We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lacks personal touch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coin de Mire Attitude

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coin de Mire Attitude to your Saves list
Coin de Mire Attitude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Grand Baie
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel but lacks personal touch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is very clean but offers only the very basic toiletries , for Superior room, one soap for 5 days and no toothpaste/shower gel or shower cap. We regretted not carrying these along and bought them at the local shop. There were 2 lizards in the room and we could see them running across the rooms from the cupboards to the bed.
The menu options are limited especially for vegetarians. We had a problem with dinner because the last bus was at 7.45pm so we had to take a taxi to the nearest Grand Baie and it was a lot of hassle to bargain with the taxi drivers so that they didn't rip us off.
As tourists we expected some sort of guidance from the receptionists or service staff regarding how to get around,etc but after numerous questions all we got were inadequate one-word responses. I don't know if it was due to the fact that we didn't speak French or they couldn't speak English well but it gave us an impression of being indifferent. On the other hand, I really appreciate the help of the service staff-the security and the room cleaners who were more helpful!!

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and a personal, friendly touch would have made a lot of difference to the whole holiday experience which never happened, hence will not be staying here again.

Loved the...
Daily towel creations
Bus stop right outside the hotel

Disappointed with the...
indifferent staff
no guidance from reception staff
Hotel activities, was looking forward to the sega dance class which was cancelled at the last minute and we were leaving the next day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I am glad that in general you enjoyed your stay with us and noted that your experience which is certainly not to your expectation with the standard of a 3 star property.

I am concerned by your feedback about the choice of vegetarian meal and will review this with the kitchen team and regret sincerely to hear that our information service did not meet with your requirement as we always strive to provide professional, efficient and personalise service and all our staff ( Family Members) is trained according to the service culture.

Your booking was made on a bed and breakfast conditions and we also provide with dinner arrangement and any special celebration for which we do not get the opportunity as we did not receive any mention for your wedding anniversary on your reservation request.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments which will help in continuous improvement and your feedback will be shared to ensure that all the family members uphold the hotel standard.

Kind regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    303
    68
    32
    11
See reviews for
171
398
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very good 3 star hotel. Very nice room (deluxe). Pleasant pool - loungers nearly always available - normally quiet. Food OK. Service stretched at times but staff normally do very well. Opposite a very pretty beach. Road is not particularly busy but a narrow bend in the road partly obscures the view .so don't play follow the leader when crossing. Beach not good for swimming so most people go out for the day. Very good bus. service (all the way to Port Louis - but better to change to the express service at Grand Bay). Bus fares very cheap. Buses on very tight timetable so expect to be told to hurry up when boarding!

Perrybere is a small laid back resort that grew on us. Very pleasant 2km walk along the high tide mark or bus. Best not to walk along the road. Pedestrian accident rate is high in Mauritius due to lack of pavements!

Main issue with hotel is its location in the evening. Buses stop about 6.30,, there is no where to stroll to and there are fewer taxis. Most nights there is entertainment at the hotel, but most people seem to go to bed early

Room Tip: Buses make a lot of noise and start at 6.30. If you are a light sleeper and prefer to sleep beyond 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Richard,

Thank for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Coin de Mire Attitude: we are happy you enjoyed your time in Mauritius while being with us.

We share your comments on being careful while walking in Mauritius: in most part of the island, there are no pavements for pedestrians. If driving is also a challenge, or as mentioned when buses stop running, guests can take a taxi ride to the nearby lively village of Grand Bay. There is a taxi station next to the Hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Warm regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have just returned from my 2nd stay at this lovely hotel, and Im already planning my next visit.
I like the fact that it is a smallish hotel , feels more friendly than a big place .
First time I stayed I had a delux room this time had a superior one , yes delux is much more modern and roomy but I was perfectly happy with my room, Sameer done a great job of cleaning everyday and left some beautiful flowers and towel "sculptures".
The food was always plentiful but sometimes a little bland in the evenings, lunches very good though, great choice of drinks on AI , it's the staff that really make this place so welcoming, sorry cant recall all the names but would like to thank Ally, Baden, Jayraj , Dina, Dave, Eric, Pascalina, Walid and Shailesh as well as the many others who work so hard and always with a smile on their faces.
The grounds are beautifully kept with lovely fresh flowers giving the date each day near the spa/restuarant area.
The small beach across the road is lovely , I attempted the free snorkling , but found out I dont like it !!!! but the man who's name Ive forgotten was very kind and patient with me , such a shame as I could see there was plenty of coral and fish to look at.
Its worth the walk to the church at Cap Malheureux (out of hotel turn right and keep going) some really stunning views , and walking down the little side streets and seeing all the fruits growing , I saw pommegranites , bananas, mango's and lychees as well as some I didnt recognise.
If you like jewellery I can recommend diamond designs and adamas in Grand Baie.
Mauritius really is paradise on earth just wish I could return sooner .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,

All the ‘Family Members’ of Coin de Mire join me in thanking you for your warm appreciations on our Hotel and its facilities.

We are especially grateful for your kind words on our personnel and your depiction of Coin de Mire Attitude.

It was a pleasure welcoming you for the second time around and we look forward to seeing you again in ‘our home’.

