We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a very nice time. Wonderful hotel, our rooms was deluxe room and very nice. We had wireless in the room. The foods and all restaurants were very delicious. Very friendly people and helpful. Everything was very clean. Water sport activities very nice and free and charge. We recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    257
    68
    42
    12
See reviews for
394
621
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Shandrani is a fabulous to die for holiday i went for 2 weeks amazing lots of activitys please come to this hotel beautiiful views lovley restraunts
Staff= Amazing
Room= AMAZING
Beaches=AMAZING
Over alll satifaction = AMAZING
I live in England this hotel is way better then the ones here

Room Tip: All rooms are equilly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Shandrani in November 2012 having previously stayed in 2008 and were slightly worried would not be as good , but in fact was even better. The staff are great, additional restaurants give added choice the choice of food is exceptional and the rooms are clean,spacious and very comfortable. We had a very relaxing time and took advantage of the island taxi trip which we asked to include Walk with Lions, this was a truly fab experience in that does what says on tin! 8 of us plus 2 Rangers and a stick each!!!! Walking in wood with two 4 year old white lions, getting to touch them and watching play was awesome highly recommend.
We would definitely not hesitate to recommend to anyone wanting relaxing holiday, great location and great food & service, the Spa was fantabulous, after our free half hour we went back for 2 more - bliss. The noise from aircraft is only on take off and it never bothered either of us, gone before you realise they are there. if Not been before you in for a treat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel the first two weeks of December and got married there mid way through, it has so much to offer and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We were truly pampered with our spa treatments and enjoyed all the facilities, including golf, tennis, waterskiing, kayaking, glass bottom boat, snorkelling. The wedding day was lovely all went according to plan and we certainly have lots of nice photos from the occasion from Elie Bernager, he was excellent and highly recommended. The food was lovely throughout our stay although you had to book early to get into some of the restaurants as because the resort was not full they closed some of the nights we were there. We got an upgrade to the senior suite at the end of our stay as part of our honeymoon but also because they were making some finishing touches to the delux room we had and wanted our block cleared. This made the holiday even more special, the suite was beautiful all open plan with a huge round bath that was overlooking the sea from inside the room, a DVD player with large plasma, and fully stocked mini bar. Each night canapes where delivered to the room as a nice little extra touch, All in all would recommend this hotel even though as most people have commented you can hear the aircraft
Special thanks to John Paul and Shandrine the wedding coordinators and Paul who took us to Port Louis to sort out the paper work, hopefully we will return one day in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wow -- what a great holiday. I would recommend this to anyone wanting an all inclusive island holiday.
The service and staff were amazing, the food unbelievable and the variety of areas to lounge (Lagoon, open sea or Channel) were just what the doctor ordered.

We were fortunate to stay in a suite and the staff could not do enough for us. We had our own dedicated area on the beach and that was constantly stocked with whatever we wanted to drink. Out room bar was always full and the snacks and Canapé's each night were delicious.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a family suite. It makes all the difference and you are the VIPs of the hotel. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Put on about 3 Kg is 3 days at this great all inclusive resort in the South of Mauritius.

The beaches available are really different from the rest of resorts in Mauritius - you have a choice of being at the lagoon near the hotel and its pool or further away at two other beaches - one with beautiful corals and the other a nice wild ocean beach with great waves.

The bar service is is generous and well stocked, but we found the beach trolly food and bev service and mini bar service not as comprehensive or as regular as last time ( Sign of the times??) .

Food at the Italian and seafood restuarants was super; well presented and delicious. Good wines were available for pairing with the various courses.

The kids loved the free flow of food and drinks all day long.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

[Location]
The location was ideal for us: we were only a few minutes away from the airport which was very convenient since we did not have to sit in a coach for hours.
Yes, you can see and hear planes flying over your head but as crazy as it may sound you get used to it and won't even pay attention as of the second day.

[Food]
The buffet was good and diverse.
There was something for everyone's taste.
For breakfast, the bread and brioches are great and tasty, the chef is French which helps if you ask me :)
Fresh local tea is served which is a nice touch, tea is one of the island's main exports.
Regular coffee is ok considering you're in a hotel, but espresso, decaffeinato or cappuccino are on demand.
Pastries, eggs (custom omelette, scrambled, hard-boiled, fried on demand), bacon, sausages (pork and chicken), noodles, rice, fruits, fruit salad, home-made yogurt, pancakes and crepes, and sometimes even donuts are also available.

For lunch, a variety of dishes will make you travel around the world through Italy, India, France, Australia...
It was always great.

[Room]
The room we were in was very clean although a bit old.
We were upgraded to a superior deluxe room (which is 6 sq m larger than the superior room we booked). It was a nice gesture although the hotel was far from full capacity. However the superior deluxe rooms were to be renovated by sept 2012, which they really deserved. (A mock-up room was available for visits and it look promising.)
Pre-renovation beds were comfortable very wide but might be a bit short if you're taller than 6'1.

We also asked for a crib for our son, and it was a decent classic model made of wood.
The bathroom was large with separate toilets and dressing room (where the safe is).
You can enjoy a bath in the large tub while your better half showers.
Towels are changed once a day (whether you want to keep them or not, despite what the little card reads).
2 adult-size t-shirts and pairs of slippers are given to you, compliments o the hotel, and robes are at your disposal for the duration of your stay.

[Golf course (pitch and putt)]
A technical, fun course seven for low handicap players
Greens are a bit too slow however and tee boxes are not well maintained.
Do not miss the stunning Pebble Beach-like views on a few holes.

[Staff]
Front desk, waiters, gardeners, housekeeping, room service, the towel guys, the luggage people, management, everyone was extremely friendly, reliable, helpful and smiling. They almost know what you need before you do.

[Bars]
A large array of cocktails and mocktails are served.
Our 2-year old enjoyed a strawberry milkshake at least twice a day.

The whole experience was relaxing and fun and we truly we're treated as if we were the only and best guests ever, which made our stay incredibly enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa

Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.