We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Canisses Resto & Plage

Les Canisses Resto & Plage
Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
2635231
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 92 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Les Canisses Resto & Plage is a bar and restaurant in the heart of Grand Baie. Located on the edge of the scenic bay, Les Canisses is the perfect place to enjoy the magnificent sunsets over a few drinks or a delicious meal. Open 7 days a week.
New York
1 review
“OUTSTANDING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Well The Islands are about the beach!! Les Canisses has one of the best spot either for familly, with Friends or just plain Romantic. Patricia the owner is great low key but keeps a close eye on the things. Went 3 times a lunch and twice for dinner, never was I disappointed. Have a drink @ the bar before. The music on the evening is to die for. The view of the beach is great. Keep it up guys

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Les Canisses Resto & Plage, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Les Canisses.

Les Canisses is certainly a great for family as the kids can play on the beach whilst their parents enjoy and for couples they can enjoy a romantic dinner as the sun sets over the bay.

We regularly host local musicians on Mondays and weekends and you can enjoy contemporary, sega or make a request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quatre Bornes
1 review
“The Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Instead of Les canisses resto the name should be the paradise resto,Today i wanted to give my wife a surprise for her birthday,cause everytime she tells me that she wanna go to grand bay,so I searched on the net and found that attractive place,so i booked and went there!!! WOW! it's indeed a Paradise place!!! the food was too good and people working over there are very cool and friendly, i would say a big BRAVO to the whole Team of les Canisses ! you people are very proffessionals and qualified ! thanks a lot and always be like you are. take great care!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Les Canisses Resto & Plage, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for that lovely feedback and it's great to hear that your wife had a lovely birthday with us at Les Canisses. Paradise Resto - we love it! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must go to place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this bar restaurant and are so glad we did. The staff and owner were so friendly, we have not met such wonderfully genuine people. The view out on to the bay is also something you must see, local fisherman catching fish and steps down onto the white sand of grand baie.

The food was the best seafood we have ever had. My husband had local fish with rice and peas and I had the biggest, freshest juiciest prawns which were the best I have ever had. A must if you are in grand baie.

We went back on several occasions to try and spend the rest of the rupees however the prices are so reasonable that it took a while.

This bar/restaurant made are honeymoon extra special. Thanks guy's!!

Kirsty and Phil xx

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Les Canisses Resto & Plage, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Les Canisses. We do strive to give our customers the warmest welcome and make them feel part of the Les Canisses family.

It's nice to hear that the seafood was the best you've ever had. Seafood is a speciality of the restaurant and it's always fresh as those fishermen you can see from the veranda supply us.

We're very happy that we could help make your honeymoon extra special. You're so welcome and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“at ease near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Cosy and comfortable place, The restaurant has an eye-catching bar with a disciplined staff. The meals are really gorgeous specially the meat and pizzas. However the menu lacks choices as well as quality wines, but the variety of cocktails compensate for these.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Les Canisses Resto & Plage, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of Les Canisses Resto & Plage. The restaurant is a great place to relax over a drink or a meal and enjoy the view. It's rewarding to hear that you loved your meal and our delicious cocktails. Our meat dishes and pizzas are popular but our salads, seafood, Italian and Mauritian favourites are certainly worth a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beach side location. Great restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Really nice restaurant for dinner. Right beside the sea. Live music frequently, of a v good quality. Well cooked food. Very friendly service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Les Canisses Resto & Plage, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of Les Canisses and it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the view, music, food and service. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Canisses Resto & Plage also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Les Canisses Resto & Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Canisses Resto & Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.