We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Grand Baie
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Although I would rate my room at the St Geran slightly higher from the point of view of lay-out and space, having breakfast brought to my terrace exactly on time with two smiling waiters to prepare the table and lay it all out was a real pleasure. The beach has to be one of the loveliest ones in the world to swim from and to walk along. Soft powder sand and crystal clear water made a swim before breakfast a must. The staff on the beach quickly brought ice cold water and towels and saw to every need without being intrusive. I would have liked to have seen a bit less of the beach vendors, but they were all very friendly and if you made it clear you didn't want to buy anything they left you in peace. Lunch at the beach bar was a relaxing and enjoyable experience but the highlight was a beach bbq on my last evening with flaming torches and melt-in-the-mouth food. There were staff waiting to help with absolutely everything and I had a great snorkel from a glass bottomed boat. My big regret was not booking into the Spa and for only having a week in Mauritius. The answer is I will have to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    25
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
51
138
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were expecting personnalised, friendly and attentive service but instead we got staff and managers with an attitude, only concerned with their repeat French guests (and celebrities), never bothering with the likes of 'ordinary' clients. Here's what we got from the Royal Palm: invisible manager, never bothering to greet new guests, no food served on the beach (that was a first for us in Mauritius), no ice cream or fresh towels on the beach (as you would at other proper five star hotels), beach is tiny and overcrowded, the beach staff are uninterested, waiters equally bored, food in the two restaurants is exactly the same, allegedly French gastronomical food but actually a poor attempt at fusion, had beef slow cooked in wine that was so bitter it was unpalatable, The cook is too busy walking the grounds to actually taste the food coming out of his kitchen. Of course at Michelin restaurant prices. No local food options or restaurants, an Indian or Asian restaurant would have been more logical. The rooms are all located in a residential block, the grounds of the hotel are TINY. For the best address in Mauritius go elsewhere. And there is a vast choice: Touessrock, Prince Maurice, Four Seasons, Maradiva, Trou aux Biches. This place is obnoxious, overrated and definitely not worth the praise. We were not given a comments card upon leaving but still insisted on leaving one and guess what, the manager never bothered to respond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent service, wonderful hote,, food is lovely. We land there by helicopter it's was so cool we had a show girl and champagne , the spa is great ! We loved a day out on the boat trip to Gabriel island and hav BBK in bout mad by the captain, later we had a spa massage and jacuzzi, we love it all.

Room Tip: Book it in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had our wedding in the Royal Palm and would like to give a significant thank you to the entire team who made the day easy, stress less and just fully enjoyable as well as the entire stay in the hotel. This was our first time in Mauritius and therefore in the Royal Palm and are thrilled for having chosen this hotel.
We would like to give a special thank you to Jenny, Corinne and Tania who have accompanied us through the wedding proceedings non stop and have gone far over their original duties.
Karen from the SPA managed to make the morning of the wedding totally relaxing and fun for the bride! (and did a great make up and hair style).
Of course, thank you to Virginie and the rest of her team as well as to the chef and the staff at the restaurants. The organisation has been impeccable and the team have shown full flexibility to some of our needs / requests for the wedding and for the stay in general (dietary restrictions, special requests for our wedding outfits that the Gouvernante and her team have totally fulfilled, etc.). All was made simple and enjoyable and this has enabled us to make the most of the a fairly short stay in Mauritius with a wedding in between. We would highly recommend the Royal Palm to anybody for any type of holiday. The classy but relaxed ambiance made all the difference to us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Impeccable hotel with the most beautiful beach on the island.
Many thanks to the chef. Every dinner was a joy. Also the personnel and service were exceptional.
We are looking forward to our holiday next year in April.

Room Tip: All suits have sea view and are very quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent 14 nights at the Beachcomber Royal Palm, Grand Baie, Mauritius for my husband"s 60th birthday. We went half-board and the food at the Royal Palm was excellent, and  the service was friendly and outstanding. 

One of the many highlights on this holiday for us was that there were onsite tennis courts and we looked forward to playing tennis every evening. The beach was gorgeous, and a lovely bonus was that the majority of the water sports were free!

We have only two regret with this holiday, we only went to the spa at the Royal Palm once and we only booked for 14 nights!

Would we go to Mauritius again? Yes. Would we stay at the Royal Palm again? Absolutely!

We booked this fantastic holiday with Seyexclusive.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent, you must decide on the room you want with budget in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It's our fifth stay in Mauritius and the Royal Palm and each visit is as wonderful as the last .
The standard of everything is second to none. The staff are friendly, welcoming and respectful and nothing is too much trouble. It really does feel like a home from home - life doesn't get any better when you stay at this very special hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and all look out onto the bay. Upper 2 floors have a better view obviously a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel

Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Baie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Grand Baie
Hotel Royal Palm
Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.