We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Grand Baie
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Luxurious and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our 6th visit to The Royal Palm. The hotel remains impeccably maintained, the atmosphere is luxurious and indulgent but not pretentious. The staff are attentive and friendly throughout every rank. My 2 younger children (9, 6) accessed the kidsclub for some activities and enjoyed pony rides and deep sea fishing. My elder son (11) tried his hand at water skiing and wind surfing. When it comes to food this hotel is outstanding, my husband would describe it as food heaven from dawn to dusk. The head chef is extremely talented offering contemporary european dishes comparable to michelin star dining. Food is lovingly prepared and presented beautifully with ampul portions. With a garlic allergy I was well catered for and offered alternative apperitiff, breads, pre-sarters etc. I did not feel a nuisance at any point and felt relaxed enough to enjoy my meal with the knowledge that they took my allergy seriously. My children are not yet as adventurous with their palate and again the hotel chef was happy to prepare foods that they were comfortable eating. I could not ask for anything more from a hotel, nothing is too much trouble. A perfect hoiday!!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    25
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
51
138
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Idyllic location in the Indian Ocean, perfect weather, glorious white sandy beach..... That’s what nature can offer. Add to this an exquisite and intimate complex that feels more like a boutique hotel than a 180 guest resort, but that has all of the benefits of a large complex. To name but a few, Spa, Gyms, Squash and Tennis courts, two swimming pools and an excellent children’s program....

Having said all of this the two most endearing qualities have got to be the FOOD and the STAFF. If this were a top class Michelin restaurant with a modest number of tables the food would be considered exquisite. In reality the restaurant is large enough to support the hotel and provide anything from six course gourmet dining to something that isn't even on the menu – nothing seemed too much trouble. In a 10 day stay, eating the breakfast lunch and dinner, there wasn't a single plate of food or course that was anything less than a culinary delight. Be it the signature Cote de Boeuf or a simple plate of spaghetti for the kids. The pre-starters and pre deserts are always a wonderful surprise and adventure. The menu is diverse and yet consistently excellent with classic and modern techniques married with inspiring local ingredients and sensitivity to flavours.

Similarly the Staff somehow manage to find the balance between unfaltering personal service and a warm friendly "relationship". Having said that they also seem to be in touch with the guest’s expectation and seem to modify their approach to accommodate all. It's amazing how many of the staff know the guests by name and their needs. The management appear to be able to recruit and train to an excellent standard and the natural warmth and ability of the Mauritian people shines through at all levels in the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent - it just depends how much you want to spend -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed with my wife in two bed suite with own balcony. Very peaceful experience and service was excellent. Food and facilities were amazing. Very, very tranquil spa. Private setting with beautiful beach. Top, top hotel. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Royal Palm is the ultimate in Mauritian luxury! From the time of arrival, everything was perfect. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, the food is out of this world amazing, the setting is luxurious, the service is phenomenal and the beach is perfect. The only disadvantage, is that some of the rooms are quite close to eachother, but you still have complete privacy. The attention to detail incredible, and absolutely perfect for those for those on honeymoon or for those wanting the quieter luxury of Mauritius. Located minutes away from Grand Baie for people wanting to explore the area a bit more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is excellence by all means... Just amazing.
If you want true luxury, great food and spotless service go to that hotel! It is definitely worthy to pay the extra money for it.
Very traditional hotel with modern touches.

The Spa is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen and the massages are excellent!

The main pool is heated by the sun so very nice and very Eco friendly!

I would go back there anytime, it is the most "perfect hotel" I have stayed on the island

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If your looking for the best service & food together with a great location & beach - Royal Palm is the place! Unique suites with lovely furniture, all the amenities you need, the best room service. The hotels Spa is one of the largest on the island but the hotel is one of the smallest top star hotels. The Bar & the restaurants location right at the waters edge are amazing where you see the sun go down. The Beach service is too good to describe & all staff make you feel at home. The Gym has the latest equipment, you need it as the food is so good!

Room Tip: Order breakfast from room service, the setup they do outside your suite is wonderful! Try it once fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world but Royal Palm has something special about it that's why we go every single year the food at lunch is a seven star restaurant the others are 5 star restaraunts the service is amazing only the general manager is terrible we have been going there for 15 years and he hasn't said is every thing ok when we checking out he is there he dosent even say thank you but the restaurant manager is the best he will do anything for us if the restaurant is full he will get us a table no problem the water skiing the boat house staff know me very well and are very safe i learn how to water ski when I was 4 they taught me now I'm a pro weight boarder they taught me all my tricks and my style over all it's the best holiday ever you won't regret it

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel

Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Grand Baie
Hotel Royal Palm
Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Royal Palm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.