We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Grill Mauritius

Gourmet Grill Mauritius
Royal Road, near Banana Beach Club, Grand Baie, Grand Baie, Mauritius 34567
+230 263 8540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 93 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Price range: $18 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Gourmet Grill is not just a grill it's a "culinary experience." We feature the best seafood found on the island and specials such as Risotto and Camarons (Giant fresh water shrimps), fresh Foie Gras,tasty vegetarian dishes, and of course our Steaks and Burgers are legend. Be sure not to miss our great weekly specials. While you dine you will no doubt take in the beautiful tropical setting of the Banana open to the restaurant which features "live" acoustic music most nights. The Grill is sure to maximize your dining experience.The musical decor in the restaurant displays the owners passion for music with a collection of fine guitars, instruments, and memorabilia.After dinner you can enjoy a drink at the Banana and the Kamikaze Night Club for a memorable night out.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tasty food for all of us fussy eaters. Being the only vegetarian in the family, they still catered for me although there wasn't anything vegi on the menu. Excellent service too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are so thankful that you took the time to review the Grill on trip Advisor. We try our best to give our customers the best possible cuisine, service, and ambiance we can offer at a reasonable cost.

I am so pleased that the servers took care of your vegetarian needs, we are delayed in printing our new menu which does have several tasty vegetarian choices.

We hope that your stay in Mauritius was a pleasant one ad that we see you again soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Flavours are brilliant great food choice nice atmosphere the lobster was fantastic and the burgers are great too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are so thankful that you took the time to write such a superb review for the Grill on trip Advisor. We try our best to give our customers the best possible cuisine, service, and ambiance we can offer at a reasonable cost.

We hope that your stay in Mauritius was a pleasant one ad that we see you again soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great reastaurant, maybe the best food in Grand Baie. Service was great, the food was cooked to perfection, owner was always present in the restaurant to make sure that everything was right. Live music accompanies you while you're having your dinner. The restaurant is a bit hidden, although in the coastal road, if you don't know it it's hard to spot. Great value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your “great” review of The Grill, we really appreciate it. The staff are very pleased to know that they are doing a good job and do appreciate you taking the time to let them know. We try our best to give our customers the best possible cuisine, service, and ambiance we can offer at a reasonable cost.

We hope that your stay in Mauritius was a pleasant one ad that we see you again soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull DUO!!! In a great place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very surprising place like the heart of the nightlife of Grand Baie. The Grill, with its musical atmosphere, has a really nice menu with a nice variety of dishes. We had a delicious and beautiful duo of "Bourgeois" fresh fish from Seychelles and "Camaron" giant prawn, and a beef filet. Was incredibly wonderful. Nice service and good communication. Meeting a nice garden, an old woody bar and great live music, the place offers a really enjoyable moment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are so thankful that you took the time to write such a superb review for the Grill on trip Advisor. We try our best to give our customers the best possible cuisine, service, and ambiance we can offer at a reasonable cost.

We hope that your stay in Mauritius was a pleasant one ad that we see you again soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We heard of the Banana in Grand Baie so that was something high on our list of things to do in Mauritius but after looking at the menu we had dinner at the Grill restaurant which is located at the Banana. It was fabulous, I had the Camarons and my husband had the Rack of Lamb, both delicious, and service was excellent. We had an outdoor table in the beautiful garden and the live music at Banana was an added treat. We also found another hidden treasure there, the Kamikaze night club. We will definitely recommend this place for a great dinner and a fun night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are so thankful that you took the time to write such a superb review for the Grill on trip Advisor. We try our best to give our customers the best possible cuisine, service, and ambiance we can offer at a reasonable cost.

We hope that your stay in Mauritius was a pleasant one ad that we see you again soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Grill Mauritius also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Gourmet Grill Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Grill Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.