We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst 5 Star Service ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - XMAS IN THE SUN
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
1 review
“Worst 5 Star Service ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The resort is beautiful & has all the facilities but the service from all the staff was sub standard & not what you expect when you pay for a 5 star hotel

We attending a wedding there and the food was very mediocre

We continually asked the reception staff to provide our room mini bar with bottled water but every day they failed

Would not go back ..,.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    263
    69
    45
    12
See reviews for
402
632
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After our previous Mauritius stay on the other side of the island we thought we'd break up a long flight from Cape Town to Aus.
We had a delayed flight and hence unfortunately arrived at an ungodly hour, but we were very happy to see our transport to Shandrani was waiting and organised....
We were greeted with lovely concierge and our room was clean, airy and in good condition. Even more they had thought ahead and made sure we had some delicious morsels and beverages in our room - very grateful!

We were only here two days but crammed a hell of a lot in :-) Sailing, snorkelling, complimentary massages ( as part of our honeymoon)....
Basically we had a fantastic time here and the service, presentation and organisation was very good.

GOOD STUFF:
- Swimming and activity areas were a good size and the waterway is largely sheltered.
- Food is pretty damn good.
- The spa facilities (ie as part of the massage) were just gorgeous!!! the best we have ever seen

The only DRAWBACKS we struck were:
- The location ( ie great as close to airport but airplane noise can be intrusive). However regardless it didn't bother us much at all and it is a very pretty place
- Restaurants are very popular - book well ahead!
- The reef ( if you go snorkelling) is pretty buggered, but the water is lovely and clear
- Our stay was too short :-)

A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Away from the main area is quieter. We stayed in room 123 and loved having a little balcony as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This trip was everything we hoped for and more. Accommodation was fantastic, staff were amazing and very friendly and went well out of there way to ensure you had the perfect time.

We was worried as we had read reviews complaining of noise from airplanes as it is directly under a flight path however to be honest we barely noticed any noise and when a plane came over it was quite enjoyable to watch!

There was lots of choice available for all meals however they did have a function on for two days during our visit which meant we were not able to visit to of the restaurants.

I have a major nut allergy and they catered for me very well ensuring that all my food was prepared separately and understanding all ingredient they have used in the food, I was even able to try Thai food for the first time as the head chef had prepared me a special menu!

The entertainment was good and also lots of things to do during the day. The best attractions were swimming with Dolphins in the ocean and a south tour of the island. We were very lucky to have a private driver for the day as our tour operator white sands didn't sell enough tickets for the tour so instead of putting my husband and I on a bus they have us our own driver a tour guide for the day to visit the south of the island including the temples, volcano, waterfall an the coloured land which really was incredible.

The resort is 5 star and if you use white sands for tours you will find they are very reasonable and have some great excursions to do!!

Try biking to the local town as this was also very worth a visit!!

Overall a once in a lifetime experience and can't wait to return one day :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All went well, but despite paying extra for a late checkout we were told that our time had expired and we were not welcome to a last drink as part of our all exclusive serenity package. Considering we were 5 minutes after the checkout time and our taxi was arriving in 25 minutes this was rather mean considering the 3000+ euros spent in total at the hotel. We proceeded to the main bar at our expense, unfortunately after 20 minutes of waiting to be served we decided to leave for the airport. A sad way to leave after what was a rather enjoyable stay with our 1 year old daughter. Beware of the noise from the airport, fantastic plane spotting if your partner does not mind the noise.

Room Tip: ground floor is great if you have a young child
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Isle of Man
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Same time of year, same resort.
Flight out of Gatwick on BA. Same great service, then met by private car for the short journey to the Beachcomber Shandrani.
Almost the perfect all inclusive holiday. No worries about cost, already included. Staff were again very attentive, room booked was a deluxe. Although we arrived about 6am local time we managed to get into the room after a very short wait. Went later to book the restaurants. Although we could not get into the Elephant because no children allowed, we were able to have the Thai menu served in the Sirius. Meals for the two weeks were organised by the staff and we were left to just enjoy ourselves. ALL the staff were friendly, the food was excellent and we could not fault anything, except the fact the two weeks is not enough. Once again Shandrani, well done.. I wish I had known a Pina Colada was about 600kls. Managed to put on 10lbs.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about this resort is that it's 5 minutes from the airport. On arrival we were served with refreshments. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was big enough with 3 of us in it and not feeling cramped at all. I love the fact that this hotel has 3 different sides to it. The wild ocean on the one side and then the side where one can snorkel with the family and then the lagoon side where lots of water activities take place. So there's something for everyone. The buffet was a standout, so much so that we've been back there again - the food is definitely a big drawcard. The spa was really luxurious and in lovely surroundings. Will definitely go back there again;.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this hotel.

Felt like we had our own private villa. All the water sports are included and the beach and pool area are so beautiful, like paradise!

The buffet has so much choice and changes all the time.

The only complaint I would have is the rooms aren't sound proof at all, we could hear the conversations of people next door and above.

Otherwise would definitely go!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa

Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.