We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6* luxury at its best...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“6* luxury at its best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am currently sitting on the fabulous beach at the 'new' Royal Palm, and this is as good as it gets. I have stayed four times previously at the hotel and the changes made have improved the hotel from amazing to spectacular!
The rooms have been modernised, with new bright colour schemes, incredible marble bathrooms (double vanity, egg shaped bath, walk in shower with marble seat - our current junior suite 219), huge luxurious beds, and beautiful verandahs with views to the ocean. We are on the 1st floor with a balcony, but usually go for the ground floor with direct access to the garden and the beach (the room key also opens your door from the terrace). The view is stunning from our current room.
The main new addition to the hotel is an incredible infinity lap pool situated behind the beach, which is heated. The gardens don't seem to feel as though they have been reduced as a result of the pool addition, very clever design.
As always the food is first class, and I have eaten in some amazing restaurants (inc Michelin star establishments) but the restaurant 'La Goulette' at the Royal Palm is one of my favourite. Understated elegance. At night the tables are all lit, and they place extra lamps near the tables to add to the fine dining ambiance. The restaurant is open air, and the warm breeze gently fans you during your evening. Michele de Matteis is the French Head Chef, and his creations are mouth watering. Last night we opted for the Rack of Lamb as a main course, cooked to perfection, carved at the table, succulent, delicious. There is an also an extensive wine list. The fabulous cuisine is one of the many reasons why the hotel has such a high repeat client ratio. In addition to the main dining room the hotel have now introduced an Italian restaurant in place of the previous 'healthy eating' option and this is a huge improvement. The food at the Italian is a delectable delight and the setting is magical.
This hotel is a true 6* experience. The service is unmatched, and the staff are attired as you would expect of a property of this calibre. The beach is just beautiful with gently shelving white sand into warm turquoise water. There is a hotel boat (small yacht) for hire should you require it, and a Rolls Royce for that extra special transfer (approx 45 mins- 1 hour from airport). Alternatively take the helicopter from the airport which takes 15-20 minutes and land in the hotel grounds. In the evening there is live music, elegant again, last night was a singer/pianist.
My partner thoroughly enjoyed her return visit to the Clarins spa and had a wonderful massage. The spa itself is very impressive with an endless list of treatments. There is also an extremely well equipped fitness centre with staff on hand to assist/advise.
This property truly deserves its "leading Hotel of the World' status, and GM Jacques Silvant does an amazing job, each and every guest is made to feel very special.
If you opt to stay at this wonderful hotel you will not be disappointed..

ps special staff mention to Moty (beach manager) plus all of his team who elevate sunbathing to a new level! The restaurant staff who are incredibly attentive under the watchful eye of Somdutt, who is a credit to the hotel, and of course GM Jacques and his management team, who really can't do enough for you. Thank you once again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with direct access to the gardens are wonderful, higher floor rooms have better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

On the northern coast and facing the most beautiful beach on Mauritius my wife and I had a magical and memorable experience at this hotel.
It is beautiful in so many ways.
The decor, the courteous and attentive staff I have ever seen.
Everywhere you look there is something to cause you to slow down and stop and admire.
It is an experience, a truly world class service, with great French and Italian chiefs in cuisine for the 2 restaurants
The atmosphere with the piano playing in the background was very relaxing
Spacious and elegant suite with excellent pools and poolside drinks and snacks available.
The luxury spa is just amazing.
Highly recommended in range of luxury hotels in Mauritius.
Thank you for an amazing stay and it will certainly be my hotel of choice on return visits to Mauritius.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after staying at Trou aux Biches for the Mauritius part of our honeymoon and found the place to be magical - we had a sea front facing suite and went waterskiing and around the town. This place has an understated class which is really appealing and the restaurants are superb - go here for a special one, you won't regret it - oh and the Spa - it's dreamy and fantastic

