We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coin de Mire Attitude

Save Saved
You added Coin de Mire Attitude to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coin de Mire Attitude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Grand Baie
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing and beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As we entered the hotel, I was in awe at how beautiful the open air reception area was, it was just lovely and the decor was pretty, the photos I had seen before travelling really didn't do it justice at all, it is much more stunning in reality.

CHECK IN - The hotel offered the best service and check-in experience I have ever had. Our bags were taken for us and we were welcomed by the hotel manager. We were then seated and handed a cool towel and a lovely cold juice cocktail which was very refreshing after the long journey.

SERVICE - The staff work so hard at making the hotel perfect for the guests, and they really have done such a wonderful job. I wish I could, but its impossible to name each individual as every single person went out of their way to make our holiday perfect. They are very helpful and professional, but so friendly and chatty as well. I loved that the staff remembered us personally and actually asked questions about places we were due to visit on the island, they even remembered my birthday when I hadn't even told them about it.
The bar staff were very friendly and laid-back...exactly what you need in a bar like this, they make the atmosphere very relaxing.
The general manager, Ravi was very nice and so friendly. I liked that he was around the hotel, talking to guests as alot of management at other hotels are not very hands-on, Ravi is definitely a wonderful manager and puts the needs of the guests first.
All the staff were amazing and totally in touch with the needs of their guests, nothing is too much for them and it really does make the hotel a wonderful place to stay.

ROOM - We booked a Deluxe room, and were given a free upgrade to a Family room without even having to ask them. This was the best room as it was a lot larger than the deluxe rooms and we had separate sofa's and table area which was nice to have the extra space.
I would recommend the family and deluxe rooms, the superior rooms are on the other side of the hotel and I've heard they are not as nice, but I haven't actually seen them myself.
We were escorted to our room, and there was a beautiful "Happy Anniversary" flower display on the bed, and glasses and a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us. The hotel even sent up a bottle of wine randomly during our stay, this was so nice and unexpected as they'd already done so much, but this was such a lovely gesture from the hotel.
Every day, there was a different flower or towel decoration on the bed, this was so beautiful and made the room look very pretty.

LOCATION - Perfect location for couples. The hotel is on the north west of the island which is the best location as the centre is a lot cooler, and the south & east can get quite windy. The hotel is approx 10 min drive to Grand Baie, this is a little town with the beach, and local shops. Nearby is Grand Baie La Croisette which is a shopping mall and complex. This has several supermarkets, lots of shops many of which are well know American and European brands. There is also a cinema which shows movies in English at the 6pm screenings, and there are a lot of fast food restaurants including a nandos and KFC, not ideal for fine dining but nice for a lunch.
Port Louis is approx 30-40 min in a taxi, the taxi drivers have set rates and wait in Port Louis for you so you can leave whenever you're ready. It is well worth a visit and the hotel taxi drivers are great.
A lot of reviews have complained about the taxi drivers, I think this is unfounded and inaccurate as the drivers are based at the hotel (all taxi's in Mauritius have the base stated on the side door), so they are always there for people who need them, but they don't bother people who don't need their services.This was actually a great thing for us as they taxi's were completely safe and they have set rates so they won't charge ridiculous rates.
Our driver took us on a full day tour of the south island, this was amazing as it was a private tour for just my husband and I, so we could choose where we wanted to go and how long we wanted to stay at each place. This was the highlight of our trip so ask the drivers about the south tour.

POOL & BEACH - There are 2 pools, one at the bar area and the other just behind it. It does get busy, but not so busy that you can't find a sun lounger, we had no problem even at peak times. The bar staff regularly come over for you to order food/drinks so you don't even need to get up.
The beach is across the road from the hotel, it is literally 3 seconds away from the entrance, you can see it from the balcony in the room. Some reviews have stated that it's a busy road - I assure you, it's not! It is ridiculous if you think this is a problem, if you can walk across a normal quiet road, you would have no problem crossing here. You get maybe one car every 3 to 5 mins, and the security guard actually walks you across if you need help, but really...look both ways and cross, I don't see what the problem is at all.
It is a small beach, but the water is so clear and lovely. There are a few stray dogs on the beach, but they don't bother people and at no point do the come anywhere near the hotel. The beach at Perybere is larger and prettier, this is a short walk away but we took a taxi as there is no pedestrian walkway on part of the road.

SPA & GYM - Lovely little spa which is well decorated with a wide variety of treatments available. We were given a free massage by the reception at check in, this was such a nice touch as we would have used the spa anyway, but it's nice to have this as complimentary.
As you enter, you're seated and offered a cool drink before being taken into the treatment room. The masseuse was amazing, she was clearly very well trained and it was one of the most relaxing massages I've ever had. I would highly recommend having a treatment here.
The gym is really not great, it is small and has very little equipment, and that which is there is old and in poor condition. It's not a major problem as we decided to go running instead, this was a better idea as the views are unbelievable in the morning.

