We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coin de Mire Attitude

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Coin de Mire Attitude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Grand Baie
warnbro perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location .The hotel pools and facilities are very good and would rate 4 or even 5 points but the food is very average and most people go for full,board and you really need to catch the local bus or catch a taxi to go out to eat.
The breakfast is fine except for them serving up in the warm containers what looked like the evening before left overs.The evening meal seemed to be below standard for such a lovely hotel.
The beds also need better mattresses they were thin and hard.
The staff are all lovely and this could be a great place with a bugger budget for the kitchen

Room Tip: Our room was116 and the location was great .noisy if you went to bed too,early but otherwise fine.Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    256
    62
    24
    9
See reviews for
132
313
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Second trip to Mauritius, We came to coin de Mire after going through tripadvisor so we did not regret it. We were very pleased with the hotel, a place which is defo very relaxing for holidays, just the beach was not good for swimming, but that wasn't a problem since we went to perybere beach which was not too far, around 5 minutes away. we did like the hospitality of the staffs, and I reckon particularly mrs videea who kept our room clean and entertained us by making animal shapes using towels, the froge was just amazing. I want to thank all the staff of coin de mire. Hope to come to Mauritius again.. Greetings folks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful tropical garden and spa setting. There are lovely flowers everywhere and pretty tropical birds. The ambience around the hotel and restaurant is lovely and relaxing. We would have given this hotel 4 stars, but the food unfortunately lets it down.
When we arrived we were immediately made to feel relaxed when welcomed with a free drink and a cool flannel. We were told we had been upgraded which was nice, I wasn't sure whether we really were or not? But our room was nice and it had a lovely patio to sit out on with the birds.
The hotel is in a nice location right next to a nice beach where you can snorkel and use free kayaks and pedals that the hotel provides. We really enjoyed kayaking. You can walk along the beach to pereybere beach which is a lovely beautiful walk, lots of white sand and coconut trees. There are also some nice restaurants and cafes in pereybere.
The hotel has a very nice pool and some of the staff are very friendly. The cleaner does a fantastic job of the rooms.
The real let down at this hotel was the food. We were half board and the evening meals were ok, but just a bit bland. We never looked forward to the meals. There was some nice Grilled marlin on one night and steak night and Briani night were nice. I think they try to cater for all tastes, and because some people don't like spicy food or garlic etc everything is just a bit tasteless! For example the currys have never seen a chili!! The desserts were awful. Breakfast was nice due to the egg chef, but you may get bored of egg after a week!
Lots of people have complained about birds flying around and landing on the tables during breakfast. This is true, but we loved all the birds and enjoyed watching them at breakfast.
Entertainment at the hotel was not great, the saga dancing was good though. We also watched a cooking demonstration one afternoon and this was very interesting, and the food we tasted for that was lovely.
Unfortunately there were 3 days when the were issues with the shower. One morning there was no water at all! The next day the water was cold and the following day it was still cold, so we had cold showers. The hotel did offer us a shower in another room.
Overall though, we really did like this hotel a lot and would recommend it, it is so relaxing and beautiful around the hotel gardens.
Mauritius is a beautiful island, lovely hot and sunny weather everyday in the north of the island. The south and central island can be wet and cooler. We hired a car from the airport. Easy to drive around, everyone seems to drive very slowly in Mauritius!
We had a lovely holiday and feel very relaxed now :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

When my husband booked our honeymoon half board. I thought wow Mauritius. But wot a disappointment. Beautiful hotel friendly staff. .. thought wow superior room but what a disappointment we had you would expect a wow factor. We complained and thay moved us to a deluxe which is a wow factor. But becarfull because you have to pay for tea coffee in your rooms in fact you have to pay for everything in your fridge. food is absolutely crap same tast everyday the breakfast was just ok( if you like eggs).the bar drink are very very expensive and check you bill because thay tried to bill us on drinks and food we never had.we went out a few times to eat and a few cheeky drinks. If you are on your honeymoon make sure you tell them to get free romantic meal. In which I had to ask for it. Would we go again definitely NOT