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I stayed for 10 days at the recently reopened and refurbished Royal Palm in Grand Baie in Mauritius just before Christmas. I cannot recommend this fabulous hotel highly enough. In truth, I have stayed there before and I have always rated it very highly but the significant renovation really has improved it even further; not that it needed much in my opinion. It is now royal in every sense - elegant, tasteful, refined and highly sophisticated are adjectives that come to mind. And I rather like the fact that it is slightly understated. For example, when you arrive at the front entrance of the hotel itself, you might almost wonder if you have ended up at the right place - no massive front door or cavernous atrium to navigate through but only a discrete small brass plaque to the right of the entrance with the reassuring words 'Leading Hotel of the World' to confirm that you are about to enter one of the very best hotels in the world - and I can write with reasonable authority because I have stayed in a few. It's only as you walk into the lobby that the shimmering sea materialises in the background. I think there are now fewer bedrooms (around 70 I believe) and our suite was beautifully furnished. I thought the bathroom in particular was exceptional. The whole renovation has been very tastefully and cleverly done - the hotel doesn't feel dramatically different so returning guests will be entirely comfortable but it was very clear that no stone has been left unturned, probably literally! The food was outstanding and they should have at least one Michelin Star - but I am told they don't want one so apparently it has not been offered! Apart from its great location in the very picturesque Grand Baie in the north of the island, I think one of the best attributes of this lovely hotel is the quality of its beach and the sea swimming. Overall, I cannot imagine that there are any better tropical holiday destinations than this. Yes, elsewhere in the world you can find more visually stunning hotels, more spectacular beaches, more general magnificence, perhaps even better food …. but taken in the round and measured against value for money, I think this is the place to be.

Finally, I would add that we booked through Susie Freeman Travel – her name was given to us by a friend who described her as the ‘Queen of Mauritius’! Frankly, if you are contemplating a holiday there, don’t bother to consult elsewhere. What she doesn’t know about the island is not worth knowing and her astonishing contact list alone makes it worth booking through her. Her advice was first class and just the fact that I had booked through her seemed to be a passport to some sort of elevated status as a guest in the hotel. We did a rough comparator on price for our holiday with a couple of other agencies and she was some way cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel

Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MOST PRESTIGIOUS ADDRESS IN MAURITIUS When you choose Royal Palm for your holiday in Mauritius, you can expect perfection from start to finish; it is undeniably the finest hotel in Mauritius. Located on the sheltered north-west coast, stretching along a pure white sandy beach, Royal Palm is a tranquil tropical haven with an uncompromising commitment to excellence. Royal Palm's recent upgrade involved refurbishing the common areas and suites to create the ultimate luxury experience. All was done however to preserve the hotel's unique atmopshere, natural charm and timeless elegance. Bathed in soft lighting, the rooms combine delicate and bold hues, fine fabrics, finishes in wood and marble and custom-made wooden furniture crafted by local artisans. Time is purely subjective within Royal Palm's environment as if it was made for unique moments, the kind that leaves indelible traces in one's heart. Your every wish is anticipated and every whim is satisfied with impeccable service. Whether you are enjoying a meal in one of the hotel's restaurants, a treatment at the lavish Clarins spa or simply relaxing on the beach, at one of the hotel's three swimming pools (including a 25-metre lap pool), the team at Royal Palm is committed to your well-being. Royal Palm is also celebrated for its award-winning cuisine. Three restaurants, presided over by French Chef Michel de Matteis, who obtained the tile of "Best Craftsman of France", invites you to a tantalizing culinary experience. Should you choose the casual elegance of Le Bar Plage, the spacious terrace of La Goelette or the intimate setting of the new Italian restaurant named La Brezza, any choice you make will be perfect. Immerse yourself in complete luxury and book your holiday in Mauritius at Royal Palm. Royal Palm - Extraordinarily true. UNIQUE SELLING POINTS A unique site on the sun-drenched north west coast of Mauritius Protected from the trade winds, the sea is fringed by a pure white sandy beach Impeccable service matches the highest standards in the world The finest haute cuisine inspired by an award-winning chef 69 spacious, elegantly decorated suites facing the sea 3 heated pools A spectacular Royal Suite with private pool and en-suite hammam A Spa by Clarins A sport center Helipad Some of Royal Palm's latest innovations : A new category of suites, the "Ocean Suites" Refurbished suites and common spaces A 25-metre lap pool, overlooking the sea, between the swimming pool and Le bar Plage restaurant (reserved for swimming lengths) A new Italian restaurant replaces the former Natureaty restaurant in a private location overlooking the sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Grand Baie
Hotel Royal Palm
Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.