We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with no so good ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rougaille Creole

La Rougaille Creole
Royal Road, (Near Sunset Boulevard), Grand Baie, Mauritius
+230 263 8449
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 89 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food with no so good ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We went there based on the TripAdvisor reviews and recommendation from the hotel staff.

Overall, we really liked the food we ate. We ordered soup and main course and I have to say the food was really good. It has the local Creole favor (not that I am Creole expert) and it was prepared/presented well.

The place itself may not be easy to find as it is on the back side from the main road. The ambiance itself is not that appealing so don't go expecting an upscale restaurant.

The food is very decently priced and has a good range to select from.

NOTE: the place does *NOT* accept credit cards so make sure you carry cash!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    74
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So good and then so bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Firstly let me say the food is the best I've had in Grand Bay. So good in fact that we visited twice, on both occasions the food was excellent.
Let me start with the first visit, we chose this restaurant from the reviews on Trip advisor and as regular visitors to Mauritius we were not familiar with it. The evening of our first visit we were welcomed by the maître d' (not the young man in the picture, I'll get to him) . We were shown to our table and given excellent service and recommendations, this gentleman, sorry I did'nt get his name was polite, obliging and knowledgable. His wine recommendation (not one on the menu) was perfect. The food as already said was wonderful, the sea bream in a grape beurre blanc is exceptional.
So we decided to visit again, oh dear what a shame. This time the guy in the picture by Cogito 33 was in charge, again the food was exceptional, however the service was deplorable ! I do not expect the waiter to walk away half way through taking our order, he did. A child at the table next to us sleeping in a pram was rudely awakened as he turned up the music to an unacceptable level (for a restaurant) because he liked the tune. A group of his friends turned up and he completely disappeared to sit with them, leaving the tables on the veranda unnatended.
I feel so sorry writing this review as I cannot stress enough just how wonderful the food was, or indeed how exceptional the service was on our first visit. However if our first experience of La Rougaille Creole had been our second visit then we would not have gone back, no matter how good the food.
Please don't be put off by this review, go and experience this restaraunt. But be aware that one night is not the same as the other. My compliments to all the staff on our first visit and to the cooking staff on our second. But the guy in the picture, take a good look at how your actions impacted on a very fine restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, not expensive and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We wanted some local food and did choose La Rougaille Creole in Grand Baie. Actually not a bad choice.

The restaurant is not located at the sea side - what keeps the prices down... The street or road very next to restaurant is not busy at all. However, from time to time a motor bike or car drives across with the Mauritius typical sound (either they drill wholes into their exhausting pipes or they all are just wrecks...). That might be a bit annoying if you're sitting on the veranda a the entrance. Beside that sometimes noisy intermezzos the experience is excellent.

The staff is friendly and try hard to give their best. And the menu has a variety of different local choices. As almost everywhere in Mauritius, the meat is very well cooked - so was my creole beef curry. I had do chew for some extra times but the tastes wasn't bad just because of that - that's the way it is. I wanted creole food and than you shouldn't complain if you get it...
The wine we ordered (two ocean from South Africa) was out of stock so the waiter (the boss) recommended another one. It was a bit cold at the beginning, but after it warmed up a bit we tasted it more and more and it was not bad at all.
As a desert the waiter recommended banana or ananas (pineapple) flambé with local rum (not Green Island or Chamarel though). We choose both options and were happy with it.
Overall an authentic creole experience that was not very expensive.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Amazing food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is the place to go if you want authentic Mauritian food. The only waiter is friendly, cool and serves you his very own home-made schnapps (on the house). The food is simply delicious.

We went there three times and had amazing, super fresh lobster, tiger prawns, and a local fish called we were told was called "captain". Can't remember exact prices but a big serving of lobster, for example, was around 20 euros. Excellent value.

Aubergine fritters made a tasty amuse-bouche. Beautiful presentation of the dishes, plentiful garnishing. The fruit we ordered for dessert were flambéed right in front of our eyes. Totally recommended!

(You wouldn't run into this restaurant as the location might seem a bit fishy - it's on a small lane off the main street - but we were lucky enough to get a recommendation from a cabbie.)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

One of the best Creole restaurants on the island. Highly recommended. Excellent service and wonderful food

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rougaille Creole also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to La Rougaille Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rougaille Creole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.