A tres bientot,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a pleasant place this is. Set in well-maintained gardens. Friendly, smiley and polite staff. Lovely clean room, beautifully serviced everyday. Plenty of choice of food at meal times but I have to say that I found the food rather bland - no spicey dishes except on Devali evening which was celebrated with good decorations. The other guests are nearly all French so found it difficult to have friendly conversation.
Slept well with no disturbances and it was nice to be awoken every morning by birdsong. The A/C was quiet. Services provided were good. Would recommend without doubt as on the whole I was happy and contented.

Room Tip: Choose a room not near the pool or restaurant as some entertainment was noisy and some of the young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Michael,

We thank you for your kind words on your stay at Coin de Mire Attitude and your recommendation to other travelers.

I have taken good note of your remark regarding the food and spices. We always try to accommodate our International clientele with various dishes and themes to please different appetites – as such we tend to offer lightly spiced Mauritian and Indian dishes to cater to most of our guests.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at Coin de Mire Attitude.

Kind regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We had such a great time, the hotel was everything that we hoped for with a really friendly feel. The waiting and bar staff couldn't do enough to make sure that everything was just right for you. The rooms were modern and clean, the whole hotel really well kept. The All-Inclusive option was great value. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

I thank you for your warm recommendation of our Hotel and personnel: we were happy to make your stay in Mauritius enjoyable and would be delighted to seeing you again at Coin de Mire Attitude next time you visit the Island,

Warn regards,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

After studying for 6 long years I thought a nice break was called for.. Mauritius was the only choice after seeing images of he Indian ocean.. The trip was booked via thomson holidays, and although the price was a bit steep (single traveller) it was well worth it.. After checking reviews to the coin de more attitude, I was dubious as to wether or not the picture were photoshopped or not.. I can truthfully say that upon arrival at the hotel it was. Breathtaking.. The pictures don't do it justice.. Service from the minute I arrive was first class.. The food was amazing, with a huge choice day to day. The staff were so friendly yet very down to earth. The grounds of the hotel were superbly kept.
Directly opposite the hotel you have a stunning, almost private beach which also had free hotel run excursions.
If I was to return to Mauritius then this hotel would be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

A big thank you from all the ;Family Members’ of Coin de Mire Attitude for your review and feedback on your recent stay at Coin de Mire Attitude. Your depiction of our Hotel and personnel and recommendation to other travelers honor us.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our ‘home’,

A très bientôt,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

14 days of pure magic. Yes - Coin de Mire Attitude its location and more importantly their great staff, who added value to our stay. We admired the staff and their ability to converse in many languages. We only wish we knew a little French or Creole. All staff are to be congratulated.

Yes we had researched this wonderful hotel. We were a little apprehensive given some of the comments, but this was dispelled once we arrived, started to relax and enjoy the surrounds.

From the time we arrived we were looked after, even to the extent of changing rooms so that when our friends arrived from the UK, we could be together. Who would have thought Australian’s and British meeting half way and choosing Coin de Mire. This turned out to be an excellent choice.

We enjoyed the spa treatment and would recommend giving it a go, especially after a 12 hour flight, the dinner theme nights were interesting and plentiful and interaction with the staff was fun. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We would like to say a big thank you to, Koobeer, Manjoo, (Oojnam – Manjoo knows why I have spelt his name wrong) Dave, Gary, Deepshika and the young man (sorry didn’t catch you name) who attended to our room. Every time we came back from a days excursion, we wondered what “animal” shape the towels would be in, dog, elephant, swan, snake and the list goes on. Thank you for the special arrangement for my wife’s birthday.

Keep up the great work. Wishing Coin de Mire Attitude staff all the very best for the forthcoming festive season.

Also thank you to Mr Sunil our taxi driver who was very patient and a good guide.

Places visited, Grand Baie, Mon Choisy, Trou aux Biches, Arsenel, Pamplemousses, Black River Gorge, Chamarel, Blue Bay, Ile des Duex Cocos.

With all our thanks.

Jones family from Australia and the Scutt family from England

Room Tip: We had rooms at behind other rooms - very quiet area and within easy access to the pool and dinning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Ravi Venkanna at Coin de Mire Attitude, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Jones and Scrutt Family,

Thank you for your kind words on your recent Family vacations at Coin de Mire Attitude: It’s always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time in Mauritius while being with us.

Your warm appreciations and compliments have been passed on to all the ‘Family Members’ who are truly grateful for your nice comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Coin de Mire Attitude (we have booked you in one of our ‘Learn to Speak Creole’ sessions at the Hotel!)

A bientot,

Ravi Venkanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coin de Mire Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coin de Mire Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Cap Malheureux, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coin de Mire Attitude 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin de Mire Attitude is a 3 star hotel where one immediately feels at home…Situated at the northern tip of Mauritius, between the fishermen’s village of Cap Malheureux and the lively village of Grand Bay, across the road from the beach, the 3* hotel faces one of the most stunning views the island offers, the majestic rock Coin de Mire sitting on the horizon…The typical Mauritian architecture and the contemporary decoration contribute to that genuinely tropical holiday atmosphere.Its welcoming team, its beautiful tropical garden, its 102 spacious rooms and its Spa Attitude invite families, couples and individuals to relax in a very cosy atmosphere.For those who are adventurous and curious, Coin de Mire Attitude is the starting point to discover the island and its inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coin de Mire Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coin De Mire
Coin Mire
Coin De Mire Grand Baie
Coin De Mire Attitude Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coin de Mire Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.