We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Capitaine

Le Capitaine
Coastal Road, West of Town Centre, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30510
+230 263 6867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 114 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Capitaine Grand Baie ,is a popular restaurant serving delicious fish and seafood dishes in a pleasant space that combines style with informality. Le Capitaine offers you to enjoy fresh fish and seafood prepared and cooked to perfection.A unique blend of original recipes and must have favorites have resulted in a dedicated following. Fresh lobster is the pick of the menu, while other delicious mains include fish cooked in banana leaf with spices and herbs ,the home creation since 1989 and high quality meats are also served
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant had terrible food. Had the lobster and mussels.
This was the worst lobster we ever had. And they serve old red wine by the glass. The bill was $200.00 in US Dollars. Horrible food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saminada chetty n, Owner at Le Capitaine, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
DEAR guest
may I know when did you visit the restaurant please
I just want to tell you that we fresh lobster almost everyday from various corners of the island and if ever the lobster is not cooked to the taste of the client we always change it
also was the service and atmosphere also terrible

awaiting your answer
kind regards
k chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    164
    59
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top quality food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant offers a most pleasant ambience, a great selection of food and superb service. It's speciality is seafood. It has the best location in the area as it overlooks a small bay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
730 helpful votes 730 helpful votes
“Good location, well cooked food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The restaurant overlooks a bay with several boats. We visited on a Tuesday lunch time and were shown to an edge table, overlooking the bay. The manager chatted to us pleasantly about the dishes, but he had recently been smoking and this was not ideal. Whole fish on the bone was not available and we chose fish fillet cooked in banana leaf with coconut curry and peanuts. The dish was beautifully presented and tasted excellent. The rice was flavoured with coriander, raisins and saffron - an excellent taste. A nugget of green-coloured coconut paste was tasty as were the pickled vegetables. The dish could not be faulted and we enjoyed it considerably. It cost 490 MR (£11) each and the bottle of natural water was 90MR (£2). When the bill came, it was increased by the addition of VAT. Our bills elsewhere had included VAT but doubtless this was explained on the menu. Anyway, Perhaps as a result of choosing luckily from the menu (if other reviews are accurate) we had a very enjoyable lunch in an excellent location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Average & expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Yep, afraid average. Food was ex[pensive for what we had
Mussels in cream (good but only 5 of them) & Squid (I think from frozen) with some weird potatoes and dipping sauces that were nothing special to start
Husband had prawns with veg (nice - about 5 of them for the requested 300g serving) - the menu states price by 100g and consequently these cost 675MUR on final bill. This was stated though but final price racks the bill upwards
I had a strange prawn & palm heart bake - very sweet - waiter said 2 large prawns but I only saw one - think there was another chopped up in the sauce but could not distinguish nor taste due to sweet palm hearts
2 deserts were average
We had 6 spirits, 2 mixers and 2 glasses of wine
Total bill - 4,700 MUR - way too expensive for the quality
We visited on a Sunday evening and were told no catch of the day as fisherman don't work on Sundays. Wont be going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a bit of a disapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

the bread we were served was hard it was cut long before our arrival the service was dismal the food however was average but for what i paid i wouldnt go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Capitaine also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Le Capitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Capitaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.