We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botteghita

Botteghita
Royal Road, Near Europcar, Grand Baie, Mauritius 34567
+230 5701 6345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Price range: $12 - $122
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Botteghita wines and truffle. Tipical toscany-emilian restaurant. Michele Alessio and the staff wil guide youon a realand genuine italian experience with home made disches daily prepared
grand baie mauritius
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It is always a great pleasure to eat at this restaurant and it is becoming one of our favourite restaurants in Mauritius.
For appetizer we choice different Italian sausages and cheese, which was great. The main course served was beef fillet with cheese and truffle on the top and potatoes/salad. These dishes were fantastic.
It is a bit of a shame that only around 40 - 50 guest can experience this excellent restaurant on one night. ( table reservation is recommended).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    51
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I don't normally visit a restaurant twice on holiday but I did with this one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This restaurant was very near our hotel and we walked past it a couple of times and noticed it was always busy. It was the start of the low season so some places were a bit dead. It's on a busy main road but it's not a problem. The restaurant is nicely decorated and has a good atmosphere.

The bruschetta we ordered was excellent and the sea food ravioli was delicious. My husband enjoyed his meal too but I don't remember what it was. We ordered a desert each which was a mistake as they were huge - we still managed to finish off a the whole panna cotta and chocolate cake though, then had liquor coffees. We also were given complimentary limoncello. The staff and owners are extremely nice and they had a band playing that were very good.

We enjoyed it so much we came back a week later and did it again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Choisy, Pamplemousses, Mauritius
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best piZza in grand baie !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Best pizza in grand baie and one of the best pizza i have eaten in mauritius so far. The service is nice. The atmosphere was great with a live accoustic music band playing tonight. The italian owners come ti check if all is okay and if we enjoy our food. Very very nice place !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Mauritius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Without a single doubt, for the last 3 years or so, La Boteghitta is simply the best place!
The tandem Giacomo and Patrizia, is fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The paradise of the kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I've been to Mauritius two weeks with my girlfriend ... I am of Italian descent and I was impressed to find a piece of Italy to Mauritius ... The Botteghita for me is the best place on the island, suitable for families or couples looking for a romantic place. Here you can find exceptional dishes from pasta, pizza, meat and fish cooked according to the Italian culinary tradition ... A show for the palate ... Also here you can find truffles, mushrooms, meats, cheeses and wines of all kinds ... It 's all made ​​in Italy ... Moreover, the two Italian owners, Patricia and James, are two wonderful people, very kind and nice. The atmosphere is something special for those looking for great food and a nice place to spend a nice evening .. The Botteghita is the place ... You can not start from Mauritus without having been to Botteghita.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botteghita also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Botteghita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botteghita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.