We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brasil
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excelent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Excelent hotel. Truly an all inclusive, we drinked champaigne on the beach the holl day. They even have a car that goes around the beach offering drinks. The Restaurants are excelent (you have to book all of them except the buffet so i highly recommend you do so before your arrival). The airport is really close and you can hear the planes but its reaaly not a problem because of the times of departures. I think the last one is at 11pm and the first one is not too early. Actually i never heard a single noise from my room, only at the pool. The beach is amazing and very peaceful. I recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    296
    75
    50
    15
See reviews for
440
694
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK, Mauritius
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here two weeks ago for three days and absolutely fell in love with the resort. I can see now why it gets so many repeat guests and praise on forum.
We stayed in a refurbished deluxe room on the AI Serenity Plus package.
From arrival to departure you feel totally relaxed in the laid back atmosphere, maybe a reflection on the management style which filters down to the staff and thus to guests. Its a totally laid back resort - not stuffy and pretentious like some in Mauritius and elsewhere.
The AI package starts as soon as you arrive and ends when you leave - whatever time that is, unlike some resorts who's packages end as soon as you check out at 12MD.
The AI includes branded drinks and champagne, snacks all day long, lunch, dinner, afternoon pancakes - a real AI package.
There's a little golf buggy that trundles round the resort's 3 beaches all day with soft drinks, salads, sandwiches etc. Great concept!
I was impressed with the mini bar too - it was customised to what you wanted - you rang your order in by automated service and the drinks and snacks magically appeared by teatime every day.
The minibar also included red and white wines.
The room was perfect - modern and nicely furnished with free Wi Fi and a huge TV, comfy bed and squishy pillows. Good work station, lovely bathroom and dressing room with iron and ironing board - a big plus!
The 3 beaches are fabulous - loved the wild beach! Like something out of a film!
Watersports good with a dive centre, sunbeds well placed along the beaches and some lovely sunbeds in the beautiful gardens.
There is one buffet main restaurant which we ate at as we didn't have time to prebook the 4 a la carte, but we did use Sirius for lunch several times and loved the bar there overlooking one of the pools. I'm a vegetarian with a nut allergy and the kitchen staff cooked to order for me - much appreciated! DH loved his food!
Housekeeping were excellent - very efficient and professional and friendly.
A big thankyou to all the staff who made our stay perfect!
Can't wait to return in March!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have just returned from my dream holiday, was taken with partner who had been four years ago, What an amazing experience the colours of the sea, birds, flowers stunning. Hotel was spotless, rooms are being renovated to a high standard, buffet restaurant - excellent best ever experienced, the hotel had four other amazing restaurants. The staff are so friendly and make you feel welcome. The hotel has so many areas depending what you want, two beauitful pools, three different beaches depending on your mood. Lots to do, waterski, sailing, canoeing, glass bottom boats, snorkelling. On the beach there are boats offering you boat trips, check they have a licence to bring the boat to the beach, we had a great day out with Peter Pan - highly recommended, paid for the optional BBQ on the beach - highly recommend ,paid after we returned from day. Just check them out first. The spa centre, again you must experience the amazing setting and the pool, treatments excellent escpecially the bamboo massage . Do not be put off that the hotel is close to the airport There was alot of repeat customers - and I can see why.they come back. It is a place I certanly want to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently spent a week at The Shandrani Resort and Spa in Mauritius. I was almost certain that it would meet up to the same level of quality of it's sister hotel, Sainte Anne in the Seychelles. Shandrani is part of the Beachcomber portfol
io of resorts, and having said this, you can be guaranteed exceptional service and quality for your rand. Needs of hotels and services change as you get kids, and this was a vast difference to the Hilton that we stayed at over 9 years ago!

I decided to post my review of the hotel and it's facilities to better give readers a broader idea of what to expect. After chatting to a friend, we both agreed that looking for a hotel to meet up to your expectation is like rocket-science. I probably looked at over 10 hotels before narrowing it down to 3, and finally deciding on Shandrani based entirely on it being an 'all-inclusive' hotel.

Our travel agent advised us to rather take the SAA flight, as the times were easier on the kids (returning late evening instead of early morning). Upon arrival, a Mautourco representative transfers you to the hotel which is a short 10-15 minute drive away in a combi.

Upon arrival at Shandrani, you are welcomed with this green, coconut drink which they later call the 'welcome drink'. You can order it from the bar, or during meal-times. It has a soft, islandy-like feel and taste about it, I was totally hooked and sad to have only discovered that it could be ordered much later on i our stay.