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an 10 day excellent holiday here in August 2013. For a 3 star resort the facilities were much better than we expected i.e. an egg chef at breakfast, pool towels replaced daily, animation team and room fridge complimentary replenished daily (all inclusive)
After the long flight we were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome.We arrived early and our room was not available until lunch time but we were offered a shower room and our cases put in there so we could change into beach wear. Staff including the Manager introduced them selves to us and after a day the bar staff knew our room and often pre guessed our drink order.
The gardens were beautifully attended and the rooms kept clean by again very friendly and polite staff. The resort is not beach side as we knew but the the hotel staff safely saw you across the road and staff were on hand on the beach for loungers etc.
The pool was extremely cold and service at lunch time could be a little slow. On one occasion our daughter was unable to find anything at dinner that she liked. When asked the waiter offered a pizza instead and this was made fresh for her. The next evening the same waiter came over to make sure she was able to find something she liked that evening. We found nothing seemed to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of September 2013, amazing stay. The hotel is quite small and so has that personal feel about it. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are well equipped and are cleaned thoroughly every day. The food is good. Overall the hotel is excellent value for money, more like 4 star. We were glad that we were just half board as upgrading to full board was £20 per person per day. We were out a lot and managed to eat cheaply. We did not want much after having a good breakfast anyway. Shops are just a walk or a bus ride away, perfectly situated really. the hotel manager, Shardha the reception manager and Juieanne the waitress were brill;. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was not near to reception, it was away from the bar and a short pleasant walk through the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Coin de Mire Attitude.

We are delighted to read that you have spent great moments with us.

We hope to seeing you again next time you visit Mauritius,

Best regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is not as I expected, In the photos on the site it seems very clan and neat but when i was there I was a bit disapointed with the service quality and the room I had was very outdated... Some of the staff are rude and arrogant... But i appreciate the barman courtesy and patience. But I will bever go there.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe one but hope it is well clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Vania,

We are surprised and sad to read your review on our 3 star hotel.

Coin de Mire Attitude has been completely refurbished with a new décor and ambiance in 2009 and Attitude makes a point at offering good value for money in any hotel of the group – which includes reinvesting every year in the hotel and its facilities.

Regarding the rooms, you are maybe referring to our Superior rooms which offers a Mauritian vibe in a friendly setting ; they indeed have a less contemporary feel than the higher category of rooms available, our Deluxe rooms.

We have taken good note of your remarks regarding the ‘service quality’ and I invite you to contact me personally to share your experience as this kind of problems need to be addressed very quickly.

We apologize if your stay with us did not meet your expectations and would like once again to encourage future travelers to share their feedback at the hotel so we can make sure their stay in our hotel is enjoyable,

Best regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coin de Mire Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coin de Mire Attitude

Also Known As:
Hotel Coin De Mire
Coin De Mire
Coin Mire
Coin De Mire Grand Baie
Coin De Mire Hotel
Coin De Mire Attitude Mauritius/Grand Baie
Address: Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coin de Mire Attitude 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin de Mire Attitude is a 3 star hotel where one immediately feels at home…Situated at the northern tip of Mauritius, between the fishermen’s village of Cap Malheureux and the lively village of Grand Bay, across the road from the beach, the 3* hotel faces one of the most stunning views the island offers, the majestic rock Coin de Mire sitting on the horizon…The typical Mauritian architecture and the contemporary decoration contribute to that genuinely tropical holiday atmosphere.Its welcoming team, its beautiful tropical garden, its 102 spacious rooms and its Spa Attitude invite families, couples and individuals to relax in a very cosy atmosphere.For those who are adventurous and curious, Coin de Mire Attitude is the starting point to discover the island and its inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Coin de Mire Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coin de Mire Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coin de Mire Attitude to your Saves list