RESTAURANT - Breakfast is good, there is a selection of fruit, cheese, cold meats, rolls, croissants etc, and the warm food selection of sausages, meats, potatoes, freshly cooked eggs. The eggs were good as they were freshly cooked and made exactly to order. The bread was warm and delicious, and they had freshly made pancakes served with honey, syrup or chocolate.
The evening meals are also buffet style, but are good because there is a different theme each night, this ensured there was a wide variety. The tandoori buffet was particularly nice, and the traditional food was very well cooked and had some delightful flavours.
All food is quickly replenished, and is always hot and fresh, and you would never need to wait for anything.
The hotel surprised us and arranged a complimentary special Anniversary dinner for my husband and I, this was so nice and special, we were given an invite, and seated in a large semi-private section just off the main restaurant. The table was stunningly decorated and we had table service with specific waiters allocated to us. We were served a delicious 5 course meal which was perfectly cooked and so nicely presented, each dish was heart shaped and the entire meal was very romantic. The seafood was so fresh and very well cooked, the hotel really does have wonderful chefs.

BAR - Lovely bar area overlooking the pool, in the evening there is live entertainment which is different each night, this is good for the variety so keeps it interesting. The jazz music was particularly good.
The cocktails are not the best, but nice enough and the surroundings and lovely staff make up for it.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe or family room over the older superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    282
    65
    26
    10
See reviews for
157
360
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having spent two weeks here with friends we left considerably more confused than then we arrived. We were initially impressed with the beautiful gardens and clever layout of the hotel. The staff were very friendly with sincere individual personalities but somewhat ruined by a tyrannical receptionist that would fit in well at our local doctors surgery.
A very attractive outside dining area and bar was ruined by the erratic service from the staff. Early one morning prior to a day out I couldn't get a coffee due to the staff chatting. Helping myself was received with horror, almost an insult. The same happened when I cleared a table one evening so we could sit down.
Take care; the dining area is heavily frequented by local birdlife. Do not go if you have a phobia.
The position of the hotel is quite and opposite the beach but that is it. There is nothing close by. A 25 min walk in to Perrybere which is nice by beach but unpleasant by road although plenty of reasonable taxis.
Food soon became a chore and dull when considering what is available outside, even from van vendors. Im not sure how many visitors go to Mauritius to eat an interpretation of Italian and French cuisine but if you are among them try a hotel that can carry this off. We ate out a lot of the time or had lunch out and grazed in the hotel at dinner time. Its passable but only just.
My only serious complaint is the prices at the bar and mini bar. I am sure the hotel consider themselves western but we were not in Paris or Rome. Table service in the bar could be hit and miss. My reaction was to order at the bar to circumvent the waiter only to be asked to sit down and wait. We ended up drinking in friends rooms with bought in. Once again Perrybere or livelier Grand Bai ended up more fun and cheaper even considering the taxi.
Rooms were clean but a bit tatty. Friends who had a newer more expensive room which was more modern.
Wifi didnt work but I believe this not to be the hotels fault. We never asked again due to the rudeness of the receptionist.
I think the overall view must take into account how much you pay. Some trip advisors have quoted paying quite a lot to stay. We estimate that we paid around £200 per person per week half board which we consider excellent value.

Room Tip: Consider what you want from your holiday when considering this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warnbro perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location .The hotel pools and facilities are very good and would rate 4 or even 5 points but the food is very average and most people go for full,board and you really need to catch the local bus or catch a taxi to go out to eat.
The breakfast is fine except for them serving up in the warm containers what looked like the evening before left overs.The evening meal seemed to be below standard for such a lovely hotel.
The beds also need better mattresses they were thin and hard.
The staff are all lovely and this could be a great place with a bugger budget for the kitchen