Rooms are available immediately after you arrive.
We opted for the newly refurbished Deluxe sea-facing rooms (on the first floor, initial request for was ground, but I was glad to have gotten the first floor as the view of the beach was nicer). These rooms are also very close to the main reception and dining area and a quick walk to the wellness centre and spa.

The room was large, almost 70 sqm with the following features:
- a large extra length king-size bed
- a single bed for our son, further away from the main bed
- a wooden cot for our daughter in a seperate area to that of the sleeping area
- a walk in closest with an ironing board and iron
- a seperate toilet
- a large bathroom with his and hers basins, a bathtub and - a shower with the raindance shower-head
- hotel amenities like showergel, shampoo, lotions, showercaps, earbuds, etc
- a customised minibar (you choose what you want from the selection and it is replaced daily. everything in the minibar is complementary)
- a balcony with a 2 seater wicker table and chair along with a foot stool
- a large wall-mounted LCD tv which swivels
- beach towels are replaced daily, and you can use them during your stay
- tea and coffee station concealed for safety
- the room is incredibly spacious and provides exceptional house-keeping facilities

Meals are served the ENTIRE day.
Breakfast is at a choice of 2 restaurants, snacks at the main reception bar and pool/beach side carts with daily sandwiches, salads and drinks move through the beach and pool areas the entire day. Lunch and dinner are served at all 5 restaurants. Afternoon snacks with the crepe station from 3-5pm at the main reception dining area. All drinks, including tea, coffee, iced coffee, waters and soft drinks are complementary during the entire stay. Make your dinner reservations the day after you arrive as the restaurants get full at night. If you have kids, 2 of the dining areas are restricted to kids over 15 years old.

Each adult guest receives one complementary spa voucher for a 45 minute massage which must be redeemed within 3 days of your stay. There are 3 areas to the Clarins spa facility, which deals with different treatments. The menu is available in your room and I would suggest doing more than just your complementary treatment during your stay. The therapists are incredibly helpful and both my husband and i were treated to Clarins samples before we left.

There is a sports centre with cardio machines and other gym equipment. The hotel offers early morning walks and jogs, along with aqua aerobics almost every morning. There is a board up with the days activities, including evening live entertainment (the kids were most fascinated by the different coloured lights!)

A list of the freebies are listed here:
http://www.shandrani-resort.com/sports_activities.php
(FREE tennis, golf and scuba lessons! Included are all water activities)

The hotel is especially child-friendly, with there being different levels of pools available for their safety. There is the mini-club which has daily craft and outdoor activites for kids. If you are comfortable with leaving them for the day in the help of child-minders, the services are exceptional.

The little shop on site was fully stocked, nothing was left out (including tweezers!) with a large rack of South African magazines in case you forgot to pack your own.

The only negative I experienced during the entire stay was the sound of the airplanes overhead twice a day. Its not unbearable but can distract from the peace.

The staff are exceptionally helpful, and go out of their way when you have kids with you.

Top tips:
Bring down your beach towels and reserve your pool-side or beach lounger by placing it on the chair before breakfast.
Enjoy a drink late afternoon on the private beach on the other side of the island under the gorgeous private thatches. You really feel like it's something out of the movies!
Don't forget to pack armbands, rings and other swimming aids for little kids as the shop is quite expensive.
Pizza and vegetarian meals are separate, including the egg grill. Expect indian veg curries with hot tandoori naan everyday!

If it's a fully inclusive holiday you're looking for, where you don't have to worry about signing for bills and worrying about the cost of meals and drinks, Shandrani offers just that. Be sure to budget for tips (100 Rupees is equiv to R30)

