We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic box standard room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coin de Mire Attitude

Save Saved
You added Coin de Mire Attitude to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coin de Mire Attitude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Grand Baie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Basic box standard room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

When my husband booked our honeymoon half board. I thought wow Mauritius. But wot a disappointment. Beautiful hotel friendly staff. .. thought wow superior room but what a disappointment we had you would expect a wow factor. We complained and thay moved us to a deluxe which is a wow factor. But becarfull because you have to pay for tea coffee in your rooms in fact you have to pay for everything in your fridge. food is absolutely crap same tast everyday the breakfast was just ok( if you like eggs).the bar drink are very very expensive and check you bill because thay tried to bill us on drinks and food we never had.we went out a few times to eat and a few cheeky drinks. If you are on your honeymoon make sure you tell them to get free romantic meal. In which I had to ask for it. Would we go again definitely NOT

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    273
    63
    26
    10
See reviews for
151
345
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an 10 day excellent holiday here in August 2013. For a 3 star resort the facilities were much better than we expected i.e. an egg chef at breakfast, pool towels replaced daily, animation team and room fridge complimentary replenished daily (all inclusive)
After the long flight we were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome.We arrived early and our room was not available until lunch time but we were offered a shower room and our cases put in there so we could change into beach wear. Staff including the Manager introduced them selves to us and after a day the bar staff knew our room and often pre guessed our drink order.
The gardens were beautifully attended and the rooms kept clean by again very friendly and polite staff. The resort is not beach side as we knew but the the hotel staff safely saw you across the road and staff were on hand on the beach for loungers etc.
The pool was extremely cold and service at lunch time could be a little slow. On one occasion our daughter was unable to find anything at dinner that she liked. When asked the waiter offered a pizza instead and this was made fresh for her. The next evening the same waiter came over to make sure she was able to find something she liked that evening. We found nothing seemed to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of September 2013, amazing stay. The hotel is quite small and so has that personal feel about it. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are well equipped and are cleaned thoroughly every day. The food is good. Overall the hotel is excellent value for money, more like 4 star. We were glad that we were just half board as upgrading to full board was £20 per person per day. We were out a lot and managed to eat cheaply. We did not want much after having a good breakfast anyway. Shops are just a walk or a bus ride away, perfectly situated really. the hotel manager, Shardha the reception manager and Juieanne the waitress were brill;. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was not near to reception, it was away from the bar and a short pleasant walk through the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Coin de Mire Attitude.

We are delighted to read that you have spent great moments with us.

We hope to seeing you again next time you visit Mauritius,

Best regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is not as I expected, In the photos on the site it seems very clan and neat but when i was there I was a bit disapointed with the service quality and the room I had was very outdated... Some of the staff are rude and arrogant... But i appreciate the barman courtesy and patience. But I will bever go there.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe one but hope it is well clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Vania,

We are surprised and sad to read your review on our 3 star hotel.

Coin de Mire Attitude has been completely refurbished with a new décor and ambiance in 2009 and Attitude makes a point at offering good value for money in any hotel of the group – which includes reinvesting every year in the hotel and its facilities.

Regarding the rooms, you are maybe referring to our Superior rooms which offers a Mauritian vibe in a friendly setting ; they indeed have a less contemporary feel than the higher category of rooms available, our Deluxe rooms.

We have taken good note of your remarks regarding the ‘service quality’ and I invite you to contact me personally to share your experience as this kind of problems need to be addressed very quickly.

We apologize if your stay with us did not meet your expectations and would like once again to encourage future travelers to share their feedback at the hotel so we can make sure their stay in our hotel is enjoyable,

Best regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A really comfortable and welcoming hotel with eceptionally service orientated and friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable but let down by little things - ran out of shower gel twice and had to ask for our fridge to be turned off as it was too noisy and kept us awake at night. Also road noise woke us up early on a number of mornings. Grounds were well cared for and the pool was great. Food was ok but got a little boring after thr first week and there was little choice or variety for vegetarians. Service could be slow at peak service times and popular dishes ran out too quickly. Entertainment was provided most nights -could be fun depending on taste but on occasions felt very amateurish. The hotel has a beach across the main coast road. The beach is pleasant but we spent our beach days at much better swimming beaches with better facilities - grand baie, mont choisee which are got to by bus, taxi or car

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Amazing place to stay. Friendly service, happy atmosphere and staff second to none. Everyone was helpful and friendly especially Dinah, Walid, Cristina and these are only a few names i can remember, security guards at the front were helpful and friendly also. Room was always spotless with friendly maid service that can not help enough. All inclusive package was definitely the way to go and food delicious. Cant wait to return to this amazing place for future visits for our anniversary. We stayed in room 548 which was further from the pool and bar area and hope to stay in this room again. Across the road at the beach were amazing and friendly people who could not do enough to make your time at the island special.

Room Tip: room 548 for less noise and away from pool and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Felicity,

All the Family Members of Coin de Mire Attitude join me in thanking you warmly for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon in Mauritius and for your kind review.

We are delighted to read that the service was up to your expectations and that you did appreciate a lot this ‘once in a lifetime’ stay with us.

All the team is ready to welcome you and your husband for your wedding anniversary,

Wishing you all the best for the future,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service I received during my stay here was second to none from the airport pick up and back again. The rooms were beautiful, the views were serine, the facilities were endless and I have to say the spa was tranquil bliss, the food was incredible. The most relaxing holiday I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coin de Mire Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coin de Mire Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coin de Mire Attitude 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin de Mire Attitude is a 3 star hotel where one immediately feels at home…Situated at the northern tip of Mauritius, between the fishermen’s village of Cap Malheureux and the lively village of Grand Bay, across the road from the beach, the 3* hotel faces one of the most stunning views the island offers, the majestic rock Coin de Mire sitting on the horizon…The typical Mauritian architecture and the contemporary decoration contribute to that genuinely tropical holiday atmosphere.Its welcoming team, its beautiful tropical garden, its 102 spacious rooms and its Spa Attitude invite families, couples and individuals to relax in a very cosy atmosphere.For those who are adventurous and curious, Coin de Mire Attitude is the starting point to discover the island and its inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coin de Mire Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coin De Mire
Coin Mire
Coin De Mire Grand Baie
Coin De Mire Attitude Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coin de Mire Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.