Room Tip: Our room was116 and the location was great .noisy if you went to bed too,early but otherwise fine.Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Second trip to Mauritius, We came to coin de Mire after going through tripadvisor so we did not regret it. We were very pleased with the hotel, a place which is defo very relaxing for holidays, just the beach was not good for swimming, but that wasn't a problem since we went to perybere beach which was not too far, around 5 minutes away. we did like the hospitality of the staffs, and I reckon particularly mrs videea who kept our room clean and entertained us by making animal shapes using towels, the froge was just amazing. I want to thank all the staff of coin de mire. Hope to come to Mauritius again.. Greetings folks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful tropical garden and spa setting. There are lovely flowers everywhere and pretty tropical birds. The ambience around the hotel and restaurant is lovely and relaxing. We would have given this hotel 4 stars, but the food unfortunately lets it down.
When we arrived we were immediately made to feel relaxed when welcomed with a free drink and a cool flannel. We were told we had been upgraded which was nice, I wasn't sure whether we really were or not? But our room was nice and it had a lovely patio to sit out on with the birds.
The hotel is in a nice location right next to a nice beach where you can snorkel and use free kayaks and pedals that the hotel provides. We really enjoyed kayaking. You can walk along the beach to pereybere beach which is a lovely beautiful walk, lots of white sand and coconut trees. There are also some nice restaurants and cafes in pereybere.
The hotel has a very nice pool and some of the staff are very friendly. The cleaner does a fantastic job of the rooms.
The real let down at this hotel was the food. We were half board and the evening meals were ok, but just a bit bland. We never looked forward to the meals. There was some nice Grilled marlin on one night and steak night and Briani night were nice. I think they try to cater for all tastes, and because some people don't like spicy food or garlic etc everything is just a bit tasteless! For example the currys have never seen a chili!! The desserts were awful. Breakfast was nice due to the egg chef, but you may get bored of egg after a week!
Lots of people have complained about birds flying around and landing on the tables during breakfast. This is true, but we loved all the birds and enjoyed watching them at breakfast.
Entertainment at the hotel was not great, the saga dancing was good though. We also watched a cooking demonstration one afternoon and this was very interesting, and the food we tasted for that was lovely.
Unfortunately there were 3 days when the were issues with the shower. One morning there was no water at all! The next day the water was cold and the following day it was still cold, so we had cold showers. The hotel did offer us a shower in another room.
Overall though, we really did like this hotel a lot and would recommend it, it is so relaxing and beautiful around the hotel gardens.
Mauritius is a beautiful island, lovely hot and sunny weather everyday in the north of the island. The south and central island can be wet and cooler. We hired a car from the airport. Easy to drive around, everyone seems to drive very slowly in Mauritius!
We had a lovely holiday and feel very relaxed now :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

When my husband booked our honeymoon half board. I thought wow Mauritius. But wot a disappointment. Beautiful hotel friendly staff. .. thought wow superior room but what a disappointment we had you would expect a wow factor. We complained and thay moved us to a deluxe which is a wow factor. But becarfull because you have to pay for tea coffee in your rooms in fact you have to pay for everything in your fridge. food is absolutely crap same tast everyday the breakfast was just ok( if you like eggs).the bar drink are very very expensive and check you bill because thay tried to bill us on drinks and food we never had.we went out a few times to eat and a few cheeky drinks. If you are on your honeymoon make sure you tell them to get free romantic meal. In which I had to ask for it. Would we go again definitely NOT

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an 10 day excellent holiday here in August 2013. For a 3 star resort the facilities were much better than we expected i.e. an egg chef at breakfast, pool towels replaced daily, animation team and room fridge complimentary replenished daily (all inclusive)
After the long flight we were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome.We arrived early and our room was not available until lunch time but we were offered a shower room and our cases put in there so we could change into beach wear. Staff including the Manager introduced them selves to us and after a day the bar staff knew our room and often pre guessed our drink order.
The gardens were beautifully attended and the rooms kept clean by again very friendly and polite staff. The resort is not beach side as we knew but the the hotel staff safely saw you across the road and staff were on hand on the beach for loungers etc.
The pool was extremely cold and service at lunch time could be a little slow. On one occasion our daughter was unable to find anything at dinner that she liked. When asked the waiter offered a pizza instead and this was made fresh for her. The next evening the same waiter came over to make sure she was able to find something she liked that evening. We found nothing seemed to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coin de Mire Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coin de Mire Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coin de Mire Attitude 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin de Mire Attitude is a 3 star hotel where one immediately feels at home…Situated at the northern tip of Mauritius, between the fishermen’s village of Cap Malheureux and the lively village of Grand Bay, across the road from the beach, the 3* hotel faces one of the most stunning views the island offers, the majestic rock Coin de Mire sitting on the horizon…The typical Mauritian architecture and the contemporary decoration contribute to that genuinely tropical holiday atmosphere.Its welcoming team, its beautiful tropical garden, its 102 spacious rooms and its Spa Attitude invite families, couples and individuals to relax in a very cosy atmosphere.For those who are adventurous and curious, Coin de Mire Attitude is the starting point to discover the island and its inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coin de Mire Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coin De Mire
Coin Mire
Coin De Mire Grand Baie
Coin De Mire Attitude Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coin de Mire Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.