainage is poor, the slope to this was not enough as the bathroom kept flooding every time we used it. The water went from freezing cold to scalding hot and there were a number of times we had no water at all. I think the hotel shut the water off and we had to keep phoning them to say we had no water - that was the biggest negative that needs addressing. The view from our bedroom was magnificent and we spent every evening on the patio with our friends chatting and laughing about our adventures. The weather was fantastic apart from one rainy day but it did not ruin our stay at all.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, personally I would not return only because the flights were so bad I swore I would NEVER fly long distance economy class again as they were just dreadful, that is the only reason for my non return. If I could afford to upgrade our flights I would go back tomorrow as it is paradise.

Room Tip: Use public transport, mix with the locals see the real Mauritius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in a Pool Contemporary Room, which was very nice, newly refurbished, and with the pool just of our terrace. A quite pool area since it was adults only, the Beach it self was only a few metres away, again privately for adults. The hotel has another pool and Beach for Families with kids. The Room was well kept and had all you needed. The Restaurant do have an Ant problem, which they seriously need to look into. But other than that we had a perfect stay. The Hotel is located a bit from Grand Baie, but you will find a few good Restaurants near to the Hotel. Grand Baie looks in some places like a Holiday Resort area that once was, with lots of closed shops, bars and Restaurants, but the two Shopping Malls makes it up for the shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

went for a weekend to this hotel to break the monotony of corporate hotels during the week. You have to walk along the beach to get to your room. The sea front rooms are a new wing and include a private pool at the front (shared with 6 other rooms) on the block), and your balcony looks over the pool and then onto the beach.

Facilities are excellent, even if you would say the internet is patchy and a bit slow. Close enough to Grand Baie's restaurants in a 5/10 minute taxi and very peaceful resort/beach. Food and bar are expensive, but the breakfast is good and the drinks are cold.

Would thoroughly recommend this room to anyone heading to Grand Baie

Room Tip: Request a ground floor sea room. The second floor rooms all have stairs to the beach/pool whereas gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villas

Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Villas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villas Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Villas Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.