I hope this could be of some assistance to those wanting to plan a holiday to Mauritius.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiddletown, California
Top Contributor
434 reviews 434 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A friend who had a daughter who lived on Mauritius suggested the Shandrani Hotel; an all inclusive resort for four nights. The hotel and us did not get off to a good start. Our arranged ride never showed so we had to take a taxi to the hotel. We had signed up for the Flexible Plus plan, and honestly, it means little. What we found at this hotel is what my wife called a Disneyland Cruise Ship on shore. Kids almost equaled the number of adults. We got in the afternoon and were told we had to eat in the buffet as all the restaurants were full. Being a Plus member gives you no guarantees, not even to a sit down dinner. We protested, we did not pay this much money for a buffet with screaming kids. I asked for the first night free since we will not eat at a buffet. The manager refused, said to order from room service (costs extra of course). He claimed their buffet was different, I doubted it as proved later. We went to our room and then took a walk. We found a quieter place near Blue Bay and the bar at Le Sirius. What we found is the restaurants seat so many, say 100. When they hit 100, that is it. Dinner is from 7-10 and there are no seating times. We discussed our problem with the manager at Le Sirius and he said no problem, so we sat down and ate at 7pm. We were done by 745pm and less than 10% of the tables were full! Europeans don’t eat early so they haven't shown yet. The hotel needs to have arranged eating times at 7, 815 and 930, so everyone can enjoy a sit down meal. We ended up hanging around Blue Bay and Le Sirius the rest of the trip and enjoyed the beach behind it. There were fewer kids and the areas were less traveled. Brem, Ravi and Tee gets our vote for employees of the year! We also found that when you arrive, you better book all your dinners or you will be having buffets each night. Even at 9am the restaurants were full for that day. For water activities you better get there by 9am to book, otherwise none will be available. Paddle boats, kayaks and a three minute water ski lap are first come first serve. This is not a place for couples or singles, only for families. I understand the hotel chain has other esorts better suited for adults. Oh yes, the buffet. We went down the first morning to the buffet as we usually have eggs which are cooked to order. There were kids running around, one kid with a runny nose who was wiping it on his hand and arm grabbed a baguette bare handed, not using the provided towel, and cut some pieces and put it back. The worst was a kid sitting on the ground, playing with a bowl of cereal, most of which was on the floor when his mom yelled at him. The kid picked up the cereal, put it in the bowl, then promptly dumped the whole bowl back into the cereal bin! Buffets are a four letter word… Once we got past the first day, we had a great time by avoiding the main areas. The Boucaneer had a fabulous dinner, but the wine list was not very good at Porto Vecchio. The food was very good at Le Sirius and the bar staff top notch. They had a nice cake waiting in our room for me on my birthday. However, at the end to top it all off, I never got a complementary t-shirt because they didn't have anything in my size, XL or 2XL, and was told by the front desk to come back another time and they might have one then. No chance... I found it was too much money for little service.

Room Tip: If you have kids, near the main pool, if not, try for the Blue Bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from the Shandrani and for the first time ever we have the holiday blues! Everything is just as all the other reviews say but if it's for a wedding day upgrade your photos to a company called clear cut photography as Daniel is amazing, we got married on a Thursday and had the album the following Tuesday. Also ask for Eric on the 'Black Pearl' boat for a day trip he is such a lovely man and passionate about his country. We will go back it's everything and more!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg-Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went out to Mauritius for the Wedding of our daughter, we were not disappointed, the facilities were first class, rooms are spacious and clean, maid service every day, fresh bath towels every day, towels for the beach were changed every other day; you had to order your mini bar as you used it, we hardly used it apart from water, as you can get all the drink you need around the pool area.

Waiter service was the best that we have come across, put an empty glass down and you were asked did you want another, very polite respectful and friendly, also genuine, were greatfull when given a tip.

The food was also first class, whether you ate in the buffet restaurant or eating in the four restaurants, book early for the resteraunts, as the first week was fully booked; there was a very good selection in the main buffet restaurant, pasta fish, beef, chicken you name it and you could have it, also the wine selection, from France, South Africa, Australia, Champagne by the glass, and all the top brands of spirits, whatever your tipple it was there.

My daughters wedding took place on the wild beach that looked out onto the Indian ocean, the service was great and took place at 16.00 hrs, it was warm but there is a cooling breeze that comes off the ocean, from there she and her partner had surprised us with a BBQ on the beach, a beautifully laid out table for nine, a Chef cooking the BBQ, a table of salad, meats and cheeses; and wonderful deserts that melted in your mouth, there was also a wine waiter and two others who waited on the table, we were all blown away by what was presented before us, and to finish it all off a bonfire was lit on the beach, and then there was the sound of drums, to our astonishment there were drummers and four Mauritiun beauties dancing, I thought we were in Hawaii, there were eight in total and they had us all dancing on the beach with them, I know that I am waffling on but this was had to be seen to be believed.

The weather was fantastic, the sun goes down at 17.30 and there is a cooling breeze that refreshes you throughout the evening, there are plenty of sun beds around the pool or by the beach, no need to get up early here, we hired a speed boat for half a day, if you can do this, they took us to the waterfalls where you get to see the monkeys, snorkling and to paradise island where you can take a nice dip in the turquoise waters and the fine sandy beaches which are safe for young children, beware if you go out there is a flow of water that is like the lazy river and it will take you with it.

Plenty to do for the kids, they have a great kids club, but we found our grandson wanted to be around the pool playing all the time, he did play golf and football, and I think tennis, there is also water skiing but there can be a long cue for this, we also went out on the glass bottom boat and did some snorkling, beware there is a strong current, I didn't have flippers and was struggling to get back to the boat, just take a look at the water it swirls from all directions, and also you have the wind coming off the sea, and as for the airplanes flying over the Hotel, we were not bothered by them, this is s great destination with friendly people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa

Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.